DETAILED ACTION
Claims 18-21 and 25-31 have been cancelled.
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 02/23/2024. Claims 1-17 and 22-24 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because it recites the limitation “…the user node to perform a measurement of a target cell …” The subject of measurement is not clear (it is indefinite). It is not what aspect of the target cell to be measured.
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because of their dependency from claim 1.
Claims 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph for the same reasons indicated for rejection claims 1-9.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because it recites the limitation “a user node, comprising…obtain a user node global navigation satellite system (GNSS)…” It is not clear whether the two underlined “a user node” are the same or not.
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph because of their dependency from claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et al. (US 2022/0360319 A1) in view of Kuang et al. (US 2023/0179294 A1).
For claim 1 Shrestha teaches a network node, comprising:
at least one processor (see Fig.9 “processor 940”); and
at least one memory including computer program code (see Fig.9 “memory 930 & code 935”), the at least one memory and the computer code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network node at least to:
obtain coverage information associated with a serving network and a target network (see paragraph 54 “each base station 105 may provide a coverage area 110 over which the UEs 115 and the base station 105 may establish one or more communication links 125”);
obtain synchronization signal timing data associated with the target network (see paragraph 5 “monitoring for the one or more SSBs based on the timing configuration”);
determine time drift rate data for at least one user node based at least partly on location data and satellite ephemeris data (see paragraph 111 “base station 105-a may broadcast the drift rate or SMTC window adjustment rate in a system information block (SIB) based on satellite drift, speed, and gateway location”); and
cause transmission of the time drift rate data associated with the time drift to the at least one user node to enable the user node to perform a measurement of a target cell of the target network using the time drift rate data (see paragraph 111 “base station 105-a may broadcast the drift rate or SMTC window adjustment rate in a system information block (SIB) based on satellite drift, speed, and gateway location”).
Shrestha does not explicitly teach location and satellite ephemeris data.
However, Kuang teaches the UE circuitry 1280 selects the target satellite beam from among the candidate satellite beams, by performing calculations based on the coverage area information, ephemeris data, and the location of the UE. In addition, based on the coverage area information, ephemeris data, and the location of the UE, the UE circuitry 1280 determines, e.g., derives or calculates, a switching timing for
switching to the target satellite beam (see Kuang: paragraph 147). In addition, Kuang teaches information about the orbital trajectories of satellites are contained in ephemeris data ( or "satellite ephemeris data")… and the other two parameters are used to determine exact satellite location at a time (satellite level parameters) (see Kuang: paragraph 130 and Fig. 11).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of claimed invention to use the teachings of Kuang in the timing configuration of Shrestha in order to calculate a switching timing for switching to the target satellite beam (see Kuang: paragraph 147).
For claim 2 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the network node, wherein the location data comprises of the following:
location data of the user node, location data associated with a group of user nodes, location data associated with a serving cell center of the serving network, location data associated with a target cell center of the target network, location data associated with a radio coverage of a serving cell of the serving network, location data associated with a radio coverage of the target cell of the target network, and historical location data associated with a handover of the user node between the serving network and the target network (see Shrestha: paragraph 85 “UE location, base station location, paragraphs 96, 106 “satellite location”, and paragraph 113 “serving satellite location, neighbor satellite and UE locations” and Kuang: paragraph 5 “coverage area information of at least one candidate satellite beam relative to satellite location… UE location”, and Fig. 15 “S1510-S1530”).
For claim 3 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the network node, wherein the time drift rate data comprises time reference data and offset data to perform the measurement of the target cell, the offset data comprising a specific offset value for each time reference value in the time reference data (see Shrestha: paragraph 11 “an combination of an offset, a drift rate” and paragraph 107 “time drift 25 us/s” paragraph 233 and Fig. 14 at step 1405 “timing configuration for the UE based on a reference unit”).
For claim 4 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the network node to claim 3, wherein the time drift rate data further comprises validity time period data, the validity time period data comprising a specific validity time for each time offset value in the offset data (see Shrestha: Fig. 8 “validity component 850”, Fig. 12 “validity manager 1250”, and paragraph 27 “receiving a validity flag for the measurement gap from the base station, the validity flag indicating that the measurement gap may be invalid after a validity period and receiving an indication of a second timing configuration based on the validity flag indicating that the measurement gap may be invalid”).
For claim 5 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the network node, wherein the at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network node at least to:
cause transmission of the time drift rate data associated with the time drift to the user node as a user node specific transmission (see Shrestha: paragraph 111 “base station 105-a may broadcast the drift rate or SMTC window adjustment rate in a system information block (SIB) based on satellite drift, speed, and gateway location” and Kuang: Figs. 17-18 “UE-specific signaling”).
For claim 6 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the network node, wherein the at least one memory including computer program code, the at least one memory and the computer code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network node at least to:
cause transmission of the time drift rate data associated with the time drift to the user node as a broadcast transmission (see Shrestha: paragraph 111 “base station 105-a may broadcast the drift rate or SMTC window adjustment rate in a system information block (SIB) based on satellite drift, speed, and gateway location” and Kuang: Figs. 17-18 “UE-specific signaling”) .
For claim 7 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the network node, wherein the serving network comprises one of a terrestrial network and a non-terrestrial network, and the target network comprise the other one of the terrestrial network and the non-terrestrial network (see Shrestha: Fig. 2 and paragraph 4 “serving base station (TN) and serving satellite (NTN)” and ).
For claim 8 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the network node, wherein the time drift data further comprises an indication of a reference point based on which the time drift data has been determined (see Shrestha: Fig. 14 “reference unit 1405 for timing configuration”).
For claim 9 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the network node, wherein the network node is configured to cause transmission of the time drift rate with an synchronization signal and PBCH block based radio resource management measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window and/or measurement gap indication (see Shrestha: paragraph 99 “ the base station 105, the satellite 145, or both may define multiple SMTC configurations per measurement gap in the timing configuration”).
For claim 10 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches a user node, comprising:
at least one processor (see Shrestha: Fig.9 “processor 940”); and
at least one memory including computer program code (see Shrestha: Fig.9 “memory 930 & code 935”), the at least one memory and the computer code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus user node at least to:
obtain time drift rate data associated with a time drift from a serving network, the time drift data having been determined based at least partly on location data and satellite ephemeris data (as discussed in claim 1); and
apply the time drift data to perform a measurement of a target cell of a target network (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 11 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the user node, wherein the time drift rate data comprises time reference data and offset data to perform the measurement of the target cell, the offset data comprising a specific offset value for each time reference value in the time reference data (as discussed in claim 3).
For claim 12 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the user node 10, wherein the time drift rate data further comprises validity time period data, the validity time period data comprising a specific validity time for each time offset value in the offset data (as discussed in claim 4).
For claim 13 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the user node, wherein the time drift data further comprises an indication of a reference point based on which the time drift data has been determined (see Shrestha: paragraph 9 “a reference location and a reference time” and paragraph 11 “the one or more parameters include one or more of a periodicity, an offset, a drift rate, a measurement window adjustment rate, or a combination thereof corresponding to a drift of one or more of the set of satellites, a speed of one or more of the set of satellites, or a gateway location of the UE”) .
For claim 14 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the user node wherein the at least one memory and the computer code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user node to: cause transmission of an indication about a deviation experienced while trying to perform the measurement of the target cell (see Shrestha: paragraph 87 “beamforming may be achieved by combining the signals
communicated via antenna elements of an antenna array such that some signals propagating at particular orientations with respect to an antenna array experience constructive interference while others experience destructive interference”).
For claim 15 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the user node wherein the at least one memory and the computer code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user node to: cause transmission of the time drift rate data to at least one other user node (as discussed in claim 1).
For claim 16 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the user node, wherein the user node is configured to obtain the time drift rate with an synchronization signal and PBCH block based radio resource management measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window and/or measurement gap indication (as discussed in claim 9).
For claim 17 Shrestha in view of Kuang teaches the user node, wherein the location data comprises of the following:
location data of the user node, location data associated with a group of user nodes, location data associated with a serving cell center of the serving network, location data associated with a target cell center of the target network, location data associated with a radio coverage of a serving cell of the serving network, location data associated with a radio coverage of the target cell of the target network, and historical location data associated with a handover of the user node between the serving network and the target network (as discussed in claim 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipation by Euler et al. (US 2023/0284060 A1).
For claim 22 Euler teaches a user node (see Fig. 12 “wireless device 110”), comprising:
at least one processor (see Fig. 12 “processing circuitry 120”); and
at least one memory including computer program code (see Fig. 12 “memory 130”), the at least one memory and the computer code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus user node at least to:
obtain a user node global navigation satellite system (GNSS) timing reference indication (see Euler: paragraph 67 “ UE may obtain it (SMTC windows and measurement gaps) using GNSS”); and
adjust a measurement of a target cell of a terrestrial network or a non-terrestrial network based on the GNSS timing reference indication (see Euler: paragraph 63 “the network provides all necessary information for the UE to be able to self-adjust the SMTC windows and measurement gaps” and paragraph 64 “Using the provided information as well as its own position, if available, the UE recalculates the distances to the satellites and the propagation delays as needed and adjusts the SMTC windows and measurement gaps accordingly”).
For claim 23 Euler teaches the user node, wherein the user node is configured to obtain the GNSS timing reference indication with an synchronization signal and PBCH block based radio resource management measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window and/or measurement gap indication (see Euler: paragraph 67 “ UE may obtain it (SMTC windows and measurement gaps) using GNSS” and paragraph 21 “PBCH”).
For claim 24 the user node wherein the at least one memory and the computer code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the user node to:
obtain synchronization signal timing data associated with the cell by performing at least one synchronization signal measurement and noting the GNSS-based reception time (see Euler: paragraph 67 “ UE may obtain it (SMTC windows and measurement gaps) using GNSS”).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Agarwal et al. (US 2016/0128020 A1).
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415