DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 13 November 2025 containing remarks and amendments to the claims.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims. The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkilde (EP 3,696,250) in view of Vaidyanathan (US 2014/0048446).
Regarding claim 1, Alkilde teaches hydroprocessing renewable feed with a hydrogenation catalyst to produce a hydrotreated effluent [0006] followed by fractionation of the hydrotreated effluent [0006]. Alkilde teaches a cold separator D to recover gas and liquid, and sending liquid to stripper E, to separate a light fraction from a heavy fraction [0030], light fraction is sent to condenser (see figure 1), followed by further stabilization G and rectification F ( see figure 1) and [0030]. The bottoms from lead stripper E are sent to fractionation column L to recover diesel products [0032].
Alkilde does not explicitly disclose the fractionator is a vacuum column.
However, Examiner notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected a known distillation column, such as vacuum distillation, for the benefit of obtaining the desired product fractions. It is not seen where such a modification would result in any new or unexpected results.
Alkilde does not explicitly disclose separation of water in the condensation step.
However, Examiner notes Vaidyanathan teaching well known condensation and water separation steps in naphtha recovery separations [0015].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have separated water from the products, as is conventional in the art, in order to obtain a purified product.
Regarding claim 5, Alkilde teaches hydrotreatment/hydrogenation [0013].
Regarding claim 6, Alkilde teaches cold separator and stripper [0030]. Examiner additionally notes that it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have appropriately selected the separation equipment in order to obtain the desired fractionation.
Regarding claim 7, Alkilde teaches bio renewable fat feeds [0003].
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkilde (EP 3,696,250) in view of Vaidyanathan (US 2014/0048446) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Houghland (US 2,348,681).
Regarding claims 2-4, the previous combination teaches the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above.
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose recirculation of rectification bottoms or naphtha produce.
However, Houghland teaches a process for stabilizing gasoline/naphtha range material. Houghland recirculates rectification bottoms to the fractionation column, and naphtha to the condensation step (see figure, and page 1, columns 1-2 description of the figure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the Houghland recirculation steps, in order to achieve more purified products.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alkilde (EP 3,696,250) in view of Vaidyanathan (US 2014/0048446) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pupat (US 2018/0171246).
Regarding claims 8-9, the previous combination does not teach co processing with petroleum feedstocks.
However, Pupat teaches that veggie feeds may be co processed with petroleum feeds in hydrotreatment units [0045].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected an appropriate mixture of feedstocks, based off of availability, and for the benefit of producing the desired products.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18685286 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to overlapping subject matter regarding hydrotreatment of renewable feedstocks and separation of naphtha boiling range products.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner considers Applicant’s arguments to be:
The prior art does not disclose the claimed water separation and vacuum fractionation. Such elements decrease the energy usage, by eliminating the need for Alkilde sidestripper.
In response, Examiner notes that the rejections rely on Vaidyanathan for claim limitations drawn to the water separation. Vaidyanathan teaches separation of water vapor from the naphtha stream and fractionation of the heavier components [0001-0019], see figure. Vaidyanathan teaches that the water removal step improves the process by eliminating the need for downstream stripping devices [0011]. In this regard, the prior art teaches the same improvements regarding the and the same water separation step as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771