DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 11, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: In each claim, replace “he” with --heat--. Appropriate correction is required.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will be treating “he” in these claims as --heat--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, line 2, it is unclear as to what “the conduit” refers as there are two different conduits. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will be treating this limitation as referring back to “a second conduit” as established in lines 1-2 of claim 5.
In claim 14, line 2, it is unclear as to what “the conduit” refers as there are two different conduits. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will be treating this limitation as referring back to “a second conduit” as established in lines 1-2 of claim 13.
In claim 20, line 2, it is unclear as to what “the conduit” refers as there are two different conduits. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will be treating this limitation as referring back to “a second conduit” as established in lines 1-2 of claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-10, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murata et al. (JP 2010097923 A, hereinafter “Murata”; using the attached English machine translation for citations).
Regarding claim 1, Murata teaches an integrated bus bar temperature regulation system configured to regulate a temperature of a battery pack including a plurality of battery cells positionable within an electric vehicle, the system comprising:
a battery bus bar (busbars 13 which have heat elements 16 on them, see Fig. 1; [0043]) having both electrical conductivity and thermal conductivity properties to provide a conduit for electrical energy and thermal energy (see [0048]) between the plurality of battery cells (plurality of energy storage elements 11, see Fig. 1; [0043]) within the battery pack (battery pack 12, see Fig. 1; [0043]); and
one or more heating elements (heat elements 16, see Fig. 1; [0048]) configured to heat at least portions of the battery bus bar to maintain select battery cells of the plurality of battery cells within the battery pack within a desired temperature range (see [0048]-[0050] and [0074]-[0077]).
Regarding the preamble (i.e., configured to regulate a temperature of a battery pack including a plurality of battery cells positionable within an electric vehicle), if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP §2111.02(II).
Regarding claim 2, Murata teaches wherein the one or more heating elements (heat elements 16, see Fig. 1; [0048]) are at least one of resistance heating elements (cement-type resistor for the heating element 16, see Figs. 1-3; [0067]-[0068]), induction heating elements, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 7, Murata teaches an electronic control unit (controller 31, see Fig. 3; [0074]-[0084]) configured to manage the temperature of the plurality of battery cells (see [0074]-[0084]).
Regarding claim 8, Murata teaches a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 15, see Figs. 1-3; [0047]) configured to provide feedback (see [0074]-[0084]) to the electronic control unit (controller 31, see Fig. 3; [0074]-[0084]).
Regarding claim 9 teaches an electric vehicle (see [0046]) including a battery temperature regulation system configured to enable a temperature conditioning of a battery pack for improved output, duration and recharge performance, the electric vehicle comprising:
the battery pack (battery pack 12, see Fig. 1; [0043]) comprising a plurality of battery cells (plurality of energy storage elements 11, see Fig. 1; [0043]);
a battery bus bar (busbars 13 which have heat elements 16 on them, see Fig. 1; [0043]) interconnecting battery cells included in the plurality of battery cells (see Fig. 1), the battery bus bar having both electrical conductivity and thermal conductivity properties to provide a conduit for electrical energy and thermal energy (see [0048]) between the plurality of battery cells (plurality of energy storage elements 11, see Fig. 1; [0043]); and
one or more heating elements (heat elements 16, see Fig. 1; [0048]) configured to heat at least portions of the battery bus bar to maintain select battery cells of the plurality of battery cells within the battery pack within a desired temperature range (see [0048]-[0050] and [0074]-[0077]).
Regarding the preamble (i.e., configured to enable a temperature conditioning of a battery pack for improved output, duration and recharge performance), if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP §2111.02(II).
Regarding claim 10, Murata teaches wherein the one or more heating elements (heat elements 16, see Fig. 1; [0048]) are at least one of resistance heating elements (cement-type resistor for the heating element 16, see Figs. 1-3; [0067]-[0068]), induction heating elements, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 15, Murata teaches an electric vehicle rechargeable battery temperature regulation system configured to enable a temperature conditioning of a rechargeable battery pack for improved output, duration and recharge performance, the system comprising:
a battery bus bar (busbars 13 which have heat elements 16 on them, see Fig. 1; [0043]) interconnecting the plurality of battery cells (plurality of energy storage elements 11, see Fig. 1; [0043]), the battery bus bar having both electrical conductivity and thermal conductivity properties to provide a conduit for electrical energy and thermal energy (see [0048]) between components of the rechargeable battery pack (battery pack 12, see Fig. 1; [0043]);
one or more heating elements (heat elements 16, see Fig. 1; [0048]) configured introduce thermal energy at least portions of the battery bus bar (see [0048]-[0050] and [0074]-[0077]).; and
an electronic control unit (controller 31, see Fig. 3; [0074]-[0084]) in communication with a temperature sensor (temperature sensor 15, see Figs. 1-3; [0047]), the electronic control unit configured to selectively apply the electrical energy to the one or more heating elements to maintain select components of the rechargeable battery pack within a desired temperature range (see [0074]-[0084]).
Regarding the preamble (i.e., configured to enable a temperature conditioning of a rechargeable battery pack for improved output, duration and recharge performance), if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See MPEP §2111.02(II).
Regarding claim 16, Murata teaches wherein the one or more heating elements (heat elements 16, see Fig. 1; [0048]) are at least one of resistance heating elements (cement-type resistor for the heating element 16, see Figs. 1-3; [0067]-[0068]), induction heating elements, or a combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata as applied to claims 1, 9, and 15 above, respectively, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2011/0070474, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 17, Murata is silent to at least one heat sink from which heat can be radiated away from the battery bus bar.
Lee teaches a heat sink 240 is formed in a shape corresponding to the outsides of bus bars 250. The heat sink 240 is mounted to the insides of the bus bars 250 excluding regions connected to the electrical connection regions between the unit modules. According to circumstances, the heat sink 240 may be mounted at the outsides of the bus bars 250 (see [0091]). Lee teaches it is possible for the heat sink to absorb high-temperature heat generated from the electrical connection regions and/or the battery module connection members and to maintain the temperature of the battery module at a predetermined level or less, thereby preventing explosion of the battery module. Also, it is possible to effectively prevent physical and chemical deformation of the electrical connection regions between the unit cells and the battery module connection members due to generation of high-temperature heat or heat build up (see [0070]-[0071]).
In view of Lee’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Murata to include at least one heat sink from which heat can be radiated away from the battery bus bar, as taught by Murata, because the heat sink helps to maintain the temperature of the battery module at a predetermined level or less, thereby preventing explosion of the battery module and prevent physical and chemical deformation of the electrical connection regions between the unit cells and the battery module connection members.
Regarding the functional language (e.g., from which heat can be radiated away from the battery bus bar), the Examiner has considered it. However, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Claim(s) 4, 12, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata as applied to claims 1, 9, and 15 above, respectively, and further in view of Kang (US 2018/0026456).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 18, Murata is silent to one or more switches configured to selectively isolate portions of the battery bus bar.
Kang teaches battery management units 130 may manage the batteries 110 based on detection and calculation results. The battery management units 130 may control the switch units 120 to manage the batteries 110. The battery management units 130 may output control signals according to internal algorithms to control the switch units 120 (see [0048]). In an example, when detected temperatures of the batteries 110 are not within a preset normal range, the battery management units 130 may perform an operation according to a preset internal algorithm in order to protect the batteries 110. For example, when temperatures of the batteries 110 are greater than a first set value, the battery management units 130 may control the switch units 120 to limit the magnitudes of charge and discharge currents of the batteries 110. For example, when temperatures of the batteries 110 are greater than a second set value, which is greater than the first set value, the battery management units 130 may control the switch units 120 to block charge and discharge of the batteries 110 (see [0049]). As illustrated in FIG. 2, the batteries 110a to 110n are electrically connected in parallel to the bus bars 60 respectively through the corresponding switch units 120a to 120n. For example, the batteries 110a to 110n are selectively connected to the bus bars 60 by the corresponding switch units 120a to 120n. In at least one embodiment, the expression “selectively connected” may indicate that an element connected or disconnected according to an external control signal, for example, from a battery management unit (see [0039]). When the battery system 10 is turned off, the battery management units 130 control the corresponding switch units 120 to electrically separate the corresponding batteries 110 from the bus bars 60 (see [0066]).
In view of Kang’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Murata to include one or more switches configured to selectively isolate portions of the battery bus bar because it allows for selectively connecting and disconnecting batteries associated with the bus bar. Furthermore, it can limit the magnitudes of charge and discharge currents of the batteries associated with the bus bar.
Claim(s) 5, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata as applied to claims 1, 9, and 15 above, respectively, and further in view of Bahrami et al. (US 2016/0190663, hereinafter “Bahrami”).
Regarding claims 5, 13, and 19, Murata is silent to wherein the battery bus bar defines a second conduit through which a temperature regulation fluid can selectively flow.
Barahmi teaches at least a first battery and a second battery in a battery assembly are configured to be electrically connected through their battery tabs with one or more hollow busbars forming a passage for a coolant flow (see [0015]). Coolant flowing through the hollow busbar 20 is configured to transfer heat produced by the battery 10, or any other battery in the battery assembly, to a heat sink. In some embodiments, the heat sink is configured to use or dissipate the heat produced by the battery 10. In some embodiments, the coolant is a fluid (e.g., a liquid or a gas) that is capable of conducting the heat away from the battery 10 (see [0046]).
In view of Barahmi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Murata to include wherein the battery bus bar defines a second conduit through which a temperature regulation fluid can selectively flow, because it can then be used to dissipate the heat produced by the battery.
Regarding the functional language (e.g., through which a temperature regulation fluid can selectively flow), the Examiner has considered it. However, the Applicant is reminded that apparatus claims are not limited by the function they perform, as per MPEP §2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. As the apparatus of the prior art and the claimed apparatus are patentably indistinguishable in terms of structure, the apparatus of the prior art is reasonably expected to be able to perform the claimed functionalities.
Claim(s) 6, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Murata and Bahrami as applied to claims 5, 13, and 19 above, respectively, and further in view of Tutzer et al. (US 2018/0069279, hereinafter “Tutzer”).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 20, the combination of Murata and Bahrami is silent to one or more valves configured to control a flow of temperature regulation fluid through the conduit.
Tutzer teaches a temperature control system 32 which controls the amount of fluid 34 flowing through the housing 12 by controlling the speed of the pump 36 with the controller 44. In some embodiments, the controller 44 may control one or more valves alone or in combination with the pump 36 to regulate the flow of the fluid 34. For example, the controller 44 may control the operation of valves to increase or limit the flow of another fluid through the heat exchanger 42 (see [0025]).
In view of Tutzer’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of the combination of Murata and Bahrami to include one or more valves configured to control a flow of temperature regulation fluid through the conduit because the valves can increase or limit the flow of fluid through the conduit.
Conclusion
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 23 June 2026
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735