DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed 07/16/2026 which amended claims 1 and 17. Claims 1-17 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-12, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki (US 2019/0101813) in view of Lin et al (US 2022/0334458; hereinafter referred to as Lin).
Regarding Claims 1 and 17, Miyazaki discloses a projector (Figure 6) that includes a light source module (Figure 6; Light Source Side Optical System 170), the light source module (Figure 6; Light Source Side Optical System 170) comprising:
a light source section (Figure 6; Excitation light shining device 70) that emits excitation light (see Paragraph [0049]; wherein it is disclose that the excitation light shining device 70 functioning as a blue light source device configured to emit light having a wavelength in the blue wavelength range (excitation light));
a wavelength conversion section (Figure 6; Luminescent Plate Device 100) that outputs first light and second light that are in mutually different wavelength bands (see Paragraph [0057]; wherein it is disclosed that the excitation light shining device 70 as excitation light is shone onto to the green luminescent material layer of the fluorescent light emitting zone 103, the green luminescent material is excited, whereby light having a wavelength in the green wavelength range is emitted and wherein it is further disclosed that light having a wavelength in the blue wavelength range which travels from the excitation light shining device 70 is incident on the diffuse reflection zone 104 to be reflected while being diffused towards the front surface side of the luminescent plate 101);
a fluorescent substance region (Figure 6; Fluorescent Light Emitting Zone 103) that absorbs the excitation light (Figure 6; Excitation Light EL) and outputs the first light together with the second light (see Paragraph [0057]), the first light being fluorescent light in a different wavelength band from the excitation light (see Paragraph [0057]), the fluorescent substance region (Figure 6; Fluorescent Light Emitting Zone 103) being provided in the wavelength conversion section (see Figure 5A);
a reflection region (Figure 5A; Diffuse Reflection Zone 104) that outputs the excitation light as the second light in a different angular distribution from the second light output from the fluorescent substance region (see Paragraph [0057]; wherein it is disclosed that the light having a wavelength in the blue wavelength range which travels from the excitation light shining device 70 is incident on the diffuse reflection zone 104 to be reflected while being diffused towards the front surface side of the luminescent plate 101), the reflection region (Figure 5A; Diffuse Reflection Zone 104) being provided in the wavelength conversion section (see Figure 5A); and
a region-division wavelength selector (Figure 6; Divided Dichroic Mirror 148) including a first region (Figure 4B; Fourth Zone 148b) and a second region (Figure 4B; Third Zone 148a), the first region (Figure 4B; Fourth Zone 148b) transmitting the first light and the second light (see Paragraph [0061]; wherein it is disclosed that the fourth zone 148b transmits any of light having a wavelength in the red, green and blue wavelength ranges), the second region (Figure 4B; Third Zone 148a) reflecting or absorbing the second light selectively (see Paragraph [0061]; wherein it is disclosed that the third zone 148a transmits light having a wavelength in the red wavelength range and light having a wavelength in the green wavelength range and reflects light having a wavelength in the blue wavelength range).
Miyazaki does not expressly disclose that the second region is provided on an optical path for the second light output from the fluorescent substance region, and wherein the second light output from the reflection region enters the first region while avoiding the second region.
Lin discloses a light source module (Figure 2B; Illumination System 100), comprising: a light source section (Figure 2B; Excitation Light Source 110)) that emits excitation light (see Paragraph [0027]); a wavelength conversion section (Figure 2B; Wavelength Converting Element 120) that outputs first light and second light that are in mutually different wavelength bands (see Paragraph [0028]); a fluorescent substance region that absorbs the excitation light and outputs the first light together with the second light (see Paragraph [0028]; wherein it is disclosed that the wavelength converting element 120 includes, for example, a yellow light conversion region, a yellow-green light conversion region, and a reflecting region disposed on a substrate); a reflection region that outputs the excitation light as the second light in a different angular distribution from the second light output from the fluorescent substance region (see Paragraph [0028]; wherein it is disclosed that the wavelength converting element 120 includes, for example, a yellow light conversion region, a yellow-green light conversion region, and a reflecting region disposed on a substrate); and a region-division wavelength selector (Figure 2B; Region-Based Light Splitter 130) including a first region (Figures 3 and 4; Region 134) and a second region (Figures 3 and 4; Region 132),
the first region (Figures 3 and 4; Region 134) transmitting the first light and the second light (see Paragraph [0029]; wherein it is disclosed that the region 134 allows the excitation beam L1 and the excited beam L2 to pass through), the second region (Figures 3 and 4; Region 132) reflecting or absorbing the second light selectively (see Paragraph [0029]; wherein it is disclosed that region 132 reflects the excitation beam L1 and allows the excited beam L2 to pass through), wherein the second region (Figures 3 and 4; Region 132) is provided on an optical path for the second light output from the fluorescent substance region (see Figure 2B; Paragraph [0039]; wherein it is disclosed that the portion of the excitation beam L1 which is not excited and converted is reflected to pass through the focusing element 180A along the original path and transmitted to the first region 132 on the periphery of the region-based light splitter 130 at a large dispersion angle), and wherein the second light output from the reflection region enters the first region (Figures 3 and 4; Region 134) while avoiding the second region (see Figure 2B and Paragraph [0037]; wherein it is disclosed that the excitation beam L1 may be transmitted through the second region 134 located at the center of the region-based light splitter 130, and be sequentially transmitted through the light filtering element 160 and the light homogenizing element 170 after being reflected by the light splitting assembly 140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the region division wavelength selector of Miyazaki such that the second region is provided on an optical path for the second light output from the fluorescent substance region, and wherein the second light output from the reflection region enters the first region while avoiding the second region, as taught by Lin, because doing so would allow for the portion of the excitation beam that is not excited and converted to be recycled, thereby increasing the brightness of the excited beam and as a result, the conversion efficiency is facilitated, and the display effect is improved (see Lin Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding Claim 5, Miyazaki as modified by Lin discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Miyazaki further discloses the second light output from the reflection region (Figure 5A; Diffuse Reflection Zone 104) has an annular angular distribution (see Figure 6 and Paragraph [0054]; wherein it is disclosed that a reflecting coat (for example, a metallic coat of aluminum or silver) is deposited on a glass diffusing surface which is given a predetermined diffusing angle, whereby a glossy diffuse reflecting surface can be formed. In this way, the fluorescent light emitting zone 103 and the diffuse reflection zone 104 are disposed so as to be aligned with each other in a circumferential direction).
Regarding Claim 7, Miyazaki as modified by Lin discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Miyazaki further discloses an integrator (Figure 6; Light Tunnel 175) disposed on optical paths for the first light and the second light that are output from the wavelength conversion section (see Figure 6); and a wavelength-selective polarization splitter (Figure 6; Dichroic Mirror 78) that splits the second light on a basis of polarization directions (see Paragraph [0051]), the wavelength-selective polarization splitter (Figure 6; Dichroic Mirror 78) being disposed between the wavelength conversion section (Figure 6; Luminescent Plate Device 100) and the integrator (see Figure 6; wherein the dichroic mirror 78 is disposed between the luminescent plate device 100 and the light tunnel 175).
Regarding Claim 8, Miyazaki as modified by Lin discloses the limitations of claim 7 as detailed above.
Miyazaki further discloses the region-division wavelength selector (Figure 6; Divided Dichroic Mirror 148) is disposed between the wavelength-selective polarization splitter (Figure 6; Dichroic Mirror 78) and the integrator (Figure 6; Light Tunnel 175).
Regarding Claim 9, Miyazaki as modified by Lin discloses the limitations of claim 7 as detailed above.
Miyazaki further discloses the region-division wavelength selector (Figure 6; Divided Dichroic Mirror 148) is disposed between the wavelength conversion section (Figure 6; Luminescent Plate Device 100) and the wavelength-selective polarization splitter (see Figure 6; wherein the divided dichroic mirror 148 is disposed between the luminescent plate device 100 and the dichroic mirror 78).
Regarding Claim 10, Miyazaki as modified by Lin discloses the limitations of claim 7 as detailed above.
Miyazaki further discloses the region-division wavelength selector (Figure 6; Divided Dichroic Mirror 148) and the wavelength-selective polarization splitter (Figure 6; Dichroic Mirror 78) are integrated (see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Miyazaki as modified by Lin discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Miyazaki further discloses the wavelength conversion section (Figure 6; Luminescent Plate Device 100) has a first surface and a second surface that are opposed to each other (see Figures 5A and 5B), the wavelength conversion section (Figure 6; Luminescent Plate Device 100) includes a wheel substrate (Figures 5A and 5B; Base Material 102), a fluorescent substance layer (Figures 5A and 5B; Fluorescent Light Emitting Zone 103), and a light diffusion structure (Figures 5A and 5B; Diffuse Reflection Zone 104), the wheel substrate (Figures 5A and 5B; Base Material 102) is rotatable about a rotation axis (Figures 5A and 5B; Paragraph [0054]; wherein it is disclosed that the base material 102 is fixed to a motor shaft 114 of the wheel motor 110), the fluorescent substance layer (Figures 5A and 5B; Fluorescent Light Emitting Zone 103) includes a plurality of fluorescent substance particles and is provided on the first surface in the fluorescent substance region (see Figures 5A and 5B), and the light diffusion structure (Figures 5A and 5B; Diffuse Reflection Zone 104) is provided on the first surface in the reflection region (see Figures 5A and 5B).
Regarding Claim 12, Miyazaki as modified by Lin discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Miyazaki further discloses the wheel substrate (Figures 5A and 5B; Base Material 102) has light reflectivity (see Paragraph [0054]; wherein it is disclosed that the base material 102 of the luminescent plate 101 is a metallic base material of copper or aluminum).
Regarding Claim 15, Miyazaki as modified by Lin discloses the limitations of claim 7 as detailed above.
Miyazaki further discloses the light source section (Figure 6; Excitation light shining device 70) and the wavelength conversion section (Figure 6; Luminescent Plate Device 100) are opposed to each other with the wavelength-selective polarization splitter (Figure 6; Dichroic Mirror 78) interposed therebetween (see Figure 6).
Claims 2-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki (US 2019/0101813) and Lin et al (US 2022/0334458; hereinafter referred to as Lin) as applied to claim 1, in view of Liao (US 2018/0299758).
Regarding Claim 2, Miyazaki as modified by Lin discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Miyazaki as modified by Lin does not expressly disclose that the reflection region includes a plurality of reflection devices with an inclined surface, the reflection devices being arranged with no space therebetween.
Liao discloses a light source module (Figure 2A; Illumination System 200) comprising:
a reflection region (Figure 3A; Reflective Region 34b),
wherein the reflection region (Figure 3A; Reflective Region 34b) includes a plurality of reflection devices (Figure 3A; Optical Microstructure 342b) with an inclined surface (see Figure 3A), the reflection devices (Figure 3A; Optical Microstructure 342b) being arranged with no space therebetween (see Figure 3A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the reflection region of Miyazaki as modified by Lin such that the reflection region includes a plurality of reflection devices with an inclined surface, the reflection devices being arranged with no space therebetween, as taught by Liao, because doing so would scatter the excitation beam, thereby providing uniform light (see Liao Paragraph [0062]).
Regarding Claim 3, Miyazaki as modified by Lin and Liao discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Liao further discloses the inclined surface of each of the plurality of reflection devices (Figure 3A; Optical Microstructure 342b) has a substantially conical shape (see Figure 3A).
Regarding Claim 4, Miyazaki as modified by Lin and Liao discloses the limitations of claim 3 as detailed above.
Liao further discloses a cross section of the inclined surface has a concave curved shape (see Figure 3A).
Regarding Claim 6, Miyazaki as modified by Lin and Liao discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Liao further discloses each of the plurality of reflection devices (Figure 3A; Optical Microstructure 342b) reflects light into an annular shape (see Figures 2A and 3A; Paragraph [0062]).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki (US 2019/0101813) as modified by Lin et al (US 2022/0334458; hereinafter referred to as Lin) as applied to claim 11, in view of Tajiri (US 2014/0285772).
Regarding Claim 13, Miyazaki as modified by Lin discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Miyazaki as modified by Lin does not expressly disclose that the wheel substrate has optical transparency.
Tajiri discloses a wheel substrate (Figure 9; Transmission Member 14a) that has an optical transparency (see Figure 9; Paragraph [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the wheel substrate of Miyazaki as modified by Lin such that the wheel substrate has optical transparency, as taught by Tajiri, because reflective substrates and optically transparent substrates as the wheel substrate were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made and would perform equally well.
Regarding Claim 14, Miyazaki as modified by Lin discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Miyazaki as modified by Lin does not expressly disclose that the light source section is disposed on the second surface side of the wheel substrate.
Tajiri discloses a light source module (Figure 9; Transmission-Type Light Source Device 10A), comprising
a wavelength conversion section that has a first surface (Figure 9; wherein the fluorescent material 13 is provided on the first surface) and a second surface that are opposed to each other (Figure 9; wherein the transmission member 14a is disposed on the second surface),
wherein the light source section (Figure 9; First Light Source 11) is disposed on the second surface side of the wheel substrate (see Figure 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source module of Miyazaki as modified by Lin such that the light source section is disposed on the second surface side of the wheel substrate., as taught by Tajiri, because reflective substrates and optically transparent substrates as the wheel substrate in either a transmissive light source module or reflective light source module were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was made and would perform equally well.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki (US 2019/0101813) as modified by Lin et al (US 2022/0334458; hereinafter referred to as Lin) as applied to claim 7, in view of Okuda (US 2018/0259839).
Regarding Claim 16, Miyazaki as modified by Lin discloses the limitations of claim 7 as detailed above.
Miyazaki as modified by Lin does not expressly disclose a quarter-wave plate that rotates polarization directions of the excitation light, the first light, and the second light, the first light and the second light being output from the wavelength conversion section, the quarter-wave plate being disposed between the wavelength-selective polarization splitter and the wavelength conversion section.
Okuda discloses a light source module (Figure 1; Light Source Part 110), comprising a quarter-wave plate (Figure 1; Quarter Waveplate 40) that rotates polarization directions of the excitation light, the first light, and the second light (see Paragraph [0029]), the first light and the second light being output from the wavelength conversion section (see Paragraphs [0020] and [0021]), the quarter-wave plate (Figure 1; Quarter Waveplate 40) being disposed between a wavelength-selective polarization splitter (Figure 1; Dichroic Mirror 20) and the wavelength conversion section (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the light source module of Miyazaki as modified by Lin to include a quarter-wave plate that rotates polarization directions of the excitation light, the first light, and the second light, the first light and the second light being output from the wavelength conversion section, the quarter-wave plate being disposed between the wavelength-selective polarization splitter and the wavelength conversion section, as taught by Okuda, because doing so would predictably allow for production of a projection image with a desired polarization direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882