DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation “wherein the metal-containing layer is directly grown on the amorphous boron nitride layer by a deposition process”, and the claim also recites “the metal-containing layer is directly grown by an electrochemical deposition” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Alternatively, in claim 7 it’s unclear if the later recited “directly grown by an electrochemical deposition” is referencing the previously defined “a deposition process” or means to define a new process. As such, the scope of claim 7 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 11 recites “wherein the metal-containing layer comprises a lithium metal, a lithium sulfide, a lithium halide, a lithium alloy, or both” where it’s unclear which species are being referenced by “or both” given more than two species of the metal-containing layer are recited. As such, the scope of claim 11 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 12 is also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8, 10, 13-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman et al (US 2018/0358659).
Regarding claim 1 Subbaraman discloses an anode current collector (Fig. 1, anode 128) comprising:
a current collector substrate ([0013] Fig. 1 see: anode current collector 110);
an amorphous boron nitride layer formed on at least a portion of at least one surface of the current collector substrate ([0014] Fig. 1 see: first ad-layer 120 can be formed of amorphous boron nitride on anode current collector 110); and
Subbaraman discloses forming a second ad-layer 125 formed on at least a portion of the amorphous boron nitride layer ([0015] Fig. 1 see: second ad-layer 125 formed on first ad-layer 120) and Subbaraman discloses the second ad-layer 125 can be selected as a metal-containing layer which may act as a protective and/or sealant layer over the first ad-layer (para [0015], second ad-layer 125 of a metal oxide derivative, a metal nitride derivative and/or a metal phosphide derivative formed on first ad-layer 120), as such, the selection of the second ad-layer 125 as a metal-containing layer would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to achieve the expected result of acting as a protective and/or sealant layer over the first ad-layer.
Regarding claim 2 Subbaraman discloses the anode current collector of claim 1, wherein the current collector substrate comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of Ni, Cu, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Zn, Mo, W, Ag, Au, Ru, Pt, Ir, Li, Al, Sn, Bi, Sb, and an alloy thereof; calcined carbon; and stainless steel ([0013] Fig. 1 see: anode current collector of a material such as a copper foil, nickel foil and can include Li, LiMg alloy particles on its surface).
Regarding claim 3 Subbaraman discloses the anode current collector of claim 1, wherein the current collector substrate comprises:
a first component including Cu, Ni, Ti, stainless steel, or Al ([0013] Fig. 1 see: anode current collector of a material such as a copper foil, nickel foil); and
a second component (excluding a same element as in the first component) including at least one selected from a group consisting of Ni, Cu, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Zn, Mo, W, Ag, Au, Ru, Pt, Ir, Li, Al, Sn, Bi, Sb, and an alloy thereof ([0013] Fig. 1 see: anode current collector can further include a Ni foam on its surface or lithium particles on its surface).
Regarding claim 4 Subbaraman discloses the anode current collector of claim 1, wherein the amorphous boron nitride layer has a thickness of 10 nanometers (nm) or less ([0014] Fig. 1 see: first ad-layer 120 of amorphous Boron nitride can have a thickness of less than 10 nanometers).
Regarding claim 8 Subbaraman discloses the anode current collector of claim 1, wherein the metal-containing layer comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of:
at least one metal selected from a group consisting of lithium (Li), sodium (Na), aluminum (Al), calcium (Ca), silver (Ag), gold (Au), sodium (Na), zinc (Zn), magnesium (Mg), and potassium (K); a sulfide including the metal; a halide; an oxide; an intermetallic compound; and an alloy ([0015], Fig. 1 see: second ad-layer 125 of a metal oxide derivative, a metal nitride derivative (Li3N)).
Regarding claim 10 Subbaraman discloses the anode current collector of claim 1, wherein the metal-containing layer has a thickness of 1 nm to 100 micrometers (μm) ([0015], Fig. 1 see: second ad-layer 125 with a thickness which may be less than 1 micrometer and greater than 1 nanometer).
Regarding claim 13 Subbaraman discloses a metal battery comprising:
an anode portion (Fig. 1 see: anode 128);
a cathode portion (Fig. 1 see: Cathode 140, cathode current collector 150); and
an electrolyte between the anode portion and the cathode portion ([0016], Fig. 1 see: separator 130 including an electrolyte),
wherein the anode portion comprises an anode current collector (anode 128),
wherein the anode current collector comprises:
a current collector substrate ([0013] Fig. 1 see: anode current collector 110);
an amorphous boron nitride layer formed on at least a portion of at least one surface of the current collector substrate ([0014] Fig. 1 see: first ad-layer 120 can be formed of amorphous boron nitride on anode current collector 110); and
Subbaraman discloses forming a second ad-layer 125 formed on at least a portion of the amorphous boron nitride layer ([0015] Fig. 1 see: second ad-layer 125 formed on first ad-layer 120) and Subbaraman discloses the second ad-layer 125 can be selected as a metal-containing layer which may act as a protective and/or sealant layer over the first ad-layer (para [0015], second ad-layer 125 of a metal oxide derivative, a metal nitride derivative and/or a metal phosphide derivative formed on first ad-layer 120), as such, the selection of the second ad-layer 125 as a metal-containing layer would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to achieve the expected result of acting as a protective and/or sealant layer over the first ad-layer.
Regarding claim 14 Subbaraman discloses the metal battery of claim 13, wherein the electrolyte comprises a liquid electrolyte, a solid electrolyte, or both ([0016], Fig. 1 see: separator 130 including a solid electrolyte).
Regarding claim 16 Subbaraman discloses the metal battery of claim 13, wherein the metal battery is a lithium metal battery (Abstract, see: battery is a lithium battery cell).
Regarding claim 17 Subbaraman discloses a method of manufacturing an anode current collector, the method comprising:
preparing a current collector substrate ([0013] Fig. 1 see: providing anode current collector 110);
forming an amorphous boron nitride layer on at least a portion of at least one surface of the current collector substrate ([0014] Fig. 1 see: first ad-layer 120 disposed or formed over anode current collector 110 where first ad-layer 120 can be formed of amorphous boron nitride); and
Subbaraman discloses forming a second ad-layer 125 formed on at least a portion of the amorphous boron nitride layer ([0015] Fig. 1 see: second ad-layer 125 formed on first ad-layer 120) and Subbaraman discloses the second ad-layer 125 can be selected as a metal-containing layer which may act as a protective and/or sealant layer over the first ad-layer (para [0015], second ad-layer 125 of a metal oxide derivative, a metal nitride derivative and/or a metal phosphide derivative formed on first ad-layer 120), as such, the selection of the second ad-layer 125 as a metal-containing layer would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to achieve the expected result of acting as a protective and/or sealant layer over the first ad-layer.
Claims 5-7, 9, 11-12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman et al (US 2018/0358659) as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 10, 13-14, and 16-17 above, and further in view of CUI et al (US 2020/0131638)
Regarding claims 5 and 6 Subbaraman discloses the anode current collector of claim 1, and regarding the claim 5 and 6 recitations “wherein the amorphous boron nitride layer has a thickness of 0.1 nm to 1 nm” or “wherein the amorphous boron nitride layer has an atomic thickness” Subbaraman discloses first ad-layer 120 (amorphous boron nitride layer) can be a single boron nitride layer and can have a thickness that may be less than 1 micrometer, less than 50 nanometers, less than 20 nanometers, less than 10 nanometers, less than 5 nanometers, greater than 1 nanometer, greater than 2 nanometers and/or greater than 3 nanometers (para [0014]) where the recited range “less than 5 nanometers” entirely encompasses applicant’s claimed range of “a thickness of 0.1 nm to 1 nm” and “an atomic thickness”. It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
In the alternative where it’s unclear Subbaraman renders these ranges obvious, Cui also recites 2D interfacial layers of boron nitride formed on anodes formed as single layers/an atomic layer of formed with a dimension (thickness) of about 1 nm to about 100nm (Cui, [0027] Figs. 1A and Fig. 13 see: film 112 of a 2D material such as boron nitride). Cui also teaches these layers suppress lithium dendrite formation (para [0034]).
Cui and Subbaraman are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of lithium battery cell anodes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the anode current collector of Subbaraman in view of Cui such that the amorphous boron nitride layer of Subbaraman has a thickness of about 1 nm to about 100nm or anatomic layer thickness as in Cui (Cui, [0027] Figs. 1A and Fig. 13) as such a modification would have amounted to the selection of a known thickness for an interfacial layer for its intended use to achieve the expected result of suppressing lithium dendrite formation (Cui, para [0034]). Furthermore, as recited above, the thickness range of about 1 nm to about 100nm substantially overlaps applicant’s claimed range of “a thickness of 0.1 nm to 1 nm” It is well settled that where the prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 2d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974).
Regarding claim 7 Subbaraman discloses the anode current collector of claim 1, and regarding the claim 7 recitations “wherein the metal-containing layer is directly grown on the amorphous boron nitride layer by a deposition process, and the metal-containing layer is directly grown by an electrochemical deposition” Subbaraman discloses in Fig. 1 the second ad-layer 125 (metal-containing layer) directly on first ad-layer 120 (amorphous boron nitride layer) which appears to meet the limitations of directly growing the metal-containing layer on the amorphous boron nitride layer. In the alternative where it’s not clear this is taught by Subbaraman, Cui also recites 2D interfacial layers of boron nitride formed on anodes with a metal-containing layer directly grown thereon (Cui, [0027] Figs. 1A and Fig. 13 see: film 112 of a 2D material such as boron nitride with a coating 114 grown directly thereon by ALD and formed of a metal containing material such as LiF). Cui also teaches these layers suppress lithium dendrite formation (para [0034]).
Cui and Subbaraman are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of lithium battery cell anodes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the anode current collector of Subbaraman in view of Cui such that the metal-containing layer is directly grown on the amorphous boron nitride layer by a deposition process as in Cui (Cui, [0027] Figs. 1A and Fig. 13 see: film 112 of a 2D material such as boron nitride with a coating 114 grown directly thereon by ALD and formed of a metal containing material such as LiF) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known formation method for forming a metal-containing layer over a 2D interfacial layer of boron nitride for the expected result of sealing the 2D interfacial layer and suppressing lithium dendrite formation (para [0034]).
Furthermore, the claim 7 recitation “the metal-containing layer is directly grown by an electrochemical deposition” is directed to a method of manufacturing the claimed anode current collector. The examiner notes that the determination of patentability is determined by the recited structure of the apparatus and not by a method of making said structure. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is made does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2113 and 2114.
The prior art of Cui and Subbaraman are considered to teach, disclose or make obvious all of the structural limitations of claim 7 as recited above.
Regarding claim 9 Subbaraman discloses the anode current collector of claim 1, and Subbaraman discloses wherein the metal-containing layer is free of a metal-containing dendrite structure (Abstract, [0015], see: The protective layers prevent dendrite propagation through the battery cell), and regarding the claim 9 recitation where “the metal-containing layer is a planar film” Subbaraman in Fig. 1 illustrates the second ad-layer 125 (metal-containing layer) as a planar layer, but in the alternative where it’s not clear this is taught by Subbaraman, Cui teaches where such metal-containing layers are planar ([0025]-[0027] Figs. 1A and 13 see: interfacial layer 110 including coating 114 having a largely flat or planar configuration). Cui also teaches these layers suppress lithium dendrite formation (para [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the anode current collector of Subbaraman in view of Cui such that the metal-containing layer is a planar film as in Cui ([0025]-[0027] Figs. 1A and 13 see: interfacial layer 110 including coating 114 having a largely flat or planar configuration) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known metal-containing layer configuration over a 2D interfacial layer of boron nitride for the expected result of sealing the 2D interfacial layer and suppressing lithium dendrite formation (para [0034]).
Regarding claim 11 Subbaraman discloses the anode current collector of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the metal-containing layer comprises a lithium metal, a lithium sulfide, a lithium halide, a lithium alloy, or both, but Cui teaches such metal-containing layers for sealing 2D interfacial layers of boron nitride can be formed of lithium fluoride (Cui, [0025]-[0027], Figs. 1A and 13). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the anode current collector of Subbaraman in view of Cui such that the metal-containing layer comprises lithium fluoride as in Cui ([0025]-[0027] Figs. 1A and 13) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known metal-containing layer material over a 2D interfacial layer of boron nitride for the expected result of sealing the 2D interfacial layer and suppressing lithium dendrite formation (para [0034]).
Regarding claim 12 modified Subbaraman discloses the anode current collector of claim 11, and the claim 12 recitations “wherein the lithium alloy comprises: lithium; and at least one selected from a group consisting of sodium (Na), aluminum (Al), calcium (Ca), silver (Ag), gold (Au), sodium (Na), zinc (Zn), magnesium (Mg), and potassium (K)” are directed to the species of the lithium alloy. However, this species is anticipated as modified Subbaraman discloses the other species of metal-containing layer in the group set forth above in claim 11 (the metal-containing layer comprises a lithium metal, a lithium sulfide, a lithium halide, a lithium alloy, or both). As such, the limitations of claim 12 are also anticipated as they are directed to the species of the lithium alloy in the group anticipated by modified Subbaraman as set forth in claim 11 above.
See MPEP 2131.02 Genus-Species Situations:
II. A REFERENCE THAT CLEARLY NAMES THE CLAIMED SPECIES ANTICIPATES THE CLAIM NO MATTER HOW MANY OTHER SPECIES ARE NAMED
A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See Ex parteA, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (The claimed compound was named in a reference which also disclosed 45 other compounds. The Board held that the comprehensiveness of the listing did not negate the fact that the compound claimed was specifically taught. The Board compared the facts to the situation in which the compound was found in the Merck Index, saying that “the tenth edition of the Merck Index lists ten thousand compounds. In our view, each and every one of those compounds is ‘described’ as that term is used in [pre-AIA ] 35 U.S.C. 102(a), in that publication.”). Id. at 1718. See also In re Sivaramakrishnan, 673 F.2d 1383, 213 USPQ 441 (CCPA 1982) (The claims were directed to polycarbonate containing cadmium laurate as an additive. The court upheld the Board’s finding that a reference specifically naming cadmium laurate as an additive amongst a list of many suitable salts in polycarbonate resin anticipated the claims. The applicant had argued that cadmium laurate was only disclosed as representative of the salts and was expected to have the same properties as the other salts listed while, as shown in the application, cadmium laurate had unexpected properties. The court held that it did not matter that the salt was not disclosed as being preferred, the reference still anticipated the claims and because the claim was anticipated, the unexpected properties were immaterial.).
Regarding claim 19 Subbaraman discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the amorphous boron nitride layer has a thickness of 10 nm or less (Subbaraman, [0014] Fig. 1 see: first ad-layer 120 of amorphous Boron nitride can have a thickness of less than 10 nanometers) and where it’s unclear that Subbaraman explicitly discloses wherein the forming of the amorphous boron nitride layer comprises directly growing an amorphous boron nitride on the anode current collector by a deposition process, Cui teaches boron nitride interfacial layers directly grown on anode current collectors by a deposition process (Cui, [0024]-[0027], [0037], Fig. 1A and 13 see: anode material 116/current collector 108 has 2D material film 112 such as boron nitride directly formed thereon by a deposition process such as CVD).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Subbaraman in view of Cui such that the forming of the amorphous boron nitride layer comprises directly growing the amorphous boron nitride on the anode current collector by a deposition process as in Cui (Cui, [0024]-[0027], [0037], Fig. 1A and 13 see: anode material 116/current collector 108 has 2D material film 112 such as boron nitride directly formed thereon by a deposition process such as CVD) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known formation method for forming a 2D interfacial layer of boron nitride for the expected result of suppressing lithium dendrite formation (para [0034]).
Regarding claim 20 Subbaraman discloses the method of claim 17, and where it’s unclear that Subbaraman discloses wherein the forming of the metal-containing layer comprises directly growing the metal-containing layer on the amorphous boron nitride layer by a deposition process, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method Subbaraman in view of Cui such that the metal-containing layer is directly grown on the amorphous boron nitride layer by a deposition process as in Cui (Cui, [0027] Figs. 1A and Fig. 13 see: film 112 of a 2D material such as boron nitride with a coating 114 grown directly thereon by ALD and formed of a metal containing material such as LiF) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known formation method for forming a metal-containing layer over a 2D interfacial layer of boron nitride for the expected result of sealing the 2D interfacial layer and suppressing lithium dendrite formation (para [0034]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman et al (US 2018/0358659) as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 10, 13-14, and 16-17 above, and further in view of Ogata et al (US 2020/0176810).
Regarding claim 15 Subbaraman discloses the metal battery of claim 13, which appears to be an anodeless design but does not explicitly disclose wherein the anode current collector is an anodeless current collector in which the electrolyte contacts the metal-containing layer, but Ogata discloses where such batteries are formed with the anode current collector is an anodeless current collector in which the electrolyte contacts the metal-containing layer (Ogata, [0026], [0028], [0044], Figs. 2-3 see: lithium battery formed as an anode-free solid state lithium battery with an anti-dendrite metal containing layer 305 contacting the electrolyte 145).
Ogata and Subbaraman are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of lithium battery cell anodes.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the metal battery of Subbaraman in view of Ogata such that the anode current collector is an anodeless current collector in which the electrolyte contacts the metal-containing layer as in Ogata (Ogata, [0026], [0028], [0044], Figs. 2-3 see: lithium battery formed as an anode-free solid state lithium battery with an anti-dendrite metal containing layer 305 contacting the electrolyte 145) as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known current collector design for its intended use in a known environment of a lithium battery to accomplish an entirely expected result of simplifying battery construction.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Subbaraman et al (US 2018/0358659) as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 10, 13-14, and 16-17 above, and further in view of Song et al (US 2020/0328394).
Regarding claim 18 Subbaraman discloses the method of claim 17, where the amorphous boron nitride layer has a thickness of 10 nanometers (nm) or less (Subbaraman, [0014] Fig. 1 see: first ad-layer 120 of amorphous Boron nitride can have a thickness of less than 10 nanometers) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the forming of the amorphous boron nitride layer comprises transferring the amorphous boron nitride layer onto the anode current collector.
Song discloses in batteries it is know to form boron nitride layers through transfer processes (para [0063] see: boron nitride layers formed by being transferred to a substrate) form forming a boron nitride layer for inhibiting lithium dendrite growth (para [0072]).
Song and Subbaraman are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of lithium battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Subbaraman in view of Song such that the forming of the amorphous boron nitride layer of Subbaraman comprises transferring as in Song (para [0063] see: boron nitride layers formed by being transferred to a substrate) the amorphous boron nitride layer onto the anode current collector of Subbaraman as such a modification would have amounted to the use of a known formation method for forming a boron nitride layer for its intended use of inhibiting lithium dendrite growth as in Song (para [0072]).
Conclusion
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726