DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 24 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Snydacker does not teach the shared technical feature of steps (a)(ii) and (b)(ii). This is not found persuasive because neither the invention of Group I nor of Group II requires this technical feature, as each Invention requires only either step a(i) and b(i) or steps a(ii) or b(ii). It is not necessary for the prior art to teach both optional features for unity of invention to be lacking.
Snydacker does teach the production of a sodium sulfate intermediate from a lithium sulfate solution using a sodium reagent, as previously identified (lithium sulfate … is added as a reagent with sodium carbonate to yield lithium carbonate precipitates and a mother liquor comprising sodium sulfate; [0161]), which is the same shared technical feature identified by Applicant (p.10, ¶ 1 of the reply).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 24 August 2026.
Information Disclosure Statements
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 1 April 2026 and 26 February 2024 have been received and considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch et al. (DE 102018005586 A1; foreign patent document #1 cited on the IDS filed 1 April 2026). The English machine translation of Koch (DE 102018005586 A1) provided herewith is relied upon in the analysis below.
Regarding claim 1, Koch teaches a method of processing an aqueous feed solution comprising lithium sulfate to produce a primary lithium product and a byproduct, the method comprising the steps of:
(a) reacting the aqueous feed solution with a primary reagent to produce a mixed solution comprising the primary lithium product and sodium sulfate, wherein the primary reagent comprises sodium hydroxide and the primary lithium product comprises lithium hydroxide (resulting solution of lithium sulfate and sodium sulfate is mixed with an amount of 20-50% sodium hydroxide solution calculated based on the amount of lithium sulfate (a pH of 12-13 is achieved) and then cooled to -5 to +5°C, preferably -1 to +2°C, whereby sodium sulfate precipitates as decahydrate (Glauber's salt) …The filtrate mother liquor …and the wash filtrate are concentrated under vacuum and lithium hydroxide crystallizes as monohydrate ([0029]);
(b) separating the primary lithium product from the mixed solution, and producing a separated sodium sulfate solution from the mixed solution, wherein the primary lithium product comprises lithium hydroxide and producing the separated sodium sulfate solution from the mixed solution comprises separating decahydrate of sodium sulfate from the mixed solution (sodium sulfate precipitates as decahydrate (Glauber's salt)… Sodium sulfate decahydrate is filtered off; [0029]), and dissolving the separated decahydrate of sodium sulfate in water (The purified Glauber's salt fractions obtained from the lithium hydroxide and metal hydroxide production are converted in a dissolving vessel with electrolyte water at 60 °C into a 25-35%, preferably 28-33%, solution; [0039]) and (B) separating the primary lithium product from the mixed solution comprises crystallizing the lithium hydroxide from a solution remaining after step (b)(ii)(A) (and the wash filtrate are concentrated under vacuum and lithium hydroxide crystallizes as monohydrate; [0029]); and,
(c) performing a conversion process on the separated sodium sulfate solution to produce to produce sodium hydroxide and sulfuric acid, the conversion process comprising removing multivalent ion impurities from the separated sodium sulfate solution (this solution can also be freed from any divalent and trivalent cations present in a cation exchange system; [0039]) and (i) providing the separated sodium sulfate solution to a three-compartment electrolysis cell comprising at least an anion exchange membrane and a cation exchange membrane (The plant for the electrolysis of sodium sulfate consists of a continuously operated cascade of six to eight three-chamber electrodialysis cells connected in series, each of which is supplied with a voltage of 4.3 - 4.5 V. Each cell has an anion exchange membrane (AEM) on the anode side…and a cation exchange membrane… on the cathode side; [0039]) and configured to operate at 70-95 °C (kept at a temperature of 70-95 °C; [0041]); and,
(d) recovering an output stream comprising the sodium hydroxide and an output stream comprising the sulfuric acid, (Sulfuric acid and oxygen are formed in the anode compartment, while sodium hydroxide and hydrogen are formed in the cathode compartment; [0040]) wherein the output streams are substantially free of sodium sulfate (The sulfuric acid obtained, which contains < 200 ppm sodium sulfate… The resulting sodium hydroxide solution, which contains < 200 ppm sodium sulfate; [0041]).
It is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Brandt, 886 F.3d 1171, 1177, 126 USPQ2d 1079, 1082 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (see MPEP 2144.05.01). Because Applicant has not shown a non-obvious difference between operating at 70 °C and operating just below 70 °C, the claimed ranges of below 70 °C is considered an obvious variant of the temperature range of 70-95 °C in the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 2, Koch teaches the method of claim 1, where Koch also teaches reacting a lithium-containing material with sulfuric acid to prepare the aqueous feed solution (Alpha-spodumene-enriched material… is converted to the beta configuration by thermal treatment …then mixed in a mixer with an excess of …sulfuric acid … whereby lithium sulfate and aluminum silicate (> 97% conversion of spodumene) are formed; [0027]).
Regarding claim 3, Koch teaches the method of claim 2 where the lithium-containing material comprises a mineral (spodumene; [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Koch teaches the method of claim 3, where Koch also teaches the method comprising a step of subjecting the mineral to a calcination process for phase conversion of the mineral (Alpha-spodumene-enriched material… is converted to the beta configuration by thermal treatment; [0027]).
Regarding claim 5, Koch teaches the method of claim 3 where the lithium-containing material comprises spodumene ([0027]).
Regarding claim 8, Koch teaches the method of claim 2, where Koch teaches examples using spodumene ([0027]), but Koch also teaches that the same method can be applied to solution of lithium sulfate derived from recycling of lithium-ion batteries ([0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method of claim 2 where used batteries replace the spodumene in the method of Koch. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Koch suggests using this alternate source of lithium in their method.
Regarding claim 10, Koch teaches the method of claim 1 where the primary reagent comprises sodium hydroxide and the primary lithium reagent comprises lithium hydroxide ([0029]), as analyzed for claim 1 above.
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch et al. (DE 102018005586 A1; foreign patent document #1 cited on the IDS filed 1 April 2026), as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Snydacker et al. (US 20190256987 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Koch teaches the method of claim 3, and further teaches that the lithium sulfate solution used in their method can be prepared from various lithium sources and minerals (lithium sulfate, which can be obtained from lithium-containing brines, from the recycling of lithium batteries, or from lithium-containing minerals; [0001]), but does not specifically teach obtaining the lithium sulfate solution by reacting any of the specific minerals recited in the instant claim with sulfuric acid.
However, Snydacker also teaches methods of processing lithium sulfate containing aqueous feeds to produce lithium hydroxide or lithium carbonate along with sodium sulfate that is then subjected to electrodialysis ([0161]). Snydacker further teaches that the lithium brines used in their method may be obtained by leaching of lithium-containing minerals or clays ([0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the spodumene mineral used in the method of Koch with a lithium clay, as taught by Snydacker. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Koch suggests using other unnamed lithium-containing minerals as a source of their lithium sulfate solution and Snydacker teaches that one source of lithium brines is lithium clays, which could be leached with sulfuric acid in much the same way as the spodumene mineral taught by Koch.
Regarding claim 9, Koch teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach the primary reagent comprising sodium carbonate and the primary lithium product comprising lithium carbonate, though Koch does teach forming lithium carbonate as an alternative to forming lithium hydroxide ([0001]).
However, Snydacker also teaches methods of processing lithium-containing brines, and like Koch also teaches treating a lithium sulfate containing aqueous feed with a primary reagent to produce a primary lithium product along with sodium sulfate that is then subjected to electrodialysis to yield acid and base ([0161]).
In particular, Snydacker teaches reacting an aqueous feed solution comprising lithium sulfate with sodium carbonate to produce a mixed solution comprising the lithium carbonate and sodium sulfate and separating the lithium carbonate from the mixed solution and producing a separated sodium sulfate solution from the mixed solution wherein separating the lithium carbonate from the mixed solution comprises crystallizing the lithium carbonate from the mixed solution and the separated sodium sulfate solution comprises a solution remaining after this crystallization (lithium sulfate … is added as a reagent with sodium carbonate to yield lithium carbonate precipitates and a mother liquor comprising sodium sulfate …. In some embodiments, the sodium sulfate …mother liquor is converted into acid and base using electrodialysis; [0161]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the conversion of lithium sulfate to lithium hydroxide taught by Koch with a conversion to lithium carbonate, as taught by Snydacker, thereby arriving at the instantly claimed method. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to form lithium carbonate, an alternative product identified by Koch, without the need to produce a lithium hydroxide intermediate.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koch et al. (DE 102018005586 A1; foreign patent document #X1 cited on the IDS filed 1 April 2026), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Dai et al. (CN 109650414 A). The English machine translation of Koch (DE 102018005586 A1) provided herewith and the English language equivalent of Dai (US 2020/0385280 A1) are referenced in the analysis below.
Regarding claim 7, Koch teaches the method of claim 2, and further teaches that the lithium sulfate solution used in their method can be prepared from various lithium sources (lithium sulfate, which can be obtained from lithium-containing brines, from the recycling of lithium batteries, or from lithium-containing minerals; [0001]), but does not specifically teach obtaining the lithium sulfate solution by reacting lithium carbonate with sulfuric acid.
However, like Koch, Dai also teaches a method of preparing high purity lithium hydroxide and lithium carbonate from impure lithium sources wherein a solution of lithium sulfate is prepared by reacting a crude lithium source with sulfuric acid and treating the lithium sulfate solution with sodium hydroxide to crystallize out sodium sulfate decahydrate (abstract and [0005]). Dai further teaches that the lithium source that is used in their method is crude lithium carbonate ([0005]) and that it may be obtained by precipitation from lithium-containing brines ([0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the spodumene mineral used in the method of Koch with a crude lithium carbonate source precipitated from brine, as taught by Dai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Dai teaches that formation of such a crude lithium carbonate followed by dissolving to form lithium sulfate is an effective means to utilize the lithium-containing brine resources identified by Koch as a lithium source for their method.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A. PIRO/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735