DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-35 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (upon further consideration, group II is included with group I), and the following species, claims 1-9, 11-14, 21-26, 28-30, 32-35 in the reply filed on 03/02/26 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of all the inventions and species would not be a burden which is not persuasive because this is 371 application and burden is not a relevant consideration for restrictions of 371 applications (and there would be a burden anyway given the different classification and legal interpretations of the different inventions and the mutually exclusive nature of the species).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim(s) 10 (non-elected opacity), 15-20, 27 (claim 27 is withdrawn because it requires a non-elected polyol), and 31 (claim 31 is withdrawn because it requires a non-elected isocyanate) is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/02/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)/first paragraph
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-14, 21-26, 28-30, 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for certain embodiments, does not reasonably provide enablement for the full claimed scope. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to arrive at the invention in a manner commensurate in scope with the claims.
Upon review of the disclosure in its entirety, one having ordinary skill in the art would not be enabled to make the full scope of the invention as claimed without undue experimentation. Case law holds that applicant’s specification must be “commensurately enabling [regarding the scope of the claims]” Ex Parte Kung, 17 USPQ2d 1545, 1547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1990). Otherwise undue experimentation would be involved in determining how to practice and use applicant’s invention. The test for undue experimentation as to whether or not all embodiments within the scope of the claim can be made and/or used as claimed and whether the claim meets the test is stated in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546, 547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed.Cir. 1988).
Claims 1 and 4-7 recite properties that are enabled in the present disclosure only for certain thermoplastic polyurethanes (TPU) used in the examples (which have certain isocyanates, polyols, and chain extenders, and certain overall MW, MW of soft segment, wt% of soft segment, and Tg) whereas the claims are much broader in this regard, with the broadened scope of the claims compared to the enabled embodiments of the examples constituting an undue/unreasonable amount of experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art (to experiment within the full claim scope, beyond the scope of the examples, to arrive at the claimed properties). For the scope of the TPU as claimed to constitute a reasonable level of experimentation, it would appear that the claims would have to recite:
a Markush group for the isocyanate (e.g., 4,4′-Methylene dicyclohexyl diisocyanate, hexamethylene diisocyanate, and isophorone diisocyanate)
a Markush group for the polyol (e.g., a polycaprolactone-based polyol, polypropylene glycol, or polytetramethylene ether glycol)
a Markush group for the chain extender (e.g., a diol having from two to ten carbon atoms)
a range of overall MW,
a range for MW and wt% of the soft segment, and
a range for Tg.
Furthermore, the Elastic Recovery test of claim 1 is shown in the examples to only be achieved by blending the above TPU with an additional polymer, not by the above TPU alone (whereas all the claimed properties other than the Elastic Recovery test appear to be enabled from just the TPUs discussed above). Thus, the Elastic Recovery test of claim 1 has a narrower set of enabling examples that require the above mentioned TPU to be blended with either: a softer TPU (i.e., Estane 60D), or a PVB, or a copolyester polyether polymer. This additional aspect (i.e., the requirement of an additional polymer to achieve the Elastic Recovery test), is also recited in much broader terms (compared to the narrowed set of examples) that would constitute an undue/unreasonable amount of experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art (to experiment within the full claim scope, beyond the scope of the examples, to arrive at the claimed properties). To make the claimed scope commensurate with the enabling disclosure:
a combination of first and second polyurethanes with different soft segment percentages would have to be recited, along with a range of amounts for the second polyurethane with respect to the above TPU,
the inclusion of a polyvinyl acetal would have to be recited, with a range for the PVOH% and MW of the polyvinyl acetal, along with a range of amounts for the polyvinyl acetal with respect to the above TPU, and/or
the inclusion of a copolyester polyether polymer would have to be recited, with the reactants that form the copolyester polyether polymer, along with a range of amounts for the copolyester polyether polymer with respect to the above TPU.
Upon applying the Wands factors to claims 1 and 4-7, undue experimentation would be required:
(A) The breadth of the claims; (as explained above, the claims are broad in terms of the type and amount of polymers (TPU, second polymer) recited relative to the much narrower guidance provided in the specification)
(B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (the properties as claimed would not be readily arrived at by one having ordinary skill in the art without significant guidance)
(E) The level of predictability in the art; (to achieve the full scope of the claimed invention with the limited guidance provided in the specification would require testing various types and amounts of polymers (TPU, second polymer) without any apparent predictability)
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (the direction in the specification, at best, is sufficient for certain types and amounts of polymers (TPU, second polymer), see e.g., the examples, without any corresponding direction provided for achieving the claimed properties with the broader types and amounts of polymers as claimed)
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. (based on the broader claimed scope compared to the limited guidance in the specification and the apparent lack of predictability, the quantity of experimentation would be unreasonable).
The rest of the rejected claims not specifically addressed above are rejected because they depend from one of the claims specifically addressed above and fail to resolve the above enablement problem.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)/second paragraph
Claim(s) 11-14 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 11 and 13 recite the patterned adhesive layer which has improper antecedent basis and is therefore vague.
Claim 12 recites the thermoplastic film which has improper antecedent basis and is therefore vague.
Claim 13-14 recites the thermoplastic layer which has improper antecedent basis and is therefore vague.
Claim 14 recites the protective topcoat which has improper antecedent basis and is therefore vague.
Claim 34 recites the polyvinyl acetal which has improper antecedent basis and is therefore vague.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-14, 22-26, 28-30, 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steelman (U.S. 2016/0002418).
Regarding claims 1-9, 11-14, 22-26, 28-30, 33-35, Steelman discloses a thermoplastic film (as in claim 8) comprising a polymer blend of a thermoplastic urethane elastomer TPU such as Estane ALR-CL87A (see abstract, [0012], page 5, PU 3) which inherently is formed of methylene bis cyclohexyl isocyanate, caprolactone (soft segment based on present disclosure), and butanediol (hard segment based on present disclosure), with a MW of the soft/caprolactone segment of 1070, 50.2% of the soft/caprolactone segment, an overall MW of 130,000 and a Tg of -17.7 degrees Celsius based on the present disclosure (within the scope of claims 2, 24-26, 28-30) as well as a PVB such as Butvar B-90 (page 5, PVB6) which inherently has a MW of 70,000-100,000 and a PVOH content of 18.5-20.5 based on the present disclosure (within the scope of claims 23, and 33-34) as well as a polymeric plasticizer ([0007], as in claim 35). The thermoplastic film may have a patterned adhesive layer on one side ([0026]-[0027] as in claim 9) and may be pigmented ([0017] as in claim 22) and/or split into first and second sub layers that may be respectively clear or pigmented ([0025]) and/or may be combined with an additional clear protective top coat ([0039]-[0040]), with the layer order of such adhesive layer, first pigmented sub layer, second pigmented sub layer, and clear topcoat being obvious to adjust based on the finite number of possible layer orders, as in claims 11, 13-14. The thickness of the layer is disclosed as being adjusted based on the properties needed for the application and use ([0042]) such that it would have been obvious to have adjusted the thickness to values within claim 12 (also see [0083] showing exemplary thicknesses within the claimed range).
Steelman discloses that the relative ratio of TPU and PVB may be adjusted based on the desired level of stretch/elasticity and unevenness/distortion ([0015]) such that it would have been obvious to have adjusted the ratio of TPU to PVB, including to values within the range disclosed in the present specification, to optimize the stretch/elasticity and unevenness/distortion of the film.
The properties of claims 1 and 4-7 are not disclosed, but Steelman teaches a blend of the same TPU and PVB as in the present examples, at amounts that render obvious the amounts in the present examples, such that these overlapping embodiments within the teachings of Steelman inherently have the same properties as the overlapped examples in the present specification, which fall within the claimed property ranges.
Regarding claim 3, as indicated above, Estane ALR-CL87A has a soft segment wt% of 50.2 which is “about 45” (i.e., within the range of both the first and second polyurethanes). Because the Estane ALR-CL87A polymer product will inherently have more than one polyurethane molecule in the overall product, there will be multiple (first and second) polyurethanes having such a soft segment wt% of about 45, as in claim 3.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steelman (U.S. 2016/0002418) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Carrle (U.S. 2009/0250164).
Regarding claim 21, Steelman discloses all of the above subject matter but does not disclose that the adhesive layer may be pigmented however Carrle is also directed to graphic films with colored layers and an adhesive layer and teaches that pigmenting the adhesive provides the benefit of greater opacity with lesser overall film thickness, such that a pigmented adhesive would be obvious to use in Steelman for the above benefit (see abstract, [0093]).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-23, and 35 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/686,038 (the copending application) in view of Steelman (U.S. 2016/0002418). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Present claim 1, despite being a “composition” is not patentably distinct from the film of the copending application because the present dependent claims show that the present composition may be a film. For present claim 35, polymeric plasticizer is rendered obvious in the copending claims in view of Steelman in order to improve plasticity (see citations above).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-31, 33-35, is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-31 of copending Application No. 18/686,013 (the copending application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Present claim 1, despite being a “composition” is not patentably distinct from the film of the copending application because the present dependent claims show that the present composition may be a film.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-31, 33-35, is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-24 of copending Application No. 18/686,036 (the copending application) in view of Steelman (U.S. 2016/0002418). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Present claim 1, despite being a “composition” is not patentably distinct from the film of the copending application because the present dependent claims show that the present composition may be a film. For present claim 35, polymeric plasticizer is rendered obvious in the copending claims in view of Steelman in order to improve plasticity (see citations above).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-35, is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-26 of copending Application No. 18/686,005 (the copending application) in view of Steelman (U.S. 2016/0002418). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Present claim 1, despite being a “composition” is not patentably distinct from the film of the copending application because the present dependent claims show that the present composition may be a film. For present claim 35, polymeric plasticizer is rendered obvious in the copending claims in view of Steelman in order to improve plasticity (see citations above).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-31, 33-35, is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-25 of copending Application No. 18/686,024 (the copending application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Present claim 1, despite being a “composition” is not patentably distinct from the film of the copending application because the present dependent claims show that the present composition may be a film.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-31, 33-35 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-25 of copending Application No. 18/686,010 (the copending application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Present claim 1, despite being a “composition” is not patentably distinct from the film of the copending application because the present dependent claims show that the present composition may be a film.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787