DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding drawings: Examiner thanks applicant for drawing amendments, these are entered. Examiner notes that figures 11 and 12 were a better choice for labeling “corners” of claim 2, however applicant has labeled the corners. “Roller” 3 in figure 2 are attached to the door 1, NOT to the “hinge body” as claimed, therefore this is still objected to. Applicant does NOT indicate the three points required in claim 1, although they are present in figures 7-12. Drawing issues are reduced, therefore, examiner thanks applicant for the efforts.
Regarding specification: examiner thanks applicant for adding part numbers to the specification. Specification is entered.
Regarding 112b rejections:
“embedded”: In the claim, the term “embedded” refers to both the appliance and the refrigerator. The examiner is not sure which (appliance or refrigerator) applicant is claiming. Examiner asked how “embedded” modifies “appliance” or “refrigerator” in the rejection of 12/18/2025. In applicant’s specification, all but one use of the word “embedded” in the specification refers to the “appliance”, while only once referring to “track frame 5”. Applicant’s argument 1 (page 11 of 23 of the arguments 3/18/2026) refers to the track frame. Applicant’s claim language refers only to the appliance, and therefore argument 1 is not applicable; it does not explain how the appliance/refrigerator is “embedded”, argument 1 refers to how the hinge might be embedded. Applicant’s argument 2 states that “embedded” refers to the “trajectory change process” during rotation of the door with relationship to the casing. Again, this refers to the hinge, and not to the appliance/refrigerator. Applicant’s arguments do not resolve how “embedded” modifies the appliance.
Applicant states “equilateral triangle” is the intended term of “regular triangle”. Examiner notes that since applicant does not amend the specification or the claims to match the commonly known term “equilateral”, the rejection remains. “Equilateral” is the common equivalent term, and applicant has no need to be his own lexicographer, since “equilateral” is commonly known and identical in scope.
Applicant asserts that “circular edges” refers to indicate “portions is an arc of a constant radius”. Therefore, the “circular edges” are not in fact circular, but are arced. Applicant does not change the claim language, therefore the indefiniteness rejection remains.
Please see remaining indefiniteness rejections below.
Regarding 102/103 rejections:
Feature 1: Applicant asserts the structure of the cabinets claimed rather than in Loizel affects the hinge; examiner notes that applicant does not claim any particular cabinet structure. Further, the cabinet of Oh is a refrigerator cabinet. Should applicant intend that there is no reason to put a hinge for an electrical cabinet on a cabinet body of a refrigerator, applicant states that the hinge of an electrical cabinet are designed to “simplify structure, optimize the appearance”, which is desirable in refrigerators as well.
Feature 2: Applicant argues “different outer contour shapes” of the cam, having “arc segments”, which are now claimed. Examiner notes that the prior art has the short arc segments, but not the long arc segments. Newly cited reference Im presents the use of different arc segments in similar hinges.
Feature 3: Applicant argues the movement during rotation is different. Examiner notes that the movement of a similarly structured hinge will function similarly. Argument is not persuasive.
Regarding “always maintains three points in contact”, applicant spends pages 16-19 of the arguments 3/18/2026 describing the motion of the rotation, and asserting that Loizel does not disclose this “three points” concept. Applicant argues Loisel’s flat surfaces engage the edge of the triangle “every 60 degrees of rotation”. Applicant does not address that the result of changing the edges from flat to rounded, as well as a choice regarding the width of the cam, are what provide the three point engagement. By showing having the outer contour shapes as arced, the obviously modified device of Loizel will function identically to applicant’s claimed device.
Page 21-23 applicant argues that the hinge for an electrical box cannot be applied to a refrigerator as taught by Oh. Examiner notes that a hinge of an electrical box may be applied to any box using electricity, such as a refrigerator, as an obvious replacement. Should applicant like to include the structure that requires the structure of the refrigerator body and door that allows this to be mounted more than a generic combination, applicant is welcome to do so.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “roller installed at a bottom portion of the hinge body” is not shown in figure 2 (rollers 3 are attached to the bottom of the door 1, NOT to the hinge body); the use of rounded corners with “three points of the…cam disc contact the…track frame” of claim 1; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1:
-preamble. Applicant claims the intended combination of “home appliances” then positively attaches the hinge to the “a door and a casing of an embedded refrigerator”. The broad recitation of “appliances” is over-written by the positive recitation of “refrigerator”. Applicant does not describe how “embedded” modifies the appliance; all of applicant’s arguments in 3/18/2026 refers to how the hinge is “embedded”. Examiner notes that a definite preamble would be the following: “A refrigerator having a door and a casing, and an embedded hinge mounted therebetween, the hinge comprising:”
-“for embedded home appliances”. The record is not clear how “embedded” further limits “home appliances”. All of applicant’s arguments refer to how the hinge is embedded, NOT the appliance/refrigerator.
-“regular triangle”. The record is not clear how “regular” modifies “triangle”. Applicant argue “regular triangle” is equivalent to “equilateral triangle”. Since applicant has no need to alter the term “equilateral” is identical in scope and purpose of the term “regular”, applicant should utilize the term “equilateral”. Indefiniteness rejection will remain until applicant changes this term in the specification and claims.
-“circular edges”. Applicant has disclosed two different rounded edges that produce an oval; applicant argues the rounded edges are sections of a circle. Examiner agrees that there are short round/arced surfaces and long round/arced surfaces; but the inclusion of the term “circular” referring to the applicant’s disclosure is not consistent with the term “circle”. Applicant should use the term “arced” to match applicant’s arguments.
Regarding claim 3:
-“hinge body is a bent and formed metal plate”. “bent” in claim 3 seems like a process used to make the hinge body. The structure of the body can be formed by stamping a plate to result in the same structure, therefore, “bent” is considered a product by process term. If applicant intends that the hinge body has a bent arm, applicant does not claim as much.
Regarding claim 5:
-“roller installed at a bottom portion of the hinge body”. Applicant does not show what a “bottom portion” is, nor that the roller is attached to the “hinge body” of figure 2. Applicant shows “hinge body 3” has a roller 6 in figure 2, however the hinge body 3 seems to be mounted to the door 1, rather than the casing 2 as claimed in claim 1. The curved section and the “cam disc” are not located at the door 1 in figure 2, and therefore, examiner assumes that the rollers of figure 2 are just mounted to the casing. The drawings do not assist in understanding the claim language of claim 5.
Regarding claims 6-10:
All claims are identical with differing dependency, therefore all 112b rejections are applicable to all claims. Examiner assumes that claims 6-10 are positively claiming the combination of the hinge and the appliance. Claims 6-10 positively claim the combination of the hinge and the appliance/refrigerator, which is already positively claimed in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP2578782 Loizel, in view of WO2006/001569 Im Hyo in further view of CN113882768 Hu.
Examiner claim 1 positively claims the combination of refrigerator casing, door, and the hinge, and therefore, claims 6-10 are also shown by properly rejecting claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, Loizel discloses a hinge for embedded home appliances (electrical box is “embedded” by applicant’s definition), installed in between a door of a home appliance and a casing of the home appliance (rotatably connecting these parts, figures 4-7), comprising
a hinge body 13, an end of the hinge body is fixed on (unitary with) the casing 40 of the home appliance; a cam 11 is provided on another end of the hinge body 13,
a track frame 12 in a shape of a regular triangle (“equilateral triangle” page 4, paragraph 8 of the translation) is provided in the door (figure 4) of the home appliance,
the cam (cross section is elliptical with two axes of rotation a1-a2, shown in figures 11-17) comprises two short outer circular arc segments 11a/11b in mirror symmetry and two long outer edges (between 11a/11b) in mirror symmetry, the long outer circular edges connected to and tangent to the short outer circular arc segments at their ends, thereby forming a closed, symmetrical outer contour consisting of two circular arc segments, during revolution of the door the casing of the home appliance (shown between figures 11-17), an inner surface of the track frame 12 moves against an outer surface of the cam 11, and during moving, three points of the outer surface of the cam disc contact the inner surface of the track frame (more than three points of contact, shown in figure 14 of Loizel).
Loizel does not disclose the device is used on an “embedded refrigerator”. Loizel does not disclose that the cam has four circular arc segments; Loizel discloses the use of two circular arc segments and two flat sides.
Regarding the combination with the refrigerator: Hu discloses a hinge for embedded home appliances (title), mounted between a door (figure 6) and a casing (figure 6) of an embedded refrigerator, comprising a hinge body (figure 7) fixed on a top mounting surface of the casing (figure 6), a cam 4 provided at the other end of the hinge body (figure 7), and a track frame 3 (figure 7) provided on the door (figure 6). Hu discloses that these shapes force to “the door overturning will be retracted inwards, so that it will not protrude too large distance”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply old and well known mounting methods as taught in Hu to mount the similar hinging device of Loizel to another known cabinet using electricity. Using different mounting devices to be able to use the known device of Loizel to other known locations where a hinge is required does not make the hinge inventive. Alternatively, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to change the shape of the track frame 3 of Hu and the cam 4 of Hu to be different shapes, which are old and well known to be identically functioning in other hinging devices, as taught by Loizel.
Regarding the use of four circular arc segments: Loizel discloses the use of two short arc segments and two flat surfaces for an elongated cam within an equilateral triangle frame with rounded edges. Examiner contends that Loizel discloses three points of contact during use, but not at all times, due to the two flat surfaces. Hu discloses the use of a rounded triangle cam within a square frame
performs the function desired by applicant.
Im discloses the use of an equilateral triangle frame 14 with rounded edges will have three points of contact with the cam within the frame (which is a hexagon in figures 2 and 3). The cam may have pointed corners, or rounded corners, as shown in figures 2 and 3. Im also discloses the use of the cam having rounded sides (figure 4) with rounded corners (figure 4). Im states “Three sides of the outer wall of the hinge pin 30 are respectively in contact with three sides of the inner wall of the pin hole 14, and three rounded vertices of the outer wall of the hinge pin 30 are respectively faced with three vertices of the inner wall of the pin hole 14.” In [48]. Im states “rotation may be smoothly repeated owing to the smoothly rounded vertices” [52].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to round the vertices (as already done in Loizel) as well as the flat surfaces of cam (as taught in figure 4 of Im), in order to “rotation may be smoothly repeated” as taught by Im. Examiner contends that the smoothness and least jerky movement of the hinge may be desired by users. A change of shape is considered a matter of choice. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV) (b).
Regarding claim 2, Loizel as modified discloses the hinge of claim 1, wherein three corners of the track frame are rounded (as shown in figure 14 of Loizel, shown above).
Regarding claim 3, Loizel as modified discloses the hinge of claim 1, wherein the hinge body (as annotated in Loizel, figure 7 of Hu) is a bent and formed metal plate (bend shown in Hu for the mounting bracket), comprising an installation portion 521 fixed onto the casing 10 of the home appliance and a connection panel 522 extending to where the hinge is connected with the door 310 of the home appliance (as shown in figure 7 of Hu), wherein the cam disc (11 of Loizel) is fixed at an end portion of the connection panel 522 (as shown in figure 11) and the track frame (shown by both Loizel and Hu) is embedded in the door 310 (as shown in figure 7 of Hu).
Regarding 4, Loizel as modified discloses the hinge according to claim 3, wherein, when the hinge body is provided at a top portion of the door of the home appliance and the casing of the home appliance (as shown in figure 7 of Hu), a space for housing the connection panel is provided at the top portion of the door of the home appliance so as to hide the hinge body (by being above the door and not in line of sight).
Claim(s) 5, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loizel as modified by Hu and Im as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of 5215367 Montuoro.
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Loizel as modified discloses the hinge on a refrigerator according to claim 1, wherein, the refrigerator does not explicitly include the use of a roller on the bottom.
Montuoro discloses the use of a roller 60 on the bottom of a refrigerator (title).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply a roller to the bottom of the refrigerator of Oh, as this is a common attachment of a refrigerator and does not affect the form, function, or use, of the hinge. Examiner notes that the figures and the specification does not support the use of the roller on the hinge body itself, since figure 2 does not show the hinge body mounted in the manner claimed in claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMILY M MORGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677