DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahata (US-20100297497-A1) in view of Minoru (JP-2012156109-A, disclosed in IDS provided on 23 February 2024, machine translation used for rejection below).
As to claim 1, Takahata discloses an electrode (figure 1, electrode 30), comprising:
a core (figure 1, current collector 32);
a mixture layer provided on the core (figure 1, active material layer 35); and
an intermediate layer that is electrically conductive and that is provided between the core and the mixture layer (figure 1, barrier layer 33), wherein
the mixture layer includes an active material [0034] and a first binder [0040],
the intermediate layer includes a conductive agent (figure 1, conductive material 330) and a second binder [0044],
the conductive agent has particle size distribution including: a first peak of a particle size in a range of greater than or equal to 0.005 µm and less than or equal to 0.07 µm (first conductive particle 331, [0047]10-200nm, which is 0.01-0.2 micrometer); and a second peak with a particle size in a range of greater than or equal to 0.5 µm and less than or equal to 10 µm (second conductive particle 332, [0047] which discloses 30-nm-10micrometer),
wherein the second binder has a composition differing from that of the first binder ([0040] and [0044]), and
an average thickness T of the intermediate layer at a region where there is no second particle is greater than or equal to 0.1 µm and less than or equal to 5 µm ([0074], 2 µm), and a value obtained by dividing an average short axis diameter of the second particles by the average thickness T of the intermediate layer is greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to 4 ([0047] and [0074], diameter between 30-nm-10micrometer and thickness of 2 µm).
However, Takahata does not disclose wherein a content of first particles to which the first peak is assigned is greater than or equal to 1 mass% and less than or equal to 40 mass% based on a mass of the conductive agent, that second particles forming the second peak have an average aspect ratio of greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to 9, or that the second binder contains a thermoplastic resin having a melting point of greater than or equal to 100ºC and less than or equal to 200ºC as a main component.
However, the second binder used within Takahata is a homopolymer of vinylidene fluoride [0044] which is the same binder used for the second binder in the present application as described within paragraph [0032] and it has been held that regarding composition claims, if the composition is the same, it must have the same properties (see MPEP § 2112.01, II.). As such, the second binder used within Takahata is understood to also be a thermoplastic resin having a melting point of greater than or equal to 100ºC and less than or equal to 200ºC as a main component.
Minoru discloses a lithium-ion battery having multiple coating layers disposed on a current collector, wherein in a base layer, a content of first particles to which the first peak is assigned is greater than or equal to 1 mass% and less than or equal to 40 mass% based on a mass of the conductive agent (page 6 lines 12-15) to reduce film resistance and contact resistance of the layer when disposed on a current collector. Additionally, Minoru discloses that second particles forming the second peak have an average aspect ratio of greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to 9 (page 4 lines 23-31) to create a film with low resistance value.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode as disclosed within Takahata to include that the content of first particles to which the first peak is assigned is greater than or equal to 1 mass% and less than or equal to 40 mass% based on a mass of the conductive agent to reduce film resistance and contact resistance of the layer when disposed on a current collector and to additionally include that second particles forming the second peak have an average aspect ratio of greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to 9 to create a film with low resistance value as disclosed within Minoru.
As to claim 2, Takahata discloses an electrode (figure 1, electrode 30), comprising:
a core (figure 1, current collector 32);
a mixture layer provided on the core (figure 1, active material layer 35); and
a intermediate layer that is electrically conductive and that is provided between the core and the mixture layer (figure 1, barrier layer 33), wherein
the mixture layer includes an active material [0034] and a first binder [0040],
the intermediate layer includes a conductive agent (figure 1, conductive material 330) and a second binder [0044],
the conductive agent includes: first particles (first conductive particle 331) having a particle diameter of greater than or equal to 0.005 µm and less than or equal to 0.07 µm [0047] that form an aggregated structure of beaded shape (figure 1, first conductive particles 331), and second particles (second conductive particle 332) having a particle diameter greater than or equal to 0.5 µm and less than or equal to 10 µm [0047],
wherein the second binder has a composition differing from that of the first binder ([0040] and [0044]), and
an average thickness T of the intermediate layer at a region where there is no second particle is greater than or equal to 0.1 µm and less than or equal to 5 µm ([0074], 2 µm), and a value obtained by dividing an average short axis diameter of the second particles by the average thickness T of the intermediate layer is greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to 4 ([0047] and [0074], diameter between 30-nm-10micrometer and thickness of 2 µm).
However, Takahata does not disclose wherein a content of first particles to which the first peak is assigned is greater than or equal to 1 mass% and less than or equal to 40 mass% based on a mass of the conductive agent, that the second particles have an aspect ratio of greater than or equal 1 and less than or equal to 9, or that the second binder contains a thermoplastic resin having a melting point of greater than or equal to 100ºC and less than or equal to 200ºC as a main component.
However, the second binder used within Takahata is a homopolymer of vinylidene fluoride [0044] which is the same binder used for the second binder in the present application as described within paragraph [0032] and it has been held that regarding composition claims, if the composition is the same, it must have the same properties (see MPEP § 2112.01, II.). As such, the second binder used within Takahata is understood to also be a thermoplastic resin having a melting point of greater than or equal to 100ºC and less than or equal to 200ºC as a main component.
Minoru discloses a lithium-ion battery having multiple coating layers disposed on a current collector, wherein in a base layer, a content of first particles to which the first peak is assigned is greater than or equal to 1 mass% and less than or equal to 40 mass% based on a mass of the conductive agent (page 6 lines 12-15) to reduce film resistance and contact resistance of the layer when disposed on a current collector. Additionally, Minoru discloses that second particles forming the second peak have an average aspect ratio of greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to 9 (page 4 lines 23-31) to create a film with low resistance value.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode as disclosed within Takahata to include that the content of first particles to which the first peak is assigned is greater than or equal to 1 mass% and less than or equal to 40 mass% based on a mass of the conductive agent to reduce film resistance and contact resistance of the layer when disposed on a current collector and to additionally include that second particles forming the second peak have an average aspect ratio of greater than or equal to 1 and less than or equal to 9 to create a film with low resistance value as disclosed within Minoru.
As to claim 3, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 1, and Takahata further discloses wherein the second binder is locally present around the first particles in the intermediate layer [0052].
As to claim 4, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 1, however, Takahata does not disclose wherein a content of the conductive agent is greater than or equal to 50 mass% and less than or equal to 90 mass% based on a mass of the intermediate layer.
Minoru discloses a lithium-ion battery having multiple coating layers disposed on a current collector, wherein a content of the conductive agent is greater than or equal to 50 mass% and less than or equal to 90 mass% based on a mass of the intermediate layer (page 6 lines 6-10) to reduce the contact resistance of the layer when disposed on a current collector.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the electrode as disclosed within Takahata to additionally include that a content of the conductive agent is greater than or equal to 50 mass% and less than or equal to 90 mass% based on a mass of the intermediate layer to reduce the contact resistance of the layer when disposed on a current collector as disclosed within Minoru.
As to claim 6, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 1, and Takahata further discloses wherein the conductive agent is a carbon material [0046], and the thermoplastic resin is a homopolymer or copolymer of vinylidene fluoride [0044].
As to claim 8, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 1, and Takahata further discloses wherein the mixture layer includes a conductive agent (figure 1, conductive material 352) having a particle diameter of greater than or equal to 0.005 µm and less than or equal to 0.07 µm [0039] that forms an aggregated structure of beaded shape (figure 1, conductive material 352).
As to claim 9, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 1, and Takahata further discloses wherein the electrode is a positive electrode [0009] for a secondary battery [0009].
As to claim 10, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 1, and Takahata further discloses wherein the second binder is locally present around the first particles in the intermediate layer [0052].
As to claim 11, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 1, however, Takahata does not disclose wherein a content of the conductive agent is greater than or equal to 50 mass% and less than or equal to 90 mass% based on a mass of the intermediate layer.
Minoru discloses a lithium-ion battery having multiple coating layers disposed on a current collector, wherein a content of the conductive agent is greater than or equal to 50 mass% and less than or equal to 90 mass% based on a mass of the intermediate layer (page 6 lines 6-10) to reduce the contact resistance of the layer when disposed on a current collector.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the electrode as disclosed within Takahata to additionally include that a content of the conductive agent is greater than or equal to 50 mass% and less than or equal to 90 mass% based on a mass of the intermediate layer to reduce the contact resistance of the layer when disposed on a current collector as disclosed within Minoru.
As to claim 13, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 1, and Takahata further discloses wherein the conductive agent is a carbon material [0046], and the thermoplastic resin is a homopolymer or copolymer of vinylidene fluoride [0044].
As to claim 15, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 1, and Takahata further discloses wherein the mixture layer includes a conductive agent (figure 1, conductive material 352) having a particle diameter of greater than or equal to 0.005 µm and less than or equal to 0.07 µm [0039] that forms an aggregated structure of beaded shape (figure 1, conductive material 352).
As to claim 16, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 1, and Takahata further discloses wherein the electrode is a positive electrode [0009] for a secondary battery [0009].
4. Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahata (US-20100297497-A1) in view of Minoru (JP-2012156109-A, disclosed in IDS provided on 23 February 2024, machine translation used for rejection below) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Yamada (US-20110111295-A1).
As to claim 5, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 1, but Takahata does not disclose wherein when the first binder is a fibrous binder and wherein the mixture layer is trisected in a thickness direction into a first region, a second region, and a third region from a side of the core, a content (a) of the fibrous binder in the first region, a content (b) of the fibrous binder in the second region, and a content (c) of the fibrous binder in the third region satisfy (c-a)/(a+b+c) ≤ ±10%.
Yamada discloses an electrode within a lithium secondary battery, wherein the binder is a fibrous binder [0027] and when mixture layer used to create the electrode is trisected in a thickness direction into a first region, a second region, and a third region from a side of the core, a content (a) of the fibrous binder in the first region, a content (b) of the fibrous binder in the second region, and a content (c) of the fibrous binder in the third region satisfy (c-a)/(a+b+c) ≤ ±10% [0076] such that the properties of the materials are fully and stably obtained for a long period.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the electrode as disclosed within Takahata to additionally include that when the mixture layer used to create the electrode is trisected in a thickness direction into a first region, a second region, and a third region from a side of the core, a content (a) of the fibrous binder in the first region, a content (b) of the fibrous binder in the second region, and a content (c) of the fibrous binder in the third region satisfy (c-a)/(a+b+c) ≤ ±10% such that the binder is uniformly distributed within the layer such that the properties of the materials are fully and stably obtained for a long period as disclosed within Yamada.
As to claim 7, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 1, but Takahata does not disclose wherein a density of the mixture layer is greater than or equal to 3.0g/cc and less than or equal to 4.0g/cc.
Yamada discloses an electrode within a lithium secondary battery, wherein a density of the mixture layer is greater than or equal to 3.0g/cc and less than or equal to 4.0g/cc [0125] to improve the safety and cyclic properties of the battery [0004].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the electrode as disclosed within Takahata to additionally include that a density of the mixture layer is greater than or equal to 3.0g/cc and less than or equal to 4.0g/cc to improve the safety and cyclic properties of the battery as disclosed within Yamada.
5. Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahata (US-20100297497-A1) in view of Minoru (JP-2012156109-A, disclosed in IDS provided on 23 February 2024, machine translation used for rejection below) as applied to claim 2, and further in view of Yamada (US-20110111295-A1).
As to claim 12, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 2, but Takahata does not disclose wherein when the first binder is a fibrous binder and wherein the mixture layer is trisected in a thickness direction into a first region, a second region, and a third region from a side of the core, a content (a) of the fibrous binder in the first region, a content (b) of the fibrous binder in the second region, and a content (c) of the fibrous binder in the third region satisfy (c-a)/(a+b+c) ≤ ±10%.
Yamada discloses an electrode within a lithium secondary battery, wherein the binder is a fibrous binder [0027] and when mixture layer used to create the electrode is trisected in a thickness direction into a first region, a second region, and a third region from a side of the core, a content (a) of the fibrous binder in the first region, a content (b) of the fibrous binder in the second region, and a content (c) of the fibrous binder in the third region satisfy (c-a)/(a+b+c) ≤ ±10% [0076] such that the properties of the materials are fully and stably obtained for a long period.
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the electrode as disclosed within Takahata to additionally include that when the mixture layer used to create the electrode is trisected in a thickness direction into a first region, a second region, and a third region from a side of the core, a content (a) of the fibrous binder in the first region, a content (b) of the fibrous binder in the second region, and a content (c) of the fibrous binder in the third region satisfy (c-a)/(a+b+c) ≤ ±10% such that the binder is uniformly distributed within the layer such that the properties of the materials are fully and stably obtained for a long period as disclosed within Yamada.
As to claim 14, modified Takahata discloses the electrode as disclosed within claim 2, but Takahata does not disclose wherein a density of the mixture layer is greater than or equal to 3.0g/cc and less than or equal to 4.0g/cc.
Yamada discloses an electrode within a lithium secondary battery, wherein a density of the mixture layer is greater than or equal to 3.0g/cc and less than or equal to 4.0g/cc [0125] to improve the safety and cyclic properties of the battery [0004].
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the electrode as disclosed within Takahata to additionally include that a density of the mixture layer is greater than or equal to 3.0g/cc and less than or equal to 4.0g/cc to improve the safety and cyclic properties of the battery as disclosed within Yamada.
Conclusion
/J.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727