DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first action on the merits, in response to application filed February 25, 2021. The preliminary amended claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, 24, 30-39 are currently pending. Claims 4, 6, 12-23 and 25-29 stand canceled.
Priority
Certified copy of priority document CN 202110986255.X dated August 25, 2021, is acknowledged which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 2/23/2024 and 09/18/2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, 24, 30-31, 34-39, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (Hereinafter Chen) (US 2020/0205076).
Regarding claims 1, 24, 39, Chen discloses a method (communication apparatus) for information transmission, performed by a terminal device and comprising:
receiving a wake-up message (a first sending module configured to send a wake-up signaling to the terminal when the terminal is in the idle mode and/or the inactive mode, receiving a wake-up signaling sent by a base station; and performing a processing operation corresponding to the wake-up signaling according to the wake-up signaling) (paras. 0008, 0011, 0080); and
determining the first identification information according to the wake-up message, the first identification information being all or part of terminal identification information (the wake-up signaling includes identification information of the terminal. The identification information is preset identification information of the terminal or identification information of a group in which the terminal is located) (paras. 0034, 0102).
Chen further discloses a memory and processor and a computer program stored on the memory and executable by the processor; wherein the processor executes the computer program to implement steps of the data transmission method. The apparatus further includes a transceiver and a memory, causes the transceiver to receive a wake-up message (Chen claim 34; paras. 0095, 0098, 0099).
Regarding claims 2, 31, Chen discloses receiving a first paging message, the first paging message carrying second identification information, and the second identification information being all or part of the terminal identification information (a second sending module configured to send a PDCCH and/or a paging message to the terminal) (paras. 0073);
obtaining the second identification information from the first paging message (when the wake-up signaling includes the indicator and the indicator indicates that there is a paging message and/or PDCCH to be transmitted in the DRX cycle after the wake-up signaling, the terminal monitoring the PDCCH and/or receiving the corresponding paging message on a resource scheduled by PDCCH) (para. 0133); and
determining the terminal identification information according to the first identification information and the second identification information (the identification information is preset identification information of the terminal or identification information of a group in which the terminal is located) (paras. 0047, 0142).
Regarding claims 3, 8, 34, 35, Chen discloses wherein the terminal identification information occupies N bits, and the method further comprises: receiving configuration information, the configuration information indicating that the first identification information is used for determining values of high bits or low bits among the N bits (the wake-up signaling includes an indicator, the indicator may be indicated with 1 bit, or may be indicated with multiple bits (that is, N bits) for2 determining values of bits) (para. 0046).
Regarding claims 9, 36, Chen discloses wherein the wake-up message carries indication information, and determining the first identification information according to the wake-up message the method further comprises: determining the first identification information according to the indication information and a correspondence between the indication information and the first identification information (first, the wake-up signaling includes identification information of the terminal. The identification information is preset identification information of the terminal or identification information of a group in which the terminal is located) (para. 0034).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses wherein the first paging message is a radio access network (RAN) paging message (when there is a paging message to be sent to the terminal, sending the wake-up signaling to the terminal via a configured ID that is configured via a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release signaling), or a core network (CN) paging message (when the base station determines that there is a paging message to be sent, the base station sends the wake-up signaling to the terminal to instruct the terminal to monitor the corresponding PDCCH and receive subsequent possible paging messages) (paras. 0030, 0040).
Regarding claims 11, 38, Chen discloses determining whether to be paged according to the terminal identification information (the base station sends the wake-up signaling to the terminal to instruct the terminal to monitor the corresponding PDCCH and receive subsequent possible paging messages) (paras. 0030, 0034).
Regarding claims 30, 37, limitation recited is similar/same as recited in claim 1, 24, noted above, therefore treated and rejected likewise.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 32, 33, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/QUTBUDDIN GHULAMALI/
Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2632.