DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant’s response with respect to the drawing objection has been fully considered and is accepted. The drawing objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s response with respect to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection has been fully considered and is accepted. The nonstatutory double patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s response with respect to the objections to claim 15 has been fully considered and is accepted. The objections to claim 15 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s response with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 14-26 has been fully considered and is accepted. The prior 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 14-26 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s response with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejections of claim 26 has been fully considered and is accepted. The 35 U.S.C. 112(d) rejections of claim 26 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 29 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., modeling a variable while explicitly excluding that variable from the input set) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The applicant has amended the independent claims to involve “modelling the heat transfer fluid flow rate (qMS,C) in the heat transfer fluid channel during operation by utilizing process data, other than the heat transfer fluid flow rate (qMS,M) prevailing in the heat transfer fluid channel, in a numerical model,” but that is very different to the point argued (modeling a variable while explicitly excluding that variable from the input set). The plain reading of the claim language does not require heat transfer fluid flow rate data be excluded from the employed process data, merely, as best understood, that the generated model of the heat transfer fluid flow rate be based at least in part on process data other than heat transfer fluid flow rate data. Herzog is still understood to read on this language because the model generated in Herzog is also based on sensor data from outside the water-steam circuit.
As for the applicant’s arguments about the applicability of Forster-Knight to the teachings of Herzog, these shall not be specifically rebutted as Forster-Knight is no longer being relied upon. It is generally noted, however, that Herzog teaches that residuals are tested against pattern matching rules to detect leakage (col. 3, ll. 24-30). All pattern matching techniques are not discussed in detail. The precise choice of pattern matching technique would be made as appropriate by one of ordinary skill in the art. The description of a particular pattern matching technique by Herzog also does not preclude other techniques from being employed. One of ordinary skill in the art would choose an appropriate pattern matching technique according to their requirements. The newly relied upon reference to Frerich expressly discloses the use of such a persistence based counting technique that operates on residual values generated in a boiler system for detecting faults. Nothing precludes the adoption of this technique in the system of Herzog.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 23 February 2024, 28 March 2025, and 22 September 2025 are acknowledged and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-16 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,275,577 to Herzog and US 7,113,890 to Frerichs et al. (hereinafter referred to as Frerichs).
With regards to claim 14, Herzog teaches a method of determining a leakage (see the title, etc.) in a heat transfer fluid channel of a heat transferring reactor system (the system of the interface of fig. 2), the method comprising the steps of:
measuring the heat transfer fluid flow rate (qMS,M) prevailing in the heat transfer fluid channel of the heat transferring reactor system during operation (sensors are used to measure conditions of the water/steam mixture of a boiler, and conditions being monitored include pressures, temperatures, and flow rates; see col. 12, ll. 27-34);
modelling the heat transfer fluid flow rate (qMS,C) in the heat transfer fluid channel during operation by utilizing process data, other than the heat transfer fluid flow rate (qMS,M) prevailing in the heat transfer fluid channel, in a numerical model of the heat transferring reactor system, giving the heat transfer fluid flow rate (qMS,C) of the heat transferring reactor system under substantially leak-free conditions (normal operating condition process data, including that measured by sensors 510 relating to conditions on the fuel side of the boiler in addition to conditions on the water-steam side of the boiler by sensors 515 is acquired to model the system, see the overview of col. 3, l. 53 to col. 4, l. 3 described in detail thereafter; and this is used to generate an estimate of the current state of the system according to at least col 12, ll. 27-43);
comparing the measured heat transfer fluid flow rate (qMS,C) in the heat transfer fluid channel and the modelled heat transfer fluid flow rate with each other to obtain an error measure (DMS) for a heat transfer fluid flow rate that is included in an error measure set (measured and estimated sensor readings are compared and differenced to provide residual values according to at least col. 3, ll. 24-30 & col. 12, ll. 43-47, the residual for the steam flow corresponds to the claimed error measure, and all residual values make up the claimed error measure set);
monitoring the error measure set during operation (the residual values are analyzed; col. 12, ll. 45-46); and
determining the presence of a heat transfer fluid channel leakage when the error measure (DMS) exceeds a predetermined threshold, or the number of occurrences of the error measure (DMS) in the error measure set exceed a predetermined threshold during a predetermined time period (col. 3, ll. 24-30, col. 12, ll. 46-47, specified in more detail, including talk of residual thresholds, in at least col. 5, ll. 10-21).
While Herzog teaches that residuals are tested against pattern matching rules to detect leakage (col. 3, ll. 24-30), Herzog not expressly teach a pattern matching technique involving:
monitoring a number of occurrences of the error measure (DMS) in the error measure set during operation; and
determining the presence of a water-steam circuit tube leakage when the number of occurrences of the error measure (DMS) in the error measure set exceed a predetermined threshold during a predetermined time period.
Frerichs, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a pattern test for detecting faults in a steam generator system, the test being a persistence test that involves determining whether ‘n’ out of ‘m’ sample points exceed a statistical limit (a threshold criteria). See col. 5, l. 66 to col. 6, l. 7. In practice, this technique monitors a number of occurrences of an error measure in an error measure set during operation (delta values (i.e., residuals) between expected and measured data), and determines the presence of a fault in a case when the number of occurrences of a given error measure (delta) in the error measure set exceeds a predetermined threshold (when n out of m deltas exceed the statistical limit) during a predetermined time period (the time corresponding to the window for m samples). This pattern test and others like it are for minimizing false alarms, transient effects, etc. (col. 5, ll. 38-49). In view hereof, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly count occurrences of potential abnormal/alarm conditions in the method of Herzog, and specifically modify the method of Herzog such that it comprises monitoring a number of occurrences of the error measure (DMS) in the error measure set during operation, and determining the presence of a water-steam circuit tube leakage when the number of occurrences of the error measure (DMS) in the error measure set exceed a predetermined threshold during a predetermined time period (i.e., make such determination when n residuals out of m exceed a threshold level). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to similarly lessen the impact of transient events and reduce false alarms.
With regards to claim 15, the combination of Herzog and Frerichs teaches the method according to claim 14. Herzog further teaches:
measuring at least one process parameter prevailing in at least one location inside a reaction chamber of the heat transferring reactor system (e.g., by the first set of sensors 510, see col. 12, ll. 28-29, such as per col. 7, ll. 58-62);
modelling at least one of corresponding process parameters during operation of the heat transferring reactor system by utilizing process data in a numerical model, giving the corresponding process parameter of the heat transferring reactor system under substantially leak-free conditions (normal operating condition process data, including that measured by sensors 510 relating to conditions on the fuel side of the boiler in addition to conditions on the water-steam side of the boiler by sensors 515 is acquired to model the system, see the overview of col. 3, l. 53 to col. 4, l. 3 described in detail thereafter; and this is used to generate an estimate of the current state of the system according to at least col 12, ll. 27-43); and
comparing the at least one measured process parameter and the at least one of the modelled corresponding process parameters with each other to obtain an error measure for the at least one process parameter also included in the error measure set (measured and estimated sensor readings are compared and differenced to provide residual values according to at least col. 3, ll. 24-30 & col. 12, ll. 43-47, the residual corresponds to the claimed error measure, and all residual values make up the claimed error measure set).
With regards to claim 16, the combination of Herzog and Frerichs teaches the method according to claim 15. Herzog further teaches the at least one process parameter comprising at least one of temperature or pressure (col. 12, ll. 29-34).
With regards to claim 25, the combination of Herzog and Frerichs teaches the method according to claim 14, and specifically being implemented by a control system (monitoring apparatus 500) of a heat transferring reactor system (the system of the interface of fig. 2, also shown in fig. 5, etc.).
With regards to claim 26, the combination of Herzog and Frerichs teaches a heat transferring reactor system according to claim 25. Herzog further teaches a display/monitor for displaying, to an operator, the presence of a flow channel leakage detected using the method (visual interface 200 of fig. 2, which is displayed on a monitor to indicate leaks as per col. 9, l. 27 to col. 10, l. 37).
Claims 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herzog and Frerichs as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of US 5,341,766 to Hyppanen.
With regards to claim 17, the combination of Herzog and Frerichs teaches the method according to claim 15. However, this combination does not expressly teach the heat transferring reactor system being a fluidized bed reactor system.
Hyppanen teaches a circulating fluidized bed boiler system (see fig. 1). The leak detection technique of Herzog, as modified by Frerichs, is not limited to any particular kind of heat transferring reactor system, and It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method of Herzog and Frerichs to a fluidized bed boiler system like that of Hyppanen. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to similarly detect leaks or abnormal conditions in such systems.
With regards to claim 18, the combination of Herzog and Frerichs teaches the method according to claim 17. However, this combination does not expressly teach the at least one process parameter includes a pressure in a loop seal arranged downstream of a particle separator in a return leg, which return leg is arranged for returning separated particles into the heat transferring reaction chamber.
Hyppanen teaches a boiler system (see fig. 1) comprising a loop seal (col. 8, l. 65 to col. 9, l. 7) arranged downstream of a particle separator (14) in a return leg (between elements 21 and 60 in fig. 1), which return leg is arranged for returning separated particles into a furnace (col. 8, ll. 33-35).
The leak detection technique of Herzog, as modified by Frerichs, is not limited to any particular kind of heat transferring reactor system, and It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method of Herzog and Frerichs to a system as in Hyppanen comprising a loop seal arranged downstream of a particle separator in a return leg, which return leg is arranged for returning separated particles into a furnace (the heat transferring reaction chamber). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to similarly detect leaks or abnormal conditions in such systems.
As for sensor location, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate sensors in the loop seal and measure pressure in said loop seal for the method of Herzog and Frerichs, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention (sensor location) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to monitor the loop seal for abnormal conditions.
With regards to claim 19, the combination of Herzog, Frerichs, and Hyppanen teaches the method according to claim 18. In this combination, the method would involve:
monitoring a number of exceedances, each exceedance being an occurrence of an error measure for the heat transfer fluid flow rate that exceeds predetermined threshold, wherein the number of exceedances is included in characteristics of the error measure (using the sensors as above to generate data, which is then analyzed to detect leaks/abnormalities using the pattern matching of Frerichs);
monitoring a number of exceedances, each exceedance being an occurrence of an error measure for pressure (pw,i) in the loop seal that exceeds a predetermined threshold, wherein the number of exceedances is included in characteristics of the error measure (using the sensors as above, with at least one sensor being located in the loop seal, the data then being analyzed to detect leaks/abnormalities using the pattern matching in Frerichs); and
determining that a heat transfer fluid channel leakage exists in the loop seal if the error measure for main heat transfer fluid flow and the number of occurrences of the error measure for the main heat transfer fluid flow rate exceed the predetermined threshold, and further if an error measure related to the pressure in the loop seal and the number of occurrences of the pressure in the loop seal parameters in the loop seal exceed the predetermined threshold (using the pattern matching/persistence technique of Frerichs, leakage would generally be detected using the sensors and the residuals generated thereby, and leakage could be specifically located using a sensor in the loop seal based on pattern matching output from that sensor if it exceeds a threshold).
With regards to claim 20, the combination of Herzog and Frerichs teaches the method according to claim 17. However, this combination does not expressly teach the at least one process parameter including a product gas temperature (Tse,i) at an exit of a particle separator.
Hyppanen teaches a boiler system (see fig. 1) comprising a particle separator (14) having an exit (20).
The leak detection technique of Herzog, as modified by Frerichs, is not limited to any particular kind of heat transferring reactor system, and It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method of Herzog and Frerichs to a system as in Hyppanen comprising a particle separator (14) having an exit (20). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to similarly detect leaks or abnormal conditions in such systems.
As for sensor location, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate sensors at an exit of a particle separator and accordingly measure a product (flue) gas temperature at said location, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention (sensor location) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to monitor the exit of the particle separator for abnormal conditions.
With regards to claim 21, the combination of Herzog, Frerichs, and Hyppanen teaches the method according to claim 20. In this combination, a leakage is determined to exist in the particle separator if the error measure for the main heat transfer fluid flow and the number of occurrences of the error measure for the main heat transfer fluid flow both exceed, respectively, the predetermined threshold for corresponding error measures and, further, if an error measure related to product gas temperature at the exit of the particle separator and the number of occurrences of the error measure of the product gas temperature at the exit of particle separator both exceed, respectively, a predetermined threshold for the product gas temperature error measures (using the pattern matching/persistence technique of Frerichs, leakage would generally be detected using the sensors and the residuals generated thereby, and leakage could be specifically located using a product gas temperature sensor at the exit of the particle separator based on pattern matching output from that sensors if it exceeds a threshold).
With regards to claim 22, the combination of Herzog and Frerichs teaches the method according to claim 17. However, this combination does not expressly teach the at least one process parameter including bed temperature in a heat transfer fluidized bed heat exchanger.
Hyppanen teaches a boiler system (see fig. 1) comprising a heat transfer fluidized bed heat exchanger (col. 8, ll. 27-29).
The leak detection technique of Herzog, as modified by Frerichs, is not limited to any particular kind of heat transferring reactor system, and It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method of Herzog and Frerichs to a system as in Hyppanen comprising a heat transfer fluidized bed heat exchanger. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to similarly detect leaks or abnormal conditions in such systems.
As for sensor location, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate sensors in the fluidized bed and measure temperature therein for the method of Herzog and Frerichs, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention (sensor location) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to monitor the fluidized bed area for abnormal conditions.
With regards to claim 23, the combination of Herzog, Frerichs, and Hyppanen teaches the method according to claim 22. In this combination a heat transfer fluid channel leakage is determined at the heat transfer fluidized bed heat exchanger if an error measure of the bed temperature of the heat transfer fluidized bed heat exchanger and the number of occurrences of the error measure both exceed, respectively, a predetermined threshold (using the pattern matching/persistence technique of Frerichs, leakage would generally be detected using the sensors and the residuals generated thereby, and leakage could be specifically located using a sensor at the fluidized bed heat exchanger based on pattern matching output from that sensor if it exceeds a threshold).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858