Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7-8, applicant argues that the indefinite language of a “spectrofilometer” is supported by the specification that discloses it combines the functionality of a profilometer with interferometer and spectrometer. However, this is not a definition with clear metes and bounds such that one of ordinary skill in the art can look at it and say definitively, yes it includes this and no it doesn’t include that. If applicants want to act as their own lexicographer creating the phrase, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). A general description of various aspects of the spectrofilometer is not a definition.
Applicant argues on page 8 that interferometer beam-splitting elements and spectrometer beam dispersing elements are defined structure. The examiner agrees that a beam-splitter and a grating are defined structure. However, adding the intention of “interferometer” and “spectrometer” on the front and the word “elements” on the end add confusion as to what is really being claimed. The additional claim amendments to further define only add more confusion as discussed below with respect to 35 USC 112.
With respect to the arguments on page 8 regarding “share the one or more radiation sensitive elements” this was not addressed. A detector is known to have radiation sensitive elements. However, the beam splitting elements and beam dispersing elements are not in a defined structural relationship with any type of detector. It isn’t clear from the claims that optical signals pass through the elements and the detector. Clarification is still required.
With respect to the arguments for claim 2, “reflective surfaces between optical outputs” is structurally undefined. How do the reflective surfaces physically relate to the outputs? Are the outputs split by the beam dispersing element and between the signals is a reflective surface outside of the beam paths? Does one of the outputs reflect on a surface and the other does not? It isn’t clear how physically a reflective surface can relate to two optical outputs by being “between” them. Correction is still required.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art have been considered. However, the arguments depend heavily on the claim limitations that are under rejections with respect to 35 USC 112. Without clear claim language, the application and arguments against the prior art cannot be fully considered. The examiner believes the prior art, Diehl plus Murphy, to disclose a profilometer with a interferometer and spectrometer and all the disclosed limitations. It is the claim limitations that differentiate from prior art, not the intentions behind them.
For these reasons, the rejections remain as previously presented by updated to include the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 1-18, the phrase “spectrofilometer” is not a known phrase in the art and has no known definition. Therefore, all claims that use that phrase are indefinite since it is unclear the scope and meaning behind it.
With respect to claim 1 and 17, the newly added limitations “one or more interferometer beam-splitting elements comprising a fiber-optic coupler” and “one or more spectrometer beam-dispersing elements comprising a transmission diffraction grating” provide further details that were not divulged in the original disclosure. The inclusion of fiber optic couplers and transmission diffraction gratings was not originally disclosed and is not supported in the current specification. Correction is required.
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 1 and 17, an interferometer and spectrometer are intended uses of the beam splitting elements or beam dispersing elements, they are not in themselves structure. No actual interferometer or spectrometer is claimed. The metes and bounds of an “interferometer beam-splitting element” and a “spectrometer beam-dispersing element” is unclear as to how it differentiates from other beam splitting or beam dispersing elements. Clarification is required.
With respect to claim 1 and 17, the limitations disclose that the beam splitting elements and beam dispersing elements share radiation sensitive elements with profilometer. However, generally beam splitting elements and beam dispersing elements, with or without fiber optic couplers and gratings, don’t have any radiation sensitive elements. It is unclear what “radiation-sensitive elements” are meant and how they structurally relate to the optical elements described with respect to the profilometer. Clarification is required.
With respect to claim 1 and 17, the limitation “a fiber-optic coupler configured to split received light and generate one or more optical outputs” is unclear. It is unclear if the fiber optic coupler generates its own beam in addition to splitting the incoming beam into one or more optical outputs or if the splitting results in the generating of one or more outputs. Also, if a beam is split, it is unclear how “one” optical output could be the result as it seems that there is necessarily at least two. Correction is required.
With respect to claim 1 and 17, the limitation “a transmission diffraction grating configured to disperse received light and generate one or more optical outputs” is unclear. The relationship between the dispersed light and the generation of one or more optical outputs is indefinite. Additionally, if one received light is dispersed, it inherently results in more than one output, not “one or more.” Correction is required.
With respect to claim 2, the limitation “reflective surfaces between the optical outputs” is unclear. Not only does claim 1 only require a single optical output (“one or more” so one is an option), if there were multiple, it is unclear how and if they are in a line and what it would mean for the reflective surface to be between them. Clarification is required.
The balance of claims is likewise rejected for failing to correct the deficiencies of the claim upon which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Diehl et al. U.S. Publication 2012/0044502 in view of Murphy U.S. Publication 2023/0092539.
With respect to claim 1, Diehl discloses an optical profilometer comprising:
At least one profilometer (P.0033, abstract, profilometer system)
An enclosure (P.0014, P.0039, housing 103)
One or more interferometer beam splitting elements comprising a fiber optic coupler configured to split received light and generate one or more optical outputs (P.0039-40, beam splitters 102, 104, phase plates 106, 108, P.0033, fiber optic coupler 26)
one or more spectrometer beam dispersing elements (P.0039-40, beam splitters 102, 104, phase plates 106, 108)
Are housed in the enclosure (P.0039)
The elements share one or more radiation sensitive elements with the at least one profilometer that are arranged to generate a signal in response to incident electromagnetic radiation (P.0033, light to electrical signal converter 30,
Are configured to generate one or more optical outputs arranged such that respective optical axes intersect substantially in a plane of the one or more radiation sensitive elements (P.0046, “reflected back” through elements to the interferometer)
However, Diehl fails to disclose a transmission diffraction grating.
Murphy discloses:
One or more interferometer beam-splitting elements and one or more spectrometer beam dispersing elements comprising a transmission diffraction grating configured to disperse received light and generate one or more optical outputs (abstract, P.0050)
Where the one or more interferometer beam splitting elements and the one or more spectrometer beam dispersing elements are housed in the enclosure, share one or more radiation sensitive elements, and are configured to generate one or more optical outputs (abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the diffraction grating as part of the beam dispersing elements since as taught by Murphy, a grating is one type of many options those available to those in the art of optical measuring as tool for dispersion of beams. Diffraction gratings are known for being able to control incoming light in a known manner with high precision and spectral resolution.
With respect to claim 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, Diehl in view of Murphy discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. In addition, Diehl discloses:
6- The one or more radiation sensitive elements are configured to detect one or more inputs originating from one or more spatially distinct locations (P.0046, Figure 4)
7-One or more inputs comprise the one or more optical outputs (P.0046, the inputs to the interferometer are the outputs from the optical elements)
8- the one or more inputs comprise one or more imaging bundles (P.0046, inherent since broadest reasonable interpretation of imaging bundles is spatially and intensity accurate electromagnetic radiation providing information about an object)
9, 11- The one or more inputs comprise one or more optical waveguides (P.0037, fiber optic = optical waveguides connecting probe 100 that includes the optical elements to interferometer)
10, 12- The one or more optical waveguides comprise one or more optical fibers (P.0037)
14- the one or more interferometer beam splitting elements and/or the one or more spectrometer beam dispersing elements are dynamically adjustable (P.0057, beams splitters can be adjusted by screws, P.0035, dynamically adjustable = moves with respect to object)
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Diehl in view of Murphy discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. However, Diehl fails to disclose one or more reflective surfaces between the optical outputs and that those reflective surfaces comprise optical coatings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include reflective surfaces in an optical arrangement to control the direction of light. Reflective surfaces are well known in the art and are routine with respect to directing light depending on the physical relationship between components. An optical coating is also routine as providing specific properties to the reflective surface as desired without a unique inventive concept. The examiner takes official notice of the fact that using reflective surfaces to control optical measurement beams and providing optical coatings on reflective surfaces are well known in the art.
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Diehl in view of Murphy discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 and 2 above. However, Diehl fails to disclose the one or more reflective surfaces are controllable MEMs elements.
Murphy discloses a spectrometer system comprising:
Interferometer beam splitting elements and/or spectrometer beam-dispersing elements and generate one or more optical outputs (abstract)
One or more radiation sensitive elements arranged to generate a signal in response to incident electromagnetic radiation (abstract)
One or more reflective surfaces between the optical outputs (P.0012)
The one or more reflective surfaces are microelectromechanical system elements (P.0014)
Each MEMs element is controllable and configured to reflect a portion of the incident electromagnetic radiation (P.0014)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the MEMs of Murphy to redirect and scan the beams of Diehl. Since MEMs are well known in the art for the redirection and control of optical beams, using them to scan the output beams from the optical elements onto the detector of Diehl to maintain spatial and focal accuracy would be within ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claim 13, Diehl in view of Murphy discloses all of the limitations as applied to claims 1, 11, and 12 above. However, Diehl fails to disclose the optical fibers comprise one or more of: microstructured optical fibers and multicore optical fibers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the optical fiber of Diehl is a microstructured or multicore since Diehl requires conveyance of 4 spatially separate beams. Using a microstructured and multicore optical fiber would allow translation of those beams simultaneously, along the same path, but kept separate as necessary. Microstructured and multicore optical fibers are well known in the art as evidenced by U.S. Patent #4,828,349.
With respect to claim 15 and 17, Diehl in view of Murphy discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 1 above. In addition, Diehl discloses:
15- one or more processors (Figure 1, process controller 32)
15- A memory configured to store instructions which when executed by the process cause the processor to process one or more signals generated by the one or more radiation sensitive elements and generate a profile of the incident electromagnetic radiation (P.0033, P.0046, Figure 6)
However, Diehl fails to disclose generating a spatial intensity profile.
Murphy discloses a spectrometer comprising:
Process one or more signals generated by the radiation sensitive elements and generate a spatial intensity profile of the incident electromagnetic radiation (P.0046, P.0070)
It would have been obvious if not inherent to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the signals conveyed to the interferometer of Diehl to construct a spatial intensity profile since Diehl discloses determining surface profile from separate positional and/or thickness measurements (P.0043) and determining specific surface intersection distances for the beams by interferometer (P.0046). Traditionally, interferometers will use an element of intensity to generate the profile of the surface being measured as is taught by Murphy. Diehl is silent to this respect but generating a spatial intensity profile would result in a useable measurement format to analyze for the surface heights and thicknesses as is the goal of Diehl.
With respect to claims 16 and 18, Diehl in view of Murphy discloses all of the limitations as applied to claims 1, 15, and 17 above. In addition, Diehl discloses:
Processor is programmed to recover data from the measurement signals using a best fit algorithm (P.0049, best fit = type of curve fitting technique)
The data comprises phase, spectral, amplitude and polarization data (Figure 6, P.0052, inherent since all these are components to the measurement beams)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REBECCA C BRYANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877