DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The previous objections are withdrawn due to the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, and 11 are under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reusch et al (WO 2016/071301; herein Reusch, already of record). Regarding claim 1:
Reusch teaches making an agglomerated zirconia powder by build-up granulation in claims 1 and 4. Spray drying the particle would cause impacts and build up, there is a zero percent chance that no particle impacted each other during the spraying process.
Regarding claims 4 and 6:
Since Reusch teaches spray drying to produce the zirconia granulate, this means that a suspension of zirconia was made prior to the spray drying.
Regarding claim 7:
Since the zirconia granulate is spray dried it implies that is at least 99 wt% solid.
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reusch, as evidenced by Tosoh Zirconia Powder Specification and Typical Properties (herein Tosoh, already of record). Regarding claim 3:
Reusch teaches that the spray dried zirconia granule used can be the 3YSB-E from Tosoh (page 18, section 2.1). Based on Tosoh, 3YSB-E has a crystallite size of 36 nm and a granule size of 60 microns.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 11 are under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oswald et al (U.S. PGPub 2010/0048376; herein Oswald, already of record). Regarding claim 1:
Oswald teaches making an agglomerated zirconia powder by build-up granulation in paragraphs 0061-0071. Spray drying the particle would cause impacts and build up, there is a zero percent chance that no particle impacted each other during the spraying process.
Regarding claim 2:
Oswald teaches up to 2.5 wt% organic binder in Table 1.
Regarding claims 4 and 5:
Oswald teaches prior to agglomeration a suspension of the zirconia with water is created in paragraph 0064.
Regarding claim 6:
Oswald teaches spray drying the suspension in paragraph 0069.
Regarding claim 11:
Oswald teaches granulate has a d50 average particle size of 33-51 microns in Table 2.
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 8 are under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al (CN 107043267; herein Zhou, already of record). Regarding claim 1:
Zhou teaches making an agglomerated zirconia powder by build-up granulation in paragraphs 0072-0075. Zhou uses a ball mill which is both a source of rolling and impact, and there would be a zero percent chance that no particle impacted each other during the ball milling.
Regarding claims 4 and 5:
Zhou teaches prior to agglomeration a suspension of the zirconia with ethyl alcohol is created in paragraph 0073.
Regarding claim 8:
Zhou teaches using a mixing granulator in paragraph 0075, this implies the use of shaking, vibrating, and/or oscillating.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reusch, Oswald, or Zhou. Regarding claim 9:
The material of the agglomeration surface is not disclosed by Reusch, Oswald, or Zhou.. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the needed surface, since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is obvious, MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou. Regarding claim 10:
Zhou teaches an agglomeration time of 2-4 hours. Two hours is 120 minutes, which overlaps the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed since it has been held that overlapping endpoints are sufficient showing of obviousness, MPEP 2144.05 I.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oswald. Regarding claim 21:
Oswald teaches that there can be 0.5 to 5 wt% binder (paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, since overlapping ranges is obvious (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Reusch, Oswald, nor Zhou teach agglomeration of zirconia via rolling or impacts. The Examiner disagrees. Reusch and Oswald teach spraying the dispersion. There is a zero percent chance that no impacts of particles occurred. For this to be true, no particles would ever touch one another, and if an impact on a surface occurs it would be a perfect elastic response. This is impossible. Thus the spray drying of Reusch and Oswald would create agglomerates by impact. Zhou teaches ball milling, again the same situation arises, there is a zero percent chance that no impacts occur during the rolling. The Applicant has provided no evidence to the lack of impacts in Reusch, Oswald, or Zhou. Thus the prior art still anticipates the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743