DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
The Amendment filed 8/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7, 10-17, 19, 20 are pending in the application with claims 1, 10, 13, 16, 19 amended, claims 8, 9, 18 cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10, 12-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onobori et al. (WO 2020138091 A1, hereinafter Onobori) using US 2021/0267439 as an English equivalent in view of Jacobsen et al. (US Patent Application publication No. 2015/0335227, hereinafter Jacobsen).
In regard to claim 1, Onobori discloses an endoscopic device (20, Fig. 15), comprising:
a steering section (12); and
a fiber optic (29) that extends to a distal end portion of said steering section (Fig. 17, Par. 48), wherein
placing said fiber optic in tension causes said steering section to deflect in a first lateral direction (Par. 129-130, Fig. 17), and
placing said fiber optic in compression causes said steering section to deflect in a second lateral direction (Par. 129-130, Fig. 17).
Onobori does not expressly teach the steering section including a plurality of segments arranged sequentially along a central axis, said plurality of segments being separated at a first lateral side of said steering section to define a plurality of gaps therebetween and wherein said steering section defines a guide passage proximate said first lateral side and each of said plurality of segments defines a guide passage segment to define said guide passage, said guide passage segments being concentric about a guide axis; said fiber optic passing through said guide passage segments along said guide axis; placing said fiber optic in tension causes said plurality of segments to be drawn together; placing said fiber optic in compression causes said plurality of segments are further separated from one another.
Jacobsen teaches an analogous endoscope (1, Figs. 1-2) having an articulated tip part (3, Fig. 2) comprising a distal end segment (4), proximal end segment (6) and a plurality of intermediate segments (5) connected together via hinge portions (10) and forming V-shaped gaps between adjacent segments. The segments have a plurality of channels (8, 21, 22) extending therethrough with channels (22) configured to receive steering wires (15). One of the channels (22) can be considered disposed on a first lateral side of the segment. Applying tension and compression to the steering wires causes the articulated tip part to laterally deflect about hinge portions (10) in first and second lateral directions causing the V-shaped gaps to get larger or smaller. The articulated tip part (3) is formed as an integrally moulded part thereby facilitating manufacturing in a cost-efficient manner (Par. 17).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the bending section of Onobori with the articulated tip part (3) construction of Jacobsen as a matter of design choice for enabling the bending section to articulate in first and second lateral directions and enabling the bending section to be manufactured in a cost-efficient manner. There being no unexpected results in modifying the bending section of Onobori with the bending section construction of Jacobsen.
In regard to claim 2, Onobori teaches wherein said fiber optic is anchored proximate said distal end portion of said steering section (Fig. 17).
In regard to claim 3, Onobori teaches wherein said plurality of segments are joined at a second lateral side of said steering section (the plurality of segments are connected at a second lateral side, such as the lateral side corresponding to the hinge portions (10)).
In regard to claim 4, Onobori teaches wherein said fiber optic is an illumination fiber optic (Par.131).
In regard to claim 5, Onobori teaches comprising a distal head portion attached to said distal end portion (13, Fig. 17).
In regard to claim 10, Onobori and Jacobsen teaches wherein said fiber optic is a single fiber optic that passes through the guide passage segments (a single light guides (29) of Onobori extends within each guide passage (22), Fig. 3).
In regard to claim 12, Jacobsen teaches wherein said steering portion defines a first working channel (8) and a second working channel (21), said first working channel being breached to define said plurality of gaps (Figs. 2-4 illustrate the gaps would extend to the first working channel).
In regard to claim 13, Jacobsen teaches wherein said second working channel is adjacent a second lateral side (the second working channel (21) is partially disposed on both a first lateral side and second lateral side, defined as opposite sides of the hinge portion (10)).
In regard to claim 14, Jacobsen teaches wherein said second working channel being continuous through said steering section (Figs. 2-4).
In regard to claim 15, Jacobsen teaches wherein said plurality of segments are
surrounded by a flexible sleeve (an external sheath surrounds the articulated tip part, Par. 27, Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 16, Jacobsen teaches further comprising a distal head portion (4) attached to said distal end portion (distal-most segment (5), Fig. 2), wherein said sleeve is anchored to said a base of said distal head portion (Jacobsen teaches of the external sheath covering the head portion, Par. 27).
In regard to claim 17, Jacobsen teaches wherein said sleeve is anchored to a proximal portion of said steering section (an external sheath surrounds the articulated tip part, including the proximal segment (6), Par. 27, Fig. 2).
In regard to claim 19, Onobori teaches wherein said first lateral direction is opposite said second lateral direction (Fig. 17, Par. 129-130).
In regard to claim 20, Onobori teaches wherein: said first lateral side is in said first lateral direction from said central axis; and
said second lateral side is in said second lateral direction from said central axis (Fig. 17, Par. 129-130).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onobori et al. (WO 2020138091 A1, hereinafter Onobori) using US 2021/0267439 as an English equivalent in view of Jacobsen et al. (US Patent Application publication No. 2015/0335227, hereinafter Jacobsen), as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Osaki et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0213227, hereinafter Osaki).
In regard to claim 6, Onobori and Jacobsen do not expressly teach wherein said distal head portion includes a base and a transparent cap.
Osaki teaches an analogous endoscope comprising an insertion portion (2) having a flexible tube portion (7), a bending portion (6), and a distal end rigid portion (5). The distal end rigid portion (5) is formed of a transparent resin member enabling illumination light transmitted from the light guide fiber bundles (22) to be emitted to the outside through the distal end rigid portion (Par. 74).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the distal head portion of Onobori to be formed of a transparent material as taught by Osaki enabling illumination light from light guide fiber bundles to be emitted to the outside through the distal head portion.
In regard to claim 7, Onobori teaches wherein said fiber optic is anchored to said base of said distal head portion (Fig. 16).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onobori et al. (WO 2020138091 A1, hereinafter Onobori) using US 2021/0267439 as an English equivalent in view of Jacobsen et al. (US Patent Application publication No. 2015/0335227, hereinafter Jacobsen), as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Igarashi (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0078127).
In regard to claim 11, Onobori does not expressly teach wherein said single fiber optic defines an oblong cross-section.
Igarashi teaches an analogous endoscope comprising a front end portion (1) having a front end frame (8) with an image pickup element (5) and a pair of light guides (2) extending therein. The pair of light guides are on opposing sides of the image pickup element and have an oval, or ellipsoid, shape (Figs. 5A,5B, Par. 15,57).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light guides of Onobori to be oval or ellipsoid shaped as taught by Igarashi as a matter of design choice to improve the light distribution performance of the light guides (Par. 77). There being no unexpected results in modifying the circular cross-section of the light guides of Onobori with the oval or ellipsoid shaped light guides of Igarashi.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“Onobori and Jacobsen fail to disclose, teach, or suggest the endoscope device of claim 1. Notably, both references teach either two light guides (upper and lower light guides of Onobori) or two guide wires (opposing pull wires 22 of Jacobsen) for bilateral articulation of the distal tip of their respective devices. As noted above, Applicant accomplishes bilateral movement with one fiber optic. In contrast both Onobori and Jacobsen rely on the opposing light guide or guide wire to inflict lateral movement direction.”
The examiner disagrees since the claim does not preclude the use of multiple light guide / guide wires, as taught by Onobori and Jacobsen, to accomplish the deflection in two directions since each of the light guides / pull wires would transition between tension and compression when transition between deflection a first lateral direction to a second lateral direction.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795 September 8, 2026