DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to 5/5/2026.
Claims 1-25 are pending.
Claims 1-25 are rejected.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 5/5/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-25 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues Laselva fails to disclose a UE configured to “select a timing advance timer from the first timing advance timer and a second timing advance timer that is associated with a second type of communication having a size that is greater than the first size” as required by claim 1 (see Pg. 9). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Laselva discloses that the first device is able to determine whether a timing advance is valid in a subsequent CG occasion for small data transmission. In the process, the first device can compare a data volume for the generated data with a volume threshold and determine is the small data transmission is applicable to the data generated ([0050]). Referring to Fig. 4, the transmission of SDT data generated at the time 420, if applicable, would be at the subsequent occasion 410-2. Alternatively, if the data volume exceeds the data volume threshold, the first device can determine that the small data transmission is not applicable to the data generated. If CG for SDT becomes invalid, due to data volume exceeding the data volume threshold, the first device can perform fallback procedure and acquire uplink resources/timing ([0088]). Therefore, Laselva reads on the claimed invention of the UE actively performing the determination of whether a configured timing advance is valid and applied for small data transmission and whether an alternative procedure should be performed for uplink alignment for a non-small data transmission. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained for claim 1 and similar claims 16, 18, and 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Laselva et al. US 20240188169 A1, hereinafter Laselva.
Regarding Claim 1, Laselva discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2 and 7), comprising:
a memory (Fig. 7); and
one or more processors, coupled with the memory (Fig. 7), configured to:
receive a configuration of a first timing advance timer associated with a first type of communication having a first size (Fig. 3, [0048-0051] discloses a resource configuration grant transmission; the first device determines whether a TA is valid for small data transmission based on the resource configuration);
select a timing advance timer from the first timing advance timer and a second timing advance timer that is associated with a second type of communication having a size that is greater than the first size (see at least Fig. 3, [0048-0051, 0066] discloses determining if the data generated exceeds the data volume threshold and if the timing advance is valid for small data transmission. If the TA is invalid, the first device can perform non-small data transmission, where the first device applies a TA for non-small data transmission); and
transmit a communication of the first type of communication based at least in part on the selected timing advance timer (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the first type of communication is a communication of data that is less than a threshold number of bits or that is less than or equal to the threshold number of bits ([0050] discloses comparing the data volume of the data generated to the data volume threshold to determine that a small data transmission is applicable).
Regarding Claim 3, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a timing advance command associated with an uplink transmission of the first type of communication while the first timing advance timer is running; update a timing advance value stored by the UE based at least in part on the timing advance command; and restart the first timing advance timer based at least in part on the timing advance command ([0040] TA adjustment during the RACH procedure via TAC; [0066] performing SDT in a RA-procedure; performing non-small data transmission with TA for non-small data transmission).
Regarding Claim 4, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive an indication associated with an expiration of the first timing advance timer; initiate a random access channel (RACH) procedure based at least in part on the indication of the expiration of the first timing advance timer (Fig. 3, [0051-0052, 0066] discloses the first device determines whether a TA is valid in a subsequent occasion for SDT based on a first timer (TAT), which may be no longer valid after it expires. The length/value of the timer is configured by the second device. If the TA is invalid in the subsequent occasion, the first device can perform the SDT in a RA procedure); and
receive a timing advance command during the RACH procedure (see at least [0040] disclosing timing advance adjustment during RACH procedure via the timing advance command).
Regarding Claim 5, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 4 and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: initiate the second timing advance timer, and update a timing advance value, based at least in part on the timing advance command ([0040] TA adjustment during the RACH procedure via TAC; [0066] performing non-small data transmission with TA for non-small data transmission).
Regarding Claim 6, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 4 and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: restart the first timing advance timer, and update a timing advance value, based at least in part on the timing advance command ([0040] TA adjustment during the RACH procedure via TAC; [0066] performing SDT in a RA-procedure).
Regarding Claim 7, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
initiate a random access channel (RACH) procedure prior to an expiration of the first timing advance timer; and maintain a timing advance value stored by the UE based at least in part on initiating the RACH procedure ([0055, 0065-0067] the first device can perform an evaluation or reevaluation (based on configured timing) of a validity condition. If the evaluation indicates that the validity condition is not met, the first device can start RA based SDT. The UE performing the validity condition evaluation in advance can reduce delays and avoid failure scenarios).
Regarding Claim 8, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 7 and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a timing advance command during the RACH procedure; and transmit, after receiving the timing advance command, at least one first type of communication using the maintained timing advance value ([0040] TA adjustment during the RACH procedure via TAC; [0066] performing SDT in a RA-procedure; performing non-small data transmission with TA for non-small data transmission).
Regarding Claim 9, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: initiate the second timing advance timer, stop the first timing advance timer, and update the timing advance value, after successful completion of the RACH procedure ([0040] TA adjustment during the RACH procedure via TAC; [0066] performing SDT in a RA-procedure; performing non-small data transmission with TA for non-small data transmission).
Regarding Claim 10, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: restart the first timing advance timer, and update the timing advance value, after successful completion of the RACH procedure ([0040] TA adjustment during the RACH procedure via TAC; [0066] performing SDT in a RA-procedure; performing non-small data transmission with TA for non-small data transmission).
Regarding Claim 11, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to initiate a random access channel (RACH) procedure for transmitting the first type of communication (see at least Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 11 and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to use the first timing advance timer for the RACH procedure (see at least Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 11 and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to stop the first timing advance timer based at least in part on initiating the RACH procedure ([0040] TA adjustment during the RACH procedure via TAC; [0066] performing SDT in a RA-procedure; performing non-small data transmission with TA for non-small data transmission).
Regarding Claim 14, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 11 and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: continue to run the first timing advance timer until the UE receives a timing advance command during the RACH procedure; and stop the first timing advance timer, and start the second timing advance timer, based at least in part on receiving the timing advance command ([0040] TA adjustment during the RACH procedure via TAC; [0066] performing SDT in a RA-procedure; performing non-small data transmission with TA for non-small data transmission).
Regarding Claim 15, Laselva discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive a radio resource control (RRC) message, associated with a switch of an RRC state, during a communication session involving one or more of the first type of communications; and stop the first timing advance timer based at least in part on receiving the RRC message ([0088] discloses if CG for SDT becomes invalid, the first device performs fallback procedure (e.g., RRC resume procedure) and performs normal non-small data transmission).
Claims 16-17 are rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claims 1-2, respectively. Claims 16-17 recite similar features as in claim 1-2, respectively, from the perspective of an apparatus for a base station.
Claims 18-23 are rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claims 1-4, 7, and 15, respectively. Claims 18-23 recite similar features as in claim 1-4, 7, and 15, respectively, for a method.
Claims 24-25 are rejected on the same grounds set forth in the rejection of claims 16-17, respectively. Claims 24-25 recite similar features as in claim 16-17, respectively, for a method.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465