DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-3 and 6-10 have been withdrawn (election selection).
Claims 11-28 have been cancelled.
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 09/03/2026. Claims 1 and 4-5 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed 09/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that first, Decarreau does not teach or suggest that "the first network node having a direct signaling connection to a core network whereas the second network node is signaling connected to the core network via the first network node. Nothing in Decarreau teaches or suggests any scenario in which one base station's signaling connection to the core network is routed through another base station
Examiner respectively disagrees. Firstly, there is nothing “a direct signaling connection to a core network whereas the second network node is signaling connected to the core network via the first network node” in the body of claim. Secondly, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e.,[…any scenario in which one base station's signaling connection to the core network is routed through another base station]) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In addition, Decarreau teaches the term "base station" is used to refer to entities that provide wireless connectivity within the wireless communication system 100 such as eNodeBs, base station routers, home base station routers, access points, metrocells (core network), microcells, picocells, femtocells, and the like (paragraph 9).
In addition, UE 105 is directly connect to base station 101 wherein they exchange direction signaling without any intermediary signaling (e.g., there is no relay between them. Further, Fig. 1 is an exemplary configuration of any of the cells 111-114 can be configured as metrocells (core network) with any kind of signaling.
Applicant argued that Decarreau is teaching each of the base stations 101-104 establishes its own independent connection to the core network, rather than routing signaling through another base station (see remarks (09/03/2026) page 7 second pargraph).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e.,[… rather than routing signaling through another base station) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argued that Decarreau does not teach "in response to the reception of the PCI, sending a request to the second network node initiating the second network node to set-up a secondary connection with the UE," as recited in claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Decarreau teaches “gNB can be sure (an acknowledgement) that this cell is the right target cell of the handover and start the handover procedure (set-up procedure) or gNB receives radio link (RLF) indication (set-up failure)” (paragraphs 17-18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Decarreau et al. (US 2020/0187067 Al).
For claim 1 Decarreau teaches a method performed by a first network node of a wireless communication network, the first network node being of a first radio access network technology, the wireless communication network further comprising a second network node of a second radio access technology, the first network node having a direct signaling connection to a core network whereas the second network node is signaling-connected to the core network via the first network node (Fig. 1 “UE 105 is connected to the base station 101 in cell 111 and is reeving a signal from base station 102 in cell 112” and paragraph 9 “3G, 4G, 5G, Wi-Fi, IEEE 802.11 and the like networks”), the method comprising:
receiving, from a User Equipment, UE, that has a primary connection to the first network node, a Physical Cell Identity, PCI, that matches a PCI of a cell controlled by the second network node (paragraph 13 “base station 101 receives from UE 105 reports including PCI neighboring cells”);
in response to the reception of the PCI, sending a request to the second network node initiating the second network node to set-up a secondary connection with the UE (paragraphs 17-18 “gNB request to set up beam measurement (initiate set-up a secondary connection) for the UE 305”), and
receiving, from the second network node, an acknowledgement of a performed secondary connection set-up with the UE, the acknowledgement comprising an ID of the UE, or, obtaining information on a secondary connection set-up failure with the UE (paragraphs 17-18 “gNB can be sure (an acknowledgement) that this cell is the right target cell of the handover and start the handover procedure or gNB receives radio link (RLF) indication (set-up failure)”).
For claim 4 Decarreau teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
monitoring any response from the second network node to the request sent to the second network node, and receiving the acknowledgement of performed secondary connection or obtaining the information on secondary connection set-up failure as a result of the monitoring (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 5 Decarreau teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
selectively acting in response to whether the acknowledgement of performed secondary connection set-up was received or whether the information on secondary connection set-up failure was obtained (as discussed in claim 1).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Rugeland et al. (US2022/0007255 A1) “a wireless device and method for re-establishing a radio connection in a communication network comprising a first RAT and a different RAT”, Ericsson, Jan. 6, 2022.
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415