DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eom et al. (US 20200335690 A1).Regarding claim 1:Eom teaches an information processing method comprising:
providing a magnetic body layer made of one or a plurality of magnetic bodies ([0017]-[0018], [0028], [0030]) on an elastically deformable substrate (PDMS and/or the thin piezoelectric film), a magnetization orientation of the magnetic body responding to strain ([0020], [0022], [0025]); and detecting, by a detection device, a magnetization state including at least the magnetization orientation of the magnetic body constituting the magnetic body layer, and outputting information on the magnetization state as a result of an input of the strain to the substrate (inherent when the device is used as a memory - [0016], [0018]-[0020], [0028])
Regarding claim 4:Eom teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above.Eom also teaches:
wherein the substrate is made of a material including synthetic resin, synthetic rubber, or natural rubber(PDMS is a synthetic rubber)
Regarding claim 5:Eom teaches an information processing apparatus comprising:
a magnetic element provided with a magnetic body layer made of one or a plurality of magnetic bodies ([0017]-[0018], [0028], [0030]) on an elastically deformable substrate (PDMS and/or the thin piezoelectric film), a magnetization orientation of the magnetic body responding to strain ([0020], [0022], [0025]); and a detection device for detecting a magnetization state including at least the magnetization orientation of the magnetic body constituting the magnetic body layer of the magnetic element, wherein information on the magnetization state detected by the detection device is output as a result of an input of the strain to the substrate(inherent when the device is used as a memory - [0016], [0018]-[0020], [0028])
Regarding claim 7:Eom teaches all the limitations of claim 5, as mentioned above.Eom also teaches:
wherein the substrate is made of a material including synthetic resin, synthetic rubber, or natural rubber(PDMS is a synthetic rubber)
Regarding claim 8:Eom teaches a magnetic element provided with
a magnetic body layer made of one or a plurality of magnetic bodies ([0017]-[0018], [0028], [0030]) on an elastically deformable substrate (PDMS and/or the thin piezoelectric film), a magnetization orientation of the magnetic body responding to strain ([0020], [0022], [0025])
Regarding claim 10:Eom teaches all the limitations of claim 8, as mentioned above.Eom also teaches:
wherein the substrate is made of a material including synthetic resin, synthetic rubber, or natural rubber(PDMS is a synthetic rubber)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eom et al. (US 20200335690 A1) in view of Atulasimha et al. (US 20120267735 A1).Regarding claim 2:Eom teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as mentioned above.Eom appears to teach:
wherein the magnetic body layer includes a magnetic body in which the magnetization orientation is maintained in a direction different from a magnetization orientation before the input even after disappearance of the strain that has been input through the substrate and changes the magnetization orientation
See citations in claim 1 rejection above regarding input and magnetization orientation. The limitation of “even after disappearance of the strain that has been input” appears to be inherently met by [0016] of Eom which states that the device may be used as “non-volatile memories”. Non-volatile memory is defined as memory that retains data even when power is turned off.
However, as this is not clearly and explicitly stated by Eom, Atulasimha is provided.
Atulasimha teaches:
wherein the magnetic body layer includes a magnetic body in which the magnetization orientation is maintained in a direction different from a magnetization orientation before the input even after disappearance of the strain that has been input through the substrate and changes the magnetization orientation ([0027], [0037])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the magnetic body such that the input / set magnetization is maintained, even after disappearance of the strain, as taught by Atulasimha in the method of Eom, to yield stable non-volatile memory.
Regarding claim 3:Eom and Atulasimha teach all the limitations of claim 2, as mentioned above.Eom also teaches:
wherein the magnetization state is detected by the detection device after the input of the strain is completed, and then the information on the magnetization state is output as the result (inherent when the device is used as a memory - [0016], [0018]-[0020], [0028])
Regarding claim 6:Eom teaches all the limitations of claim 5, as mentioned above.Eom appears to teach:
wherein the magnetic body layer includes a magnetic body in which the magnetization orientation is maintained in a direction different from a magnetization orientation before the input even after disappearance of the strain that has been input through the substrate and changes the magnetization orientation
See citations in claim 5 rejection above regarding input and magnetization orientation. The limitation of “even after disappearance of the strain that has been input” appears to be inherently met by [0016] of Eom which states that the device may be used as “non-volatile memories”. Non-volatile memory is defined as memory that retains data even when power is turned off.
However, as this is not clearly and explicitly stated by Eom, Atulasimha is provided.
Atulasimha teaches:
wherein the magnetic body layer includes a magnetic body in which the magnetization orientation is maintained in a direction different from a magnetization orientation before the input even after disappearance of the strain that has been input through the substrate and changes the magnetization orientation ([0027], [0037])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the magnetic body such that the input / set magnetization is maintained, even after disappearance of the strain, as taught by Atulasimha in the device of Eom, to yield stable non-volatile memory.
Regarding claim 9:Eom teaches all the limitations of claim 8, as mentioned above.Eom appears to teach:
wherein the magnetic body layer includes a magnetic body in which a magnetization orientation is maintained in a direction different from a magnetization orientation before an input even after disappearance of the strain that has been input through the substrate and changes the magnetization orientation
See citations in claim 8 rejection above regarding input and magnetization orientation. The limitation of “even after disappearance of the strain that has been input” appears to be inherently met by [0016] of Eom which states that the device may be used as “non-volatile memories”. Non-volatile memory is defined as memory that retains data even when power is turned off.
However, as this is not clearly and explicitly stated by Eom, Atulasimha is provided.
Atulasimha teaches:
wherein the magnetic body layer includes a magnetic body in which a magnetization orientation is maintained in a direction different from a magnetization orientation before an input even after disappearance of the strain that has been input through the substrate and changes the magnetization orientation ([0027], [0037])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the magnetic body such that the input / set magnetization is maintained, even after disappearance of the strain, as taught by Atulasimha in the device of Eom, to yield stable non-volatile memory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ando et al. (US 20210278292 A1).Regarding claim 11:Ando teaches (FIGS. 1, 5, 8-12) a magnetic element provided with
a magnetic body layer (3) made of one or a plurality of magnetic bodies on an elastically deformable substrate (1), a magnetization orientation of the magnetic body responding to strain (abstract, [0007]-[0020]), wherein the magnetic element is a stress sensor (abstract) that detects the strain input from a detection target through the substrate by attaching the substrate to the detection target (aforementioned citations; also see [0043])
This is made a 102/103 rejection since Ando teaches a stress sensor, but the only recitation as to attachment to a detection target is that it can be used to sense the movement of the human body. However, the examiner holds it obvious and well-known to attach the flexible substrate of a stress sensor, such as that of Ando, to a “detection target” (i.e., that which the stress therein is to be measured by said stress sensor) to detect stress.
Conclusion
/HERBERT K ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855