DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 2/26/2024. In the claims, claims 1-15 have been amended and claims 16-19 have been added.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: line 1- it is believed that claims 4 & 5 should depend from claim 3 since it recites ‘the second nozzle’ and the ‘second nozzle’ is first positively introduced in claim 3. For the purpose of examination, claim 4 will be considered as dependent on claim 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: examiner suggests amending ‘are sliding along’ to --are slidable along-- since this phrasing is more appropriate for claiming the functional capabilities of the structure. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: examiner suggests amending ‘is sliding with respect’ to --is slidable with respect-- since this phrasing is more appropriate for claiming the functional capabilities of the structure. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: page 13, lines 23-24 recite ‘the fluid flow is variable between 0 1/min and 1 1/min’ - it is unclear what the flow rate is that is being recited here as it appears to be missing crucial elements to the rate - what volume is per minute and what numerical value is ‘0 1’ and ‘1 1’. This is also seen in the claims. Examiner is unable to determine what was meant by applicant. Proper correction is required without introducing any new matter.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the electrode" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the claim will be read as reciting ‘an electrode’.
Claim 16 recite ‘wherein the flow of fluid dispensed is variable between 0 1/min and 1 1/min’ - see the objection to the specification above. It is not known what flow is being claimed by ‘0 1/min’ and ‘1 1/min’ - missing a volume metric before ‘/min’ and the numerical value ‘0 1’ and ‘1 1’ are not clear. For this reason, the claim is not able to be properly examined since it is not known what applicant is actually claiming.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13, & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barry et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0038219 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Barry et al. disclose a surgical device 30 (Figs. 3-5) for dissecting an anatomical tissue comprising: a main body 300 (Figs. 3-5) extending along a longitudinal direction and having a first end and a second end comprising a contact portion 102a,b (Figs. 3-5) adapted to come into contact with the anatomical tissue, said contact portion 102a,b in particular having a spatula shape (seen best in Fig. 4A), wherein the contact portion 102a,b comprises a first sub-portion 102b and a second sub-portion 102a extending over the first sub-portion 102b (Fig. 5); a first dissecting means 402b (Figs. 4A-4B) positioned on the first sub-portion 102b; and a second dissecting means 402a (Figs. 4A-4B) positioned on the second sub-portion 102a, wherein the first dissecting means 402b is disposed on an end region of the second end and the second dissecting means 402a is retracted and spaced from the first dissecting means 402b along the longitudinal direction of the main body at a distance d (seen in Fig. 5; described in paragraph [0038] as ‘arrow D2’), wherein said surgical device 30 further comprises a fluid dispensing means 160 (Fig. 4A; paragraph [0023]) positioned on the second sub-portion 102a and side-by-side to the second dissecting means 402a (Fig.4B shows the side-by-side positioning; since the dissecting means 402a is located on a flattened portion of the contact portion 102a, the dispensing means 160 - extends in part to 134a/136a- extends side by side since the axis extending through 134a/136a extends parallel to the axis extending through 402a), said fluid dispensing means 160 being connectable to a fluid reservoir through a connector (shown in Fig. 6 - paragraphs [0018] & [0023]) at the first end.
Regarding claim 2, Barry et al. further disclose wherein the fluid dispensing comprises at least a first nozzle 136b (Fig. 5) for dispensing a pressurized fluid.
Regarding claim 3, Barry et al. further disclose wherein the second dissecting means 402a comprises a second nozzle 136a for dispensing a pressurized fluid, for a hydro- dissection of the anatomical tissue, said second dissecting means 402a being connectable to a fluid reservoir through a connector at the first end (via 134a; paragraphs [0019] & [0023]).
Regarding claim 4, Barry et al. further disclose wherein the first nozzle 136b comprises a first outlet orifice (seen in Fig. 5) and the second nozzle 136a comprises a second outlet orifice (seen in Fig. 5), the first nozzle 136b being side-by-side to the second nozzle 136a, and wherein the first outlet orifice and the second outlet orifice are arranged on the same plane orthogonal to the longitudinal direction of the main body (when aligned as seen in Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 5, Barry et al. further disclose wherein the first nozzle 136b comprises a first outlet orifice (shown in Fig. 5) and the second nozzle 136a comprises a second outlet orifice (shown in Fig. 5), the first nozzle 136b being side-by-side to the second nozzle 136a (seen in Fig. 4B when they are in alignment), and wherein the first outlet orifice is retracted and spaced from the second outlet orifice along the longitudinal direction of the main body at a distance (shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Barry et al. further disclose wherein the distance between the first outlet orifice for the emission of fluid from the first nozzle 136b and the electrode 102a is greater than the distance between the second outlet orifice for the emission of fluid from the second nozzle 136a and the electrode 102a (a straight line drawn from the nozzle 136b to any location on electrode 102a would be greater in length than a straight line drawn from the nozzle 136a to the same location on electrode 102a).
Regarding claim 7, Barry et al. further disclose wherein the second nozzle 136a are sliding along the longitudinal direction (L) of the main body (seen in Fig. 5
Regarding claim 8, Barry et al. further disclose wherein the first dissecting means 402b (Figs. 4A-4B) comprises: a. an electrode 102b (paragraph [0027]) for an electro-dissection of the anatomical tissue, said electrode 102b being connectable to a current generator via a connector at the first end (NOTE: ‘current generator’ is not positively recited as part of the claimed invention with the phrasing ‘being connectable to’; paragraph [0040] notes that electrical cord 40 connects the device to an electrosurgical unit to provide the electrodes with bipolar and monopolar power output).
Regarding claim 9, Barry et al. further disclose wherein the second sub-portion 102a is sliding with respect to the first sub-portion 102b so that the distance between the second dissecting means 402a and the first dissecting means 402b along the longitudinal direction (L) of the main body is variable (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Barry et al. further disclose an actuation portion 114, 116 (paragraphs [0022] & [0024]) arranged on the main body and having a first button 114 for activating the first dissecting means 402b (activates electrode 102b of the dissecting means when in bipolar power mode) and a second button 116 for activating the second dissecting means 402a (activates electrode 102a of dissecting means when in monopolar power mode).
Regarding claim 11, Barry et al. further disclose (via incorporated reference 2012/0004657) a flow regulator 68 (paragraphs [0056]-[0057] of ‘657) arranged on the main body for varying the flow of fluid dispensed by the fluid dispensing means.
Regarding claim 13, Barry et al. further disclose wherein the contact portion 102a,b is removably attachable to the main body at the second end (paragraph [0033] - connection via sleeve portions 412a,b).
Regarding claim 14, Barry et al. further disclose wherein the contact portion is deformable (paragraph [0025] discloses that 102a,b can be made from suitable electrically conductive metals to include gold; gold is a metal that is considered to be ‘deformable’ since in its pure state is considered to be extremely flexible) and comprises a protruding portion to be directed towards the anatomical tissue to be separated (contact portion 102a,b protrudes from the connecting sleeves 412a,b)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barry et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0038219 A1) in view of Wagner et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0305963 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Barry et al. fail to further disclose an analysis module having at least one a light spectrum analyzer and one or more sensors for monitoring in real time the electrical and thermodynamic behavior of the device. However, Wagner et al. teach incorporating sensor(s) into an electrosurgical tool to detect a light spectrum in order to control, regulate, and/or monitor (analyzer inherent via ‘monitoring’) an electrosurgical measure to improve the reliability of the method and the reproducibility of the work result (paragraphs [0074] & [0075]). Therefore, it would have been desirable for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sensors for light spectrum analysis/monitoring into the electrosurgical device of Barry et al., as suggested and taught by Wagner et al., in order to improve the reliability of the electrosurgical procedure.
Claims 15, 18, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barry et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0038219 A1).
Regarding claims 15 and 19, Barry et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the distance d between the first dissecting means and the second dissecting means and/or the fluid dispensing means is at least 0.5 mm [claim 15]; wherein the distance between the first dissecting means and the second dissecting means and/or the fluid dispensing means is at least 1 mm [claim 18]; and wherein the distance between the first dissecting means and the second dissecting means and/or the fluid dispensing means is between 2 mm and 3 mm [claim 19]. However, since the distance between the first and second dissecting means and, thus, the fluid dispensing means respectively, is variable because of the sliding of the dissecting means 402a relative to dissecting means 402b, it is considered that all of these distances can be achieved. Further, choosing this distance is up to the user during the dissection method based on parameters that occur during the procedure.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barry et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0038219 A1) in view of Zhang (CN 206565944U).
Regarding claim 17, Barry et al. fail to explicitly disclose a length of the protruding portion, in particular the claimed length range of between 40 mm and 60 mm. However, Zhang teach an electrode needle catheter to enter and treat anatomical tissue/muscle having a length range of 20-75mm to accommodate a range of anatomical locations (English translation ‘In this embodiment, the wire electrode catheter has a diameter of 0.25 mm to 0.65 mm, and a smaller diameter needle is selected as much as possible so as to relieve the needle from piercing the skin (the skin surface of the tested muscle can be coated with a Thick layer of lidocaine compound ointment local anesthesia), a length of 20-75 mm, according to muscle anatomical location and shape of the structure to determine the catheter scale, easy to determine the depth.’). It is considered that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to choose a length falling within the range suggested and taught by Zhang, to include the claimed range between 40mm and 50mm, for the protruding portion (electrode) of Barry et al.’s device.
Conclusion
ASHLEY LAUREN FISHBACK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/ASHLEY L FISHBACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771 February 3, 2026