DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Based on the current set of claims (Claims, 12 May 2026), Claims 1, 8, 11-13, 27, 29-30, 33-35, 49, and 58-61 are pending.
Based on the current set of claims (Claims, 12 May 2026), Claims 1 and 29 are amended and said amendments are narrowing (Claims, 23 February 2024).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the objection of Claims 1, 3, 8, 12, 29, 30, and 34 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of Claims 1, 3, 8, 12, 29, 30, and 34 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection of Claim 1 and 29 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Wang “is concerned entirely with reducing feedback overhead for a single Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) or cell, and the entire disclosure of Wang is silent on any multi-station, multi-TRP, or coherent joint transmission (C-JT) scenario” (Remarks, 12 May 2026, Pgs. 7-8, Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103).
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With regard to Applicant’s allegation that Wang is not applicable because Wang “is concerned entirely with reducing feedback overhead for a single Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) or cell” (Remarks, 12 May 2026, Pgs. 7-8, Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103), Examiner notes that Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
With regard to Applicant’s allegation that “the entire disclosure of Wang is silent on any multi-station, multi-TRP, or coherent joint transmission (C-JT) scenario” (Remarks, 12 May 2026, Pgs. 7-8, Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103), Examiner respectfully disagrees because the limitation of Applicant’s Claim 1 and Claim 29 (namely “the codebook type comprises a first codebook type and a second codebook type, the first codebook type indicating obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for each of the plurality of stations, the second codebook type indicating jointly obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for the plurality of station”) do not specifically recite “a coherent joint transmission hypothesis”. Furthermore, Applicant’s claims do not indicate that there are multiple transmission/receive points.
Examiner maintains the current ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 29, and 58-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeineddine in view of Wang et al. (US 20210234583 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Wang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Zeineddine discloses a method for obtaining a channel state information (CSI) report, comprising:
receiving network information (¶167-168 & Fig. 10 (1002) & Claim 13 & Claim 15, Zeineddine discloses receiving, by a remote unit, channel state information report configuration information. Examiner correlates channel state information report configuration information to “network information”); and
obtaining a CSI report based on the network information (¶167-168 & Fig. 10 (1002) & Claim 13 & Claim 15, Zeineddine discloses generating, by the remote unit, a set of channel state information reports based on the channel state information report configuration information), the CSI report comprising CSI measurement results (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report part 2 comprises precoding matrix indicators (PMI) or channel quality information (CQI) for at least one UE) in a coherent joint transmission hypothesis for one or a plurality of stations (¶59, Zeineddine discloses that either coherent joint transmission or non-coherent joint transmission may be used for reporting channel state information), wherein the network information comprises codebook- type indication information (¶167-168 & Fig. 10 (1002) & Claim 13 & Claim 15, Zeineddine discloses channel state information report configuration information where the CSI report configuration information includes a codebook type parameter. Examiner correlates a codebook type parameter to “codebook-type indication information”), the codebook-type indication information indicating a codebook type in the CSI report (¶167-168 & Fig. 10 (1002) & Claim 13 & Claim 15, Zeineddine discloses that codebook type parameter is a parameter that indicates the codebook type to be used in the CSI report).
However, Zeineddine does not disclose wherein the codebook type comprises a first codebook type and a second codebook type, the first codebook type indicating obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for each of the plurality of stations, the second codebook type indicating jointly obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for the plurality of stations.
Wang, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the codebook type comprises a first codebook type and a second codebook type (¶604-605, Wang discloses a first feedback mode corresponding to a type II codebook and a second feedback mode corresponding to the type II codebook), the first codebook type indicating obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for each of the plurality of stations (¶604-605, Wang discloses that the first feedback mode corresponding to a type II codebook is a frequency domain unit independent feedback mode), the second codebook type indicating jointly obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for the plurality of stations (¶604-605, Wang discloses that the second feedback mode corresponding to a type II codebook is a frequency domain unit joint feedback mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zeineddine by requiring that the codebook type comprises a first codebook type and a second codebook type where the first codebook type indicating obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for each of the plurality of stations and where the second codebook type indicating jointly obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for the plurality of stations as taught by Wang because channel state information (CSI) feedback is improved by providing a second feedback mode which greatly reduces feedback overheads (Wang, ¶605).
Regarding Claim 29, Zeineddine discloses a method for obtaining a channel state information (CSI) report, comprising:
transmitting network information (¶167-168 & Fig. 10 (1002) & Claim 13 & Claim 15, Zeineddine discloses transmitting, to a remote unit, channel state information report configuration information. Examiner correlates channel state information report configuration information to “network information”);
receiving the CSI report obtained based on the network information (¶167-168 & Fig. 10 (1002) & Claim 13 & Claim 15, Zeineddine discloses receiving, from the remote unit, a set of channel state information reports based on the channel state information report configuration information), the CSI report comprising CSI measurement results (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report part 2 comprises precoding matrix indicators (PMI) or channel quality information (CQI) for at least one UE) in a coherent joint transmission hypothesis for a station or a plurality of stations (¶59, Zeineddine discloses that either coherent joint transmission or non-coherent joint transmission may be used for reporting channel state information); and
determining a channel state based on the CSI report (¶167-168 & Fig. 10 (1006) & Claim 13 & Claim 15, Zeineddine discloses determining, by the network, the channel state information corresponding to the set of channel state information reports), wherein the network information comprises codebook-type indication information (¶167-168 & Fig. 10 (1002) & Claim 13 & Claim 15, Zeineddine discloses channel state information report configuration information where the CSI report configuration information includes a codebook type parameter. Examiner correlates a codebook type parameter to “codebook-type indication information”), the codebook-type indication information indicating a codebook type in the CSI report (¶167-168 & Fig. 10 (1002) & Claim 13 & Claim 15, Zeineddine discloses that codebook type parameter is a parameter that indicates the codebook type to be used in the CSI report).
However, Zeineddine does not disclose wherein the codebook type comprises a first codebook type and a second codebook type, the first codebook type indicating obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for each of the plurality of stations, the second codebook type indicating jointly obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for the plurality of stations.
Wang, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the codebook type comprises a first codebook type and a second codebook type (¶604-605, Wang discloses a first feedback mode corresponding to a type II codebook and a second feedback mode corresponding to the type II codebook), the first codebook type indicating obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for each of the plurality of stations (¶604-605, Wang discloses that the first feedback mode corresponding to a type II codebook is a frequency domain unit independent feedback mode), the second codebook type indicating jointly obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for the plurality of stations (¶604-605, Wang discloses that the second feedback mode corresponding to a type II codebook is a frequency domain unit joint feedback mode).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zeineddine by requiring that the codebook type comprises a first codebook type and a second codebook type where the first codebook type indicating obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for each of the plurality of stations and where the second codebook type indicating jointly obtaining a frequency-domain codebook for the plurality of stations as taught by Wang because channel state information (CSI) feedback is improved by providing a second feedback mode which greatly reduces feedback overheads (Wang, ¶605).
Regarding Claim 58, Zeineddine discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions which, when executed on a communication apparatus, cause the communication apparatus to perform the method (¶46-47 & Fig. 2, Zeineddine discloses that a remote unit comprises memory 204 storing computer-readable instructions for execution by a processor 202 to perform a method) of claim 1 (See Rejection of Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 59, Zeineddine discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions which, when executed on a communication apparatus, cause the communication apparatus to perform the method (¶56-57 & Fig. 3, Zeineddine discloses that a network unit comprises memory 304 storing computer-readable instructions for execution by a processor 302 to perform a method) of claim 29 (See Rejection of Claim 29).
Regarding Claim 60, Zeineddine discloses a communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory storing program codes which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the method (¶46-47 & Fig. 2, Zeineddine discloses that a remote unit comprises a processor 202 and a memory 204 storing computer-readable instructions for execution by the processor 202 to perform a method) of claim 1 (See Rejection of Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 61, Zeineddine discloses a communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory storing program codes which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform the method (¶56-57 & Fig. 3, Zeineddine discloses that a network unit comprises a processor 302 and a memory 304 storing computer-readable instructions for execution by the processor 302) of claim 29 (See Rejection of Claim 29).
Claims 8, 13, 27, 30, 35, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song et al. (US 20210167830 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Song”).
Regarding Claim 8, Zeineddine in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 1.
Zeineddine further discloses wherein the CSI report comprises first information and second information (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report comprises a part 1 and a part 2),
wherein the first information comprises at least one of:
quantity information of the plurality of stations (Examiner notes that the use of “or” and “and/or” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any element in the list that follows or any of those elements taken together. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal 2011-004811, Application No. 11/565,411. Thus, Examiner has not treated all limitations separated by “and/or” and “or”), [or]
information of a number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients (¶93, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report part 1 comprises a number of non-zero wideband amplitude per layer for Type II CSI feedback on the PUSCH); and
the second information comprises all or part of CSI measurement results for the plurality of stations (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report part 2 comprises precoding matrix indicators (PMI) or channel quality information (CQI) for at least one UE).
However, Zeineddine in view of Wang does not disclose the first information comprises reference resource index indication information.
Song, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first information comprises reference resource index indication information (¶39, Song discloses that the CSI report further comprises the channel state information - reference resource index).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zeineddine in view of Wang by requiring that the first information comprises reference resource index indication information as taught by Song because channel state information (CSI) reporting is improved by providing a relevant CSI report configuration to resolve CSI report configuration under CSI resources with different spatial properties (Song, ¶4).
Regarding Claim 13, Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song discloses the method of claim 8.
Zeineddine further discloses the second information comprises i groups of information (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report part 2 comprises precoding matrix indicators (PMI) or channel quality information (CQI) for at least one UE/remote unit. Here, the CSI report contains at least one CSI for the remote unit, thus i would be equal to 1),
wherein i is a quantity of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses at least one UE/remote unit), and a CSI measurement result for one station corresponds to one group of information (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report part 2 comprises precoding matrix indicators (PMI) or channel quality information (CQI) corresponds to at least one UE/remote unit).
Regarding Claim 27, Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song discloses the method of claim 13.
Zeineddine further discloses wherein the i groups of information are arranged according to priorities (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report part 2 is arranged according to at least one UE/remote unit).
Regarding Claim 30, Zeineddine in view of Wang discloses the method of claim 29.
Zeineddine further discloses wherein the CSI report comprises first information and second information (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report comprises a part 1 and a part 2),
wherein the first information comprises at least one of:
quantity information of the plurality of stations (Examiner notes that the use of “or” and “and/or” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any element in the list that follows or any of those elements taken together. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal 2011-004811, Application No. 11/565,411. Thus, Examiner has not treated all limitations separated by “and/or” and “or”), [or]
information of a number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients (¶93, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report part 1 comprises a number of non-zero wideband amplitude per layer for Type II CSI feedback on the PUSCH); and
the second information comprises all or part of CSI measurement results for the plurality of stations (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report part 2 comprises precoding matrix indicators (PMI) or channel quality information (CQI) for at least one UE).
However, Zeineddine in view of Wang does not disclose the first information comprises reference resource index indication information.
Song, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the first information comprises reference resource index indication information (¶39, Song discloses that the CSI report further comprises the channel state information - reference resource index).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zeineddine in view of Wang by requiring that the first information comprises reference resource index indication information as taught by Song because channel state information (CSI) reporting is improved by providing a relevant CSI report configuration to resolve CSI report configuration under CSI resources with different spatial properties (Song, ¶4).
Regarding Claim 35, Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song discloses the method of claim 30.
Zeineddine further discloses the second information comprises i groups of information (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report part 2 comprises precoding matrix indicators (PMI) or channel quality information (CQI) for at least one UE/remote unit. Here, the CSI report contains at least one CSI for the remote unit, thus i would be equal to 1),
wherein i is a quantity of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses at least one UE/remote unit), and a CSI measurement result for one station corresponds to one group of information (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report part 2 comprises precoding matrix indicators (PMI) or channel quality information (CQI) corresponds to at least one UE/remote unit).
Regarding Claim 49, Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song discloses the method of claim 35.
Zeineddine further discloses wherein the i groups of information are arranged according to priorities (¶93-95, Zeineddine discloses that the CSI report part 2 is arranged according to at least one UE/remote unit).
Claims 11 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeineddine in view of Wang in view of Song in further view of Liu et al. (US 20190081683 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Liu”).
Regarding Claim 11, Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song discloses the method of claim 8.
However, Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song does not disclose wherein the reference resource index indication information is obtained through a bitmap.
Liu, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the reference resource index indication information is obtained through a bitmap (¶18 & ¶96 & ¶130, Liu discloses that the reference signal resource index, or CRI, may be in the form of a bitmap).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song by requiring that the reference resource index indication information is obtained through a bitmap as taught by Liu because channel state information (CSI) reporting is improved by reducing reference signal resource overheads in a CSI process (Liu, ¶5).
Regarding Claim 33, Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song discloses the method of claim 30.
However, Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song does not disclose wherein the reference resource index indication information is obtained through a bitmap.
Liu, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the reference resource index indication information is obtained through a bitmap (¶18 & ¶96 & ¶130, Liu discloses that the reference signal resource index, or CRI, may be in the form of a bitmap).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song by requiring that the reference resource index indication information is obtained through a bitmap as taught by Liu because channel state information (CSI) reporting is improved by reducing reference signal resource overheads in a CSI process (Liu, ¶5).
Claims 12 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeineddine in view of Wang in view of Song in further view of Grossman et al. (US 20220286176 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Grossman”).
Regarding Claim 12, Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song discloses the method of claim 8.
However, Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song does not disclose wherein the second information comprises at least one of: spatial-domain codebook information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report, frequency-domain codebook information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report, or non-zero coefficient information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report, wherein the frequency-domain codebook information for each station is the same or different.
Grossman, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the second information comprises at least one of:
spatial-domain codebook information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report (Examiner notes that the use of “or” and “and/or” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any element in the list that follows or any of those elements taken together. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal 2011-004811, Application No. 11/565,411. Thus, Examiner has not treated all limitations separated by “and/or” and “or”),
frequency-domain codebook information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report (Examiner notes that the use of “or” and “and/or” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any element in the list that follows or any of those elements taken together. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal 2011-004811, Application No. 11/565,411. Thus, Examiner has not treated all limitations separated by “and/or” and “or”), or
non-zero coefficient information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report (¶104-112, Grossmann discloses that the CSI part 2 comprises at least the amplitude and phase information of the selected non-zero combining coefficients of the CSI report),
wherein the frequency-domain codebook information for each station is the same or different (Examiner notes that the use of “or” and “and/or” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any element in the list that follows or any of those elements taken together. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal 2011-004811, Application No. 11/565,411. Thus, Examiner has not treated all limitations separated by “and/or” and “or”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song by requiring that the second information comprises non-zero coefficient information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report as taught by Liu because three-component CSI reporting scheme improves CSI reporting by ensuring that the feedback overhead for reporting the combining coefficient of the precoder matrix or CSI matrix is no longer dependent on the number of configured frequency domain subbands (Grossman, ¶10).
Regarding Claim 34, Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song discloses the method of claim 30.
However, Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song does not disclose wherein the second information comprises at least one of: spatial-domain codebook information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report, frequency-domain codebook information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report, or non-zero coefficient information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report, wherein the frequency-domain codebook information for each station is the same or different.
Grossman, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the second information comprises at least one of:
spatial-domain codebook information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report (Examiner notes that the use of “or” and “and/or” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any element in the list that follows or any of those elements taken together. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal 2011-004811, Application No. 11/565,411. Thus, Examiner has not treated all limitations separated by “and/or” and “or”),
frequency-domain codebook information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report (Examiner notes that the use of “or” and “and/or” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any element in the list that follows or any of those elements taken together. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal 2011-004811, Application No. 11/565,411. Thus, Examiner has not treated all limitations separated by “and/or” and “or”), or
non-zero coefficient information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report (¶104-112, Grossmann discloses that the CSI part 2 comprises at least the amplitude and phase information of the selected non-zero combining coefficients of the CSI report),
wherein the frequency-domain codebook information for each station is the same or different (Examiner notes that the use of “or” and “and/or” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any element in the list that follows or any of those elements taken together. See Ex Parte Gross, Appeal 2011-004811, Application No. 11/565,411. Thus, Examiner has not treated all limitations separated by “and/or” and “or”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zeineddine in view of Wang in further view of Song by requiring that the second information comprises non-zero coefficient information for each station of the plurality of stations contained in the CSI report as taught by Liu because three-component CSI reporting scheme improves CSI reporting by ensuring that the feedback overhead for reporting the combining coefficient of the precoder matrix or CSI matrix is no longer dependent on the number of configured frequency domain subbands (Grossman, ¶10).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474