DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-25 are pending and under current examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites “…(a1) a silicone resin, and (a2) a silicone polymer, and (a3)…”. The “and” following (a1) is unnecessary and should be amended to read “…(a1) a silicone resin, (a2) a silicone polymer, and (a3)…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “wherein the at least one polymer is an acrylic polymer is a copolymer based on vinyl acetate…”. This renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the claim embraces an acrylic polymer separately from the copolymers recited by the claim or if the claim embraces the recited copolymers as species of acrylic polymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wauer (WO2019/175096, publication date: 9/19/2019, cited in the IDS filed 9/26/2024).
Regarding claim 23, Wauer discloses a method of manufacture of a transdermal therapeutic system comprising the steps of providing a buprenorphine-containing coating composition comprising buprenorphine and carboxylic acid such as levulinic acid [0252]. The mixture of buprenorphine and carboxylic acid mixture is combined with the silicone acrylic hybrid pressure sensitive adhesive to provide a coating composition [0254]. The coating composition is coated onto a release liner and dried to provide the buprenorphine-containing layer [0252].
Regarding claim 25, in an exemplary manufacturing procedure, levulinic acid and buprenorphine base are weighed and added to a mixing vessel with ethanol and stirred for at least 1 hour until a buprenorphine base-containing solution is formed [0265]. The instant specification defines the “slurry method” to comprise a process of weighing in guanfacine free base and a monocarboxylic acid in equimolar amounts. Solvent is added and the mixture is stirred with a magnetic stirring bar at room temperature [0086 of instant specification]. The Examiner therefore interprets the pre-mix manufacturing procedure recited by Wauer to read on the “slurry method” of the instant claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-15, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emgenbroich (WO2019/072998, publication date: 4/18/2019, cited in the IDS filed 9/26/2024).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Regarding claim 1, Emgenbroich teaches a transdermal therapeutic system for the transdermal administration of guanfacine comprising a backing layer and a guanfacine-containing layer [0104]. The guanfacine-containing layer may include a preservative such as benzoic acid, sorbic acid, levulinic acid, and anisic acid [0250].
Regarding claim 2, Emgenbroich teaches that the guanfacine-containing layer comprises guanfacine and at least one polymer [0119].
Regarding claim 3, Emgenbroich teaches that the guanfacine-containing layer may include sorbic acid [0250].
Regarding claim 6, Emgenbroich teaches that the matrix layer may be self-adhesive [0043].
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Emgenbroich teaches that the at least one polymer is selected from the group consisting of silicone polymers, acrylate polymers, and silicone acrylic hybrid polymers [0014].
Regarding claim 9, Emgenbroich teaches that the silicone polymers are obtainable by polycondensation of silanol endblocked polydimethylsiloxane with a silicate resin [0129].
Regarding claim 10, Emgenbroich teaches pressure sensitive adhesives suitable for inclusion as the polymer in the transdermal therapeutic system such as Duro-Tak 387-2287, a copolymer based on vinyl acetate, 2-ethylhexyl-acrylate, 2-hydroxyethyl-acrylate, and glycidyl-methacrylate), and Duro-Tak 87-4098, a copolymer based on 2-ethylhexyl-acrylate and vinyl acetate [0234].
Regarding claim 11, Emgenbroich teaches that the silicone acrylic hybrid polymer typically comprises the reaction product of a silicone-containing pressure-sensitive adhesive composition comprising acrylate or methacrylate functionality, an ethlenically unsaturated monomer, and an initiator [0131].
Regarding claim 12, Emgenbroich teaches that the silicon-containing pressure-sensitive adhesive composition comprising acrylate or methacrylate functionality comprises the condensation reaction product of a silicone resin, a silicone polymer, and a silicon-containing capping agent which provides said acrylate or methacrylate functionality [0048]. The silicon-containing capping agent is of the general formula XYR’bSiZ3-b, wherein X is a monovalent radical of the general formula AE, where E is -O- or -NH- and A is an acryl group or a methacryl group, Y is a divalent alkylene radical having from 1 to 6 carbon atoms, R’ is a methyl or phenyl radical, Z is a monovalent hydrolysable organic radical or halogen, and b is 0 or 1 [0185]. The silicone resin and silicone polymer are reacted to form a pressure-sensitive adhesive, wherein the silicon-containing capping agent is introduced prior to, during or after the silicone resin and silicone polymer are reacted [0185]. The silicon-containing capping agent reacts with the pressure-sensitive adhesive after the silicone resin and silicone polymer have been condensation reacted to form the pressure-sensitive adhesive or the silicon-containing capping agent reacts in-situ with the silicone resin and silicone polymer [0185].
Regarding claim 13, Emgenbroich teaches that the ethylenically unsaturated monomer may be selected from aliphatic acrylates, aliphatic methacrylates, cycloaliphatic acrylates, cycloaliphatic methacrylates, and combinations thereof. The alkyl radicals of these compounds can include up to 20 carbon atoms [0196].
Regarding claim 14, Emgenbroich teaches that the transdermal therapeutic system comprises guanfacine in an amount of from 1 to 100mg/TTS, preferably from 8 to 72 mg/TTS [0123].
Regarding claim 15, Emgenbroich teaches that the guanfacine-containing layer comprises guanfacine in an amount of from 1 to 20% by weight, preferably from 3 to 16% by weight, based on the total weight of the guanfacine-containing layer [0125].
Regarding claim 17, Emgenbroich teaches that the at least one polymer is present in an amount of from 20 to 99%, preferably from 30 to 97%, and most preferably from 35 to 92% by weight based on the total weight of the guanfacine-containing layer [0015].
Regarding claim 18, Emgenbroich teaches that the transdermal therapeutic system contains at least one additive selected from the group consisting of dispersing agents, permeation enhancers, and solubilizers [0011].
Regarding claim 19, Emgenbroich teaches that the area weight of the guanfacine-containing layer ranges from 40 to 250 g/m2, preferably from 50 to 180 g/m2 [0157] and the area of release ranges from 1 to 100 cm2, preferably from 2.5 to 50 cm2 [0113].
Regarding claim 20, Emgenbroich teaches a method of treating a human patient wherein the transdermal treatment system is applied to the skin of a patient [0263].
Regarding claim 21, Emgenbroich teaches a method of treating a human patient wherein the transdermal treatment system is suitable for use in a method of treating hypertension or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) and/or as adjunctive therapy to stimulant medication [0262].
Regarding claim 22, Emgenbroich teaches that the transdermal treatment system is applied to the skin of the patient for at least 24 hours, preferably at least 72 hours, and more preferably about 84 hours [0263].
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-15, and 17-22, Emgenbroich doesn’t teach a single embodiment or example meeting all limitation of the invention of claims 1-3, 6-15, and 17-22.
Finding of a Prima Facia Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-15, and 17-22, within the broader scope of Emgenbroich all of the limitations of the invention of claims 1-3, 6-15, and 17-22 are met. It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to choose the limitations in the instant claims from those disclosed by Emgenbroich and arrive at this conclusion because such was contemplated by Emgenbroich.
Claims 4, 5, 16, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emgenbroich (WO2019/072998, publication date: 4/18/2019, cited in the IDS filed 9/26/2024), as applied to claims 1-3, 6-15, and 17-22 above, and further in view of Wauer (WO2019/175096, publication date: 9/19/2019, cited in the IDS filed 9/26/2024).
Determination of the scope and the content of the prior art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Emgenbroich renders obvious the relevant limitations of claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Emgenbroich teaches that when guanfacine is mentioned to be used in a particular form in the manufacture of the transdermal treatment system, this does not exclude interactions between this form of guanfacine and other ingredients of the guanfacine containing layer. If guanfacine is included in the transdermal treatment system in its free-base form, it may be present in the final transdermal treatment system in the form of an acid addition salt [0034]. Emgenbroich also teaches that the additives present in the transdermal treatment system are suitable for improving the release properties of the transdermal treatment system by allowing homogenous dispersion of the guanfacine within the transdermal therapeutic system [0019].
Regarding claim 16, Emgenbroich teaches that the guanfacine-containing layer comprises guanfacine in an amount of from 1 to 20% by weight, preferably from 3 to 16% by weight, based on the total weight of the guanfacine-containing layer [0125]. Emgenbroich also teaches that the additives, including preservatives, may be present in the guanfacine containing layer in an amount of from 0.001 to 15% by weight [0238].
Regarding claims 23-25, Emgenbroich teaches that the transdermal therapeutic system may be manufactured by first combining guanfacine, at least one polymer, and at least one additive to obtain a coating composition, coating the coating composition onto a backing layer, and drying the coating composition to form the guanfacine-containing layer [0272].
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
Regarding claims 4, 5, 23, and 25 Emgenbroich does not teach that the guanfacine and the monocarboxylic acid are present in the form of a pre-mixture. However, this deficiency is cured by Wauer.
Wauer discloses a method of manufacture of a transdermal therapeutic system comprising the steps of providing a buprenorphine-containing coating composition comprising buprenorphine and carboxylic acid such as levulinic acid [0252]. The buprenorphine base and the carboxylic acid are suspended in ethanol and subsequently combined with the polymer adhesive to provide the coating composition [0254]. Wauer also teaches that the buprenorphine base is preferably dissolved in the carboxylic acid to form a buprenorphine carboxylic acid solution which forms dispersed deposits in the polymer matrix [0028]. In an exemplary manufacturing procedure, levulinic acid and buprenorphine base are weighed and added to a mixing vessel with ethanol and stirred for at least 1 hour until a buprenorphine base-containing solution is formed [0265]. The instant specification defines the “slurry method” to comprise a process of weighing in guanfacine free base and a monocarboxylic acid in equimolar amounts. Solvent is added and the mixture is stirred with a magnetic stirring bar at room temperature [0086 of instant specification]. The Examiner therefore interprets the pre-mix manufacturing procedure recited by Wauer to read on the “slurry method” of the instant claims 5 and 25.
Regarding claim 16, Emgenbroich does not teach that the guanfacine and mono-carboxylic acid are present in equimolar amounts. However, this deficiency is cured by Wauer.
Wauer teaches a method of manufacture of a transdermal therapeutic system comprising the steps of providing a buprenorphine-containing coating composition comprising buprenorphine and carboxylic acid such as levulinic acid [0252]. The buprenorphine base is preferably dissolved in the carboxylic acid to form a buprenorphine carboxylic acid solution which forms dispersed deposits in the polymer matrix [0028].
Finding of a Prima Facia Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 4, 5, 23, and 25, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to include the guanfacine and carboxylic acid of Emgenbroich as a pre-mixture obtainable by a slurry method. One would have understood in view of Wauer that a drug in the form of a free base may be dissolved in a carboxylic acid using a slurry method prior to the addition of a polymer adhesive when manufacturing a transdermal treatment system. It would have been obvious to pre-mix the guanfacine and carboxylic acid of Emgenbroich before addition of the polymer adhesive. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to mix the guanfacine and carboxylic acid in order to form dispersed deposits of the drug in the polymer matrix. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success because Emgenbroich teaches that the additives present in the transdermal treatment system are suitable for improving the release properties of the transdermal treatment system by allowing homogenous dispersion of the guanfacine within the transdermal therapeutic system [0019].
Regarding claim 16, the molar ratio of guanfacine and monocarboxylic acid is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal ratio in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous dispersion effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Wauer teaches that a drug in the form of a free base dissolved in a carboxylic acid allows for improved dispersion properties of the drug in a transdermal drug delivery system [0028]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the molar ratio of guanfacine and mono-carboxylic acid, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the amount of mono-carboxylic acid relative to the amount of guanfacine would have a direct effect on the dissolution and dispersion of the free base form of the drug and therefore be an optimizable variable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 14, 15, and 17-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,576,874.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘874 patent embrace a transdermal therapeutic system for the transdermal administration of guanfacine comprising a guanfacine-containing layer and a backing layer. The guanfacine-containing layer comprises at least one silicone polymer and at least two additives selected from the group consisting of dispersing agents, permeation enhancers, and solubilizers. The permeation enhancer may include oleic acid and levulinic acid. The Examiner considers the oleic acid and levulinic acid to read on the mono-carboxylic acid limitation of the instant claims. The guanfacine-containing layer is self-adhesive. The silicone polymer is obtainable by polycondensation of silanol endblocked polydimethyl siloxane with a silicate resin. Guanfacine is present in the guanfacine-containing layer structure from 1 to 75mg/TTS and from 1 to 20% by weight based on the total weight of the guanfacine-containing layer. The polymer is present in the guanfacine-containing layer from 35 to 70% by weight, based on the total weight of the guanfacine-containing layer. The guanfacine-containing layer may also contain at least two dispersing agents, permeation enhancers, and solubilizers. The area-weight of the guanfacine-container layer ranges from 40 to 250 g/m2 and an area of release ranging from 1 to 100 cm2. The claims of the ‘874 patent also embrace a method of treating hypertension or ADHD in a human patient comprising administering the transdermal therapeutic system to the skin of the patient. The transdermal therapeutic system is applied for at least 24, 72 or about 84 hours.
Claims 3 and 10-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,576,874, as applied to claims 1, 2, 6-9, 14, 15, and 17-22 above, and further in view of Emgenbroich (WO2019/072998, publication date: 4/18/2019, cited in the IDS filed 9/26/2024).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘874 application embrace the relevant limitations as described above. The claims of the ‘874 application also embrace a second polymer selected from silicone polymers, acrylate polymers, and silicone acrylic hybrid polymers.
The claims of the ‘874 patent do not embrace sorbic acid or any of the limitations pertaining to the acrylic, silicone-acrylic hybrid, and silicone polymers embraced by the instant claims 10-12. However, this deficiency is cured by Emgenbroich. Emgenbroich teaches a transdermal therapeutic system for the transdermal administration of guanfacine comprising a backing layer and a guanfacine-containing layer [0104]. The guanfacine-containing layer may include a preservative such as benzoic acid, sorbic acid, levulinic acid, and anisic acid [0250]. Emgenbroich teaches that the at least one polymer is selected from the group consisting of silicone polymers, acrylate polymers, and silicone acrylic hybrid polymers [0014]. The pressure sensitive adhesives suitable for inclusion as the polymer in the transdermal therapeutic system such as Duro-Tak 387-2287, a copolymer based on vinyl acetate, 2-ethylhexyl-acrylate, 2-hydroxyethyl-acrylate, and glycidyl-methacrylate), and Duro-Tak 87-4098, a copolymer based on 2-ethylhexyl-acrylate and vinyl acetate [0234]. Emgenbroich teaches that the silicone acrylic hybrid polymer typically comprises the reaction product of a silicone-containing pressure-sensitive adhesive composition comprising acrylate or methacrylate functionality, an ethlenically unsaturated monomer, and an initiator [0131]. The silicon-containing pressure-sensitive adhesive composition comprising acrylate or methacrylate functionality comprises the condensation reaction product of a silicone resin, a silicone polymer, and a silicon-containing capping agent which provides said acrylate or methacrylate functionality [0048]. The silicon-containing capping agent is of the general formula XYR’bSiZ3-b, wherein X is a monovalent radical of the general formula AE, where E is -O- or -NH- and A is an acryl group or a methacryl group, Y is a divalent alkylene radical having from 1 to 6 carbon atoms, R’ is a methyl or phenyl radical, Z is a monovalent hydrolysable organic radical or halogen, and b is 0 or 1 [0185]. The silicone resin and silicone polymer are reacted to form a pressure-sensitive adhesive, wherein the silicon-containing capping agent is introduced prior to, during or after the silicone resin and silicone polymer are reacted [0185]. The silicon-containing capping agent reacts with the pressure-sensitive adhesive after the silicone resin and silicone polymer have been condensation reacted to form the pressure-sensitive adhesive or the silicon-containing capping agent reacts in-situ with the silicone resin and silicone polymer [0185]. Emgenbroich also teaches that the ethylenically unsaturated monomer may be selected from aliphatic acrylates, aliphatic methacrylates, cycloaliphatic acrylates, cycloaliphatic methacrylates, and combinations thereof. The alkyl radicals of these compounds can include up to 20 carbon atoms [0196].
The idea for combining compounds each of which is known to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a composition which is to be used for the same purpose, flows logically from their having been used individually in the prior art. See In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). As shown by the recited teachings, the instant claims define nothing more than the concomitant use of conventional polymers used in guanfacine-containing layers of transdermal therapeutic systems. It would follow that the recited claims define prima facie obvious subject matter. See MPEP 2144.06.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to include sorbic acid in the transdermal therapeutic system embraced by the claims of the ‘874 patent. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have understood in view of Emgenbroich that sorbic acid is suitable for inclusion in a transdermal therapeutic system as a preservative. It would have been obvious to include a preservative in the composition embraced by the claims of the ‘874 patent. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to include a preservative in order to prolong the stability of the transdermal therapeutic system. The artisan of ordinary skill would have had reasonable expectation of success because Emgenbroich teaches that sorbic acid is suitable for inclusion in a transdermal therapeutic system nearly identical to the system embraced by the claims of the ‘874 patent.
Claims 4, 5, 16, and 23-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,576,874, as applied to claims 1, 2, 6-9, 14, 15, and 17-22 above, and further in view of Emgenbroich (WO2019/072998, publication date: 4/18/2019, cited in the IDS filed 9/26/2024) and Wauer (WO2019/175096, publication date: 9/19/2019, cited in the IDS filed 9/26/2024).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims render obvious the instant claims.
Inter alia, the claims of the ‘874 patent embrace the relevant limitations above. The claims of the ‘874 patent also embraces guanfacine present from 1 to 20% by weight and from 0.5 to 10% by weight of at least two additives. The claims of the ‘874 patent do not embrace a pre-mixture, dry-milling or slurry method, or a process of manufacturing an active pharmaceutical containing layer. However, this deficiency is cured by Emgenbroich and Wauer.
Emgenbroich teaches that when guanfacine is mentioned to be used in a particular form in the manufacture of the transdermal treatment system, this does not exclude interactions between this form of guanfacine and other ingredients of the guanfacine containing layer. If guanfacine is included in the transdermal treatment system in its free-base form, it may be present in the final transdermal treatment system in the form of an acid addition salt [0034]. Emgenbroich also teaches that the additives present in the transdermal treatment system are suitable for improving the release properties of the transdermal treatment system by allowing homogenous dispersion of the guanfacine within the transdermal therapeutic system [0019]. Emgenbroich also teaches that the transdermal therapeutic system may be manufactured by first combining guanfacine, at least one polymer, and at least one additive to obtain a coating composition, coating the coating composition onto a backing layer, and drying the coating composition to form the guanfacine-containing layer [0272]. Wauer discloses a method of manufacture of a transdermal therapeutic system comprising the steps of providing a buprenorphine-containing coating composition comprising buprenorphine and carboxylic acid such as levulinic acid [0252]. The buprenorphine base and the carboxylic acid are suspended in ethanol and subsequently combined with the polymer adhesive to provide the coating composition [0254]. Wauer also teaches that the buprenorphine base is preferably dissolved in the carboxylic acid to form a buprenorphine carboxylic acid solution which forms dispersed deposits in the polymer matrix [0028]. In an exemplary manufacturing procedure, levulinic acid and buprenorphine base are weighed and added to a mixing vessel with ethanol and stirred for at least 1 hour until a buprenorphine base-containing solution is formed [0265]. The instant specification defines the “slurry method” to comprise a process of weighing in guanfacine free base and a monocarboxylic acid in equimolar amounts. Solvent is added and the mixture is stirred with a magnetic stirring bar at room temperature [0086 of instant specification]. The Examiner therefore interprets the pre-mix manufacturing procedure recited by Wauer to read on the “slurry method” of the instant claims 5 and 25.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of filing to include the guanfacine and carboxylic acid of the claims of the ‘874 patent as a pre-mixture obtainable by a slurry method. One would have understood in view of Wauer that a drug in the form of a free base may be dissolved in a carboxylic acid using a slurry method prior to the addition of a polymer adhesive when manufacturing a transdermal treatment system. It would have been obvious to pre-mix the guanfacine and carboxylic acid of the claims of the ‘874 patent before addition of the polymer adhesive. One of ordinary skill in the art of filing would have been motivated to mix the guanfacine and carboxylic acid in order to form dispersed deposits of the drug in the polymer matrix. The artisan of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success because Emgenbroich teaches that the additives present in the transdermal treatment system are suitable for improving the release properties of the transdermal treatment system by allowing homogenous dispersion of the guanfacine within the transdermal therapeutic system [0019].
The molar ratio of guanfacine and monocarboxylic acid is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and would reasonably expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal ratio in order to best achieve the desired results as such would provide advantageous dispersion effect. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to engage in routine experimentation to determine optimal or workable ranges that produce expected results. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, Wauer teaches that a drug in the form of a free base dissolved in a carboxylic acid allows for improved dispersion properties of the drug in a transdermal drug delivery system [0028]. The Examiner considers it prima facie obvious to optimize the molar ratio of guanfacine and mono-carboxylic acid, absent unexpectedly superior properties of the claimed invention. In the instant case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the amount of mono-carboxylic acid relative to the amount of guanfacine would have a direct effect on the dissolution and dispersion of the free base form of the drug and therefore be an optimizable variable.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
ELIZABETH ANNE MEYERSExaminer, Art Unit 1617
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614