Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 – 7 and 15, in the reply filed on 9/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 – 14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/24/26.
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 7 and 15 are pending and are the subject of this office action. This is the first office action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 requires that the expanded tobacco leaves are prepared by a low temperature expansion process. Low temperature is being interpreted as below 230˚C as suggested by the specification page 3 lines 11 – 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5249588 A (Brown), and further in view of EP 0484899 A1 (Uematsu).
Regarding claims 1 – 3 and 15, Brown teaches a smoking article comprising a tobacco rod, which comprises cut tobacco and a paper wrapper circumscribing said tobacco (column 1 lines 19 – 21). Brown further teaches that the whole or substantial proportion of the cut tobacco of the smoking article should be expanded tobacco, and that at least 65% of the tobacco is expanded tobacco and more suitably 70% is expanded tobacco (column 2 lines 18 – 26).
Brown does not teach that the expanded tobacco leaves are prepared by a low temperature expansion process. Uematsu teaches a method and system for expanding tobacco made by shredding tobacco leaves with an expanding agent such as carbon dioxide, and heating, expanding, and drying the tobacco impregnated with the expanding agent (page 2 lines 1 – 3). Uematsu further teaches that when the expanding agent is carbon dioxide, it is necessary to feed the tobacco into the gas-flow drying pipe having the temperature of 200 - 350˚C (page 2 lines 39 – 41). 200 - 350˚C reads on both the limitation of the low temperature expansion process of claim 1 and the claimed range of claim 2 as it overlaps the claimed range of between 200˚C and 230˚C. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to expand the tobacco leaves of Brown at a low temperature of Uematsu, with reasonable expectation of success, because Uematsu indicates that those temperatures are required to adequately swell the tobacco impregnated with carbon dioxide. And that lower temperatures are preferred as the texture of the tobacco leaves is burnt when the temperature of the tobacco exceeds 140˚C and the aroma and the smoking taste are degraded when the temperature of it exceeds 180˚C because the sugar contained in the tobacco leaves decomposes (page 2 lines 39 – 44).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Brown modified by Uematsu teaches a smoking material as described by claim 1. Brown further teaches a cut tobacco blend comprising 25% burley tobacco lamina, 40% flue cured lamina, 25% water treated stem, and 10% sun cured oriental lamina (column 4 lines 29 – 31).
Regarding claim 6, Brown modified by Uematsu teaches a smoking material as described by claim 1. Brown further teaches that the humectant is one or more of glycerol, propylene glycol, sorbitol, and diethylene glycol (column 1 lines 32 – 33).
Regarding claim 7, Brown modified by Uematsu teaches smoking material as described by claim 6. Brown further teaches that the tobacco is pre-treated before expansion with a humectant to provide a loading level of the humectant from 4% - 15% by weight (column 1 lines 22 – 23). As Brown also states that the humectant can be any one or more of glycerol, propylene glycol, sorbitol and diethylene glycol, this overlaps the claimed ranges of 0.1 – 10 parts by weight of propylene glycol or 0.01 – 5 parts by weight glycerin. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/BRENDON THOMAS JUENGST/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749