DETAILED ACTION
Applicant presents, after a preliminary amendment, Claims 13-34 for examination. The Office rejects Claims 13-34 as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
+_+_+ Claims 13, 15-21, 25, and 27-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS entry Maleki - U.S. Pub. 2020/0209366 - in view of Crouch et al. - U.S. Pub. 20200150251 +_+_+
As for Claim 13, Maleki teaches a first light source configured to emit a first light signal changing within a first time period over a first frequency band at a first frequency rate, and a second light source configured to emit a second light signal changing within the first time period over a second frequency band at a second frequency rate (¶29|1: “Referring now to the drawings, FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary multiple laser, single optical resonator lidar system 100. The lidar system 100 is an FMCW lidar system. The lidar system 100 includes two lasers, namely, a first laser 102 and a second laser 104 (collectively referred to herein as lasers 102-104). The lasers 102-104 can be semiconductor lasers, laser diodes, or the like. While many of the examples set forth herein describe lidar systems that include two lasers (e.g., the lasers 102-104), it is to be appreciated that these examples can be extended to lidar systems that include more than two lasers.”); a first light splitter (Fig. 1, beam splitter 112, receives first laser 102.) configured to split the first light signal into a first split light signal directed into a scanner (Fig. 4, front end optics 114 [scanner] receives first split light.) and a second split light signal directed into a first mixer (Fig. 1, sensor 118, ¶8|12: “The sensor can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s ).”), and a second light splitter (Fig. 1, beam splitter 112, receives second laser 104.) configured to split the second light signal into a third split light signal directed into the scanner (Fig. 4, Front End Optics 114 [scanner] receives third split light signal.) and a fourth split light signal directed into a second mixer (Fig. 1, Beam Splitter 112 splits second laser into third and fourth signals and directs fourth split light signal into sensor 118, ¶8|12: “The sensor can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s ).”); the scanner configured to direct the first split light signal into an environment and receive a first return signal returning from the environment, and direct the third split light signal into the environment and receive a second return signal returning from the environment (Fig. 1, Front End Optics 114 [scanner] directs and receives first and third light signals into the environment, ¶42|1: “Moreover, the front end optics 114 can be configured to receive a reflected optical signal. The reflected optical signal can correspond to at least a part of the portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s) transmitted into the environment that reflected off an object 116 in the environment. According to an example where the front end optics 114 include the scanner as noted above, it is contemplated that the scanner can be configured to receive the reflected optical signal.”), the first split light signal and the third split light signal being directed to a first portion of the environment along a first direction (Fig. 1, Front End Optics 114 [scanner] direct first and third light signals along a first direction) within the first time period (Fig. 5 shows both signals are emitted during the same time period.); [..1..] the first mixer configured to mix the second split light signal with the first return signal to generate a first mixed signal with a first beat frequency, and the second mixer configured to mix the fourth split light signal with the second return signal to generate a second mixed signal with a second beat frequency (¶43|1: “The lidar system 100 can further include a sensor 118 and processing circuitry 120. The sensor 118 can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal received by the front end optics 114 with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). The sensor 118, for instance, can be a photodetector. The processing circuitry 120 can be configured to compute distance and velocity data 122 of the object 116 based on the output of the sensor.”); and a processor configured to generate a first series of data points, in a point cloud, corresponding to a first series of environmental points in the first portion of the environment based on the first mixed signal with the first beat frequency and the second mixed signal with the second beat frequency, wherein each of the first series of data points includes a measurement of range and/or velocity of the first series of environment points scanned by the scanner (¶43|19: “thus, the sensor 118 and the processing circuitry 120 ( as well as other elements of a receiver of the lidar system 100) can enable measuring a frequency shift and/or a phase shift for each reflected optical chirp relative to a reference optical chirp (in the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s)) to enable generating the distance and velocity data 122.”) within the first time period (Fig. 5 shows both signals are emitted during the same time period.) Maleki teaches a mixer that combines the return light with the local oscillator, but does not explicitly teach whether the combining is done optically or electrically, wherein the claims imply it is done optically.
But Crouch teaches an FMCW system that [1] optically mixes the return light with the reference light before the sensor (FIG. 3 shows split light L.O. beam 314 combined with returned light 324 from the scanner in optical mixer 360, ¶57|10: “The output of the beam splitter 312 is used as the local oscillator (LO) reference signal 314 (also referred to herein as, "LO 314") and input to optical mixer 360. The return optical signal 324 is output by circulator 323 in the scanning optics 322 and is sent to the optical mixer 360. The result is a mixed optical signal that is directed to the photodetector 330, which outputs an electrical signal 332 that is input to the processing system 350.”)
it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine Maleki and Crouch because combining light optically or combining the return signals electrically are both well-known and a matter of design choice, optically combining being better for more sensitive applications as it is highly resistant to outside interference and most commonly used in FMCW LiDARs, while electrical signal combining is less complex and cheaper for applications where high-sensitivity is not needed and more suitable to AMCW LiDAR.
As for Claim 15, which depends on Claim 13, Maleki teaches wherein a first data point of the first series of data points is generated based on a first group of digital signals determined based on the first mixed signal and the second mixed signal and a second data point of the first series of data points is generated based on a second group of digital signals determined based on the first mixed signal and the second mixed signal, wherein the second group of digital signals comprise a subset of the first group of digital signals and at least one digital signal that is different from the first group of digital signals (¶43|1: “The lidar system 100 can further include a sensor 118 and processing circuitry 120. The sensor 118 can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal received by the front end optics 114 with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). The sensor 118, for instance, can be a photodetector. The processing circuitry 120 can be configured to compute distance and velocity data 122 of the object 116 based on the output of the sensor.”)
As for Claim 16, which depends on Claim 13, Maleki teaches further comprising a combiner configured to combine the first split light signal and the third split light signal into a combined light signal directed into the scanner when directing the first split light signal and the third split light signal into the scanner (¶43|1: “The lidar system 100 can further include a sensor 118 and processing circuitry 120. The sensor 118 can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal received by the front end optics 114 with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). The sensor 118, for instance, can be a photodetector. The processing circuitry 120 can be configured to compute distance and velocity data 122 of the object 116 based on the output of the sensor.”)
As for Claim 17, which depends on Claim 16, Maleki teaches wherein the scanner is configured to direct the combined light signal into the environment when directing the first split light signal and the third split light signal into the environment, and receive a combined return signal from the environment when receiving the first return signal and the second return signal from the environment (¶43|1: “The lidar system 100 can further include a sensor 118 and processing circuitry 120. The sensor 118 can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal received by the front end optics 114 with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). The sensor 118, for instance, can be a photodetector. The processing circuitry 120 can be configured to compute distance and velocity data 122 of the object 116 based on the output of the sensor.”)
As for Claim 18, which depends on Claim 17, Maleki teaches further comprising a third splitter configured to split the combined return signal into the first return signal and the second return signal directed into the first mixer and the second mixer, respectively (¶43|1: “The lidar system 100 can further include a sensor 118 and processing circuitry 120. The sensor 118 can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal received by the front end optics 114 with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). The sensor 118, for instance, can be a photodetector. The processing circuitry 120 can be configured to compute distance and velocity data 122 of the object 116 based on the output of the sensor.”)
As for Claim 19, which depends on Claim 13, Maleki teaches further comprising: a first photodetector configured to produce a first analog signal based on the first mixed signal with the first beat frequency, and a second photodetector configured to produce a second analog signal based on the second mixed signal with the second beat frequency; and a first analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the first analog signal into a first set of digital signals, and a second analog-to-signal converter configured to convert the second analog signal into a second set of digital signals (¶43|1: “The lidar system 100 can further include a sensor 118 and processing circuitry 120. The sensor 118 can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal received by the front end optics 114 with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). The sensor 118, for instance, can be a photodetector. The processing circuitry 120 can be configured to compute distance and velocity data 122 of the object 116 based on the output of the sensor.”)
As for Claim 20, which depends on Claim 19, Maleki teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine the range and/or velocity of the first series of environment points based on the first set of digital signals and the second set of digital signals (¶43|1: “The lidar system 100 can further include a sensor 118 and processing circuitry 120. The sensor 118 can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal received by the front end optics 114 with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). The sensor 118, for instance, can be a photodetector. The processing circuitry 120 can be configured to compute distance and velocity data 122 of the object 116 based on the output of the sensor.”)
As for Claim 21, which depends on Claim 13, Maleki teaches wherein the first frequency band and the second frequency band is non-overlapping (¶30|6: “In other embodiments described herein, the first wavelength can differ from the second wavelength ( e.g., the first laser 102 and the second laser 104 can operate at different wavelengths). Various wavelength differences are intended to fall within the scope of the hereto appended claims.”)
As for Claim 28, which depends on Claim 25, Maleki teaches further comprising: a photodetector configured to produce a current based on the mixed signal with the first beat frequency and the second beat frequency; an amplifier configured to convert the current into a voltage; and an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the voltage into a set of digital signals (¶43|1: “The lidar system 100 can further include a sensor 118 and processing circuitry 120. The sensor 118 can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal received by the front end optics 114 with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). The sensor 118, for instance, can be a photodetector. The processing circuitry 120 can be configured to compute distance and velocity data 122 of the object 116 based on the output of the sensor.”)
As for Claim 29, which depends on Claim 28, Maleki teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine the range and/or velocity of the first series of environment points based on the set of digital signals (¶43|1: “The lidar system 100 can further include a sensor 118 and processing circuitry 120. The sensor 118 can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal received by the front end optics 114 with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). The sensor 118, for instance, can be a photodetector. The processing circuitry 120 can be configured to compute distance and velocity data 122 of the object 116 based on the output of the sensor.”)
As for Claim 30, which depends on Claim 25, Maleki teaches wherein a wavelength difference between a first wavelength corresponding to the first light signal and a second wavelength corresponding to the second light signal corresponds to an upper edge of the first frequency bandwidth and a lower edge of the second frequency bandwidth (¶30|6: “In other embodiments described herein, the first wavelength can differ from the second wavelength ( e.g., the first laser 102 and the second laser 104 can operate at different wavelengths). Various wavelength differences are intended to fall within the scope of the hereto appended claims.”)
As for Claim 31, which depends on Claim 30, Maleki teaches wherein the mixer is a hybrid mixer configured to generate an in-phase mixed signal with the first beat frequency and the second beat frequency and an quadrature phase mixed signal with the first beat frequency and the second beat frequency (¶43|1: “The lidar system 100 can further include a sensor 118 and processing circuitry 120. The sensor 118 can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal received by the front end optics 114 with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). The sensor 118, for instance, can be a photodetector. The processing circuitry 120 can be configured to compute distance and velocity data 122 of the object 116 based on the output of the sensor.”)
As for Claim 32, which depends on Claim 31, Maleki teaches further comprising: a first photodetector configured to generate a first current based on the in-phase mixed signal, and a second photodetector configured to generate a second current based on the quadrature phase mixed signal; a first amplifier configured to convert the first current into a first voltage, and a second amplifier configured to convert the second current into the second voltage; and a first analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the first voltage into a first set of digital signals, and a second analog-to-signal converter configured to convert the second voltage into a second set of digital signals (¶43|1: “The lidar system 100 can further include a sensor 118 and processing circuitry 120. The sensor 118 can be configured to mix the reflected optical signal received by the front end optics 114 with the local oscillator portion of the frequency modulated optical signal(s). The sensor 118, for instance, can be a photodetector. The processing circuitry 120 can be configured to compute distance and velocity data 122 of the object 116 based on the output of the sensor.”)
Claims 25, 27, and 33 recite substantially the same subject matter as Claims 1, 15, and 20, respectively, and stand rejected on the same basis accordingly.
Claim 34 recites substantially the same subject matter as Claim 1 and stands rejected on the same basis accordingly.
+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+
+_+_+ Claims 14, 22-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maleki and Crouch in view of IDS entry Luff et al. - U.S. Pub. 20200363515 +_+_+
As for Claim 14, which depends on Claim 13, Maleki and Crouch do not explicitly teach using more than two lasers.
But Luff teaches wherein: the first light source is further configured to emit a third light signal changing within a second time period over a third frequency band at a third frequency rate, and the second light source is further configured to emit a fourth light signal changing within the second time period over a fourth frequency band at a fourth frequency rate (¶42|1: “FIG. 2A illustrates an example of a light source 10 that includes multiple laser sources 84 [i.e., from 2-N]. In some instances, each of the laser sources 84 outputs one or more of the channels on a source waveguide 86.”); the first light splitter is further configured to split the third light signal into a fifth split light signal directed into the scanner and a sixth split light signal directed into the first mixer, and the second light splitter is further configured to split the fourth light signal into a seventh split light signal directed into the scanner and a eighth split light signal directed into the second mixer; the scanner is further configured to direct the fifth split light signal into the environment and receive a third return signal returning from the environment, and direct the seventh split light signal into the environment and receive a fourth return signal returning from the environment, the fifth split light signal and the seventh split light signal being directed to a second portion of the environment along a second direction within the first time period, and the second direction being different from the first direction; the first mixer is further configured to mix the sixth split light signal with the third return signal to generate a third mixed signal with a third beat frequency, and the second mixer is further configured to mix the eighth split light signal with the fourth return signal to generate a fourth mixed signal with a fourth beat frequency; and the processor is further configured to generate a second series of data points, in the point cloud, corresponding to a second series of environmental points in the second portion of the environment based on the third mixed signal with the third beat frequency and the fourth mixed signal with the fourth beat frequency, wherein each of the second series of data points includes a measurement of range and/or velocity of the second series of environment points scanned by the scanner within the second time period (¶48|13: “In a continuous scan mode, the cycle does not include any re-location periods and the LIDAR output signal is moved continuously. In one example, the cycles include multiple data periods; multiple LIDAR output signals each carries a different channel; and the LIDAR output signals are concurrently directed to the same sample region in a field of view. In one example, at least one of the LIDAR output signals is a function of a sinusoid with a frequency that varies as a function of time. In one example, each of the LIDAR output signals is a function of a sinusoid with a frequency that varies as a function of time.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine Maleki and Crouch with Luff because adding more lasers to the system would allow more information to be gathered creating a higher resolution imaging of the environment.
As for Claim 22, which depends on Claim 14, Maleki teaches wherein the first light signal emitted by the first light source changes over the first frequency band at a first positive slope during the first time period and at a first negative slope during the second time period, and the second light signal emitted by the second light source changes over the second frequency band at a second positive slope during the first time period and at a second negative slope during the second time period (¶60|1: “Referring to FIG. 5, illustrated is a chart 500 showing a local oscillator signal 502 derived from the first laser 102 and a local oscillator signal 504 derived from the second laser 104. The chart 500 further shows a reflected optical signal 506 and a reflected optical signal 508. The reflected optical signal 506 corresponds to a part of the first frequency modulated optical signal generated by the first laser 102 that reflected off an object in the environment, and the reflected optical signal 508 corresponds to a part of the second frequency modulated optical signal generated by the second laser 104 that reflected off the same object in the environment.”)
As for Claim 23, which depends on Claim 14, Maleki teaches wherein the first light signal emitted by the first light source changes over the first frequency band at a first positive slope during the first time period and at a first negative slope during the second time period, and the second light signal emitted by the second light source changes over the second frequency band at a second negative slope during the first time period and at a second positive slope during the second time period (¶60|1: “Referring to FIG. 5, illustrated is a chart 500 showing a local oscillator signal 502 derived from the first laser 102 and a local oscillator signal 504 derived from the second laser 104. The chart 500 further shows a reflected optical signal 506 and a reflected optical signal 508. The reflected optical signal 506 corresponds to a part of the first frequency modulated optical signal generated by the first laser 102 that reflected off an object in the environment, and the reflected optical signal 508 corresponds to a part of the second frequency modulated optical signal generated by the second laser 104 that reflected off the same object in the environment.”)
As for Claim 24, which depends on Claim 14, Maleki teaches Luff teaches wherein one of the first frequency rate and the second frequency rate is zero, and the other one of the first frequency rate and the second frequency rate is non-zero (¶44|1: “The electronics can operate the laser sources 84 independently. For instance, the electronics can operate the laser sources 84 so as to provide particular LIDAR output signal(s) with a particular frequency versus time waveform. Since the electronics can operate the laser sources 84 independently and each laser sources 84 can be the source of a different one of the LIDAR output signals, the electronics can operate the laser sources 84 so different LIDAR output signals have different frequency versus time waveforms.”)
As for Claim 26, which depends on Claim 25, Maleki does not explicitly teach using more than two lasers.
But Luff teaches wherein: the first light source is further configured to a third light signal changing within a second time period over a third frequency band at a third frequency rate, and the second light source is further configured to emit a fourth light signal changing within the second time period over a fourth frequency band at a fourth frequency rate (¶42|1: “FIG. 2A illustrates an example of a light source 10 that includes multiple laser sources 84 [i.e., from 2-N]. In some instances, each of the laser sources 84 outputs one or more of the channels on a source waveguide 86.”); the combiner is further configured to combine the third light signal and the fourth light signal to generate a second combined light signal; the splitter is further configured to split the second combined light signal into a third split light signal and a fourth split light signal; the scanner is further configured to direct the third split light signal into the environment, and receive a second return light signal returning from the environment, the third split light signal being directed to a second portion of the environment along a second direction, and the second direction being different from the first direction; the mixer is further configured to mix the second return light signal and the fourth split light signal to generate a second mixed signal with a third beat frequency corresponding to the third light signal and a fourth beat frequency corresponding to the fourth light signal; and the processor is further configured to generate a second series of data points corresponding to a second series of environmental points in the second portion of the environment based on the second mixed signal with the third beat frequency and the fourth beat frequency, wherein each of the second series of data points includes a measurement of range and/or velocity of the second series of environment points scanned by the scanner within the second time period (¶48|13: “In a continuous scan mode, the cycle does not include any re-location periods and the LIDAR output signal is moved continuously. In one example, the cycles include multiple data periods; multiple LIDAR output signals each carries a different channel; and the LIDAR output signals are concurrently directed to the same sample region in a field of view. In one example, at least one of the LIDAR output signals is a function of a sinusoid with a frequency that varies as a function of time. In one example, each of the LIDAR output signals is a function of a sinusoid with a frequency that varies as a function of time.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine Maleki and Crouch with Luff because adding more lasers to the system would allow more information to be gathered creating a higher resolution imaging of the environment.
Conclusion
Though not relied on, the Office considers the additional prior art listed in the Notice of Reference Cited form (PTO-892) pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Clint Thatcher/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645