DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The claim set submitted on 23 FEBUARY 2023 is acknowledged and considered.
In the claim set, Claims 1-6 are presented and are considered on the merits below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 23 FEBUARY 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 20 AUGUST 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
An “analysis module configured to analyze a sample” in claim 1.
A “module” does not connote any particular structure. The specification does not describes the “analysis module” .
A “control unit configured to control the analysis module” in claim 1.
A “unit” does not connote any particular structure. The specification describes the “control unit” is a computer, [0021].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “analysis module configured to analyze a sample” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of analyzing a sample is performed by “analyzing”. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to maintain a hue in fabrics. The use of the term “analyzing” is not adequate structure for performing the maintaining function because it does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which brightening structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of analyzing a sample. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Dependent claims 2-5 depend directly or indirectly from Claim 1 and are also rejected under 112(a) and 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by IMAI, US Patent 5,746,977 A, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 20 AUGUST 2025.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device, an automated analyzing device.
Regarding Claim 1, the reference IMAI discloses an automated analyzing device , abstract, automatic analyzer, comprising:
an analysis module configured to analyze a sample, Figure 1, Column 7 line 55-56, samples in reactors are measured by photometer ; and
a control unit configured to control the analysis module, Figure 1, Column 7 line 57-59, all operations are control by control CPU, wherein the control unit controls the analysis module to prohibit analysis of a biological sample provided by a subject with respect to a measurement item for which calibration or accuracy control measurement is instructed among a plurality of measurement items registered in the analysis module, and to permit analysis of the biological sample with respect to a measurement item for which calibration or accuracy control measurement is not instructed, Figure 1 and 3, Column 7 line 66-Column 8 line 38, Column 11 line 15-43, Column 11 line 66 – Column 12 line 10.
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 2: wherein the automated analyzing device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit puts the biological sample, for which analysis is prohibited, on standby in a standby part, Column 12 line 43- 51. ; Claim 3: wherein the automated analyzing device according to claim 2, wherein when the calibration or the accuracy control measurement is completed, the control unit causes the biological sample, for which analysis is prohibited, to be transported from the standby part to the analysis module. The instant claim language is directed to a manner in how the device is to be operated and its intended use. An “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). ; Claim 4: wherein the automated analyzing device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit controls the analysis module to permit analysis of the biological sample with respect to a measurement item for which the calibration or the accuracy control measurement is instructed and which has a past measurement result of the calibration or the accuracy control measurement. The instant claim language is directed to a manner in how the device is to be operated and its intended use. An “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). ; Claim 5: wherein the automated analyzing device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit controls the analysis module to prohibit analysis of the biological sample with respect to a measurement item for which the calibration or the accuracy control measurement is not instructed and which has no measurement result of the calibration or the accuracy control measurement, Column 12 line 43- 51. The instant claim language is directed to a manner in how the device is to be operated and its intended use. An “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a method.
Regarding Claim 6, the reference IMAI discloses a control method for an automated analyzing device including an analysis module configured to analyze a sample, Column 3 line 45-61, the control method comprising:
controlling the analysis module to prohibit analysis of a biological sample provided by a subject with respect to a measurement item for which calibration or accuracy control measurement is instructed among a plurality of measurement items registered in the analysis module, Column 12 line 31-51, Figure 4, and to permit analysis of the biological sample with respect to a measurement item for which calibration or accuracy control measurement is not instructed, Figure 4, Column 11 line 66-Column 12 line 19.
Conclusion
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797