DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-26 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, and the following species, claims 1-15, 17-20 in the reply filed on 04/28/26 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination of all the inventions and species would not be a burden which is not persuasive because this is 371 application and burden is not a relevant consideration for restrictions of 371 applications (and there would be a burden anyway given the different classification and legal interpretations of the different inventions and the mutually exclusive nature of the species).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Furthermore, upon further consideration, there is an additional election of species requirement:
This application contains claims directed to more than one species of the generic invention. These species are deemed to lack unity of invention because they are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
Applicant must elect a single specific embodiment from amongst the following species:
The species are the various embodiments of the isocyanate of claim 11. Applicant must select a specific isocyanate from within the recited options.
The species listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
The species above lack unity of invention because the species do not share the same or corresponding technical feature. That is, the species each represent mutually exclusive chemical compounds/structures with respect to each other.
During a telephone conversation with Judith Rawls on 04/30/26 a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute methylene dicyclohexyl diisocyanate as a species. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Claim(s) 16, (non-elected isocyanate) and 21-26 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/28/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)/first paragraph
Claim(s) 1-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for certain embodiments, does not reasonably provide enablement for the full claimed scope. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to arrive at the invention in a manner commensurate in scope with the claims.
Upon review of the disclosure in its entirety, one having ordinary skill in the art would not be enabled to make the full scope of the invention as claimed without undue experimentation. Case law holds that applicant’s specification must be “commensurately enabling [regarding the scope of the claims]” Ex Parte Kung, 17 USPQ2d 1545, 1547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1990). Otherwise undue experimentation would be involved in determining how to practice and use applicant’s invention. The test for undue experimentation as to whether or not all embodiments within the scope of the claim can be made and/or used as claimed and whether the claim meets the test is stated in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546, 547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed.Cir. 1988).
Claims 1-3, 6-7 recite properties that are enabled in the present disclosure only for certain thermoplastic polyurethanes (TPU) used in the examples (which have certain isocyanates, polyols, and chain extenders, and certain overall MW, MW of soft segment, wt% of soft segment, and Tg) whereas the claims are much broader in this regard, with the broadened scope of the claims compared to the enabled embodiments of the examples constituting an undue/unreasonable amount of experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art (to experiment within the full claim scope, beyond the scope of the examples, to arrive at the claimed properties). For the scope of the TPU as claimed to constitute a reasonable level of experimentation, it would appear that the claims would have to recite:
a Markush group for the isocyanate (e.g., 4,4′-Methylene dicyclohexyl diisocyanate, hexamethylene diisocyanate, and isophorone diisocyanate)
a Markush group for the polyol (e.g., a polycaprolactone-based polyol, polypropylene glycol, or polytetramethylene ether glycol)
a Markush group for the chain extender (e.g., a diol having from two to ten carbon atoms)
a range of overall MW,
a range for MW and wt% of the soft segment, and
a range for Tg.
Upon applying the Wands factors to claims 1-3, 6-7, undue experimentation would be required:
(A) The breadth of the claims; (as explained above, the claims are broad in terms of the type of polymers (TPU) recited relative to the much narrower guidance provided in the specification)
(B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (the properties as claimed would not be readily arrived at by one having ordinary skill in the art without significant guidance)
(E) The level of predictability in the art; (to achieve the full scope of the claimed invention with the limited guidance provided in the specification would require testing various types of polymers (TPU) without any apparent predictability)
(F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (the direction in the specification, at best, is sufficient for certain types of polymers (TPU), see e.g., the examples, without any corresponding direction provided for achieving the claimed properties with the broader types and amounts of polymers as claimed)
(H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. (based on the broader claimed scope compared to the limited guidance in the specification and the apparent lack of predictability, the quantity of experimentation would be unreasonable).
The rest of the rejected claims not specifically addressed above are rejected because they depend from one of the claims specifically addressed above and fail to resolve the above enablement problem.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)/second paragraph
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites the thermoplastic polyurethane layer which has improper antecedent basis and is therefore vague.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
If this application currently names joint inventors: in considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
When something is indicated as being “obvious” this should be taken as shorthand for “prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains before the effective filing date of the invention”.
When a range is indicated as overlapping a claimed range, unless otherwise noted, this should be taken as short hand to indicate that the claimed range is obvious in view of the overlapping range in the prior art as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 1-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steelman (U.S. 2016/0002418) in view of McGuire (U.S. 2010/0068446) in view of Lubrizol Aliphatic TPU NPL document (2016).
Regarding claims 1-15, 17-20, Steelman discloses a thermoplastic film comprising a polymer blend of a thermoplastic urethane elastomer TPU as well as a PVB such as Butvar B-90 (page 5, PVB6) which inherently has a MW of 70,000-100,000 and a PVOH content of 18.5-20.5 based on the present disclosure (within the scope of claims 4-5) as well as a polymeric plasticizer, such as an adipate polyester plasticizer ([0007], page 5, A1, as in claims 18-20, [0016]). The thermoplastic film may have a patterned adhesive layer on one side ([0026]-[0027]) and may be clear ([0017] as in claim 9) and may be combined with an additional clear protective top coat (as in claim 17, [0039]-[0040]).
Steelman discloses that the relative ratio of TPU and PVB may be adjusted (as in claims 1 and 10) based on the desired level of stretch/elasticity and unevenness/distortion ([0015]) such that it would have been obvious to have adjusted the ratio of TPU to PVB, including to values within the range disclosed in the present specification, to optimize the stretch/elasticity and unevenness/distortion of the film.
Steelman does not disclose the claimed polyether based TPU, but calls for TPU’s in general, suggests Estane ALR-CL87A, and seeks such TPU’s for outdoor weatherability and protection in the context of optical/graphic films ([0002], [0012]-[0013], [0019]). McGuire is also directed to visually clear protective sheets ([0021]) formed out of TPU’s and describes polyether based aliphatic TPU’s, such as AG8451, as similar polyurethanes to the polycaprolactone based TPU’s (like the Estane ALR-CL87A suggested in Steelman) for forming such clear protective sheets ([0054]) such that it would have been obvious to have used such polyether based aliphatic TPU’s, such as AG8451, from McGuire as the TPU called for in Steelman because McGuire teaches that the polyether based aliphatic TPU’s also provide visually clear protective properties as sought by Steelman.
The obviousness of such a modification to Steelman (in view of McGuire) is further supported by the teachings of the Lubrizol NPL document which confirms that AG-8451 was a known and obvious alternative to Estane ALR-CL87A (suggested in Steelman) for providing durability (protection) and aesthetic (optical clarity) properties with optical weather protection (e.g., yellowing). These teachings from the Lubrizol NPL document support the obviousness of modifying Steelman based on McGuire by providing additional motivation/benefits related to using AG-8451 or ALR-CL87A for outdoor optical protective films. Alternatively, these teachings from the Lubrizol NPL document independently (without McGuire) render obvious the use of AG-8451 or ALR-CL87A as the TPU in Steelman because the reference teaches that AG-8451 and ALR-CL87A are suitable for outdoor optical protective films and provide weather (yellowing) resistance.
Lubrizol’s Estane AG8451 inherently is formed of methylene bis cyclohexyl isocyanate, polytetramethylene glycol (soft segment based on present disclosure), and butanediol (hard segment based on present disclosure), with a MW of the soft/polytetramethylene segment of 837, 54.53% of the soft/polytetramethylene segment, an overall MW of 340,000 and a Tg of -22.5 degrees Celsius based on the present disclosure (within the scope of claims 8, 11-15).
The properties of claims 1-3, 6-7, are not disclosed, but modified Steelman teaches a blend of the same TPU and PVB as in the present examples, at amounts that render obvious the amounts in the present examples, such that these overlapping embodiments within the teachings of modified Steelman inherently have the same properties as the overlapped examples in the present specification, which fall within the claimed property ranges.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-26, is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-35 of copending Application No. 18/686,030 (the copending application) in view of Steelman (U.S. 2016/0002418). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The present polyether polyol is recited in copending claim 27. The presently claimed polymeric plasticizer is rendered obvious in the copending claims in view of Steelman in order to improve plasticity (see citations above). The presently claimed amounts are not a patentable distinction See MPEP 2144.05 II A.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1-26, is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-31 of copending Application No. 18/686,024 (the copending application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The present polyether polyol is recited in copending claim 18. The presently claimed amounts are not a patentable distinction See MPEP 2144.05 II A.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1-26, is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-31 of copending Application No. 18/686,010 (the copending application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
References cited in any corresponding foreign applications have been considered but would be cumulative to the above. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL B NELSON whose direct telephone number is (571)272-9886 and whose direct fax number is (571)273-9886 and whose email address is Michael.Nelson@USPTO.GOV. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Sat, 7am - 7pm.
/MICHAEL B NELSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787