DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on in 02/23/2024 is compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-26 and Claim 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., US US 20200280820 A1 (hereinafter “Zhang”) in view of Qualcomm, "Potential Enhancements on DL-AoD Positioning", 3rd Generation Partnership Project R1-2107347, pages 1-14 (hereinafter "Qualcomm").
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (Page 1, Paragraph 4, Fig. 1, location server 30; Page 12, Paragraphs 353-354, Fig. 42, location server, memory, communication circuit, processor), comprising:
a memory (Fig. 42, memory);
at least one transceiver (Fig. 42, communication circuit); and
at least one processor, communicatively connected to the memory and the at least one transceiver (Fig. 42, processor), the at least one processor configured to:
send a first request, via the at least one transceiver to at least one base station of a set of base stations (Page 1, Paragraph 4, Fig. 1, network nodes 20-1, 20-2; Pages 6-7, Paragraphs 168-171, Fig. 8, S7 requesting the beam pattern information), for a beam response report based on at least a first location information, wherein the first request includes one or more location information with respect to the at least one base station (Pages 9-10, Paragraphs 293-306, Beam pattern request, beam pattern information; Paragraphs 317-318, Fig. 32, positioning request, beam quality information request); and
receive, from the at least one base station, one or more beam response reports comprising beam response information of one or more transmission beams of the at least one base station corresponding to at least the first location information (Pages 6-7, Paragraphs 168-171, Fig. 8, S2, receiving the beam pattern information from the at least two network nodes; Page 10, Paragraphs 317-318, Fig 32, Beam quality information, beam pattern response).
Zhang fails to fully teach the limitation:
send a first request, via the at least one transceiver to at least one base station of a set of base stations, for a beam response report based on at least a first location information (Zhang teaches a location server requesting a beam pattern of certain time stamp and reference signal measured by the target device, Pages 9-10, Paragraphs 288-299)
However, Qualcomm further teaches the limitation:
send a first request, via the at least one transceiver to at least one base station of a set of base stations, for a beam response report based on at least a first location information (Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, beam/antenna information to be provided to the LMF by the gnodeB, antenna configuration parameters, mapping and beam gains for each of the position referencing signal [PRS] resources)
Although Zhang addresses the remaining limitations of Claim 1, Qualcomm demonstrates the following limitations of an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (Page 1, Introduction, LMF), comprising:
a memory;
at least one transceiver; and
at least one processor, communicatively connected to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:
send a first request, via the at least one transceiver to at least one base station of a set of base stations, for a beam response report based on at least a first location information, wherein the first request includes one or more location information with respect to the at least one base station (Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, beam/antenna information to be provided to the LMF by the gnodeB, antenna configuration parameters, mapping and beam gains for each of the position referencing signal [PRS] resources); and
receive, from the at least one base station, one or more beam response reports comprising beam response information of one or more transmission beams of the at least one base station corresponding to at least the first location information (Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, gnodeB reports beam/antenna information to the LMF).
Qualcomm and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of by coordinating two or more direction, position line or distance determinations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Qualcomm to send a first request, via the at least one transceiver to at least one base station of a set of base stations, for a beam response report based on at least a first location information. Doing so would allow for a more comprehensive manner for the measurement and reporting of position referencing signal resources.
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches a method of wireless communication at a network entity, comprising:
sending a first request, to at least one base station of a set of base stations, for a beam response report based on at least a first location information, wherein the first request includes one or more location information with respect to the at least one base station (Zhang, Pages 7-10, Paragraph 190-200, Fig. 14, S31, S32; Paragraphs 293-306, beam pattern request, beam pattern information; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, beam/antenna information to be provided to the LMF by the gnodeB, antenna configuration parameters, mapping and beam gains for each of the position referencing signal [PRS] resources); and
receiving, from the at least one base station, one or more beam response reports comprising beam response information of one or more transmission beams of the at least one base station corresponding to at least the first location information (Zhang, Pages 6-7, Paragraphs 168-171, Fig. 8, S2, receiving the beam pattern information from the at least two network nodes; Page 10, Paragraphs 317-318, Fig 32, Beam quality information, beam pattern response; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, gnodeB reports beam/antenna information to the LMF).
Regarding Claim 23, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station (Zhang, Page 1, Paragraph 4, Fig. 1, network nodes 20-1, 20-2; Page 12, Paragraphs 350-351, network node; Qualcomm, Page 1, gnodeB), comprising:
a memory (Zhang, Fig. 41, memory);
at least one transceiver (Zhang, Fig. 41, communication circuit); and
at least one processor, communicatively connected to the memory and the at least one transceiver (Zhang, Fig. 41, communication circuit), the at least one processor configured to:
receive, from a network entity, a request for a beam response report based on at least a first location information, the request includes one or more location information with respect to the base station (Zhang, Page 7, Paragraphs 183-188, Fig. 12, S21, network node, request for beam pattern information; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, beam/antenna information to be provided to the LMF by the gnodeB); and
provide, to the network entity via the at least one transceiver, the beam response report comprising beam response information of one or more transmission beams corresponding to at least the first location information (Zhang, Page 7, Paragraphs 183-188, Fig. 12, S22, network node providing beam pattern information to location server; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, gnodeB reports beam/antenna information to the LMF).
Regarding Claim 30, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory;
at least one transceiver; and
at least one processor, communicatively connected to the memory and the at least one transceiver (Zhang, Page 1, Paragraph 4, Fig. 1 , target device; Page 5, Paragraph 142, target device; Qualcomm, Page 1, UE), the at least one processor configured to:
receive beam response information for a set of downlink angle of departures (DL-AoDs) of at least one base station, wherein the beam response information corresponds to at least one of one or more location information (Zhang, Page 8, Paragraphs 218-226, Fig. 19, S-570, send position information such as position coordinates to target device; Page 10, Paragraphs 307-312, AoD and positioning estimation; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, beam information, assistance data provided to the UE by the LMF); and
select a first DL-AoD from the set of DL-AoDs based at least on one of the one or more location information with respect to the at least one base station (Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 2, UE-assisted DL-AoD positioning method).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more location information corresponds to a same downlink angle of departure (DL-AoD) with respect to the at least one base station, wherein the first location information and a second location information correspond to different distances from the at least one base station (Zhang, Page 10, Paragraphs 305-312, beam pattern information, angle of departure estimation, AoD of several different beams from two or more nodes that are not on the same geographical coordinates; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, antenna configuration parameters, mapping and beam gains for each of the PRS resources).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first request comprises a plurality of requests, wherein the plurality of requests have a corresponding location information with respect to the at least one base station, wherein each of the plurality of requests are separate requests (Zhang, Pages 6-7, Paragraphs 168-171, Fig. 8, S7, requesting beam pattern information from the at least two network nodes; Pages 9-10, Paragraphs 293-302, selection of the network nodes, beam pattern request; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, beam/antenna information to be provided to the LMF by the gnodeB).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more location information of the first request is associated with different distances from the at least one base station (Zhang, Pages 9-10, Paragraphs 293-297, selection of the network nodes, Paragraphs 310-312, positioning estimation at the location server; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, antenna configuration parameters, mapping and beam gains for each of the PRS resources).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more location information comprises at least one of a UE location, a geographic region, or at least one UE distance from the at least one base station (Zhang, Page 10, Paragraphs 305-312; Paragraphs 317-318, Fig. 32, positioning request, current position information; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, antenna configuration parameters, mapping and beam gains for each of the PRS resources).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the beam response report comprises a plurality of beam response reports, wherein each of the plurality of beam response reports is associated with at least one of the one or more location information (Zhang, Page 10, Paragraphs 317-318, Fig. 32, beam quality information, beam pattern response; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, beam/antenna information, antenna configuration parameters, mapping and beam gains for each of the PRS resources).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the network entity comprises a location management function (LMF) or a server associated with the LMF (Zhang, Page 1, Paragraph 5, location server, Location Management Function [LMF]; Qualcomm, Page 1, Introduction, Agreement 2, LMF).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
provide, to at least one user equipment (UE), the beam response information for a set of downlink angle of departures (DL-AoDs) of the at least one base station, wherein the beam response information corresponds to at least one of the one or more location information (Zhang, Pages 10-11, Paragraphs 314-320, 327-328 Figs. 31-33, position estimate report; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, gNB beam antenna information can optionally be provided to the UE by the LMF).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the set of DL-AoDs comprises a plurality of DL-AoDs of the at least one base station, wherein each of the plurality of DL-AoDs is related to a different UE positioning (Zhang, Page 6, Paragraphs 150-156, S3, beam quality measurements; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, mapping of angle and beams gains for each of the PRS resources).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the one or more location information correspond to a same DL-AoD, wherein the first location information and a second location information correspond to different distances from the at least one base station (Zhang, Page 6, Paragraphs 150-156, S3, beam quality measurements, assistance information corresponding to specific beam pattern used at the time of measurement of the reference beam; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, mapping of angle and beams gains for each of the PRS resources).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
adjust a number of beams within the beam response information to comprise a subset of beams to correspond to at least the first location information and a second location information from the one or more location information, wherein the number of beams is adjusted based on the beam response report (Zhang, Pages 9-10, Paragraphs 270-274, dynamic beam pattern design, Paragraphs 298-305, beam pattern request; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 2, enhancement of signaling to the UE for PRS resource[s] measurement and reporting, Option 1, LMF explicitly identify adjacent beams in the assistance data).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the one or more location information corresponds to a same downlink angle of departure (DL-AoD) with respect to the at least one base station, wherein the first location information and a second location information correspond to different distances from the at least one base station (Zhang, Page 10, Paragraphs 305-312, beam pattern information, angle of departure estimation, AoD of several different beams from two or more nodes that are not on the same geographical coordinates; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, antenna configuration parameters, mapping and beam gains for each of the PRS resources).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the first request comprises a plurality of requests, wherein the plurality of requests have a corresponding location information with respect to the at least one base station, wherein each of the plurality of requests are separate requests (Zhang, Pages 6-7, Paragraphs 168-171, Fig. 8, S7, requesting beam pattern information from the at least two network nodes; Pages 9-10, Paragraphs 293-302, selection of the network nodes, beam pattern request; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, beam/antenna information to be provided to the LMF by the gnodeB).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the one or more location information of the first request is associated with different distances from the at least one base station (Zhang, Pages 9-10, Paragraphs 293-297, selection of the network nodes, Paragraphs 310-312, positioning estimation at the location server; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, antenna configuration parameters, mapping and beam gains for each of the PRS resources).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the one or more location information comprises at least one of a UE location, a geographic region, or at least one UE distance from the at least one base station (Zhang, Page 10, Paragraphs 305-312; Paragraphs 317-318, Fig. 32, positioning request, current position information; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, antenna configuration parameters, mapping and beam gains for each of the PRS resources).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the beam response report comprises a plurality of beam response reports, wherein each of the plurality of beam response reports is associated with at least one of the one or more location information (Zhang, Page 10, Paragraphs 317-318, Fig. 32, beam quality information, beam pattern response; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, beam/antenna information, antenna configuration parameters, mapping and beam gains for each of the PRS resources)..
Regarding Claim 18, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the network entity comprises a location management function (LMF) or a server associated with the LMF (Zhang, Page 1, Paragraph 5, location server, Location Management Function [LMF]; Qualcomm, Page 1, Introduction, Agreement 2, LMF).
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising:
providing, to at least one user equipment (UE), the beam response information for a set of downlink angle of departures (DL-AoDs) of the at least one base station, wherein the beam response information corresponds to at least one of the one or more location information (Zhang, Pages 10-11, Paragraphs 314-320, 327-328 Figs. 31-33, position estimate report; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, gNB beam antenna information can optionally be provided to the UE by the LMF).
Regarding Claim 20, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the set of DL-AoDs comprises a plurality of DL-AoDs of the at least one base station, wherein each of the plurality of DL-AoDs is related to a different UE positioning (Zhang, Page 6, Paragraphs 150-156, S3, beam quality measurements; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, mapping of angle and beams gains for each of the PRS resources).
Regarding Claim 21, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the one or more location information correspond to a same DL-AoD, wherein the first location information and the second location information correspond to different distances from the at least one base station (Zhang, Page 6, Paragraphs 150-156, S3, beam quality measurements, assistance information corresponding to specific beam pattern used at the time of measurement of the reference beam; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, mapping of angle and beams gains for each of the PRS resources).
Regarding Claim 22, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising:
adjusting a number of beams within the beam response information to comprise a subset of beams to correspond to at least the first location information and a second location information from the one or more location information, wherein the number of beams is adjusted based on the beam response report (Zhang, Pages 9-10, Paragraphs 270-274, dynamic beam pattern design, Paragraphs 298-305, beam pattern request; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 2, enhancement of signaling to the UE for PRS resource[s] measurement and reporting, Option 1, LMF explicitly identify adjacent beams in the assistance data).
Regarding Claim 24, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the one or more location information comprises at least one of a UE location, a geographic region, or at least one UE distance from the base station (Zhang, Page 10, Paragraphs 305-312; Paragraphs 317-318, Fig. 32, positioning request, current position information; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, antenna configuration parameters, mapping and beam gains for each of the PRS resources).
Regarding Claim 25, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the beam response report comprises a plurality of beam response reports, wherein each of the plurality of beam response reports is associated with the one or more location information (Zhang, Page 10, Paragraphs 317-318, Fig. 32, beam quality information, beam pattern response; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 3, beam/antenna information, antenna configuration parameters, mapping and beam gains for each of the PRS resources).
Regarding Claim 26, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the network entity comprises a location management function (LMF) or a server associated with the LMF (Zhang, Page 1, Paragraph 5, location server, Location Management Function [LMF]; Qualcomm, Page 1, Introduction, Agreement 2, LMF).
Claims 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as modified by Qualcomm and further in view of 3GPP, "FL Summary #3 for AI 8.5.3 Accuracy improvements for DL-AoD positioning solutions", 3rd Generation Partnership Project R1-2110625, pages 1-72 (hereinafter "Ericsson").
Regarding Claim 27, Zhang in view of Qualcomm teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
adjust a number of transmission beams based at least on the first location information of the one or more location information (Zhang, Pages 9-10, Paragraphs 270-274, network node may have dynamic change in size of the beam and its configuration; Paragraphs 317-318, Fig. 32, network node, beam activation, beam quality info, beam pattern; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 2, enhancement of signaling to the UE for PRS resource[s] measurement and reporting, Option 1, LMF explicitly identify adjacent beams in the assistance data).
Zhang in view of Qualcomm fails to fully teach the limitation:
adjust a number of transmission beams
However, Ericsson further teaches the limitation:
adjust a number of transmission beams (Page 1, Introduction, Aspect #3, Adjacent beam identification in assistance data, LMF request of a subset of PRS measurement related to a PRS measurement, indication of the subsets; Pages 31-32, Aspect #3 adjacent beam reporting, Section 2.1.3.1 Summary).
Ericsson, Qualcomm, and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Position-fixing by coordinating two or more direction, position line or distance determinations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang in view of Qualcomm to incorporate the teachings of Ericsson to adjust a number of transmission beams. Doing so would provide an enhanced method for full comparison of beam strengths across angles and PRS resources.
Regarding Claim 28, Zhang as modified by Qualcomm and further in view of Ericsson teaches
The apparatus of claim 23, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: adjust a shape of at least one transmission beam (Ericsson, Pages 43-45 and 48, Section 2.1.4.1, Summary, gNB beam/antenna information) based at least on the first location information of the one or more location information (Zhang, Pages 9-10, Paragraphs 270-274, network node may have dynamic change in size of the beam and its configuration; Paragraphs 317-318, Fig. 32, network node, beam activation, beam quality info, beam pattern; Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 2, enhancement of signaling to the UE for PRS resource[s] measurement and reporting, Option 1, LMF explicitly identify adjacent beams in the assistance data).
Regarding Claim 29, Zhang as modified by Qualcomm and further in view of Ericsson teaches the apparatus of claim 28. Zhang does not teach the apparatus of claim 29. Qualcomm in view of Ericsson teaches the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the beam response report comprises an indication indicating a beam adjustment of the at least one beam (Qualcomm, Page 1, Agreement 2, Option 1, LMF explicitly identify adjacent beams in the assistance data; Agreement 3, gNB beam information; Ericsson, Page 48, Table Source 18, Proposal 1, beam shape signaling, comparison of beam strengths across angles and positioning reference signal [PRS] resources).
Conclusion
/GABRIELLE N DAI/Examiner, Art Unit 2681
/AKWASI M SARPONG/SPE, Art Unit 2681 4/6/2026