DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nobili US PG PUB 20230062715 (“Nobili”).
Regarding Claim 1, Nobili discloses a valve (1) with a valve housing (2), a main valve (G, para 0063-0070) and a pilot valve (3, para 0067), which can be actuated via a push-push mechanism (2b, 4”, 26, 27, 30), for adjusting the main valve between an open (position A, para 0043) and a closed (position B, para 0043) position, wherein the valve (1) includes two setting discs (7, 4’), which act on the push-push mechanism (2b, 4”, 26, 27, 30), from the outside and which are arranged to be rotatable relative to each other (the claim does not state that each disc rotates, it merely states that the discs rotate relative to each other; thus if one disc rotates and the other disc is stationary, the claim limitation is met) for setting the open position (para 0047, a second actuating member 5 rotatable about the longitudinal axis X to vary the opening position A of the shutter arrangement 3 so as to adjust a flow rate of the water flow exiting the valve body 2, 2a, 2b, 2c”).
NOBILI – ANNOTATED FIGURE 1
Regarding Claim 2, Nobili discloses the two setting discs (7, 4’) form a pair of lifting discs (disk 5’ has sloping surface 7 that guides element 19 on disc 4’, para 0112-0113)(para 0113 “ the first actuating member 4′, a follower relief 19 is obtained that is configured to be in contact with, and follow, the profile of the shaped edge 7.”).
Regarding Claim 3, Nobili discloses each of the two setting discs (7, 4’) have inclined setting surfaces (see fig. 7; projection 19 is inclined and not flat on both sides).
Regarding Claim 4, Nobili discloses each of the two setting discs (7, 20 has projection 19) each have two setting surfaces (7 and 19 interact to set the closing travel distance of the pilot 3)(para 0113 “The profile of the shaped edge 7 is geometrically configured such that the rotation of the second actuating member 5 determines a displacement of the aforesaid follower relief 19 and consequently an axial displacement of the first actuating element 4′ along the longitudinal axis X, so as to regulate the opening position A of the shutter arrangement 3.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Nobili discloses stops (ann. fig. 1) for limiting the rotary movement are arranged between the setting surfaces (7, 19) of each of the two setting discs (7, 4’).
Regarding Claim 6, Nobili discloses the setting discs (7, 4’) are arranged on a setting attachment (2a) that is detachably mounted (ann. fig. 1 illustrates the detachable mount) on at least one of the valve housing (2b), via which the open position (position A, para 0043) can be set to regulate a flow rate (para 0047, a second actuating member 5 rotatable about the longitudinal axis X to vary the opening position A of the shutter arrangement 3 so as to adjust a flow rate of the water flow exiting the valve body 2, 2a, 2b, 2c”).
Regarding Claim 7, Nobili discloses the push-push mechanism (2b, 4”, 26, 27, 30), is operable via the setting attachment (2a).
Regarding Claim 8, Nobili discloses a manual control element (5, 6), wherein the push-push mechanism (2b, 4”, 26, 27, 30), is operable by pressing the manual control element (5, 6) and the open position (position A, para 0043) can be set by rotating the manual control element (5, 6).
Regarding Claim 9, Nobili discloses one of the two setting discs (7, 4’) is detachably connected to the push-push mechanism (2b, 4”, 26, 27, 30).
Regarding Claim 10, Nobili discloses one of the two setting discs (7) is arranged at the manual control element (5, 6)(para 0144, “The second control element 6C is suitable for receiving a rotation action by the user and is configured to engage with the second actuating member 5 (actuating ferrule element 5) to allow adjusting the flow rate of the water to be delivered.”).
Regarding Claim 11, Nobili discloses the one of the two setting discs (7) is connected to the manual control element (element 5 of manual control element 5, 6) in one piece.
Regarding Claim 12, Nobili discloses the manual control element (5, 6) is connected to the valve housing (2a) (para 0118, “The rotation of the second actuating member 5, which can be called ferrule element 5 for convenience, is limited thanks to a protrusion 37 obtained on the latter and which projects to engage with an eyelet 38 obtained on the first portion 2a of the valve body. The eyelet 38 extends around the X axis circumferentially for a given angular tract.”).
Regarding Claim 13, Nobili discloses the manual control element (5, 6) is connected to the valve housing (2a) (para 0118, “The rotation of the second actuating member 5, which can be called ferrule element 5 for convenience, is limited thanks to a protrusion 37 obtained on the latter and which projects to engage with an eyelet 38 obtained on the first portion 2a of the valve body. The eyelet 38 extends around the X axis circumferentially for a given angular tract.”) in such a way that it can be moved axially in the direction (X direction) of the push-push mechanism (2b, 4”, 26, 27, 30) against the force of a tensioning spring (27) and is rotatable relative to the valve housing (2)(para 0078-0080, “[0078] Each of said first actuating element 4′ and second actuation element 4″ has an elongated shape, extends along the axis X and is defined by a narrow upper part, substantially cylindrical, with a small diameter, and an enlarged lower part, with a larger diameter, extending circularly and transversally with respect to the aforesaid longitudinal axis X. [0079] The second actuating element 4″ is fitted on the housing chamber 24 of the second portion 2b of valve body and can slide with respect thereto. [0080] In other words, the housing chamber 24 penetrates into the enlarged lower part of the second actuating element 4″ inside which a return spring 27 is provided and arranged to urge the first actuating member 4 away from the second portion 2b of valve body. In other words, the return spring 27 urges the first actuating member 4 upwards (i.e., towards the control member 6) with reference to the enclosed figures.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Nobili discloses the manual operating element (5, 6) has latching elements (37) which are latched to a latching structure (38) arranged on the valve housing (2a).
Regarding Claim 15, Nobili discloses the latching elements (38) are formed on resilient tongues.
Regarding Claim 16, Nobili discloses the latching structure (38) is designed in the form of a circumferential latching collar.
Regarding Claim 17, Nobili discloses the pilot valve (3) has a pilot control element (31) coupled to the push-push mechanism (2b, 4”, 26, 27, 30) configured to be switched back and forth in a bistable manner between two end positions (open position A and closed position C, para 0043) via operation of the push-push mechanism to thereby adjust the main valve (G) between the open (position A) and the closed position (position C), and wherein the two setting discs (4’, 7) are arranged to be rotatable relative to each other to steplessly set the open position (A)(para 0047, a second actuating member 5 rotatable about the longitudinal axis X to vary the opening position A of the shutter arrangement 3 so as to adjust a flow rate of the water flow exiting the valve body 2, 2a, 2b, 2c”).
Conclusion
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753