DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 and 9-10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites the limitation “the underwater acoustic communication machine in the junction box”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 1 and 3, from which claim 4 depends, fail to disclose an underwater communication machine in the junction box, so it is unclear which underwater acoustic communication box in the gathering box they are referring to. It is the examiner’s interpretation that either or both of claims 1 and 3 are meant to include a limitation regarding an underwater acoustic communication machine in the junction box.
Regarding claim 5, the terms “excessively long” and “excessively large” are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “excessively long” and “excessively large” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how much longer the length of main cable must be in order to be considered “excessively long” or how many sensors can be equipped in order to be considered “excessively large”. Therefore claim 5 is unclear and thus indefinite.
Regarding claim 10, the term “slightly” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “slightly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how much longer the length of main cable must be in order to be considered “slightly” longer without being too much longer. Therefore claim 10 is unclear and thus indefinite.
Regarding claims 5-7 and 9-10, the claims are further rejected due to their respective dependence upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (CN 110712719 A, “Han”) in view of Chun et al. (US 20170347169 A1, “Chun”).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses a seafloor observation network-based subsurface buoy device with real-time power supplying and high-speed data transmitting, wherein the subsurface buoy device comprises a seabed base deployed on a seabed and a vertical mooring system connected to a bottom surface of the seabed base to extend to a sea surface, wherein the seabed base is used for providing a function of a gravity anchor, to enable the subsurface buoy device to be stably positioned at a layout site(Fig. 6, [attached machine translation, pg. 6], balance weight anchor (1) provided at a first end of bearing wire (4) connects to the main floating ball (6)); wherein the seabed base is used further used for obtaining electrical energy from a junction box of a seafloor observation network, sending, to the vertical mooring system (Fig. 6, [attached machine translation, pg. 6-7], docking station (8) which is connected to the balance weight anchor (1) via wet-drawing insertion head (23), such that docking station can provided power to the whole system); and the vertical mooring system adopts a structure that an overall force bearing rope is combined with a segmented main cable (Fig. 1, [attached machine translation, pg. 7], bearing line (4) is connected with elastic rope (10). Elastic rope (1) is always in a tensioned state and will adaptively contract and elongate but will not bend , and avoids touching the power and signal line to prevent abrasion between the cables. Elastic cord (10) may break in sections and separate from the balance weight anchor(1)).
Han may not explicitly disclose a management and control command sent by the junction box of the seafloor observation network, and transmitting data collected by the vertical mooring system to the junction box of the seafloor observation network in real time; and the vertical mooring system adopts a structure that an overall force bearing rope is used for transmitting the electrical energy obtained from the seabed base to each sensor arranged on the force bearing rope, and sending, to the seabed base, data of the sensors at different water depths according to the management and control command transmitted by the seabed base
Chun teaches a management and control command sent by the junction box of the seafloor observation network, and transmitting data collected by the vertical mooring system to the junction box of the seafloor observation network in real time ([0038], data-storage and transmission device in submarine frame stores data transmitted from the submarine sensors and transmits them through signal cable based on command signals sent from controller, which controls transmission command signals); and the vertical mooring system adopts a structure that an overall force bearing rope is used for transmitting the electrical energy obtained from the seabed base to each sensor arranged on the force bearing rope, and sending, to the seabed base, data of the sensors at different water depths according to the management and control command transmitted by the seabed base ([0041], power supply device in the submarine frame controls power supply to the system)([0043], power line is built into the signal cable and connected to the power supply device)([0045] data obtained by submarine sensors is provided to the signal cable and transmitted to the data-storage and transmission device in the seabed frame).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of ocean observation systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Han, to include the control/command signals and data storage/management of Chun with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of monitoring submarine gas-leakage data through the coordinated use of multiple sensors and coordinating the transmission of data between the seabed observation unit and the satellite enabled buoy [0012].
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of and Chun and Li et al. (CN 110510068 B, Li”).
Regarding claim 2, Han, as modified in view of Chun teaches the seafloor observation network-based subsurface buoy device with real-time power supplying and high-speed data transmitting according to claim 1. Han further teaches a first gathering cabin is disposed in the seabed base, the first gathering cabin is connected to a connection port of the junction box of the seafloor observation network by a wet pluggable connector (Fig. 6, [attached machine translation, pg. 6-7], docking station (8) which is connected to the balance weight anchor (1) via wet-drawing insertion head (23), such that docking station can provided power to the whole system),
Han, as modified in view of Chun may not explicitly teach may not explicitly the first gathering cabin comprises a power adapter and a protocol adapter, wherein the power adapter is used for converting high-voltage power transmitted by the junction box of the seafloor observation network into medium-voltage power and sending the medium-voltage power to a power cable of the main cable of the vertical mooring system; and the protocol adapter is used for converting the management and control command sent by the junction box of the seafloor observation network into a protocol format and sending the command in the protocol format to a data bus of the main cable, and is further used for gathering the data of the sensors collected by the vertical mooring system at different water depths, converting the data into a communication protocol format suitable for the junction box of the seafloor observation network, and sending the data in the communication protocol format to the junction box of the seafloor observation network, wherein a format of the data bus comprises, but not limited to, a CAN field bus and an RS485 field bus.
Li teaches the first gathering cabin comprises a power adapter and a protocol adapter, wherein the power adapter is used for converting high-voltage power transmitted by the junction box of the seafloor observation network into medium-voltage power and sending the medium-voltage power to a power cable of the main cable of the vertical mooring system ([attached machine translation, pg. 5], buoy anchor system comprises an upper photoelectric connecting component. Upper photoelectric connecting component comprises a separation box (cavity). Photoelectric separation boxes separate a plurality of branches and comprise an electric unit which acts as a voltage reducer module and reduces the electrical energy distributed to corresponding observation sensors); and the protocol adapter is used for converting the management and control command sent by the junction box of the seafloor observation network into a protocol format and sending the command in the protocol format to a data bus of the main cable, and is further used for gathering the data of the sensors collected by the vertical mooring system at different water depths, converting the data into a communication protocol format suitable for the junction box of the seafloor observation network, and sending the data in the communication protocol format to the junction box of the seafloor observation network, wherein a format of the data bus comprises, but not limited to, a CAN field bus and an RS485 field bus ([attached machine translation, pg. 6-7] communication transmission process of the system comprises buoy data collectors connecting with the upper photoelectric assembly through a RS485 communication protocol. The photoelectric converter converts electrical signal of RS485 into an optical signal and transmits the optical signal to the optical fiber switch of the corresponding node. Optical signal is converted into the RS485 electric signal on each branch so as to realize communication with the sensors. The communication protocol between the end of the photoelectric cable and main connection box is RS232 and sensors connected to main connection box via RS232 communication protocol).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of ocean observation systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Han, as modified in view of Chun to include the communication protocol and voltage reduction of Li with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing power to each sensor and enabling communication between sensors and the data collection system [attached machine translation, [pg. 5]], [attached machine translation, [pg. 6-7]].
Regarding claim 3, Han, as modified in view of Chun teaches the seafloor observation network-based subsurface buoy device with real-time power supplying and high-speed data transmitting according to claim 1. Han, as modified in view of Chun may not explicitly teach a positioning beacon and a main floating body are sequentially disposed from a top end to bottom in the vertical mooring system, wherein the positioning beacon is used for emitting positioning information when the subsurface buoy device rises to the sea surface, which is convenient for salvaging; and the main floating body is used for stretching the vertical mooring system through buoyancy.
Li teaches a positioning beacon and a main floating body are sequentially disposed from a top end to bottom in the vertical mooring system, wherein the positioning beacon is used for emitting positioning information when the subsurface buoy device rises to the sea surface, which is convenient for salvaging; and the main floating body is used for stretching the vertical mooring system through buoyancy ([attached machine translation, pg. 5], satellite communication/positioning system is used for buoy location and returns collected data to the shore station in real time)(Fig. 1 illustrates the an antenna disposed sequentially on top of the buoy system)(it is the examiners interpretation that the buoy implicitly provides stretching of the mooring system through buoyancy).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of ocean observation systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Han, as modified in view of Chun to include the positioning beacon of Li with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of providing the buoy location and transmitting real time data to the shore station system [attached machine translation, pg. 5].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of and Chun, Li, and Hersey et al. (US 3299398 A, “Hersey”).
Regarding claim 8, Han, as modified in view of Li and Chun teaches the seafloor observation network-based subsurface buoy device with real-time power supplying and high-speed data transmitting according to claim 3. Han, as modified in view of Li and Chun may not explicitly teach one bearing conductive swivel is separately disposed between the main floating body and the vertical mooring system and between the vertical mooring system and the seabed base, and is used for eliminating torque of the vertical mooring system.
Hersey teaches one bearing conductive swivel is separately disposed between the main floating body and the vertical mooring system and between the vertical mooring system and the seabed base, and is used for eliminating torque of the vertical mooring system([column 3, lines 32-36], float (33) is connected to the line (34) which terminates in a swivel (35) and is connected to the length of line (22) which is terminated at swivel (23) attached to the bottom anchor (20).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of ocean observation systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Han, as modified in view of Chun and Li to include the swivels of Hersey with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of preventing the twisting or kinking of any electrical cables, thus extending the life of the electrical cables [column 3, lines 53-56].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, as well as overcoming any relevant 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, Han, as modified in view of Li and Chun teaches the seafloor observation network-based subsurface buoy device with real-time power supplying and high-speed data transmitting according to claim 3. Han, as modified in view of Li and Chun may not explicitly teach a second gathering cabin and an underwater acoustic communication machine are disposed in the main floating body, the second gathering cabin is used for monitoring a periodic instruction sent by a first gathering cabin, and when the periodic instruction can be received, the second gathering cabin is in a slave state; and when the periodic instruction cannot be received, the second gathering cabin is in a master state, the data of the sensors collected by the vertical mooring system at different water depths is obtained through a data bus of the main cable, the data is converted into a format required for the underwater acoustic communication machine, and the data in the format is sent by the underwater acoustic communication machine to the underwater acoustic communication machine in the junction box of the seafloor observation network.
Frye et al. ("An acoustically linked moored‐buoy ocean observatory." Eos, Transactions American Geophysical Union 87.22 (2006): 213-218., “Frye”) teaches a second gathering cabin and an underwater acoustic communication machine are disposed in the main floating body, the second gathering cabin is used for monitoring a periodic instruction sent by a first gathering cabin, ([pg. 2], Fig. 1 illustrates the acoustically linked moored buoy observatory which uses acoustic-modems to telemeter data from multiple instruments to a surface buoy, however Frye fails to teach the gathering of data from sensors collected by the vertical mooring systems at different depths being obtained through a data bus of the main cable and being converted into a format suitable for an acoustic communication machine in the first and second gathering cabin, as each of Frye’s instrument on the seafloor comprises its own acoustic modem for telemetering data to the surface buoy and does not rely on a main cable for data transmission. Additionally, no identified prior art teach the limitation with sufficient motivation to combine);, the data of the sensors collected by the vertical mooring system at different water depths is obtained through a data bus of the main cable, the data is converted into a format required for the underwater acoustic communication machine, and the data in the format is sent by the underwater acoustic communication machine to the underwater acoustic communication machine in the junction box of the seafloor observation network.
Wang et al. ("A data management method for remote and long-term seafloor observation system." Marine Geodesy 43.1 (2020): 1-22, “Wang”) teaches when the periodic instruction can be received, the second gathering cabin is in a slave state, when the periodic instruction cannot be received, the second gathering cabin is in a master state ([pg. 7, 3.1 Data Acquisition and Processing], multi-master slave data acquisition methods are adopted based on CAN bus technology to avoid mutual interference between sensors in data transmission. RS232 and RS485 communication protocol conversion is utilized for communication between sensors; however Wang fails teaches the limitations regarding the second gathering master or slave status being dictated by whether or not a periodic instruction can be received. Additionally no identified prior art teaches the limitation in part or with sufficient motivation to combine.)
Xu et al. ("Sea trial of a real-time submerged buoy communication system based on wireless networking." Proceedings of the International Conference on Artificial Intelligence, Information Processing and Cloud Computing. 2019., “Xu”) teaches when the periodic instruction can be received, the second gathering cabin is in a slave state, when the periodic instruction cannot be received, the second gathering cabin is in a master state ([pg. 3, Transmission Protocol] teaches that the transmission protocol comprises dedicated master and slave stations to communicate data and uplink requests, as well as how the master station is to proceed in an instance where the master station fails to receive a response from the master device, however Xu fails to teach the limitations regarding the second gathering cabin being interchangeably operated as a master or a slave. No identified prior art teaches this limitation in part with sufficient motivation to combine).
Regarding claims 5-7 and 9-10, the claims are indicated as containing allowable subject matter due to their respective dependencies upon a claim indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Zhang et al. (CN 106516051 A, “Zhang”) which discloses a deep sea transferable connection box of an moored buoy observation system
Ichikawa (WO 2015194062 A1, “Ichikawa”) which discloses an ocean data measurement system
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645