DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 15, 20-21, 23, and 27-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kutsovsky (WO 2020/247663 A1, attached). DwyerOmega (DwyerOmega, “What is a PID Controller?”, URL: https://www.dwyeromega.com/en-us/resources/pid-controllers?srsltid=AfmBOooAYkFGPqAzPqLs8fQ0hfoWvJoshU7s_DMy2jNRKHqcyrXjTcqg, attached) is cited as an evidentiary reference.
Regarding claims 1-4, 7-9, 27-28, Kutsovsky teaches a method of preparing a composite, including a) charging a mixer having one or more rotors with at least a solid elastomer and a wet filler including a filler and a liquid present in an amount ranging from 15-65% by weight based on the total weight of wet filler; b) in one or more mixing steps, mixing the at least the solid elastomer and the wet filler to form a mixture, and in at least one of said mixing steps conducting said mixing wherein the mixer has at least one temperature-control means set to 65*C or higher, and removing at least a portion of the liquid from the mixture by evaporation, and c) discharging, from the mixer, the composite including the filler dispersed in the elastomer at a loading of at least 20 phr with a filler yield loss of no more than 10%, wherein the composite has a liquid content of no more than 10% by weight based on the total weight of the composite (p. 2, [0007]). Mixing may occur under controlled power imparted by one or more rotors in the mixer (p. 43, [0121]). Energy input to the mixing system may be applied as a function of the speed of the at least one rotor (pp. 43-44, [0122]). Mixing may be controlled by a PID controller, which adjusts the speed of the mixer rotors to a set point in response to a temperature measurement (p. 158, [0432]). Kutsovsky further teaches that mixing may be conducted under controlled specific power of 2.5-10 kW/kg (p. 43, [0119]).
Kutsovsky does not expressly teach that the PID controller is used for regulation of power. Nevertheless, DwyerOmega demonstrates that PID controllers are known in the art to control power, speed, and temperature interchangeably, by constantly measuring process variables, comparing them to a desired set point, calculating how much correction is needed, and adjusting to bring the process back on target (pp. 1-2). Kutsovsky’s PID controller therefore reads on the claimed power control.
Regarding claims 5-6, Kutsovsky remains as applied to claims 1 and 4 above. Kutsovsky is silent as to the sampling time of the PID controller. DwyerOmega clarifies that sampling times known in the art include a time interval of 0.1 s (p. 2).
Regarding claims 10-11, Kutsovsky remains as applied to claims 1 and 9 above. Kutsovsky further teaches charging of additional wet filler before further mixing (p. 56, [0159]; p. 54, [0156]).
Regarding claims 15 and 20, Kutsovsky remains as applied to claim 1 above. Kutsovsky further teaches that at least 50% of the filler may be carbon black, silica, or silicon-treated carbon black (p. 47, [0132]).
Regarding claim 21, Kutsovsky remains as applied to claim 1 above. Kutsovsky further teaches that the elastomer may be natural rubber (p. 47, [0133]).
Regarding claim 23, Kutsovsky remains as applied to claim 1 above. Kutsovsky further teaches that the rotor may be a four-wing, six-wing, or eight-wing rotor (p. 91, [0262]).
Regarding claim 29, Kutsovsky remains as applied to claim 1 above. Kutsovsky further teaches that mixing may take place in at least two mixing steps (p. 53, [0153]).
Regarding claims 30, 32-33, and 37, Kutsovsky remains as applied to claim 1 above. Kutsovsky further teaches that mixing steps may occur in the same mixer or different mixers (p. 54, [0156]). In other words, the mixer discussed above in reference to claim 1 may be used as the second mixer.
Regarding claims 31, 35-37, Kutsovsky remains as applied to claims 1 and 30 above. Kutsovsky further teaches that the second mixer may be operated at a ram pressure of 5 psi or less and/or with the ram raised to at least 75% of its highest level, and/or may be ram-less (p. 54, [0155]). Kutsovsky does not limit the amount of time at which the second mixer may be operated under these conditions, permitting such conditions to be present during the entire time the second mixer is operating. The composite is discharged having no more than 10% by weight liquid content (p. 54, [0155]). Kutsovsky further specifies that the further mixing step(s) may be used to remove an additional 1-10 wt% liquid content, leaving 0-1 wt% liquid content in the final composite (p. 92, [0264]).
Regarding claim 34, Kutsovsky remains as applied to claim 30 above. Kutsovsky further teaches that a combination of mixers may be used in tandem (p. 29, [0083]).
Regarding claim 39, Kutsovsky remains as applied to claim 37 above. Kutsovsky further specified that additives may be added during charging or mixing steps (p. 55, [0156]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is Kutsovsky, discussed above regarding claim 1. The prior art teaches a similar method and composite, but fails to disclose addition of two or more portions of wet filler, where the first portion is at least 50 wt% of the total wet filler. No further references, including in the literature, have been located that read on this limitation. As such, the instant claim contains a limitation not found in the prior art and would be allowable.
Conclusion
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762