Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark’s pages 7-12, filed 4 June 2026 AD, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 22, 25, 59, and 60 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and the rejection of claims 3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15-18, 21, 23, and 27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1) for claims 1, 59, 60, and 62.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1) in further view of Wang et al. (US 20220014323 A1) or Wang for claims 2, 15, 16, and 17.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1) in further view of Liu et al. (US 20210153146 A1) or Liu and Ji for claims 3, 5, 8, 9, and 10.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1) in further view of Chuang et al. (WO 2018202088 A1) or Chuang for claims 12 and 21.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1) in further view of Huang et al. (WO 2021056227 A1) or Huang for claim 18.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1) in further view of Li et al. (US 20200287678 A1) or Li and Lakshmi for claim 23.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1) in further view of Oh et al. (US 20190327696 A1) or Oh for claim 27.
Liu teaches receiving a first reference signal. The first reference signal occupies M symbols, the M symbols spaced apart by N symbols, M consists of an integer larger than 0, and N consist of an integer larger or equal to 0. Furthermore, Liu teaches the first reference signal consisting of a secondary synchronization signal or SSS. However, Liu fails to explicitly teach M=2 and N=0 with symbol indexes of the first reference signal consists of 4 and 5, or 6 and 7, or 8 and 9, and the first symbol index starting at 0.
Huang teaches indexes of resource elements or RE occupied by a reference signal in a resource block or RB consists of 0-11 with the RE index starting at 0. However, Huang fails to explicitly teach M=2 and N=0 with symbol indexes of the first reference signal consists of 4 and 5, or 6 and 7, or 8 and 9, and the first symbol index starting at 0.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 59, 60, and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1).
Claim 1
Liu teaches,
A communication method, comprising:
receiving a first reference signal,
(See Liu paragraph 0113, ...the terminal device receives the configuration information for the reference signal set from the network device, and the terminal device receives the reference signal set from the network device based on the configuration information.)
Shows the terminal receiving a reference signal from a network device
wherein the first reference signal occupies M symbols, the M symbols are spaced apart by N symbols, M is an integer greater than 0, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 0,
(See Liu paragraph 0120, ...the M reference signals are distributed on M consecutive symbols, or the M reference signals are distributed on M nonconsecutive symbols.)
wherein the first reference signal is a secondary synchronization signal (SSS); and…
(See Liu paragraph 0119, ...the M reference signals are M secondary synchronization signals (SSS), or M CSI-RSs, or M new sequence-based reference signals.)
However, Liu fails to explicitly teach,
…in response to M=2, and N=0, in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 4 and 5, or 6 and 7, or 8 and 9, wherein a symbol index starts from 0.
Nevertheless, Chen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…in response to M=2, and N=0, in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 4 and 5, or 6 and 7, or 8 and 9, wherein a symbol index starts from 0.
(See Chen FIG. 6)
(See Chen paragraph 0059, FIG. 6 shows S-SSB structures 601-604 over a 14-symbol slot. Each S-SSB structure 601-604 can include an S-SSB over the symbols indexed from #0 to #12 and a GP symbol with an index of #13. Each S-SSB can include two consecutive S-PSS symbols at the end of the respective S-SSB, two consecutive or non-consecutive S-SSS symbols prior to the two S-PSS symbols with zero, one, or more PSBCH symbols in between.)
Shows the reference signal of a secondary synchronization signal or SSS
Shows two consecutive SSS signals for symbol indexes 8 and 9 with the symbol index starting at 0
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving a first reference signal, the first reference signal occupying M symbols and spaced apart by N symbols. M consists of an integer larger than 0 and N is an integer larger than or equal to 0. The first reference signal consists of a secondary synchronization signal or SSS as disclosed by Liu with the symbol indexes of the first reference signal occupying indexes 8 and 9, with the symbol index starting at 0, and the SSS occupies two consecutive symbols as disclosed by Chen to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of ensuring correct synchronization between a terminal and base station).
Claim 59
Liu teaches,
(Currently Amended) A communication device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store an instruction which, when invoked by the processor, is configured to
(See Liu paragraph 0089, The apparatus may include a processing unit, a sending unit, and a receiving unit. When the apparatus is the network device, the processing unit may be a processor, and the sending unit and the receiving unit may be a transceiver. The network device may further include a storage unit, and the storage unit may be a memory. The storage unit is configured to store instructions, and the processing unit executes the instructions stored in the storage unit,...)
receive a first reference signal,
(See Liu paragraph 0113, Correspondingly, the terminal device receives the configuration information for the reference signal set from the network device, and the terminal device receives the reference signal set from the network device based on the configuration information.)
Shows the terminal receiving a first reference signal
wherein the first reference signal occupies M symbols, the M symbols are spaced apart by N symbols, M is an integer greater than 0, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 0,
(See Liu paragraph 0120, the M reference signals are distributed on M consecutive symbols, or the M reference signals are distributed on M nonconsecutive symbols.)
Shows the spacing of the reference signals
wherein the first reference signal is a secondary synchronization signal (SSS); and…
(See Liu paragraph 0119, ...the M reference signals are M secondary synchronization signals (SSS), or M CSI-RSs, or M new sequence-based reference signals.)
However, Liu fails to explicitly teach,
…in response to M=2, and N=0, in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 4 and 5, or 6 and 7, or 8 and 9, wherein a symbol index starts from 0.
Nevertheless, Chen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…in response to M=2, and N=0, in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 4 and 5, or 6 and 7, or 8 and 9, wherein a symbol index starts from 0.
(See Chen FIG. 6)
(See Chen paragraph 0059, FIG. 6 shows S-SSB structures 601-604 over a 14-symbol slot. Each S-SSB structure 601-604 can include an S-SSB over the symbols indexed from #0 to #12 and a GP symbol with an index of #13. Each S-SSB can include two consecutive S-PSS symbols at the end of the respective S-SSB, two consecutive or non-consecutive S-SSS symbols prior to the two S-PSS symbols with zero, one, or more PSBCH symbols in between.)
Shows the reference signal of a secondary synchronization signal or SSS
Shows two consecutive SSS signals for symbol indexes 8 and 9 with the symbol index starting at 0
The motivation to combine Liu and Chen in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 60
Liu teaches,
(Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program or a computer instruction which, when executed by a processor, is configured to
(See Liu Claim 11, ...a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for execution by the processor, the program including instructions for:...)
receive a first reference signal,
(See Liu paragraph 0113, Correspondingly, the terminal device receives the configuration information for the reference signal set from the network device, and the terminal device receives the reference signal set from the network device based on the configuration information.)
Shows the terminal receiving a first reference signal
wherein the first reference signal occupies M symbols, the M symbols are spaced apart by N symbols, M is an integer greater than 0, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 0,
(See Liu paragraph 0120, the M reference signals are distributed on M consecutive symbols, or the M reference signals are distributed on M nonconsecutive symbols.)
Shows the spacing of the reference signals
However, Liu fails to explicitly teach,
…in response to M=2, and N=0, in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 4 and 5, or 6 and 7, or 8 and 9, wherein a symbol index starts from 0.
Nevertheless, Chen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…in response to M=2, and N=0, in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 4 and 5, or 6 and 7, or 8 and 9, wherein a symbol index starts from 0.
(See Chen FIG. 6)
(See Chen paragraph 0059, FIG. 6 shows S-SSB structures 601-604 over a 14-symbol slot. Each S-SSB structure 601-604 can include an S-SSB over the symbols indexed from #0 to #12 and a GP symbol with an index of #13. Each S-SSB can include two consecutive S-PSS symbols at the end of the respective S-SSB, two consecutive or non-consecutive S-SSS symbols prior to the two S-PSS symbols with zero, one, or more PSBCH symbols in between.)
Shows the reference signal of a secondary synchronization signal or SSS
Shows two consecutive SSS signals for symbol indexes 8 and 9 with the symbol index starting at 0
The motivation to combine Liu and Chen in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 62
Liu teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the first reference signal is used for time-frequency synchronization.
(See Liu paragraph 0119, …when the M reference signals are M SSSs, the reference signal set may be used for RRM measurement, to avoid power consumption generated when the terminal device is woken up to perform RRM measurement separately on an SSB in the synchronization signal burst set, thereby reducing power consumption of the terminal device for performing RRM measurement. For example, the M SSSs may also assist the SSB in the synchronization signal burst set in performing RRM measurement, thereby providing more RRM measurement opportunities, and ensuring that RRM measurement accuracy is not affected.)
Shows the first reference signal as secondary synchronization signals or SSS
Shows the SSS utilized for time-frequency synchronization with radio resource management or RRM measurement to reduce power consumption
The motivation to combine Liu and Chen in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 2, 15, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1) in further view of Wang et al. (US 20220014323 A1) or Wang.
Claim 2
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 2. However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Original) The method of claim 1, wherein M=2, and N=1.
(See Wang paragraph 0039, ...the CSI-RS for TRS is located in both the zeroth symbol and the second symbol in each time slot of an SS burst, so that the spectrum resource of a time slot can be occupied from the zeroth symbol, i.e. the starting symbol, of that time slot, and can further be occupied continuously by the CSI-RS for tracking in the second symbol.)
Shows reference signal occupies 2 symbols spaced by 1 symbol
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving a first reference signal, the first reference signal occupying M symbols and spaced apart by N symbols. M consists of an integer larger than 0 and N is an integer larger than or equal to 0. The first reference signal consists of a secondary synchronization signal or SSS as disclosed by Liu with reference signals occupying at least two symbols spaced by one symbol as disclosed by Wang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number of symbols to monitor).
Claim 15
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 15. However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 5, wherein the first reference signal is a physical broadcast channel demodulation reference signal (PBCH DMRS), and the second reference signal is a secondary synchronization signal (SSS).
(See Wang FIG. 2 [index 5] [PBCH DMRS], FIG. 2 [index 7] [PBCH DMRS])
Shows the first reference signal
(See Wang FIG. 2 [index 6] [SSS])
Shows the second reference signal
The motivation to combine Liu, Chen, and Wang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 16
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 16. However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Original) The method of claim 1, wherein M=2, and N=3.
(See Wang FIG. 2 [index 4] [PSS], FIG. 2 [index 8] [PSS])
Shows reference signal PSS occupying two symbols
(See Wang FIG. 2 [index 5] [PBCH DMRS], FIG. 2 [index 6] [SSS], FIG. 2 [index 7] [PBCH DMRS])
Shows the three space symbols
Shows reference signal occupies 2 symbols spaced by 3 symbols
The motivation to combine Liu, Chen, and Wang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 17
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 17. However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 16, wherein in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 4 and 8, or 5 and 9, or 6 and 10, or 7 and 13, wherein a symbol index starts from 0.
(See Wang FIG. 2 [index 4] [PSS], FIG. 2 [index 8] [PSS])
Shows the first reference signal
(See Wang FIG. 2 [index 0] [CSI-RS])
Shows the symbol index starts from 0
The motivation to combine Liu, Chen, and Wang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claims 3, 5, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1) in further view of Liu et al. (US 20210153146 A1) or Liu and Ji.
Claim 3
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 3. However, Liu and Ji, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 2, wherein
in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 2 and 4, or 5 and 7, or 8 and 10, or 11 and 13,..
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3 [index 5] [DMRS/PSBCH], FIG. 3[index 7] [DMRS/PSBCH])
wherein a symbol index starts from 0;
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3 [index 0])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving a first reference signal, the first reference signal occupying M symbols and spaced apart by N symbols. M consists of an integer larger than 0 and N is an integer larger than or equal to 0. The first reference signal consists of a secondary synchronization signal or SSS as disclosed by Liu with symbol indexes of a reference signal occupying indexes 5 and 7 and starting at index 0 as disclosed by Liu and Ji to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required to monitor for reference signals).
Claim 5
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 5. However, Liu and Ji, in the same field of endeavor, teach,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 2, wherein there is a second reference signal between two symbols of the first reference signal;
wherein in a slot, …
or the symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 5 and 7, and the symbol index of the second reference signal is 6;…
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 5] [DMRS/PSBCH], FIG. 3[index 7] [DMRS/PSBCH])
Shows the first reference signal
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 6] [SSS])
Shows the second reference signal
The motivation to combine Liu, Chen, and Liu and Ji in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 8
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 8. However, Liu and Ji, in the same field of endeavor, teach,
The method of claim 2, wherein in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 3 and 5, or 6 and 8, or 9 and 11, wherein a symbol index starts from 0.
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 9] [DMRS/PSBCH], FIG. 3[index 11] [DMRS/PSBCH])
Shows the first reference signal
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 0])
Shows the symbol index starts from 0
The motivation to combine Liu, Chen, and Liu and Ji in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 9
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 9. However, Liu and Ji, in the same field of endeavor, teach,
The method of claim 2, wherein there is a second reference signal between two symbols of the first reference signal;
…or the symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 9 and 11, and the symbol index of the second reference signal is 10, wherein a symbol index starts from 0.
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 9] [DMRS/PSBCH], FIG. 3[index 11] [DMRS/PSBCH])
Shows the first reference signal
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 10] [SSS])
Shows the second reference signal
The motivation to combine Liu, Chen, and Liu and Ji in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 10
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 10. However, Liu and Ji, in the same field of endeavor, teach,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 2, wherein in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 2 and 4, or 3 and 5, or 8 and 10, or 9 and 11, wherein a symbol index starts from 0,…
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 9] [DMRS/PSBCH], FIG. 3[index 11] [DMRS/PSBCH])
Shows the first reference signal
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 0])
Shows the symbol index starts from 0
The motivation to combine Liu, Chen, and Liu and Ji in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claims 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1) in further view of Chuang et al. (WO 2018202088 A1) or Chuang.
Claim 12
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 12. However, Chuang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 2,
wherein indexes of resource elements (REs) occupied by the first reference signal in a resource block (RB) are 0, 4, and 8, wherein an RE index starts from 0,
(See Chuang FIG. 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving a first reference signal, the first reference signal occupying M symbols and spaced apart by N symbols. M consists of an integer larger than 0 and N is an integer larger than or equal to 0. The first reference signal consists of a secondary synchronization signal or SSS as disclosed by Liu with reference signals occupying a resource block with resource element or RE indexes of 0, 4, and 8 and the RE index starts at 0 as disclosed by Chuang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of monitoring for reference signals in a resource block).
Claim 21
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 21. However, Chuang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 16, wherein the first reference signal is a tracking reference signal (TRS).
(See Chuang page 2 Summary paragraph 2, The method may also involve the processor receiving, from the base station, a TRS burst containing a plurality of TRS symbols with one or more com ponents of the UE configured according to the TRS configuration.)
The motivation to combine Liu, Chen, and Chuang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 12.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1) in further view of Huang et al. (WO 2021056227 A1) or Huang.
Claim 18
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 18. However, Huang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 16,…
…or indexes of REs occupied by the first reference signal in an RB is 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11, wherein an RE index starts from 0.
(See Huang page 11 paragraph 5, l'represents the symbol index of the symbol in the PRS resource in the PRS resource. For example, l'=0 indicates the first symbol of the PRS resource.
Among them, N represents the number of symbols contained in the PRS resource. For example, the value of N is 12 or 6. For example, the PRS resource occupies 12 consecutive or 6 consecutive symbols in 1 time slot.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving a first reference signal, the first reference signal occupying M symbols and spaced apart by N symbols. M consists of an integer larger than 0 and N is an integer larger than or equal to 0. The first reference signal consists of a secondary synchronization signal or SSS as disclosed by Liu with a reference signal occupying at least two consecutive REs in a resource block or RB as disclosed by Huang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the overhead required to conduct synchronization with reference signals).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1) in further view of Li et al. (US 20200287678 A1) or Li and Lakshmi.
Claim 23
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 23. However, Li and Lakshmi, in the same field of endeavor, teach,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein in response M=1, and N=0 in a slot, a symbol index of the first reference signal is merely 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, or 13, wherein a symbol index starts from 0,…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving a first reference signal, the first reference signal occupying M symbols and spaced apart by N symbols. M consists of an integer larger than 0 and N is an integer larger than or equal to 0. The first reference signal consists of a secondary synchronization signal or SSS as disclosed by Liu with a tracking reference signal or TRS occupying M=1 and N=0 in a slot at symbol index 7 with the symbol index starting at 0 as disclosed by Li and Lakshmi to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number of reference signals required to perform measurement on a selected beam).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chen (US 20210068101 A1) in further view of Oh et al. (US 20190327696 A1) or Oh.
Claim 27
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 27. However, Oh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 23, wherein the first reference signal is an SSS,
and the first reference signal occupies 20 resource blocks (RBs).
(See Oh paragraph 0125, A transmission bandwidth (12 RBs 305) of the PSS 301 and a transmission bandwidth (20 RBs 306) of the SSS (303) and the PBCH 302 are differently related.)
(See Oh FIG. 3 [303] [SSS], FIG. 3[306] [20RB])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving a first reference signal, the first reference signal occupying M symbols and spaced apart by N symbols. M consists of an integer larger than 0 and N is an integer larger than or equal to 0. The first reference signal consists of a secondary synchronization signal or SSS as disclosed by Liu with a secondary synchronization signal occupying 20 RBs as disclosed by Oh to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce probability of missing a transmission by a base station).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al. (US 20120093267 A1) or Zhou teaches generating secondary synchronization signal or SSS sequences for detection and frame timing synchronization.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414