CTNF 18/686,466 CTNF 98178 DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-8 are pending and under consideration in this action. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20150141731A1 (“Laroche ‘731) in view of US20170225117A1 (“Laroche ‘117) . Regarding claim 1 , Laroche ‘731 teaches a method for removing acid gas from a hydrocarbon stream that includes acid gases (see e.g. paragraph [0001]). The method comprises the step of contacting the stream with an aqueous liquid absorption medium (see e.g. paragraph [0011]). The aqueous liquid absorption medium comprises a tertiary alkanolamine in an amount of 35-65% by weight, which is within the claimed range (see e.g. paragraphs [0022] and [0027]). The amine of Laroche ‘731 has a propane-2,3-diol group attached to the nitrogen, as well as two methyl, ethyl, or hydroxy ethyl groups, which matches the claimed amine when R 1 is a C 1 or C 2 alkyl, R 2 is H, and n is 1 (see e.g. paragraph [0022]). The composition of Laroche further includes water to make the remaining portion of the solution, putting the water concentration within the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0027]). Laroche ‘731 teaches that the amine is for removing acid gas from liquified hydrocarbon streams, as opposed to the claimed industrial gas stream in an essentially gaseous state, and that the contact is in a gas/liquid absorber. However, Laroche ‘117 teaches a similar method for removing acid gas from industrial gas streams in a gaseous state (see e.g. paragraph [0007]). Laroche ‘117 teaches that alkanolamines having low volatility, such as that taught by Laroche ‘731, are particularly useful for removing acid gas from gas streams rather than liquid streams (see e.g. paragraph [0007]). Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the alkanolamine of Laroche ‘731 to remove acid gases from a gaseous stream as taught by Laroche ‘117 because Laroche ‘117 teaches that this type of alkanolamine is particularly useful for removing acid gas from gaseous streams without amine loss. When used with a gas stream rather than a liquid hydrocarbon, the method would include contacting the stream in a gas/liquid absorber (see e.g. Laroche ‘117 at paragraph [0005]). Regarding claim 2 , Laroche ‘117 teaches that the gas stream can be synthesis gas (see e.g. paragraph [0039]). Regarding claim 3 , Laroche ‘731 teaches adding acid in an amount of 0.1-12% by weight, which includes the entirety of the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0028]). Similarly, Laroche ‘117 teaches adding acid in a similar amount of 0.1-25% by weight, with all specific examples being at 1% by weight (see e.g. paragraph [0008] and Table 2). Regarding claim 4 , both Laroche ‘731 and Laroche ‘117 teach that the acid is phosphoric acid in an amount that includes the entirety of the claimed range (see e.g. Laroche ‘371 at paragraph [0028] and Laroche ‘117 at paragraph [0008]). Regarding claim 5 , Laroche ‘731 teaches the claimed amine when R 2 of Laroche ‘731 is hydroxyethyl and R 3 is methyl (see e.g. paragraph [0022]). Regarding claim 6 , Laroche ‘731 teaches that the temperature is 50° F to 190° F, which is 10-88° C, and overlaps with the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0029]). Similarly, Laroche ‘117 teaches that the temperature is 70° F. to 150° F, or 21-66° C, which similarly overlaps with the claimed range (see e.g. paragraph [0042]). Regarding claim 7 , Laroche ‘731 teaches that the composition comprises the amine in an amount of 35-65% by weight, phosphoric acid in an amount of 0.1-25% by weight, and the rest water, each of which are within or overlap with the claimed ranges (see e.g. paragraphs [0027]-[0028]). Laroche further teaches the claimed alkanolamine when R 2 of Laroche ‘731 is hydroxyethyl and R 3 is methyl (see e.g. paragraph [0022]). Laroche ‘117 teaches that the industrial gas stream can be synthesis gas (see e.g. paragraph [0039]). Regarding claim 8 , Laroche ‘731 teaches that the acid gas is absorbed by the medium, thus forming an acid gas rich aqueous absorption medium (see e.g. paragraph [0011]). Laroche ‘731 does not specifically teach removing the acid gas from the medium, but does describe the process of amine loss over time, implying that the absorption medium is to be reused (see e.g. paragraph [0012]). Laroche ‘117 teaches that desorption of the acid gases is typically performed to allow for this reuse by regenerating the acid gas absorption medium (see e.g. paragraph [0044]). Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious remove the acid gases from the absorption medium of Laroche ‘731 to regenerate the acid gas lean absorption medium allowing for reuse as taught by Laroche ‘117. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERIC S SHERMAN whose telephone number is (703)756-4784. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30-5:00 ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anthony Zimmer can be reached at (571)270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /E.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1736 /ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736 Application/Control Number: 18/686,466 Page 2 Art Unit: 1736 Application/Control Number: 18/686,466 Page 3 Art Unit: 1736 Application/Control Number: 18/686,466 Page 4 Art Unit: 1736 Application/Control Number: 18/686,466 Page 5 Art Unit: 1736 Application/Control Number: 18/686,466 Page 6 Art Unit: 1736