DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “stop” in claim 7. must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear if the claimed “stop” is a previously claimed tooth or a different element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Linhoff et al. (EP 1460300 A1).
Re claim 1, Linhoff et al. disclose a method for actuating a blocking slide (38) comprising moving a structured surface (37) into a specified orientation, and then; applying a supply voltage to an electromagnet (7) to actuate the blocking slide; and engaging the structured surface with the blocking slide, whereby the blocking slide prevents rotation of the structured surface in at least one direction while the structured surface remains in the specified orientation. (Fig. 1-4, Translation – Page 2, Par. 4-5)
Re claim 2, Linhoff et al. disclose wherein the structured surface (37) is formed on one of a shaft or on and a ratchet wheel that, wherein the ratchet wheel is connected rotationally conjointly to the shaft (13).
Re claim 3, Linhoff et al. disclose wherein the orientation of the structured surface (37) is one of a specified angular position and lies within a specified range of angular positions. (Translation – Page 2, Par. 4-5)
Re claims 4 and 13, Linhoff et al. disclose wherein the orientation of one of the structured surface and the shaft is monitored by an angular position sensor. (Translation – Page 2, Par. 4-5)
Re claim 8, Linhoff et al. disclose wherein the blocking slide (38) engages into a recess of the structured surface during the orientation. (Fig. 2-4)
Re claim 9, Linhoff et al. disclose wherein the blocking slide (38), when engaged, prevents a rotation only in one direction of rotation when engaged. (Fig. 2-4)
Re claim 11, Linhoff et al. disclose an actuating unit for a vehicle brake comprising: an electromagnet (7); a shaft (13) having a structured surface (37), a blocking slide (38) which is actuatable by the electromagnet and wherein in at least one position the blocking slide engages into the structured surface wherein the blocking slide prevents a rotation of the structured surface in at least one direction of rotation; and a control device that is configured to execute instructions for; moving a structured surface into a specified orientation; applying a supply voltage to the electromagnet to actuate the blocking slide; and engaging the structured surface with the blocking slide, whereby the blocking slide prevents rotation of the structured surface in at least one direction while the structured surface remains in the specified orientation. (Fig. 1-4, Translation – Page 2, Par. 4-5)
Re claim 12, Linhoff et al. disclose an electric motor (11) for driving the shaft.
Re claim 14, Linhoff et al. disclose wherein the angular position sensor is a motor angle sensor of the electric motor. Since the components are joined, the angular position sensor would sense the position of both components.
Re claim 15, Linhoff et al. disclose a vehicle brake comprising at least one brake shoe (4, 5) at least one actuating unit comprising; an electromagnet (7); a shaft (13) having a structured surface (37); a blocking slide (38) which is actuatable by the electromagnet and wherein in at least one position the blocking slide engages into the structured surface, wherein the blocking slide prevents a rotation of the structured surface in at least one direction of rotation; and a control device that is configured to execute instructions for; moving a structured surface into a specified orientation; applying a supply voltage to the electromagnet to actuate the blocking slide; and engaging the structured surface with the blocking slide, whereby the blocking slide prevents rotation of the structured surface in at least one direction while the structured surface remains in the specified orientation and wherein the shaft actuates the brake shoe. (Fig. 1-4, Translation – Page 2, Par. 4-5)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tsukamoto et al. and Kim teach similar methods for actuating a blocking slide.
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTWJuly 21, 2026