DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group III, claims 13-20, in the reply filed on 10/17/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that claim 13 contains all the features of original claims 1 and 12. This is not found persuasive because Examiner has established in the rejection below that the claimed features are not special technical features and thus there is no unity of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 contains the limitations “a conductive wire” and “the conductive wire” which do not clear antecedent basis. Claim 13, from which claim 15 depends sets forth “a plurality of conductive wires”. It is unclear if the conductive wire in claim 15 is referring to one of the plurality of conductive wires set forth in claim 13 or is an additional conductive wire. For the purpose of this Office Action, claim 15 will be treated as if it reads “one of the conductive wires” in order to provide proper antecedent basis for the claim limitations.
Claims 16-19 are additionally rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim and including all of limitations thereof.
Claim 19 contains the limitation “wherein insulation layers are arranged between the first positive-electrode connection point at a boundary of a solar cell slice and the boundary of the solar cell slice, and between the first negative-electrode connection point at the boundary of the solar cell slice and the boundary of the solar cell slice”. It is unclear how insulation layers can be between the electrode connection points and the boundary of the solar cell slice if the electrode connection points are “at” the boundary. The structure required by the claim is unclear. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
For the purpose of this Office Action, claim 19 will be treated as if it reads “further comprising insulation layers, wherein sizes of the insulation layers along a direction parallel to the central line of the semiconductor substrate are greater than sizes of insulation layers between two adjacent first positive-electrode connection points and between two adjacent first negative-electrode connection points along the direction parallel to the central line of the semiconductor substrate”.
Claim 20 contains the limitation “a semiconductor region arranged at a shadow surface of the silicon substrate”. Claim 13, from which claim 20 depends sets forth “a shadow surface” and it is unclear if the shadow surface referred to in claim 20 is the same or different from the shadow surface set forth in claim 13. For the purpose of this Office Action, claim 20 will be treated as if it reads “the shadow surface”.
Claim 20 contains the limitation “the first semiconductor region is continuously arranged on the silicon substrate in the region corresponding to the first positive-electrode connection points and the second positive- electrode connection points; the second semiconductor region is continuously arranged on the silicon substrate in the region corresponding to the first negative-electrode connection points and the second negative- electrode connection point”. The terms “the first positive-electrode connection points”, “the second positive- electrode connection points”, “the first negative-electrode connection points” and “the second negative- electrode connection point” do not have antecedent basis in claim 20 or in claim 13, from which claim 20 depends. For the purpose of this Office Action, claim 20 will be treated as if the above terms read “first positive-electrode connection points”, “second positive- electrode connection points”, “first negative-electrode connection points” and “a second negative- electrode connection point”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (US 2016/0149064).
Regarding claim 13, Oh discloses a photovoltaic assembly in Figure 20, wherein the photovoltaic assembly comprises a plurality of solar cell slices (10a-c) and a plurality of conductive wires (wiring members 25) ([185]);
the plurality of solar cell slices comprise:
a first slice (10a) and second slices (10b, c), the first slice and the second slices of the plurality of solar cell slices are separated (Figure 20 and [185]);
a semiconductor substrate (15), and a positive electrode (11) and a negative electrode (13) that are arranged on a shadow surface of the semiconductor substrate (Figure 21 and [194]-[196]);
the first slice (10a) comprises a first substrate portion (15), and a first positive electrode portion (11) and a first negative electrode portion (13) that are arranged in the first substrate portion, the first positive electrode portion and the first negative electrode portion are arranged in parallel (Figure 20, [180] and [185]);
each of the second slices (10b, c) comprises the second substrate portion (15), and the second positive electrode portion (11) and the second negative electrode portion (13) that are arranged in the second substrate portion, the second positive electrode portion and the second negative electrode portion are arranged in parallel (Figure 20, [180] and [185]); and
in the first slice (10a) and the second slices (10b,c), the extension direction of the first positive electrode portion and the extension direction of the second negative electrode portion coincide, the extension direction of the first negative electrode portion and the extension direction of the second positive electrode portion coincide (Figure 20);
one end of one of the conductive wires (21) is connected to the first positive electrode portion of the first slice, the other end of the one of the conductive wires (21) is connected to the second negative electrode portion of an adjacent second slice (Figure 20, [185]-[190]);
one end of another one of the conductive wires (23) is connected to the first negative electrode portion of the first slice, and the other end of the another one of the conductive wires (23) is connected to the second positive electrode portion of another adjacent second slice (Figure 20, [185]-[190]).
Regarding limitations recited in claim 13, which are directed to method of making said photovoltaic assembly (e.g. “a first slice and second slices that are obtained by cutting a solar cell sheet along a central line of a semiconductor substrate, the first slice and the second slices of the plurality of solar cell slices are separated; the solar cell sheet comprises: the semiconductor substrate, and a positive electrode and a negative electrode that are arranged on a shadow surface of the semiconductor substrate; the semiconductor substrate comprises a first substrate portion and a second substrate portion that are symmetrically arranged along the central line of the semiconductor substrate; the positive electrode comprises a first positive electrode portion arranged in the first substrate portion and a second positive electrode portion arranged in the second substrate portion, the negative electrode comprises a first negative electrode portion arranged in the first substrate portion and a second negative electrode portion arranged in the second substrate portion; the first positive electrode portion and the first negative electrode portion are arranged in parallel in the first substrate portion, the second positive electrode portion and the second negative electrode portion are arranged in parallel in the second substrate portion; and in the first substrate portion and the second substrate portion, an extension direction of the first positive electrode portion and an extension direction of the second negative electrode portion coincide, and an extension direction of the first negative electrode portion and an extension direction of the second positive electrode portion coincide”) it is noted that said limitations are not given patentable weight in the product claims. Even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As the court stated in Thorpe, 777 F.2d at 697, 227 USPQ at 966 (The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 1348, 162 USPQ 145, 147 (CCPA 1969). If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same or obvious as the product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process.). See MPEP 2113 and 2114. The solar cell slices of Oh are the same size and shape and are symmetric to a line of symmetry between the slices. The structure of the photovoltaic assembly of Oh is the same as the structure of the photovoltaic assembly made by the claimed process. Therefore, claim 13 is unpatentable even though the photovoltaic assembly of Oh was made by a different process. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Regarding claim 14, Oh discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Oh additionally discloses that the photovoltaic assembly further comprises a connecting part (connector CN) (Figure 22 and [200]-[201]); the connecting part (CN) is arranged between the first slice and the second slice that are adjacent (Figure 22), and is electrically connected to the conductive wire connecting the first slice and the second slice that are adjacent (Figure 22 and [200]-[201]).
Regarding limitations recited in claim 14, which are directed to method of making said photovoltaic assembly (e.g. “the connecting part extends along the central line of the semiconductor substrate”) it is noted that said limitations are not given patentable weight in the product claims. Even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As the court stated in Thorpe, 777 F.2d at 697, 227 USPQ at 966 (The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 1348, 162 USPQ 145, 147 (CCPA 1969). If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same or obvious as the product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process.). See MPEP 2113 and 2114. The semiconductor substrate in the claimed method is cut alone the central line to form the first and second solar cell slices and the connecting part (CN) of Oh is arranged between the cell slices as shown in Figure 22 which results in the same structure as the structure that results from the process limitations. Therefore, since the photovoltaic module of Oh has the same structure as the photovoltaic module in claim 14, the claim is unpatentable even though the photovoltaic module of Oh was made by a different process. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Regarding claim 15, Oh discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Oh additionally discloses that the first positive electrode portion comprises a plurality of first positive-electrode connection points (conductive adhesive crossings 41) for connecting to one of the conductive wires (25) (Figure 22 and [189]-[190]), and first positive-electrode connection grid lines (11) connecting adjacent first positive-electrode connection points (conductive adhesive crossings 41) ([189]); the first negative electrode portion comprises a plurality of first negative-electrode connection points (conductive adhesive crossings 41) for connecting to one of the conductive wires (25) (Figure 22 and [189]-[190]), and first negative-electrode connection grid lines (13) connecting adjacent first negative-electrode connection points (conductive adhesive crossings 41) ([189]); and the second positive electrode portion comprises a plurality of second positive-electrode connection points for connecting to one of the conductive wires (Figure 22 and [189]-[190], see second solar cell slice 10b), and second positive-electrode connection grid lines connecting adjacent second positive-electrode connection points (Figure 22 and [189]-[190]); the second negative electrode portion comprises a plurality of second negative-electrode connection points for connecting to one of the conductive wires (Figure 22 and [189]-[190]), and second negative-electrode connection grid lines connecting adjacent second negative-electrode connection points (Figure 22 and [189]-[190]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2016/0149064), as applied to claims 13-15 above, in view of Lai et al. (US 2014/0209158).
Regarding claim 16, Oh discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Oh does not disclose that the positive electrode further comprises a first positive-electrode fine grid portion arranged in the first substrate portion and a second positive-electrode fine grid portion arranged in the second substrate portion; the negative electrode further comprises a first negative-electrode fine grid portion arranged in the first substrate portion and a second negative-electrode fine grid portion arranged in the second substrate portion; the first positive-electrode fine grid portion and the first negative-electrode fine grid portion are parallel and spaced apart from each other, one end of the first positive-electrode fine grid portion is connected to the first positive electrode portion, the other end of the first positive- electrode fine grid portion is separated by a first preset distance from the first negative electrode portion; one end of the first negative-electrode fine grid portion is connected to the first negative electrode portion, and the other end of the first negative-electrode fine grid portion is separated by a second preset distance from the first positive electrode portion; and the second positive-electrode fine grid portion and the second negative-electrode fine grid portion are parallel and spaced apart from each other, one end of the second positive-electrode fine grid portion is connected to the second positive electrode portion, the other end of the second positive-electrode fine grid portion is separated by a third preset distance from the second negative electrode portion, one end of the second negative-electrode fine grid portion is connected to the second negative electrode portion, and the other end of the second negative-electrode fine grid portion is separated by a fourth preset distance from the second positive electrode portion.
Lai discloses a photovoltaic assembly in Figure 4 comprising a positive electrode comprising a first positive-electrode fine grid portion (152, 154) arranged in a first substrate portion (114) and a second positive-electrode fine grid portion (152’, 154’) arranged in a second substrate portion (114’); a negative electrode comprising a first negative-electrode fine grid portion (162, 164) arranged in the first substrate portion (114) and a second negative-electrode fine grid portion (162’, 164’) arranged in the second substrate portion (114’); the first positive-electrode fine grid portion and the first negative-electrode fine grid portion are parallel and spaced apart from each other, one end of the first positive-electrode fine grid portion is connected to the first positive electrode portion (Figure 4, see comb shape), the other end of the first positive- electrode fine grid portion is separated by a first preset distance from the first negative electrode portion (Figure 4); one end of the first negative-electrode fine grid portion is connected to the first negative electrode portion (Figure 4, see comb shape), and the other end of the first negative-electrode fine grid portion is separated by a second preset distance from the first positive electrode portion (Figure 4); and the second positive-electrode fine grid portion and the second negative-electrode fine grid portion are parallel and spaced apart from each other (Figure 4), one end of the second positive-electrode fine grid portion is connected to the second positive electrode portion, the other end of the second positive-electrode fine grid portion is separated by a third preset distance from the second negative electrode portion (Figure 4), one end of the second negative-electrode fine grid portion is connected to the second negative electrode portion (Figure 4), and the other end of the second negative-electrode fine grid portion is separated by a fourth preset distance from the second positive electrode portion (Figure 4, [42] and [58]-[59]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to modify the device of Oh such that the positive electrode further comprises a first positive-electrode fine grid portion arranged in the first substrate portion and a second positive-electrode fine grid portion arranged in the second substrate portion; the negative electrode further comprises a first negative-electrode fine grid portion arranged in the first substrate portion and a second negative-electrode fine grid portion arranged in the second substrate portion; the first positive-electrode fine grid portion and the first negative-electrode fine grid portion are parallel and spaced apart from each other, one end of the first positive-electrode fine grid portion is connected to the first positive electrode portion, the other end of the first positive- electrode fine grid portion is separated by a first preset distance from the first negative electrode portion; one end of the first negative-electrode fine grid portion is connected to the first negative electrode portion, and the other end of the first negative-electrode fine grid portion is separated by a second preset distance from the first positive electrode portion; and the second positive-electrode fine grid portion and the second negative-electrode fine grid portion are parallel and spaced apart from each other, one end of the second positive-electrode fine grid portion is connected to the second positive electrode portion, the other end of the second positive-electrode fine grid portion is separated by a third preset distance from the second negative electrode portion, one end of the second negative-electrode fine grid portion is connected to the second negative electrode portion, and the other end of the second negative-electrode fine grid portion is separated by a fourth preset distance from the second positive electrode portion, as taught by Lai, because it would amount to nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to accomplish entirely expected results.
Regarding claim 17, Oh discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Oh additionally discloses that the solar cell sheet further comprises: an insulation layer (insulating adhesive portions, [190]-[192]); the insulation layer is arranged between adjacent first positive-electrode connection points, and covers a part of the first negative-electrode fine grid portion close to the first positive-electrode connection grid line and between adjacent first positive-electrode connection points; or the insulation layer is arranged between adjacent second positive-electrode connection points, and covers a part of the second negative-electrode fine grid portion close to the second positive-electrode connection grid line and between adjacent second positive-electrode connection points; or the insulation layer is arranged between adjacent first negative-electrode connection points, and covers a part of the first positive-electrode fine grid portion close to the first negative-electrode connection grid line and between adjacent first negative-electrode connection points; or the insulation layer is arranged between adjacent second negative-electrode connection points, and covers a part of the second positive-electrode fine grid portion close to the second negative-electrode connection grid line and between adjacent second negative-electrode connection points (insulating adhesive portions, [190] and [192]).
Regarding claim 18, Oh discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Oh does not disclose that the structures of the first positive-electrode connection points, the first negative-electrode connection points, the second positive-electrode connection points and the second negative-electrode connection points are square structures, side lengths of the square structures are 600-1500 millimeters; widths of the first positive-electrode connection grid lines, the first negative-electrode connection grid lines, the second positive-electrode connection grid lines and the second negative- electrode connection grid lines are 150-400 millimeters; widths of the first positive-electrode fine grid portion and the second positive-electrode fine grid portion are 60-200 millimeters; and widths of the first negative-electrode fine grid portion and the second negative-electrode fine grid portion are 20-60 millimeters.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to change the side lengths of the first positive-electrode connection points, the first negative-electrode connection points, the second positive-electrode connection points and the second negative-electrode connection points and the widths of the first positive-electrode connection grid lines, the first negative-electrode connection grid lines, the second positive-electrode connection grid lines and the second negative- electrode connection grid lines, and widths of the first positive-electrode fine grid portion and the second positive-electrode fine grid portion and widths of the first negative-electrode fine grid portion and the second negative-electrode fine grid portion in the device of modified Oh, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 19, modified Oh discloses all of the claim limitations thereof. Oh additionally discloses insulation layers (insulating adhesive portions, [190]), but Oh does not disclose that sizes of the insulation layers along a direction parallel to the central line of the semiconductor substrate are greater than sizes of insulation layers between two adjacent first positive-electrode connection points and between two adjacent first negative-electrode connection points along the direction parallel to the central line of the semiconductor substrate.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to change the sizes of the insulation layers such that the sizes of the insulation layers along a direction parallel to the central line of the semiconductor substrate are greater than sizes of insulation layers between two adjacent first positive-electrode connection points and between two adjacent first negative-electrode connection points along the direction parallel to the central line of the semiconductor substrate in the device of modified Oh, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 20, Oh discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Oh does not disclose that the semiconductor substrate of the solar cell sheet comprises a silicon substrate, and a semiconductor region arranged at the shadow surface of the silicon substrate and comprising a first semiconductor region and a second semiconductor region; the first semiconductor region is continuously arranged on the silicon substrate in a region corresponding to first positive-electrode connection points and second positive- electrode connection points; the second semiconductor region is continuously arranged on the silicon substrate in a region corresponding to first negative-electrode connection points and a second negative-electrode connection point.
Lai discloses a photovoltaic assembly in Figures 1, 2 and 7 comprising a semiconductor substrate (110) comprising a silicon substrate ([42]), and a semiconductor region arranged at a shadow surface (back surface) of the silicon substrate and comprising a first semiconductor region (120) and a second semiconductor region (130) ([42]); the first semiconductor region is continuously arranged on the silicon substrate in a region corresponding to first positive-electrode connection points and second positive- electrode connection points (152); the second semiconductor region is continuously arranged on the silicon substrate in a region corresponding to first negative-electrode connection points and a second negative-electrode connection point (162) (Figure 2A and [42]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a silicon semiconductor substrate, and add a semiconductor region arranged at the shadow surface of the silicon substrate and comprising a first semiconductor region and a second semiconductor region; the first semiconductor region is continuously arranged on the silicon substrate in a region corresponding to first positive-electrode connection points and second positive- electrode connection points; the second semiconductor region is continuously arranged on the silicon substrate in a region corresponding to first negative-electrode connection points and a second negative-electrode connection point to the device of Oh, as taught by Lai, because it would amount to nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to accomplish entirely expected results.
Conclusion
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728