Election/Restrictions
Claims 36-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/10/2026.
Status of Claims
The action is in reply to the Application filed on 02/23/2024. Claims 21-40 are currently pending. Claims 1-20 are cancelled by applicant. Claims 36-40 are withdrawn. Claims 21-35 are being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2024, 07/08/2025, 10/21/2025, and 09/03/2026 have been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 21-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 21, line 7 “detect the liquid level” should be “detect [[the]] a liquid level”
In claim 22, line 5 “the other of the non-contact sensing element and the non-contact sensed element” should be “[[the]] another of the non-contact sensing element and the non-contact sensed element”
In claim 23, line 4 “filter some of the impurities carried by liquid flowing into the accommodating cavity through” should be “filter some of [[the]] impurities carried by the liquid flowing into the accommodating cavity through”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 22, the following claim limitation has been interpreted in view of applicant’s definition in accordance of the specification:
“Claim limitation “specific range” in claim 22, line 8 is interpreted as “a high liquid-level value of the cleaning tank is a first preset threshold value, and the specific range is less than or equal to the first preset threshold value” as disclosed in paragraph 0078 of the specification;
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a detection apparatus” and is “configured to detect the liquid level in the cleaning tank” in claim 21, lines 6-8 and is composed of the float assembly 41, the non-contact sensing element, and the non-contact sensed element can simultaneously detect the liquid level in the cleaning tank as described in paragraph 0070 of the specification. This limitation shall be constructed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
“a non-contact sensing element” and “the non-contact sensing element is capable of detecting the non- contact sensed element” in claim 22, lines 4 and 8-9 which may include a magnetic sensing member, an optical sensing member, or other components that meet requirements as described in paragraph 0074 of the specification. This limitation shall be constructed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
“an indicating member”, “the indicating member indicates that the filtration apparatus is not mounted in place”, and “the indicating member indicates that the filtration apparatus is mounted in place” in claim 30, lines 5-6 and 7-10 which is directed to the structural element 421 which may include a planar structure located above the foolproof limiting member as described in paragraph 00121 of the specification. This limitation shall be constructed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the filtration apparatus is provided with a float assembly" in line 2. It is unclear how the filtration apparatus can be provided with the float assembly, since in light of the specification, the detection apparatus is composed of the float assembly (see paragraph 0070) (how can two different elements (i.e. detection apparatus and filtration apparatus) both comprises the float assembly?), thus rendering the claim indefinite. For examining purposes, the examiner is to interpret the claim limitation to be referring the detection apparatus provided with the float assembly.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the solid impurities" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 24-35 depends on claim 23 and are therefore rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 211862710) in view of Abbrederis (WO 8903191) and Bian (CN 208447481).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang discloses: a base station (Figures 5-17 element 1 and see also paragraph 052), comprising:
a base station body (element 10), positioned with a cleaning tank (element 75);
a liquid discharge apparatus (element 70/71), configured to spray cleaning liquid (see paragraph 077), wherein the cleaning liquid is accommodated in the cleaning tank (see paragraph 0078).
However, Zhang appears to be silent wherein the base station comprises a filtration apparatus, located in the cleaning tank and a detection apparatus, wherein at least part of the detection apparatus is positioned on the filtration apparatus, and the detection apparatus is configured to detect the liquid level in the cleaning tank.
The prior art of Abbrederis is also concern in providing a station (Figures 1-2 and see also page 4, paragraphs 005-006) comprising a cleaning tank (element 2) having a cleaning liquid (element 3) accommodated in the cleaning tank (see figure 1). Abbrederis further teaches wherein the station comprises a filtration apparatus (element 10 and see also page 4, paragraph 006 where the prior art discloses element 10 as “filter”), located in the cleaning tank(see figure 1 and see also page 4, paragraph 006).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Abbrederis to provide wherein the base station comprises a filtration apparatus, located in the cleaning tank. The resultant combination would have the filter (element 10) that resides in the cleaning tank and which has the cleaning fluid supplied to a line of Abbrederis now residing in the cleaning tank (element 75) which contains the cleaning liquid (see paragraph 0078) and is supplied to a line (element 70) of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known filtration apparatus in the cleaning tank for supplying the cleaning liquid to a line would necessarily allow only pure liquid to enter the line as disclosed by Abbrederis (see page 4, paragraph 006), thus removing any impurities and preventing blockages within the feeding line.
However, Zhang modified appears to be silent wherein base station comprises a detection apparatus, wherein at least part of the detection apparatus is positioned on the filtration apparatus, and the detection apparatus is configured to detect the liquid level in the cleaning tank.
The prior art of Bian is also concern in providing a station (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0033) comprising a station body (element 1) positioned with a tank (element 12) and a filtration apparatus (element 126 and see also paragraph 0036) located in the tank (see figure 5). Bian further teaches wherein the station comprises a detection apparatus (elements 128/129/1281/1282 and see also paragraph 0038) and the detection apparatus is configured to detect the liquid level in the cleaning tank (see paragraph 0039).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Bian to provide a detection apparatus and the detection apparatus is configured to detect the liquid level in the cleaning tank. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known a detection apparatus would necessarily determine whether the tank is full and remind the user to empty the tank in time, thus making it more reliable for the user as disclosed by Bian (see paragraph 0039).
However, Zhang modified appears to be silent wherein at least part of the detection apparatus is positioned on the filtration apparatus.
However, there is no evidence of record that establishes that changing the arrangement of having at least part of the detection apparatus positioned on the filtration apparatus would result in a difference in function of Zhang modified detection apparatus. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the at least part of the detection apparatus being positioned on the filtration apparatus of Zhang modified, would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears that the assembly would function as intended. Lastly, the applicant has failed to place any criticality on having at least part of the detection apparatus is positioned on the filtration apparatus produces an unexpected result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to provide wherein at least part of the detection apparatus is positioned on the filtration apparatus, since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that placing at least part of the detection apparatus on the filtration apparatus would necessarily allow the base station to continue to function as intended in order to detect a level of the fluid and prevent an overflow during operations (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang modified discloses: the base station according to claim 21, wherein
the filtration apparatus is provided with a float assembly (see figures 7-8 element 128 and see also paragraph 0038 of prior art Bian), and the float assembly comprises a float body (see figure 8 annotated below Detail A of prior art Bian) floating on a surface of liquid under an action of the liquid (see figure 8 annotated below Detail B of prior art Bian);
one of a non-contact sensing element (element 1281 and see also paragraph 0039 of prior art Bian) and a non-contact sensed element (element 1282 and see also paragraph 0039 of prior art Bian) is positioned on the float body (see figure 8 annotated below of prior art Bian showing the non-contact sensing element (element 1281) positioned on the float body (Detail A)), and the other of the non-contact sensing element and the non-contact sensed element is positioned on the base station body (see paragraph 0038 of prior art Bian where element 1282 (non-contact sensed element) is fixedly provided on element 1 (body)); and
when the filtration apparatus is located in the cleaning tank (see figures 7-8 of prior art Bian) and the surface of the liquid in the cleaning tank is within a specific range, the non-contact sensing element is capable of detecting the non- contact sensed element (see paragraphs 0020/0038 of prior art Bian).
Claims 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 211862710) in view of Abbrederis (WO 8903191) and Bian (CN 208447481) as applied to claims 21-22 above, and further in view of Rubin (US Pub. No. 2008/0253754
Regarding claim 23, Zhang modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 21-22, but appears to be silent wherein the filtration apparatus further comprises a filter screen and a housing, the filter screen is located above the housing and encloses an accommodating cavity with the housing, the filter screen is used to filter some of the impurities carried by liquid flowing into the accommodating cavity through the cleaning tank, and the accommodating cavity is used to accommodate some of the solid impurities carried by the liquid in the accommodating cavity.
Rubin is also concern in providing a filtration apparatus (Figures 3-4 and see also paragraph 0043) capable of being utilized in a variety of casings (see figure 4, figure 10a, figure 11a, and figure 12c). Rubin further teaches wherein the filtration apparatus further comprises a filter screen (element 410C) and a housing (element 410A), the filter screen is located above the housing (see figure 4) and encloses an accommodating cavity (see figure 4 annotated below showing the housing (element 410a) comprising an accommodating cavity (Detail A) which would necessarily house element 410B, thus when assembled the filter screen (element 410C) would necessarily enclose the accommodating cavity) with the housing, the filter screen is used to filter some of the impurities carried by liquid flowing into the accommodating cavity through the cleaning tank, and the accommodating cavity is used to accommodate some of the solid impurities carried by the liquid in the accommodating cavity (see paragraph 0268 where the prior art discloses utilizing elements 410A-C catch “extraneous contaminants and bacteria” during use, thus the filter screen (element 410C) would necessarily be capable of being used to filter some of the impurities carried by liquid flowing into the accommodating cavity, and the accommodating cavity (Detail A) which houses element 410B (filter) and use to catch contaminants (see paragraph 0268) would necessarily be capable of being used accommodate some of the solid impurities carried by the liquid in the accommodating cavity).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Rubin to provide wherein the filtration apparatus further comprises a filter screen and a housing, the filter screen is located above the housing and encloses an accommodating cavity with the housing, the filter screen is used to filter some of the impurities carried by liquid flowing into the accommodating cavity through the cleaning tank, and the accommodating cavity is used to accommodate some of the solid impurities carried by the liquid in the accommodating cavity. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known filtration apparatus having the claimed components would necessarily capture extraneous contaminants and bacteria as disclosed by Rubin (see paragraph 0268), thus promoting cleanliness and preventing clogging during operations.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 211862710) in view of Abbrederis (WO 8903191), Bian (CN 208447481), and Rubin (US Pub. No. 2008/0253754) as applied to claims 21-23 above, and further in view of Luyckx (US Pub. No. 2019/0159646).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 21-23, but appears to be silent wherein the filtration apparatus further comprises a handle positioned on the filter screen.
Luyckx is also concern in providing a station (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0017) comprising a tank (element 64) and a filtration apparatus (element 96) having a filter screen (element 100/106) located in the tank (see figure 4 and see also paragraph 0049). Luyckx further teaches wherein the filtration apparatus further comprises a handle (element 98) positioned on the filter screen (see figures 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Luyckx to provide wherein the filtration apparatus further comprises a handle positioned on the filter screen. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a handle on the filtration apparatus would necessarily allow the user to easily grip and maneuver the removable of the filtration apparatus without the need of additional tools during operations.
Regarding claim 28, Zhang modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 21-23 and 27, but appears to be silent wherein the handle is positioned on or formed on the filter screen and comprises a protruding portion connected to the filter screen and a stop portion is positioned on an outer edge of an end of the protruding portion away from the filter screen.
Luyckx is also concern in providing a station (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0017) comprising a tank (element 64) and a filtration apparatus (element 96) having a filter screen (element 100/106) and a handle (element 98) located in the tank (see figure 4 and see also paragraph 0049). Luyckx further teaches wherein the handle is positioned on or formed on the filter screen (see figures 4-5 showing the handle (element 98) positioned on the filter screen (elements 100/106) and comprises a protruding portion (element 112) connected to the filter screen (see figure 5 and see also paragraph 0056) and a stop portion (element 130) is positioned on an outer edge of an end of the protruding portion away from the filter screen (see figure 5 showing the stop portion (element 130) positioned an outer edge of an end (upper surface) of the protruding portion (element 112) away from the filter screen (elements 100/106)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Luyckx to provide wherein the handle is positioned on or formed on the filter screen and comprises a protruding portion connected to the filter screen and a stop portion is positioned on an outer edge of an end of the protruding portion away from the filter screen. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a handle comprising the claimed components on the filtration apparatus would necessarily allow the user to easily grip and maneuver the removable of the filtration apparatus without the need of additional tools during operations.
Claims 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 211862710) in view of Abbrederis (WO 8903191), Bian (CN 208447481), and Rubin (US Pub. No. 2008/0253754) as applied to claims 21-23 above, and further in view of Skyora ((DE 4317715).
Regarding claim 29, Zhang modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 21-23, but appears to be silent wherein opening and closing of the accommodating cavity between the filter screen and the housing are implemented through a pivot mechanism.
Skyora is also concern in providing a filtration apparatus (Figures 1-3 and see also paragraph 0012) having a filter screen (element 7) and a housing (element 5) enclosing an accommodating cavity (element 8). Skyora further teaches wherein opening and closing of the accommodating cavity between the filter screen and the housing are implemented through a pivot mechanism (element 6 and see also paragraphs 0012-0013).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Skyora to provide wherein opening and closing of the accommodating cavity between the filter screen and the housing are implemented through a pivot mechanism. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a known pivot mechanism connecting the filter screen with the housing would necessarily allow the user to access the accommodating cavity of the filter in order to empty the debris contained within the filter member during operations, thus preventing an overflow/clogging of debris.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-26 and 30-35 are would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 24 recites limitation related to the base station, specifically “wherein the filter screen is further provided with a fence, the fence and part of an outer edge of the filter screen are connected and enclose a mounting space interfacing with the accommodating cavity, the float body is located in the mounting space along a horizontal direction, and filter holes are positioned in the filter screen outside the mounting space”.
The prior art of Rubin discloses a filtration apparatus (Figures 3-4 and see also paragraph 0043) compromising a filter screen (element 410C) and a housing (element 410A), the filter screen is located above the housing (see figure 4) and encloses an accommodating cavity (see figure 4 annotated above on page 15 Detail A). However, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the filter screen comprises a fence that encloses a mounting space interfacing with the accommodating cavity and the float body is located in the mounting space along a horizontal direction.
Claim 25 recites limitation related to the base station, specifically “wherein the float assembly comprises: a mounting bracket, detachably positioned on the filter screen or formed on the filter screen; and a connector, used to connect the mounting bracket and one end of the float body so that the float body is rotatable relative to the mounting bracket”.
The prior art of Bian discloses a station (Figures 1-8 and see also paragraph 0033) comprising a station body (element 1) positioned with a tank (element 12) and a filtration apparatus (element 126 and see also paragraph 0036) located in the tank (see figure 5). Bian further teaches wherein the station comprises a detection apparatus (elements 128/129/1281/1282 and see also paragraph 0038) that detects the liquid level in the cleaning tank (see paragraph 0039). However, the detection apparatus float assembly (element 128) is rotationally arranged on a pivot shaft (element 129) that is attached to the tank (see figure 5), thus the prior art does not disclose wherein float assembly comprises: a mounting bracket, detachably positioned on the filter screen or formed on the filter screen.
Claim 26 recites limitation related to the base station, specifically “wherein the base station is provided with a sewage outlet, the filtration apparatus further comprises a water outlet in communication with the accommodating cavity and the sewage outlet, the water outlet is located on at least one side of the filtration apparatus, and the water outlet is higher than a bottom surface of the accommodating cavity”.
The prior art of Zhang discloses a base station (Figures 5-17 element 1 and see also paragraph 052) comprising a base station body (element 10), positioned with a cleaning tank (element 75) and further discloses a sewage tank (element 50) having an absorbing pipe line (element 51) in order to absorb debris collected in the cavity (see paragraph 0073). However, the prior art fails to disclose wherein the base station is provided with a sewage outlet, the filtration apparatus further comprises a water outlet in communication with the accommodating cavity and the sewage outlet, the water outlet is located on at least one side of the filtration apparatus, and the water outlet is higher than a bottom surface of the accommodating cavity.
Claim 30 (claims 31-35 depend on claim 30) recites limitation related to the base station, specifically “wherein a bottom part of the cleaning tank is provided with a mounting groove, the accommodating cavity is adapted to be located in the mounting groove, and a first foolproof positioning member and a second foolproof positioning member are positioned from top to bottom in the cleaning tank; the filtration apparatus is further provided with a foolproof limiting member and an indicating member; and when the foolproof limiting member matches the first foolproof positioning member, the indicating member indicates that the filtration apparatus is not mounted in place, and, when the foolproof limiting member matches the second foolproof positioning member, the indicating member indicates that the filtration apparatus is mounted in place”.
The prior art of Zhang discloses a base station (Figures 5-17 element 1 and see also paragraph 052) comprising a base station body (element 10), positioned with a cleaning tank (element 75) with a flat bottom surface. Additionally, the prior art of Rubin discloses a filtration apparatus (Figures 3-4 and see also paragraph 0043) compromising a filter screen (element 410C) and a housing (element 410A), the filter screen is located above the housing (see figure 4) and encloses an accommodating cavity (see figure 4 annotated above on page 15 Detail A). However, neither of the prior art or in combination disclose wherein a bottom part of the cleaning tank is provided with a mounting groove, the accommodating cavity is adapted to be located in the mounting groove, and a first foolproof positioning member and a second foolproof positioning member are positioned from top to bottom in the cleaning tank; the filtration apparatus is further provided with a foolproof limiting member and an indicating member; and when the foolproof limiting member matches the first foolproof positioning member, the indicating member indicates that the filtration apparatus is not mounted in place, and, when the foolproof limiting member matches the second foolproof positioning member, the indicating member indicates that the filtration apparatus is mounted in place.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALBERTO SAENZ whose telephone number is (313)446-6610. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7:30-4:30PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brian Keller can be reached at (571) 272-8548. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723 /BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723