Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 20-29, in the reply filed on 12/31/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20 and dependent claims 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is not clear what the structural relationship is for the distributor space compared to the vacuum film and the gas-permeable but matrix material-impermeable membrane and the spacer fabric. Additionally, the at least one ply of flow medium is claimed to be above the tear-off fabric as first ply and also as over fibre ply 4a. It is not clear the order of the layers and the structural relationship of the layers.
The claim begins by reciting “a preform patch (2) for subsequent reinforcement of a fiber component (8) comprising: at least one fiber ply (4) of a fiber material and a matrix material (6) of a fiber composite, in which the fiber ply (4) of a fiber material is embedded, wherein the preform patch (2) has at least one ply (10) of a tear off fabric (10), characterized in that the preform patch (2) has,” As a primary issue it is not clear if the fiber composite component (8) is part of the preform patch or not. But as the preform patch (or maybe it is the fiber composite component (8)) comprises “at least one fiber ply (4)…and a matrix material (6) prior to the claim recitation of “ wherein the preform patch (2) has, on its side facing the surface of the fiber composite component (8), a fiber ply (4a) of a fiber material as first ply, above that at least one ply of a tear off fabric (10) , above that at least one ply of a flow medium (12), and above that at least one ply of a vacuum film (14), wherein the at least one ply of the flow medium (12) is arranged in a distributor space (16) for distribution of the matrix material (6) over the fiber ply (4a) of a fiber material, the distributor space (16) is delimited on the side facing away from the fiber composite component (8) by the vacuum film (14) and, on the side facing the fiber composite component (8), by the fiber ply (4a) of a fiber material…”
As the claims are describing the layers of the preform patch and “its” (the preform patch) side facing the fiber composite, it is unclear if the preform patch and fiber composite are one in the same or separate entities combined. “Its side facing the surface of the fiber composite (8) is best understood from Fig. 1 to be the bottom surface of the preform patch IF the preform patch and fiber composite are distinct entities. If the preform patch incorporates the fiber composite then the fiber ply (4a) and additional layers are on top of the fiber composite and the recitation that the tear off fabric (10) is above the fiber ply (4a) and so on. The phase “Its side facing”, it is unclear what scope of “its” is. Is “its” the preform patch” or the “fiber composite”
As a second point, “wherein the at least one ply of the flow medium (12) is arranged in a distributor space (16) for distribution of the matrix material (6) over the fiber ply (4a) of a fiber material”. The matrix material (6) is applied to fiber ply (4a) and is it applied to the fiber composite (8) as well? It is not clear if the matrix (6) that is part of the fiber composite is one and the same as the matrix material (6) that embeds the ply (4a).
As a third point of clarity, the distributor (16) is claimed that the flow medium ply (12) to distribute the matrix material over the fiber ply (4a), however as there is a tear off fabric between (4a) and the distributor spacer (16) is it not clear the order of the layers and therefore the structural relationship of the layers. The distributor layer is delimited by the vacuum film (14) and the fiber ply (4a) with no mention of the tear off fabric layer (10).
As a fourth point of clarity is regarding the relationship of the spacer layer (20) and the suction space (22) and membrane (18). The claim recites “the preform patch (2) has a gas permeable but matrix material impermeable membrane (18) and a ply of a spacer fabric (20), wherein the spacer fabric (20) is arranged between the matrix material impermeable membrane (18) and the vacuum film (14), wherein the membrane (18) separates the distributor space (16) from a suction space (22), and wherein the space filled by the spacer fabric (20) forms the suction space (22), which is sealed in a matrix material tight manner with respect to the distributor space (16).” It is not clear where in relation to the other layers the spacer (20) and the membrane (18) are located in relation to the distributor space (16). It appears from Fig. 1 that the spacer (20) and suction space (22) and maybe located within what is referred to as the distributor space (16). Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 22-24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utecht et al (WO 2009092543).
Claim 1 recites:
A preform patch (2) for subsequent reinforcement of a fiber composite component (8) comprising:
at least one fiber ply (4) of a fiber material and
a matrix material (6) of a fiber composite,
in which the fiber ply (4) of a fiber material is embedded,
wherein the preform patch (2) has
at least one ply (10) of a tear off fabric (10),
characterized in that the preform patch (2) has, on its side facing the surface of the fiber composite component (8), a fiber ply (4a) of a fiber material as first ply,
above that at least one ply of a tear off fabric (10) ,
above that at least one ply of a flow medium (12), and
above that at least one ply of a vacuum film (14),
wherein the at least one ply of the flow medium (12) is arranged in a distributor space (16) for distribution of the matrix material (6) over the fiber ply (4a) of a fiber material,
the distributor space (16) is delimited on the side facing away from the fiber composite component (8) by the vacuum film (14) and, on the side facing the fiber composite component (8), by the fiber ply (4a) of a fiber material, and
the preform patch (2) has a gas permeable but matrix material impermeable membrane (18) and a ply of a spacer fabric (20), wherein the spacer fabric (20) is arranged between the matrix material impermeable membrane (18) and the vacuum film (14),
wherein the membrane (18) separates the distributor space (16) from a suction space (22), and wherein the space filled by the spacer fabric (20) forms the suction space (22), which is sealed in a matrix material tight manner with respect to the distributor space (16).
Utecht is directed to a multilayer, flexible planar material for delimiting a matrix supply chamber during the production of fiber-reinforced plastic components made of fiber composite semifinished products comprises a multifunction laminate (40), which comprises a diaphragm (41), a textile layer (42), which is laminated on the diaphragm, and a spacer layer (43), which is disposed on the textile layer (42) (ABST).
Utecht teaches the assembly of structure 5, fiber composite semifinished product 1, membrane 7 with seal 9 and tear-off fabric 13 and flow aid 15 is covered with a film 19, which is gas-impermeable. This is sealed around the circumference of the membrane 7 with a seal 21 on the tool 3, so that the space 27 formed by the surface 23 of the tool 3 and the inner wall of the film 19 is sealed to the environment. Between the film 19 and the membrane 7, a spacer layer in the form of a fan fabric 32 is inserted, which e.g. a glass fabric, a non-woven or the like can be. This fan fabric 32 has the function, among other things through the membrane 7 out of the space 27 exhausted air and gases to conduct along the membrane surface, while keeping the film 19 at a distance from the membrane 7, when the space by means of a vacuum pump 29 and a corresponding, leading into the interior space 27 gas line 31 is evacuated (machine translation page 4, last para; page 5, first para).
Utecht teaches, based on Figure 2, a first embodiment of the sheet material according to the invention will be described below. This surface material is a multifunctional laminate 40, which performs the functions of the membrane 7 described in FIG. 1 and of the fan fabric 32. The multifunctional laminate 40 consists of a membrane 41, a textile layer 42 and a spacer layer 43 (page 7, para 1-5).
The membrane 41 laminated textile layer 42 serves primarily to reinforce the membrane 41, the textile layer 42 may consist of a woven, knitted, non-woven or knitted fabric. As material for the textile layer 42 In particular, polyester, polyamide, aramid or polypropylene can be used. In any case, the textile layer is 42 formed such that the gas permeability of the membrane 41 is not influenced in an undesirable way. The connection between the membrane 41 and the textile location 42 can be done by a lamination process using a moisture-crosslinking PU adhesive system or conventional thermal adhesive. The adhesive can also be applied punctiform to the gas permeability of the membrane 41 as little as possible (page 7, para 4).
As shown in Fig. 1 there is semipermeable membrane 7, which is permeable to gas but prevents the passage of the matrix material and there is a tear-off fabric 13 (page 4, last para).
Utecht teaches the production of fiber-reinforced plastic components made of fiber composite semifinished products comprises a multifunction laminate (40). The fiber reinforced plastic components are called preforms made from dry fiber composite semi-finished product can be present as a woven fabric, as multiaxial fabric or warp reinforced unidirectional semifinished products. The method is called resin film infusion (RFI), however the vacuum assisted process (VAP) offers considerable advantage over the processes in which autoclaves are used wherein there is a membrane, a spacer layer and the gas impermeable film (page 2, para 5).
The device in Fig. 1 shows a component to be produced or dry fiber composite semifinished product 1 which is arranged on a tool 3, for example by means of a structure 5. The component or laminate may be a plastic component made of carbon fibers (CFRP), glass fibers (GRP), aramid fibers (AFK), boron fibers (BFK) or hybrid materials and in particular for the production of rigid and stiffened, large-scale planking fields, plastic tools or shank repairs of damaged FVW Components are used (page 2, para 1-3).
The components or laminate (1) is equated with the at least one fiber ply (4) and the fiber ply (4a). As fiber ply (4) and (4a) are adjacent, multiple plies of fibers in the laminate (1) are equated with the claimed fiber plies.
The fiber ply/plies are coated with a semipermeable membrane 7, which is permeable to gas but impermeable to the passage of matrix and the membrane 7 is equated with the membrane (18). Between component 1 (fiber plies) and membrane 7 (claimed membrane 18) a tear-off fabric is employed and a flow aid. The tear-off fabric is equated with the tear-off fabric claimed and the flow aid is equated with the flow medium (12) that is claimed. The flow aid can be a grid or stiff fabric and equated with a ply. As the matrix enters the space, this is equated with the distributor space claimed.
Then the assembly structure 5, fiber composite semifinished product 1, membrane 7 and tear-off fabric 13 and flow aid 15 is covered with film 19 which is gas permeable. Film 19 is equated with the vacuum film (14) claimed. Between the film 19 and the membrane 7 a spacer layer in the form of fan fabric 32 is inserted and the spacer layer 32 is equated with the spacer fabric 20 as claimed.
The space that is sealed in the area of the spacer fabric of Utecht is equated with the suction space (25) (page 5, para 4).
Utecht teaches the claimed layers for producing a preform patch. Wherein the names and descriptions of the layers are slightly different, the claims are obvious in view of Utecht. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to produce a preform patch of fibrous plies and matrix material utilizing a vacuum film, gas permeable, matrix impermeable membrane and a spacer fabric with distribution space motivated to produce a preform patch with even distribution of matrix in the preform.
As to claim 22, Utecht teaches the layers can be sealed at the peripheral surface 8 which is equated at least one edge region of the flow medium (page 4, para 9) and overlaps with the fiber composite and the membrane as claimed. While Utecht does not call the region a braking zone, however as Utech shows the spacer fabric as folding down to create a barrier, Utecht’s apparatus of layers would inherently produce the same function as braking as claimed. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention the examiner has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02
As to claim 23, Utecht teaches a process and apparatus that has an inlet, matrix supply line 33, for the matrix material and suction connection (31) for evacuated by the vacuum pump (page 5, para 3 and 4).
As to claim 24, Utecht teaches the membrane and spacer fabric is some regions of the apparatus.
As to claim 29, Utecht teaches a method and apparatus for forming a preform patch. Utecht differs and does not teach the preform patch is stored in a roll form.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to store a preform patch in a roll form motivated to wrap and store for a subsequent use.
Claims 25-27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utecht et al (EP3299154 cited as WO 2009092543) in view of Perrillat-Collomb et al (EP3299154 cited as US202103311430).
As to claims 25-27, Utecht teaches the entry of the matrix material at point 33 at a plane of the spacer fabric and travels along that plane and does not have another plane.
Perrillat-Collomb is directed to a device for producing fiber reinforced composite components by means of an injection process for injecting curable matrix material, comprising
a. a tool for arranging a dry fibre component;
b. an envelope which is impermeable to gas and curable matrix material arranged on at least one side of the tool to form a space into which curable matrix material may be introduced to contact a dry fibre component arranged on the tool, the envelope sealing off the tool from the environment;
c. an inlet for introducing curable matrix material into the space formed by the envelope;
d. an outlet for removing gas from the space formed by the envelope so that curable matrix material may be drawn into the space to penetrate the dry fibre component arranged on the tool; and
e. a patch formed from a membrane which is permeable to gas but impermeable to curable matrix material, the patch being associated with the outlet so that gas, but not curable matrix material, can be removed from the space formed by the envelope via the outlet; wherein the association between the outlet and the patch is stable at temperatures of at least 150° C (ABST).
There is an outlet 27 that is located at top of the device, see Fig. 1 [0087]. The inlets are 15 and on the side [0085] and in a different plane.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the inlet and outlet of the matrix and vents in different planes motivated to produce a preform that is shaped and not planar.
As to claim 28, Utech does not teach the vacuum film has two plies separated from one another by a suction web arranged between them
Perrillat-Collomb teaches the device 1 further includes layers of flow mesh 17 positioned between the dry fibre component 5 and the tool 3, the additional shaping components 7 and the vacuum foil 13. A layer of microperforated foil (not shown) may optionally be present between the dry fibre component 5 and the layer of flow mesh 17 adjacent to the tool 3. Layers of peel ply 21 are also present on the upper and lower surfaces of the dry fibre component 5 [0086].
The device 1 further comprises a wrap 25 positioned above the dry fibre component 3 and forming an outlet 27 in the device 1. The wrap 25 is formed as a sealed tube of a gas permeable but curable matrix material impermeable membrane 29. The wrap 25 encloses a breather material 31 and may also enclose a layer of flow mesh 17 [0087].
As illustrated in FIG. 2, the wrap 25 of the device 1 may be formed either from a single piece of gas permeable but curable matrix material impermeable membrane 29 or from a section of gas permeable but curable matrix material impermeable membrane 29 and a section of gas and curable matrix material impermeable material 33. These materials are initially formed into a hollow tube 35 by seals 37, and breather material 31 and a vacuum port 39 are inserted into the hollow tube 35. The ends of the hollow tube 35 are then further sealed 37 to form a fully sealed wrap 25. The seals 37 are all stable at temperatures of at least 180° C., and may be formed, for example, by thermoforming at suitable temperatures [0088].
The wrap 25 insures there is no loss of curable matrix material via the vacuum line.
The wrap 25 with the flow web mesh is equated with two plies separated from one another by a suction web.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ two plies of vacuum film with a ply of flow mesh or suction web motivated to insure no loss of matrix out of the vacuum port.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utecht et al (WO 2009092543) in view of Wilson et al (GB 2316036).
As to claim 29, Utecht teaches a method and apparatus for forming a preform patch. Utecht differs and does not teach the preform patch is stored in a roll form.
Wilson is directed a reinforcing fibre lay up assembly (7) is subjected to liquid resin impregnation in a sealed enclosure formed by an elastomeric bagging blanket (9) which cooperates with a hard base tool (3) to form the sealed enclosure (11) (ABST). The prepreg is stored in rolls with separation film typically at -180C. The storage is done in the event lamination on the tooling occurs directly after the formation of the prepregs (page 3, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to store the prepreg in rolls motivated to complete the lamination step at a later time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 8/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the 35 USC 112(b) rejection and states that the amendment corrects the layer order. With regard to this argument, the claims do correct the order for the most part. The rejection is revised to address the issues that are still outstanding. Namely the structural relationship of the all the layers is not clear. While some of the layers are now clear, when it comes to the distributor space and the spacer fabric and suction space, it is not clear how the areas are related. Additionally the tear off fabric is not described in relation to any other of the layers except layer (4a) yet the other layers are described with relation to (4a) and therefore it is presumed that the tear off layer is in between (4a) and the other layers. Namely that the distributor space is delimited on the side facing away from the fiber composite component by the vacuum film (14) and on the side facing the component by the fiber ply (4a) however there is a tear fabric that is above 4a and then above the tear fabric there is one ply of flow medium.
Applicant states that the scope of a ply of flow medium is definite when read in light of the specification. The specification describes a flow medium as a distinct ply that is arranged within the distributor space and along which the matrix material propagate. Applicants arguments are persuasive.
Applicant argues that the 35 USC 112(d) rejection of claim 22 should be withdrawn and applicants arguments are persuasive.
Applicant argues the 35 USC 103 rejection over Utecht and states that Utecht is directed to a stationary VAP infusion assembly and the fiber material to be infused is a separate workpiece, that is the dry fiber composite semifinished product which is laid into or onto the tool and Utechts multifunction laminate comprising the membrane, textile layer, spacer layer is then placed over that separately arranged fiber material. Utechts laminate itself contains no fiber ply.
Applicants arguments are not persuasive. Utecht layer 1 is a fiber composite layer which is a multilayer, flexible sheet material that is referred to a structure 5 of fiber composite semifinished product 1, membrane 7 with seal 9 and tear off fabric 13 and flow aid 15 is covered with film 19 which is gas impermeable. So the fiber composite layer is multilayer and would include a layer (4) as well as (4a). As noted in the 112(b) rejection it is not clear if the preform patch and the fiber composite component are one and the same. As the fiber composite material (8) is adjacent to fiber ply (4a), the combination of layers is a fiber composite material and ply (4a) is not distinct.
Applicant argues the secondary rejections including Perrillat-Collomb and Wilson but states the additional references do not cure the deficiencies of Utecht. As the office action maintains that Utecht teaches the claimed features and the claimed features are obvious over Utecht, the additional references merely cite the additional features are obvious and known to employ.
Applicant argues that neither Urecht and Perrillat-Collomb teach the flow medium geometry of claims 25-27, namely a ply of the flow medium situated in a plane (24) different from the plane (26) resting on the fiber ply, that different plane flow medium laid in a loop (34) and that flow medium running at a distance from and approximately parallel to the membrane and spacer fabric ply.
Perrilat-Collumb teaches a different planar configuration for the flow medium to enter and flow through the preform laminate. To the extent that the flow path of matrix material in the apparatus may be different from Perrilat-Collumb and what is claimed, these limitations are based on the process and the patentability is based on the product and structure of the product and not on the process or apparatus of making it. Unless there is a structural difference in the final product, the claimed invention is obvious over the cited prior art.
With regard to secondary reference to Wilson, Wilson is relied upon for teaching the preform patch is stored in a roll and therefore it would have been obvious to do so.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A STEELE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789