DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 are amended in view of preliminary amendment filed 2/23/2024. Therefore, claims 1-4 are currently under examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,290,853 in view of JP 6136625 (JP625).
Claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,290,853 teaches a method of manufacturing a hot-forged member comprising the same heating, glass particles lubricant coating applying, heat-resistant insulating bonding, and die forging steps as claimed.
However, claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,290,853 do not explicitly teach that the glass lubricant has a viscosity of 102 to 107 Pa-s as claimed.
JP625 teaches a lubricating coating for hot forging (abstract), wherein glass lubricant is used due to its high viscosity in order to prevent seizure and wear of the forging tool[0020]. JP625 further teaches that the viscosity of the glass powder is 100 Pa·s[0021].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN101332484(CN484), and further in view of JP 6136625(JP625).
CN484 teaches a method for manufacturing a hot-forged member(abstract, page 5 steps a)-d)), comprising:
Heating a forging black made of superalloy to a die forging temperature;
Applying an insulating cotton to a surface of the forging black; and
Hot forging the forging blank by compression using a die
The process of CN484 further teaches that the insulating cotton comprises glass powder for good lubrication(page 8, under item 2.; page 9, under item 8.)
However, CN484 does not explicitly teach that the glass lubricant has a viscosity of 102 to 107 Pa-s as claimed.
JP625 teaches a lubricating coating for hot forging (abstract), wherein glass lubricant is used due to its high viscosity in order to prevent seizure and wear of the forging tool[0020]. JP625 further teaches that the viscosity of the glass powder is 100 Pa·s[0021].
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the glass powder having a viscosity of 100 Pa·s as taught by JP625 into the glass powder of CN484 in order to prevent seizure and wear of the forging tool as taught by JP625.
Regarding claim 2, CN484 further teaches that he hot forging step comprises an open-die forcing step(page 5 last line), and the insulating cotton is applied to the open area of the forging blank(i.e. a free deformation portion).
Regarding claim 3, since the insulating cotton as taught by CN484 comprises glass powder to increase lubrication, the examiner concludes that at least some of the glass powder as taught by CN484 would have been adhered to a surface of the insulating cotton, which meets the limitations of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 4, the insulating cotton as taught by CN484 reads on the claimed inorganic fiber.
Conclusion
LOIS ZHENG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/LOIS L ZHENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733