DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-7 are pending in this office action.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted February 26, 2024, and April 3, 2025, have been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN106410180A).
With regard to Claims 1 and 3, Li et al. disclose a positive electrode active material for a secondary battery, comprising: a lithium metal composite oxide having a crystal structure based on a rock-salt structure belonging to a space group Fm-3m, wherein the lithium metal composite oxide has an empty space at cation sites in the crystal structure, wherein the lithium metal composite oxide contains a first metal element other than Li, and a second metal element other than Li and the first metal element, and the first metal element is at least one selected from the group consisting of Gd, Ce, Eu, Sm, and Yb, as represented by the molecular structural formula: LiaMnbNcMdO2, wherein N is one or more of Si, Ge, Sn, and Pb, and M is one of more of rare earth elements Sc, La, Pr, Nd, Pm, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, and Lu and 1≤a≤1.5, 0<b≤1, 0<c≤1, 0<d≤0.1, and a+b+c+d=2 (paragraphs 0014-0016; Examples 1-4).
With regard to Claim 2, Li et al. disclose wherein the second metal element contains Mn, as represented by the molecular structural formula: LiaMnbNcMdO2, wherein N is one or more of Si, Ge, Sn, and Pb, and M is one of more of rare earth elements Sc, La, Pr, Nd, Pm, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, and Lu and 1≤a≤1.5, 0<b≤1, 0<c≤1, 0<d≤0.1, and a+b+c+d=2 (paragraphs 0014-0016; Examples 1-4).
With regard to Claim 5, Li et al. disclose wherein the lithium metal composite oxide is represented by a formula: LiaMnbM1cM2dO2-eFe, and in the formula, M1 is at least one selected from the group consisting of Gd, Ce, Eu, Sm, and Yb, M2 is a metal element other than Li, Mn, Gd, Ce, Eu, Sm, and Yb, and 0<a≤1.35, 0.4≤b≤0.9, 0<c≤0.15, 0≤d≤0.1, 0≤e≤0.75, and 1.75≤a+b+c+d≤2 are satisfied, as represented by the molecular structural formula: LiaMnbNcMdO2, wherein N is one or more of Si, Ge, Sn, and Pb, and M is one of more of rare earth elements Sc, La, Pr, Nd, Pm, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, and Lu and 1≤a≤1.5, 0<b≤1, 0<c≤1, 0<d≤0.1, and a+b+c+d=2 (paragraphs 0014-0016; Examples 1-4).
With regard to Claim 6, Li et al. disclose wherein in the formula, M2 is at least one selected from the group consisting of Ti, Ni, Co, Sn, Nb, Mo, Bi, V, Cr, Y, Zr, Zn, Na, K, Ca, Mg, Pt, Au, Ag, Ru, Ta, W, La, Pr, Dy, and Er, represented by the molecular structural formula: LiaMnbNcMdO2, wherein N is one or more of Si, Ge, Sn, and Pb, and M is one of more of rare earth elements Sc, La, Pr, Nd, Pm, Sm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, and Lu and 1≤a≤1.5, 0<b≤1, 0<c≤1, 0<d≤0.1, and a+b+c+d=2 (paragraphs 0014-0016; Examples 1-4).
With regard to Claim 7, Li et al. disclose a secondary battery, comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and an electrolyte, wherein the positive electrode includes the positive electrode active material for a secondary battery noted above (paragraph 0027).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN106410180A), as applied to Claims 1-3 and 5-7 above, and in further view of Zhang et al. (WO 2021/153527 A1) using Zhang et al. (US 2023/0045802 A1) as an English equivalent.
With regard to Claim 4, Li et al. disclose the positive electrode active material for a secondary battery in paragraph 7 above, but do not specifically disclose wherein the lithium metal composite oxide contains fluorine.
Zhang et al. disclose a positive electrode active substance for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery containing a lithium-transition metal composite oxide which has a crystal structure belonging to the space group Fm-3m and is represented by the compositional formula LixMnyMaObFc, wherein M is at least one type of element excluding Mn; x+y+a=b+c=2; 1<x≤1.35; 0≤y≤0.9; 0≤a≤0.2; and 1.3≤b≤1.8 (paragraphs 0006, 0025-0033). Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the positive electrode active material of Li et al. to include the lithium metal composite oxide containing fluorine, because Zhang et al. teach introducing a predetermined amount of fluoride ions increases the battery capacity (paragraph 0011).
Conclusion
/KARIE O'NEILL APICELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725