Detailed Action
Claims 1-9 are currently pending.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Compound 43
in the reply filed on 4/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 are being examined on the merits herein.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (WO2017023133, 5/30/2024 IDS).
Lee teaches the elected Compound 43
, every compound listed in Claim 5, and the five specific compounds of examined Claim 6 in Table 1 beginning on Page 12. Compound 43, for example, is encompassed by the formulae of Claims 1-4 as indicated in applicant’s response dated 4/22/2026. The compounds are used to treat HDAC6 associated diseases including Charcot-Marie-Tooth disease (CMT) (Abstract; Para 273). Administration can be oral (Para 276). Applicant teaches CMT is associated with the peripheral nervous system (PNS) as required by Claim 1: “Charcot-Marie-Tooth…disease is the most common type of hereditary peripheral nerve disorder” and “Upon the development of Charcot- Marie-Tooth disease, progressive degeneration of peripheral nerves leads to atrophy of muscles” (Page 1). Thus, CMT is necessarily associated with the PNS as claimed and Lee anticipates the method of treating the claimed disease, CMT associated with PNS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (WO2017023133, 5/30/2024 IDS) in view of Ha (Br J Pharmacol. 2020 Aug 15;177(22):5096-5113.) or Benoy (Neurotherapeutics (2017) 14:417–428).
Lee teaches the elected Compound 43, every compound listed in Claim 5, and the five specific compounds of examined Claim 6 in Table 1 beginning on Page 12. The compounds are used to treat HDAC6 associated diseases including Charcot-Marie-Tooth disease (CMT) (Abstract; Para 273). Administration can be oral (Para 276). Applicant teaches CMT is associated with the peripheral nervous system (PNS): “Charcot-Marie-Tooth…disease is the most common type of hereditary peripheral nerve disorder” and “Upon the development of Charcot- Marie-Tooth disease, progressive degeneration of peripheral nerves leads to atrophy of muscles” (Page 1). Thus, CMT is necessarily associated with the PNS as claimed and Lee anticipates the method of treating the claimed disease, CMT associated with PNS.
Lee does not teach treating the particular subtypes of CMT described in Claims 7 or 8.
Ha teaches “A novel HDAC6 inhibitor, CKD-504, has potent therapeutic efficacy for CMT1A” (Abstract). The inhibition of HDAC6 is thought to be effective in the CMT subtype because “HDAC6 is involved in several processes including the induction of aggresome formation, autophagy, and protein refolding” reducing PMP22 which associated with CMT1A pathogenesis (Page 5109, Para 1 and 4.5 The possible…).
Benoy “established a screening method consisting of 3 different phases identifying selective and potent HDAC6 inhibitors that can functionally restore motor and sensory deficits in a CMT2F mouse model” (Page 426, Right Col.). “pharmacologic inhibition of the deacetylating function of HDAC6 not only normalized the defects seen in cultured DRG neurons, but also reversed the motor and sensory abnormalities and the electrophysiological defects observed in vivo” (Page 418, Intro).
One of ordinary skill in the art seeking to treat the particular CMT subtypes described in Ha or Benoy would find it obvious to select the HDAC6 inhibitors taught by Lee, including the elected species Compound 43, because Lee teaches that the compounds are effective for the treatment of CMT broadly. The same artisan would expect success in treating the particular subtypes taught in Ha or Benoy before the effective filing date of the examined invention because both teach HDAC6 modulators, like the Lee compounds, are effective to treat said subtypes listed in Claim 8 including CMT1A and CMT2F.
Double Patenting
PROVISIONAL:
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-4, 8, and 11-12 of copending Application No. 18286037 (hereinafter referred to as Chong) in view of Silverman (Organic Chemistry of Drug Design and Drug Action, Elservier Academic Press, 2004, pg. 24-34), Lee (WO2017023133, 5/30/2024 IDS), Ha (Br J Pharmacol. 2020 Aug 15;177(22):5096-5113.), and Benoy (Neurotherapeutics (2017) 14:417–428).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a genus of HDAC6 inhibitors for the treatment of neurological diseases like CMT.
Regarding the claims directed to compositions of matter, In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010). See MPEP 804 (II) (B) (1). See Chong specification Page 22 teaching the treatment of CMT with compounds of the invention. Applicant teaches CMT is associated with the peripheral nervous system (PNS): “Charcot-Marie-Tooth…disease is the most common type of hereditary peripheral nerve disorder” and “Upon the development of Charcot- Marie-Tooth disease, progressive degeneration of peripheral nerves leads to atrophy of muscles” (Instant Specification: Page 1). Thus, CMT is necessarily associated with the PNS as claimed.
Similar embodiments are taught between applications: elected Compound 43
and Chong Compound 6
differ only by the substitution of a thioamide with an amide.
Chong does not teach the single-atom substitution or the treatment of particular CMT subtypes via oral administration.
Silverman teaches that the exchange of a thioamide and amide is a well-known bioisosteric replacement and the groups are classified as a nonclassical bioisosteres, or isosteres which “do not have the same number of atoms and do not fit the steric and electronic rules of classical isosteres, but do produce similar biological activity” (Page 29, E.4 Bioisosterism, Lines 10-12; Page, Table 2.3). One of skill in the art seeking to form an HDAC6 inhibitor to treat the diseases identified in Chong would find it obvious to perform the substitution and expect success in doing so because Silverman teaches the exchange is known and generally results in “similar biological activity”.
Lee teaches the same compound as claimed and a close analog of the Chong compound as Compound 43 in Table 1 beginning on Page 12. The compound is taught to be administered orally for the treatment of CMT (Para 273 and 276).
Ha teaches “A novel HDAC6 inhibitor, CKD-504, has potent therapeutic efficacy for CMT1A” (Abstract). The inhibition of HDAC6 is thought to be effective in the CMT subtype because “HDAC6 is involved in several processes including the induction of aggresome formation, autophagy, and protein refolding” reducing PMP22 which associated with CMT1A pathogenesis (Page 5109, Para 1 and 4.5 The possible…).
Benoy “established a screening method consisting of 3 different phases identifying selective and potent HDAC6 inhibitors that can functionally restore motor and sensory deficits in a CMT2F mouse model” (Page 426, Right Col.). “pharmacologic inhibition of the deacetylating function of HDAC6 not only normalized the defects seen in cultured DRG neurons, but also reversed the motor and sensory abnormalities and the electrophysiological defects observed in vivo” (Page 418, Intro).
One of ordinary skill in the art seeking to treat the particular CMT subtypes described in Ha or Benoy would find it obvious to select the HDAC6 inhibitors taught by Chong and modified in view of Silverman because Chong teaches that the homologs are effective for the treatment of CMT and Lee teaches the compounds as claimed are effective for the same purpose. The same artisan would expect success in treating the particular subtypes taught in Ha or Benoy because both teach HDAC6 modulators, like the Chong and Lee compounds, are effective to treat said subtypes listed in Claim 8.
Since both applications teach similar inhibitors for the same use, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Chong.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
NONPROVISIONAL:
1. Claims 1-9 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 10464911 (hereinafter referred to as Chong) in view of Silverman (Organic Chemistry of Drug Design and Drug Action, Elservier Academic Press, 2004, pg. 24-34), Lee (WO2017023133, 5/30/2024 IDS), Ha (Br J Pharmacol. 2020 Aug 15;177(22):5096-5113.), and Benoy (Neurotherapeutics (2017) 14:417–428).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a genus of HDAC6 inhibitors for the treatment of neurological diseases like CMT.
Regarding the claims directed to compositions of matter, In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010). See MPEP 804 (II) (B) (1). See Chong specification Column 28 teaching the treatment of CMT with compounds of the invention. Applicant teaches CMT is associated with the peripheral nervous system (PNS): “Charcot-Marie-Tooth…disease is the most common type of hereditary peripheral nerve disorder” and “Upon the development of Charcot- Marie-Tooth disease, progressive degeneration of peripheral nerves leads to atrophy of muscles” (Instant Specification: Page 1). Thus, CMT is necessarily associated with the PNS as claimed.
Similar embodiments are taught between applications: elected Compound 43
and Chong Example 35
differ only by the substitution of a sulfoxide with a carbonyl.
Chong does not teach the functional group substitution or the treatment of particular CMT subtypes via oral administration.
Silverman teaches that the exchange of a sulfoxide for an ester is a well-known bioisosteric replacement and the groups are classified as a nonclassical bioisosteres, or isosteres which “do not have the same number of atoms and do not fit the steric and electronic rules of classical isosteres, but do produce similar biological activity” (Page 29, E.4 Bioisosterism, Lines 10-12; Page 30, Table 2.3). One of skill in the art seeking to form an HDAC6 inhibitor to treat the diseases identified in Chong would find it obvious to perform the substitution and expect success in doing so because Silverman teaches the exchange is known and results in “similar biological activity”.
Lee teaches the same compound as claimed and a close analog of the Chong compound as Compound 43 in Table 1 beginning on Page 12. The compound is taught to be administered orally for the treatment of CMT (Para 273 and 276).
Ha teaches “A novel HDAC6 inhibitor, CKD-504, has potent therapeutic efficacy for CMT1A” (Abstract). The inhibition of HDAC6 is thought to be effective in the CMT subtype because “HDAC6 is involved in several processes including the induction of aggresome formation, autophagy, and protein refolding” reducing PMP22 which associated with CMT1A pathogenesis (Page 5109, Para 1 and 4.5 The possible…).
Benoy “established a screening method consisting of 3 different phases identifying selective and potent HDAC6 inhibitors that can functionally restore motor and sensory deficits in a CMT2F mouse model” (Page 426, Right Col.). “pharmacologic inhibition of the deacetylating function of HDAC6 not only normalized the defects seen in cultured DRG neurons, but also reversed the motor and sensory abnormalities and the electrophysiological defects observed in vivo” (Page 418, Intro).
One of ordinary skill in the art seeking to treat the particular CMT subtypes described in Ha or Benoy would find it obvious to select the HDAC6 inhibitors taught by Chong and modified in view of Silverman because Chong teaches that the homologs are effective for the treatment of CMT and Lee teaches the compounds as claimed are effective for the same purpose. The same artisan would expect success in treating the particular subtypes taught in Ha or Benoy because both teach HDAC6 modulators, like the Chong and Lee compounds, are effective to treat said subtypes listed in Claim 8.
Since both claim sets teach HDAC6 inhibitors which are isosteric homologs for the same use, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Chong.
2. Claims 1-9 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10717716 (hereinafter referred to as Chong) in view of Lee (WO2017023133, 5/30/2024 IDS), Ha (Br J Pharmacol. 2020 Aug 15;177(22):5096-5113.), and Benoy (Neurotherapeutics (2017) 14:417–428).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are directed to a genus of HDAC6 inhibitors for the treatment of HDAC6-associated diseases.
Regarding the claims directed to compositions of matter, In AbbVie Inc. v. Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology Trust, 764 F.3d 1366, 112 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2014), the court explained that it is also proper to look at the disclosed utility in the reference disclosure to determine the overall question of obviousness in a nonstatutory double patenting context. See Sun Pharm. Indus., Ltd. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 611 F.3d 1381, 95 USPQ2d 1797 (Fed. Cir. 2010). See MPEP 804 (II) (B) (1). See Chong Abstract teaching the treatment of HDAC6-associated diseases with compounds of the invention including CMT (Col. 205). Applicant teaches CMT is associated with the peripheral nervous system (PNS): “Charcot-Marie-Tooth…disease is the most common type of hereditary peripheral nerve disorder” and “Upon the development of Charcot- Marie-Tooth disease, progressive degeneration of peripheral nerves leads to atrophy of muscles” (Instant Specification: Page 1). Thus, CMT is necessarily associated with the PNS as claimed.
The same embodiments are taught between applications: elected Compound 43
and Chong Compound 43
.
Chong does not teach the treatment of particular CMT subtypes via oral administration.
Lee teaches the same compound as elected and the Chong compound as Compound 43 in Table 1 beginning on Page 12. The compound is taught to be administered orally for the treatment of CMT, an HDAC6-associated disorder (Para 273 and 276).
Ha teaches “A novel HDAC6 inhibitor, CKD-504, has potent therapeutic efficacy for CMT1A” (Abstract). The inhibition of HDAC6 is thought to be effective in the CMT subtype because “HDAC6 is involved in several processes including the induction of aggresome formation, autophagy, and protein refolding” reducing PMP22 which associated with CMT1A pathogenesis (Page 5109, Para 1 and 4.5 The possible…).
Benoy “established a screening method consisting of 3 different phases identifying selective and potent HDAC6 inhibitors that can functionally restore motor and sensory deficits in a CMT2F mouse model” (Page 426, Right Col.). “pharmacologic inhibition of the deacetylating function of HDAC6 not only normalized the defects seen in cultured DRG neurons, but also reversed the motor and sensory abnormalities and the electrophysiological defects observed in vivo” (Page 418, Intro).
One of ordinary skill in the art seeking to treat the particular CMT subtypes described in Ha or Benoy would find it obvious to select the HDAC6 inhibitors taught by Chong because Chong teaches that the compounds are effective for the treatment of HDAC6 inhibitors. The same artisan would expect success in treating the particular subtypes taught in Ha or Benoy because both teach HDAC6 modulators, like the Chong and Lee compounds, are effective to treat said CMT subtypes listed in Claim 8.
Since both claim sets teach the same HDAC6 inhibitors for the same use, the examiner maintains that the aforementioned claims of the instant application are substantially overlapping in scope as discussed hereinabove and are prima facie obvious over the cited claims of Chong.
Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Inquiries
/RICHARD GRANT PECKHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1627