DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
“culture medium control member” in independent claim 1, which reads on a porous material and other known equivalents (see paragraphs [0067]-[0070] and Fig. 4)
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 102187633)1 in view of Anderson (US 6168948).
With respect to claim 1, Choi discloses a cell culture device comprising a culture medium supply unit. The culture medium supply unit includes a base (Figure 4:120) and a first reservoir (Figure 4:111a-c) disposed on the base. The first reservoir includes an accommodation space for holding a culture medium and a surface through which a through hole (Figure 4:H1-H3) is formed. A culture medium control member (Figure 4:320) is positioned over the through hole and is configured to control a flow of the culture medium discharged from the first reservoir (“The fluid flow control membrane 320 controls the supply rate of the culture solution through which the culture solution in the first and third microwells 111a and 111c flows into the flow path 121”). The culture medium control member is depicted as a film that is positioned over the through hole, as opposed to passing through the through hole.
Anderson discloses a fluidic system for handling and processing biological samples. Anderson indicates that flow between adjacent reservoirs (Figure 3:202, 206, 210, 214, 218) and channels (Figure 3:204, 208, 212, 216) is regulated using a fluidic control member (Figure 10:1116 and Figure 19:2002) fabricated from porous material. This is described in column 42, line 58 to column 43, line 6. The fluidic control member is shown in the Figures as configured to pass through a corresponding channel (“through hole”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that the Choi culture medium control members are disposed to pass through an associated through hole. Anderson indicates that porous fluidic control members configured as plugs and/or wicks are well known in the art (“Such restrictions are known to ones skilled in the art and include optimization of critical dimensions and the use of porous plugs”) and may be made from biocompatible and inexpensive porous materials designed to be incorporated into a microscale system.
With respect to claims 2-4, Choi and Anderson disclose the combination as described above. Choi shows that multiple reservoirs 111a, 111b, 111c are disposed on the base 120 and are spaced apart from each other. Choi shows in Fig. 4 how the multiple reservoirs 111a, 111b, 111c are created using partition walls disposed therebetween. Each reservoir 111a, 111b, 111c includes a corresponding through hole H1, H2, H3.
With respect to claim 5, Choi and Anderson disclose the combination as described above. Choi and Anderson each teach a porous culture medium control member.
With respect to claims 6 and 7, Choi and Anderson disclose the combination as described above. Choi additionally teaches that a plate unit (Figure 4:200) is detachably connected to the culture medium supply unit. The plate unit includes a channel (Figure 3:121) configured to guide a path through with the culture medium is supplied from the culture medium supply unit. At least one well (Figure 4:220) is connected to the channel.
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Choi and Anderson disclose the combination as described above. Although Choi appears to disclose a single channel and a single well, Anderson indicates that it is common to provide multiple channels that link multiple wells in series and/or in parallel. See Figs. 3, 5a, 6a, 6b and 11c, for example, in Anderson. A mere duplication of parts (here, providing a plurality of channels and wells) to produce a cumulative, redundant, or otherwise predictable result is considered to be prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Cheng (US 20150369796), Baron (US 20080050768) and McCormick (US 4743537) references teach the state of the art regarding porous fluidic control members.
/NATHAN A BOWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799
1 See provided English translation