DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1 (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on 02/16/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Wake-up sensor in claims 1, 7, 9, 11: interpreted as an optical sensor or resistive force sensor ([0074])
Health sensor in claims 12-13: interpreted as solid-state vapor detection sensor ([0076])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerber et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2008/0300649), hereinafter ‘Gerber’, in view of Fu et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0313913), hereinafter ‘Fu’, further in view of Ciquin et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2011/0124955), hereinafter ‘Ciquin’.
Regarding claim 1, Gerber teaches a system for sensing defecation events of a subject ([0005], automatic voiding diary that detects fecal voiding events based on signal from sensor, Fig. 8), the system comprising:
a wearable device configured to be carried on a torso of the subject ([0142], device 174 worn by patient and carried by belt 172, Fig. 8).
Gerber does not teach that the device has a wake-up sensor that senses a stimulus to switch the device from a sleep to active mode.
Fu teaches a system for monitoring a patient ([0006]), the system further comprising:
the wearable device being operable in a sleep mode and an active mode ([0044], transitions between inactive and active mode), the wearable device comprising:
a wake-up sensor configured to sense a first stimulus ([0044], transitions are based on sensor data that suggests if the garment is on patient); and
a processor configured to switch the wearable device from the sleep mode to the active mode based on the first stimulus sensed by the wake-up sensor ([0041-0042], processor 252 included in controller can operate in inactive/active mode).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gerber to incorporate the teachings of Fu to include sleep and active modes. Doing so would allow for the detection of sensor data that is more representative of the patient condition and for power conservation, as recognized by Fu ([0060]).
Gerber and Fu further teach the device comprising:
a muscle motion sensor configured to sense abdominal muscle movement signals of the subject (Gerber, sensing circuitry 40, [0091], sound produced by muscle that contracts/relaxes to control voiding);
a processor operably coupled to the wake-up sensor (Fu, [0044], transitions between inactive and active mode) and the muscle motion sensor; and
in the active mode the wearable device is configured to communicate with the processor to determine occurrence of defecation events of the subject based on abdominal muscle movement signals sensed by the muscle motion sensor (Gerber, [0162], device 212 can detect fecal voiding events using sensors for detecting bowel muscle contraction).
Gerber and Fu do not teach that the muscle motion sensor is a mechanomyogram sensor.
Ciquin teaches a device to prevent urinary leakage (Fig. 1), the device further comprising:
a mechanomyogram sensor configured to sense abdominal muscle movement signals of the subject ([0021], measure muscle activity using MMG sensor, [0023], measure rectus abdominis muscles).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gerber and Fu to incorporate the teachings of Ciquin to use a mechanoyogram (MMG) sensor to sense abdominal muscle movement signals. Doing so would allow for the patient’s activity to be measured, as recognized by Ciquin ([0069]).
Regarding claim 2, Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin teach the device according to claim 1. Gerber teaches the device further comprising:
wherein the abdominal muscle movement signals of the subject is a second stimulus (sensing circuitry 40, [0091], sound produced by muscle that contracts/relaxes to control voiding), the system further comprising a third sensor operably coupled to the processor and configured to sense a third stimulus ([0013], automatic voiding diary processes signals generated by one or more sensors), and in the active mode the processor is configured to determine occurrence of defecation events of the subject based on abdominal muscle movement signals sensed by the muscle motion sensor and the third stimulus sensed by the third sensor ([0013], processes signals to detect voiding events).
The combination of Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin above teaches that the muscle movement sensor is a mechanomyogram, as detailed above in the rejection of claim 1. Therefore Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin meet the limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 4, Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin teach the device according to claim 2. Gerber teaches the device further comprising:
wherein the third sensor is an audio sensor configured to sense toilet flushing sounds ([0133], sound associated with fecal voiding event can be toilet flushing).
Regarding claim 5, Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin teach the device according to claim 2. Gerber teaches the device further comprising:
wherein the third sensor is an electromyogram electrode configured to sense muscle electrical signals of the subject ([0162], device 212 can detect fecal voiding events using electromyography sensors for detecting bowel muscle contraction).
Regarding claim 6, Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin teach the device according to claim 2. Gerber teaches the device further comprising:
wherein the third sensor is an inertial measurement unit configured to sense a change in posture of the subject ([0083], voiding parameter can include activity and posture of patient).
Regarding claim 7, Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin teach the device according to claim 1. Gerber teaches the device further comprising:
wherein the wearable device further comprises a patch configured to be carried on the torso of the subject, the patch carrying the wake-up sensor and the muscle motion sensor ([0081], automatic voiding diary device is taped to skin of patient or otherwise wearable). The combination of Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin above teaches that the muscle movement sensor is a mechanomyogram, as detailed above in the rejection of claim 1. Therefore Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin meet the limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 8, Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin teach the device according to claim 7. Gerber teaches the device further comprising:
wherein the patch further carries the processor ([0086], automatic voiding diary 14 includes processor 44).
Regarding claim 9, Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin teach the device according to claim 1. Gerber teaches the device further comprising:
a belt configured to extend around the torso of the subject, the belt carrying the wake-up sensor and the muscle movement sensor. ([0142], Fig. 8, device 174 carried by belt 172). The combination of Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin above teaches that the muscle movement sensor is a mechanomyogram, as detailed above in the rejection of claim 1. Therefore Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin meet the limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 10, Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin teach the device according to claim 9. Gerber teaches the device further comprising:
wherein the belt further carries the processor ([0086], automatic voiding diary 14 includes processor 44).
Regarding claim 11, Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin teach the device according to claim 9. Fu teaches the device further comprising:
wherein the wake-up sensor comprises one of an optical sensor and a resistive force sensor configured to sense when the subject removes lower-body clothing ([0080], Fig. 6, steps 630 and 660, [0095], forces applied to garment).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerber et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2008/0300649) in view of Fu et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0313913) further in view of Ciquin et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2011/0124955), further in view of Baek et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0100694), hereinafter ‘Baek’.
Regarding claim 3, Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin teach the device according to claim 2, but do not teach a gas sensor for sensing flatus.
Baek teaches a defecation measurement system (Fig. 3), further comprising:
wherein the third sensor comprises a gas sensor disposed in the wearable device and configured to sense flatus ([0055], Fig. 3, defecation determination module 430 determines presence of defecation using gas sensor).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin to incorporate the teachings of Baek to include a gas sensor. Doing so would allow for the determination of presence/type of defecation, as recognized by Baek ([0055]).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerber et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2008/0300649) in view of Fu et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0313913) further in view of Ciquin et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2011/0124955), further in view of Baek et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2021/0100694), further in view of Liu (US Pre-Grant Publication 2017/0248541), hereinafter ‘Liu’.
Regarding claim 12, Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin teach the device according to claim 1, but do not teach a health sensor.
Baek teaches a defecation measurement system (Fig. 3), further comprising:
wherein the wearable device further comprises a health sensor configured to sense a health stimulus associated with health of the subject ([0039], user wears device, [0041], VOC detection).
Liu teaches a sensor for VOC detection (Fig. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin to incorporate the teachings of Baek to include a health sensor. Doing so would allow for the determination of a patient’s health, as recognized by Liu ([0011], VOCs present in biological sample can be indicative of health or progression of a disease).
Regarding claim 13, Gerber, Fu, Ciquin, Baek, and Liu teach the device according to claim 12. Liu teaches the device further comprising:
wherein the health sensor comprises a blood sensor configured to sense blood in stool of the subject ([0002], gaseous VOC emissions emanating from patient’s blood).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin to incorporate the teachings of Baek to include a blood sensor. Doing so would allow for the determination of a patient’s health, as recognized by Liu ([0011], VOCs present in biological sample can be indicative of health or progression of a disease).
Regarding claim 14, Gerber, Fu, Ciquin, Baek, and Liu teach the device according to claim 13. Baek teaches the device further comprising:
wherein the blood sensor comprises a solid-state vapor detection sensor configured to sense one or more volatile organic compounds ([0041], gas detection, VOC detection).
Liu teaches a sensor for VOC detection (Fig. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gerber, Fu, and Ciquin to incorporate the teachings of Baek to include a solid-state vapor detection sensor. Doing so would allow for the determination of a patient’s health, as recognized by Liu ([0011], VOCs present in biological sample can be indicative of health or progression of a disease).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Roe et al. (US Patent No. 6,407,308) teaches a disposable article for detecting body waste elimination.
Shelton, IV et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0233119) teaches a method of adjusting parameters based on biomarkers.
Nakanishi et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2017/0202503) teaches a bowel movement prediction device.
Jin (Korean Patent No. 2019/0057771) teaches a wearable device for detecting defecation.
Won (Korean Patent No. 102116665) teaches an apparatus for detecting bowel movements.
/E.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792