Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 202110977690.6, filed on 24 August 2021 A.D.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 23 February 2024 and 20 January 2026 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 22, 25, 59, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu.
Claim 1
(Original) A communication method, comprising:
receiving a first reference signal, wherein the first reference signal occupies M symbols, the M symbols are spaced apart by N symbols, M is an integer greater than 0, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 0.
(See Liu paragraph 0113, Correspondingly, the terminal device receives the configuration information for the reference signal set from the network device, and the terminal device receives the reference signal set from the network device based on the configuration information.)
Shows the terminal receiving a first reference signal
(See Liu paragraph 0120, the M reference signals are distributed on M consecutive symbols, or the M reference signals are distributed on M nonconsecutive symbols.)
Shows the spacing of the reference signals
Claim 22
(Original) The method of claim 1, wherein M=1, and N=0.
(See Liu paragraph 0120, the M reference signals are distributed on M consecutive symbols, or the M reference signals are distributed on M nonconsecutive symbols.)
Shows the spacing of the reference signals
(See Liu paragraph 0120, In FIG. 5(a), one reference signal set includes four SSSs that are distributed on four consecutive symbols, and each SSS corresponds to one beam direction.)
Shows reference signal occupies 1 symbol spaced by 0 symbol
Claim 25
(Original) The method of claim 1, wherein M=2, and N=0.
(See Liu paragraph 0120, the M reference signals are distributed on M consecutive symbols, or the M reference signals are distributed on M nonconsecutive symbols.)
Shows the spacing of the reference signals
(See Liu paragraph 0120, In FIG. 5(a), one reference signal set includes four SSSs that are distributed on four consecutive symbols, and each SSS corresponds to one beam direction.)
Shows reference signal occupies at least 2 symbols spaced by 0 symbols
Claim 59
(Currently Amended) A communication device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store an instruction which, when invoked by the processor, is configured to
(See Liu paragraph 0089, The apparatus may include a processing unit, a sending unit, and a receiving unit. When the apparatus is the network device, the processing unit may be a processor, and the sending unit and the receiving unit may be a transceiver. The network device may further include a storage unit, and the storage unit may be a memory. The storage unit is configured to store instructions, and the processing unit executes the instructions stored in the storage unit,...)
receive a first reference signal,
(See Liu paragraph 0113, Correspondingly, the terminal device receives the configuration information for the reference signal set from the network device, and the terminal device receives the reference signal set from the network device based on the configuration information.)
Shows the terminal receiving a first reference signal
wherein the first reference signal occupies M symbols, the M symbols are spaced apart by N symbols, M is an integer greater than 0, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 0.
(See Liu paragraph 0120, the M reference signals are distributed on M consecutive symbols, or the M reference signals are distributed on M nonconsecutive symbols.)
Shows the spacing of the reference signals
Claim 60
(Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program or a computer instruction which, when executed by a processor, is configured to
(See Liu Claim 11, ...a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program for execution by the processor, the program including instructions for:...)
receive a first reference signal,
(See Liu paragraph 0113, Correspondingly, the terminal device receives the configuration information for the reference signal set from the network device, and the terminal device receives the reference signal set from the network device based on the configuration information.)
Shows the terminal receiving a first reference signal
wherein the first reference signal occupies M symbols, the M symbols are spaced apart by N symbols, M is an integer greater than 0, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 0.
(See Liu paragraph 0120, the M reference signals are distributed on M consecutive symbols, or the M reference signals are distributed on M nonconsecutive symbols.)
Shows the spacing of the reference signals
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 15, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Wang et al. (US 20220014323 A1) or Wang.
Claim 2
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 2. However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Original) The method of claim 1, wherein M=2, and N=1.
(See Wang paragraph 0039, ...the CSI-RS for TRS is located in both the zeroth symbol and the second symbol in each time slot of an SS burst, so that the spectrum resource of a time slot can be occupied from the zeroth symbol, i.e. the starting symbol, of that time slot, and can further be occupied continuously by the CSI-RS for tracking in the second symbol.)
Shows reference signal occupies 2 symbols spaced by 1 symbol
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving a reference signal occupying a number of symbols larger than zero and spaced apart by a number of symbols greater than or equal to zero as disclosed by Liu with reference signals occupying at least two symbols spaced by one symbol as disclosed by Wang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number of symbols to monitor).
Claim 15
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 15. However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 5, wherein the first reference signal is a physical broadcast channel demodulation reference signal (PBCH DMRS), and the second reference signal is a secondary synchronization signal (SSS).
(See Wang FIG. 2 [index 5] [PBCH DMRS], FIG. 2 [index 7] [PBCH DMRS])
Shows the first reference signal
(See Wang FIG. 2 [index 6] [SSS])
Shows the second reference signal
The motivation to combine Liu and Wang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 16
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 16. However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Original) The method of claim 1, wherein M=2, and N=3.
(See Wang FIG. 2 [index 4] [PSS], FIG. 2 [index 8] [PSS])
Shows reference signal PSS occupying two symbols
(See Wang FIG. 2 [index 5] [PBCH DMRS], FIG. 2 [index 6] [SSS], FIG. 2 [index 7] [PBCH DMRS])
Shows the three space symbols
Shows reference signal occupies 2 symbols spaced by 3 symbols
The motivation to combine Liu and Wang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 17
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 17. However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Original) The method of claim 16, wherein in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 4 and 8, 5 and 9, 6 and 10, or 7 and 13, wherein a symbol index starts from 0.
(See Wang FIG. 2 [index 4] [PSS], FIG. 2 [index 8] [PSS])
Shows the first reference signal
(See Wang FIG. 2 [index 0] [CSI-RS])
Shows the symbol index starts from 0
The motivation to combine Liu and Wang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claims 3, 5, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Liu et al. (US 20210153146 A1) or Liu and Ji.
Claim 3
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 3. However, Liu and Ji, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 2, wherein
in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 2 and 4, 5 and 7, 8 and 10, or 11 and 13,..
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3 [index 5] [DMRS/PSBCH], FIG. 3[index 7] [DMRS/PSBCH])
wherein a symbol index starts from 0;
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3 [index 0])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving a reference signal occupying a number of symbols larger than zero and spaced apart by a number of symbols greater than or equal to zero as disclosed by Liu with symbol indexes of a reference signal occupying indexes 5 and 7 and starting at index 0 as disclosed by Liu and Ji to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required to monitor for reference signals).
Claim 5
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 5. However, Liu and Ji, in the same field of endeavor, teach,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 2, wherein there is a second reference signal between two symbols of the first reference signal;
wherein in a slot, …
or the symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 5 and 7, and the symbol index of the second reference signal is 6;…
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 5] [DMRS/PSBCH], FIG. 3[index 7] [DMRS/PSBCH])
Shows the first reference signal
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 6] [SSS])
Shows the second reference signal
The motivation to combine Liu, and Liu and Ji in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 8
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 8. However, Liu and Ji, in the same field of endeavor, teach,
(Original) The method of claim 2, wherein in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 3 and 5, 6 and 8, or 9 and 11, wherein a symbol index starts from 0.
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 9] [DMRS/PSBCH], FIG. 3[index 11] [DMRS/PSBCH])
Shows the first reference signal
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 0])
Shows the symbol index starts from 0
The motivation to combine Liu, and Liu and Ji in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 9
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 9. However, Liu and Ji, in the same field of endeavor, teach,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 2, wherein there is a second reference signal between two symbols of the first reference signal;
…or the symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 9 and 11, and the symbol index of the second reference signal is 10, wherein a symbol index starts from 0.
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 9] [DMRS/PSBCH], FIG. 3[index 11] [DMRS/PSBCH])
Shows the first reference signal
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 10] [SSS])
Shows the second reference signal
The motivation to combine Liu, and Liu and Ji in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 10
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 10. However, Liu and Ji, in the same field of endeavor, teach,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 2, wherein in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 2 and 4, 3 and 5, 8 and 10, or 9 and 11, wherein a symbol index starts from 0,…
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 9] [DMRS/PSBCH], FIG. 3[index 11] [DMRS/PSBCH])
Shows the first reference signal
(See Liu and Ji FIG. 3[index 0])
Shows the symbol index starts from 0
The motivation to combine Liu, and Liu and Ji in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claims 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Chuang et al. (WO 2018202088 A1) or Chuang.
Claim 12
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 12. However, Chuang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 2,
wherein indexes of resource elements (REs) occupied by the first reference signal in a resource block (RB) are 0, 4, and 8, wherein an RE index starts from 0,
(See Chuang FIG. 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving a reference signal occupying a number of symbols larger than zero and spaced apart by a number of symbols greater than or equal to zero as disclosed by Liu with reference signals occupying a resource block with resource element or RE indexes of 0, 4, and 8 and the RE index starts at 0 as disclosed by Chuang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of monitoring for reference signals in a resource block).
Claim 21
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 21. However, Chuang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 16, wherein the first reference signal is a tracking reference signal (TRS).
(See Chuang page 2 Summary paragraph 2, The method may also involve the processor receiving, from the base station, a TRS burst containing a plurality of TRS symbols with one or more com ponents of the UE configured according to the TRS configuration.)
The motivation to combine Liu and Chuang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 12.
Claims 18, 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Huang et al. (WO 2021056227 A1) or Huang.
Claim 18
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 18. However, Huang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 16,…
…or indexes of REs occupied by the first reference signal in an RB is 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11, wherein an RE index starts from 0.
(See Huang page 11 paragraph 5, l'represents the symbol index of the symbol in the PRS resource in the PRS resource. For example, l'=0 indicates the first symbol of the PRS resource.
Among them, N represents the number of symbols contained in the PRS resource. For example, the value of N is 12 or 6. For example, the PRS resource occupies 12 consecutive or 6 consecutive symbols in 1 time slot.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving a reference signal occupying a number of symbols larger than zero and spaced apart by a number of symbols greater than or equal to zero as disclosed by Liu with a reference signal occupying at least two consecutive REs in a resource block or RB as disclosed by Huang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the overhead required to conduct synchronization with reference signals).
Claim 23
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 23. However, Huang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 22, wherein in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, wherein a symbol index starts from 0,…
(See Huang FIG. 6)
The motivation to combine Liu and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 18.
Claim 26
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 26. However, Huang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Original) The method of claim 25, wherein in a slot, symbol indexes of the first reference signal are 4 and 5, 6 and 7, 8 and 9, or 10 and 11, wherein a symbol index starts from 0.
(See Huang FIG. 6)
The motivation to combine Liu and Huang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 18.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20220053434 A1) or Liu in view of Oh et al. (US 20190327696 A1) or Oh.
Claim 27
Liu fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 27. However, Oh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
(Currently Amended) The method of claim 22, wherein the first reference signal is a secondary synchronization signal (SSS),
and the first reference signal occupies 20 resource blocks (RBs).
(See Oh paragraph 0125, A transmission bandwidth (12 RBs 305) of the PSS 301 and a transmission bandwidth (20 RBs 306) of the SSS (303) and the PBCH 302 are differently related.)
(See Oh FIG. 3 [303] [SSS], FIG. 3[306] [20RB])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine receiving a reference signal occupying a number of symbols larger than zero and spaced apart by a number of symbols greater than or equal to zero as disclosed by Liu with a secondary synchronization signal occupying 20 RBs as disclosed by Oh to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce probability of missing a transmission by a base station).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. (US 20190245728 A1) or Li teaches receiving phase noise compensation references signal and spacing apart orthogonal frequency division multiplexing or OFDM symbols receiving the references signals.
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414