DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1-10 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention Group I (claim(s) 1-8 drawn to a method for preparing a mineralized collagen material) in the reply filed on 09/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 9 and 10 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/11/2026.
Claims 1-8 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The “~” symbol, also known as a tilde, can have various meanings such as “about”, “approximately”, or “around”. In the context of the claims, this renders the claims indefinite. To overcome the rejection, Applicant may remove the symbol and describe the meaning of the symbol in words. Clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Liu, et al. (US 6417166 B2, published Jul. 9, 2002) in view of Penkova, R, et al. “Stabilizing effect of glycerol on collagen type I isolated from different species.” Food Chemistry, vol. 66, no. 4, Sept. 1999, pp. 483–487, https://doi.org/10.1016/s0308-8146(99)00097-7.
The instant claims are drawn to a method for preparing a mineralized collagen material, wherein comprising the steps of: dissolving type I collagen, calcium source and acid in a first solvent to obtain a first solution, in which the first solvent is glycerin or a mixed solvent of glycerin and water; dissolving alkali and phosphorus source in a second solvent to obtain a second solution, in which the second solvent is glycerin, water or a mixed solvent of glycerin and water; adding the second solution to the first solution at a temperature of <45°C, then mixing them to obtain a third solution, in which pH of the third solution is >7; and, immersing the third solution in a deionized water solvent or an ethanol solvent to remove impurities to obtain a mineralized collagen gel.
Liu teaches a method of making mineralized collagen. The starting collagen, including type I collagen (Example 1, column 8), may be natural, recombinant, solid, a solution or a slurry (column 4, lines 54-62). Liu teaches solid collagen is dispersed in an acidic solution such as acetic acid to give homogenous gel-type slurry (column 4, line 64 and column 8, lines 38 to 42).
A soluble calcium salt such as calcium chloride or nitrate may be dissolved or otherwise combined directly into the collagen slurry (column 5, lines 1-7 and column 7, lines 5-15). Liu further teaches the phosphate component is then dissolved separately in a liquid medium, preferably water (column 5, lines 8-20). Liu further teach an alkali such as sodium, potassium or ammonium hydroxide may be added to the phosphate containing solution before it is combined (column 5, lines 44-48). The phosphate solution is added to the stirred collagen slurry, below about 40 C and at pH of at least about 7, preferable at least 9 (column 5, lines 8-20 and 38-44). Liu further teach the product is washed several times with pure water until free of soluble impurities then re-slurried in water (column 5, line 58, column 6, line 3, column 8, line 61-67 and claim 14(f). Liu teaches that mineralized collaged has been prepared by freeze-drying to form a sponge structure (column 2, lines 9-14) as recited in instant claim 2. Liu teaches letting the slurry stand unstirred until precipitation is complete, about 1 hour in Example 1, with the mixture kept below about 40 C (column 5, lines 33-41; column 8, lines 56-58). Room temperature falls within the range as recited in instant claim 3. Liu further teaches vigorous mixing or stirring, in a blender in the examples (column 5, lines 30-33; example 1) as recited in instant claim 4. Liu teaches collagen concentration of about 0.1-5% or about 1-50mg/ml (column 4, line 62 to column 5, line 1. Collagen is animal derived or recombinant (col. 4, lines 54-56). The calcium sources are calcium chloride and calcium nitrate (col 7, lines 5-15) and the acid is acetic acid (example 1). Examples 1 calcium chloride is about 0.5 M in its 30 ml solution with less than 5 mol/L. This recites the limitation of instant claim 6.
Liu teaches water as the second solvent (0% glycerin, within 0-100%). It teaches NaOH, KOH, and NH4OH as the alkali (col 5, lines 43-48, col 7, lines 32-36) and alkali metal and ammonium phosphorus source (col 7, lines 16-27). Examples 1’s phosphate is about 0.5 M, with less than 3 mol/L. This recites the limitation of instant claim 7.
Liu teaches the Ca:P ratio is about 1-2, preferably 1.67 (col 6, lines 26-30). This meets the limitation of instant claim 8.
Liu does not teach a first solvent of glycerin or glycerin and water.
However, Penkova investigated the stabilizing effect of glycerol on type I collagens from rat tail tendon, calf skin, human placenta and sheep skin at elevated temperatures and in urea (see page 483). Penkova tech that in the presence of glycerol, the collagen molecule was stabilized, not only by heating but also by the action of urea. Figures 1-4 demonstrate the different type I collagens in the presence of glycerol with increased temperature and demonstrated similar stability.
Liu states that “any suitable liquid medium may be used” (column 7, lines 28-31).
It would have been prima facie obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of preparing a mineralized collagen taught by Liu et al. to use glycerin as the first solvent because Penkova demonstrated increased stability of type I collagen in the presence of glycerin with increasing temperatures. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use glycerin as the solvent when preparing a mineralized collagen material for the benefit of increased collagen stability, and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Additionally, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007), discloses that if a technique has been used to improve one method, and a person of ordinary skill would recognize that it would be used in similar methods in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its application is beyond that person’s skill. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) also discloses that “The combination of familiar element according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results”.
Thus, the combination of prior art references to arrive at the claimed invention provided a prima facie case of obviousness, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding the limitation in instant claim 5 that recites “wherein a dripping speed of adding the second solution to the first solution is 0.1~10000 mL/min”, Liu teaches the rapidity of adding the calcium component or the phosphate component to the collage slurry is not critical and the two solution may be added to the collagen slurry slowly or quickly (column 5, lines 21-33). The dripping speed can clearly be a result effective parameter that a person having ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient, i.e., the dosage and dosing regimen, needed to achieve the desired results. The principle of law states from MPEP §§ 2144.05: "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages," (see In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382). Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," (See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Conclusion
9. No claims are allowed.
/SYED J ABBAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1674
/VANESSA L. FORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1674