DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the hollow tubular element must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) (claims 25 and 26). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 17 recites three or more portions – which does not further limit the subject matter of claim 16 in that claim 16 recites a plurality of portions. The phrase “a plurality of portions” indicates two or more portions which includes three portions.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 is considered to be indefinite: the claim recites a plurality of portions and then further limits the claim to two portions (separated by one or more separators) while still using “comprising” claim language such that it is unclear how may portions are required.
Claim 17 is considered to be indefinite: since claim 17 does not further limit claim 16, it is unclear how many portions are intended to be present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Conner (US 2021/020555a A1).
Claim 16: Conner teaches an aerosol-generating article, having a proximal end and a distal end, the aerosol-generating article comprising:
●a plurality of portions 222A of aerosol-generating substrate (for example – to) arranged
in a series along a longitudinal direction of the aerosol-generating article
●a first barrier (or separator) 224A located between the plurality of portions 222A and
the distal end of the aerosol-generating article
●one or more separators (or barriers) 224A
The plurality of portions 222A comprise two portions 222A that are separated from one another by at least one of the one or more separators 224A. The first barrier 224A and the one or more separators 224A are substantially air-impermeable (for example – solid disk of stainless steel) (paras 111-117). Conner teaches the following:
Distal-End / 224A / 222A / 224A / 222A / 224A / 222A / Proximal-End
This arrangement illustrates a separator 224A between the distal end and a plurality of portions 222A.
Claim 17: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 16, wherein the plurality of portions 222A comprises three or more portions 222A.
Claim 18: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 16, wherein each of the plurality of portions 222A in the series is separated from other portions 222A in the series by at least one of the one or more separators 224A.
Claim 19: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 16, wherein the plurality of portions 222A comprises n portions 222A (for example: n=5), and the aerosol-generating article comprises n-1 separators 224A (n-1 = 5-1 = 4).
Claim 20: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 16, wherein the first barrier 224A is located at the distal end of the aerosol-generating article.
Claim 21: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 16, further comprising a second barrier 224A located between the plurality of portions 222A and the proximal end of the aerosol-generating article, wherein the second barrier 224A is substantially air-impermeable (for example – solid disk of stainless steel). Conner teaches the following:
Distal-End / 224A / 222A / 224A / 222A / 224A / 222A / Proximal-End
This arrangement illustrates a barrier 224A between the proximal end and a plurality of portions 222A.
Claim 22: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 16, further comprising a hollow cavity 226A extending along the longitudinal direction of the aerosol-generating article, wherein the plurality of portions 222A and the one or more separators 224A are located about a perimeter of the hollow cavity 226A (Fig5, for example).
Claim 23: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 22, wherein the plurality of portions 222A and the one or more separators 224A have substantially annular transverse cross-sections, and the plurality of portions 222A and the one or more separators 224A circumscribe the hollow cavity 226A (Fig5, for example).
Claim 24: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 23, wherein the hollow cavity 226A is defined by internal annular surfaces of the plurality of portions 222A the one or more separators 224A (Fig5, for example).
Claim 25: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 22, further comprising a hollow tubular element extending along the longitudinal direction of the aerosol-generating article, wherein the hollow cavity 226A is defined by an internal surface (surfaces of portions 222A and barriers (separators) 224A) of the hollow tubular element.
Claim 26: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 25, wherein the hollow tubular element comprises an air-permeable wall circumscribing the hollow cavity 226A (for example – that of the solid disk of stainless steel).
Claim 27: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 16, wherein each of the plurality of portions 222A has substantially a same composition (para 24).
Claim 28: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 16, wherein the plurality of portions 222A comprises at least two portions 222A having a different composition from one another (para 24).
Claim 29: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 16, wherein at least one of the plurality of portions 222A comprises tobacco material.
Claim 30: the aerosol-generating article according to claim 16, further comprising an air-permeable wrapper 224C (for example – solid disk of stainless steel) that circumscribes the plurality of portions 222A and the one or more separators 224A.
Prior Art of Record
The following prior art is made of record: Crump teaches a delivery device having tobacco portions in series. Hejazi teaches a delivery device having tobacco portions. Townsend teaches a cigarette rod having four separate sections. Zuber teaches a delivery device having two aerosol generating areas. Ellis teaches a smoking device having plugs 51 of tobacco.
Conclusion
/LINDA L GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745