DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6,396,984 to Cho et al.
Cho discloses in figures 3-7, an optical connection structure comprising:
a first optical waveguide (304) which is formed in an optical connection region on a substrate, and has a structure of a rib-type optical waveguide formed by a core (306) and a slab (302) by a rib; and
a second optical waveguide (308) which is disposed on the substrate in the optical connection region to overlap the first optical waveguide in a height direction (in region 314), and formed to extend to one end side of the first optical waveguide,
wherein the first optical waveguide and the second optical waveguide are optically connected in the optical connection region (in the overlapping 314 region), and
a value obtained by dividing a thickness of the rib of the first optical waveguide by a total thickness of the rib of the first optical waveguide and the slab of the first optical waveguide having a ratio (although the claimed value is not explicitly shown, figure 4b depicts a waveguide having varying thickness values for optimization).
As to claims 2-3, figure 3 shows the tapered regions as claimed (dotted lines in figure 3). Note that the claims only require a tapering to “one end” without specifying which end. Therefore the taper can occur in either direction.
As to claims 6-7, the second waveguide is a rib with a taper region (figure 3).
As to claim 8, a waveguide-type semiconductor is optically connected to the other end of the waveguide (figure 10).
Cho fails to explicitly disclose the value obtained by dividing the thickness of the first waveguide by the slab thickness being 0.4 or less. Cho discloses in figures 8a and 8b, the relationship between the thicknesses and optimizing the coupling efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to create the ratio as claimed to optimize the coupling efficiency since it has been held that discovering an optimum value or range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho in view of US 5,199,092 to Stegmueller.
Cho discloses the invention as claimed except for inclined regions at the end of the waveguide coupling areas for the respective waveguides. It is noted that height tapering (inclining as claimed) is commonly used in the art to optimize optical coupling.
Stegmueller discloses such optimization of coupling to match modes in figure 1 and the background of invention.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to incline the coupling ends of one or both waveguides as taught by Stegmueller in Cho to match the modes of waveguides that have different dimensions for optimization of optical coupling.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 8,615,148 (figures 6-7 for inclined ends).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874