DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-16, 18-31, 33-46, 48-64 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Regarding independent claims 1, 16, 31, 46, 61, 62, 63, and 64, applicant’s attention is directed to Wang (US 2024/0007991 A1) which discloses the newly-added claimed limitations. More particularly, Wang discloses that a location information report includes a plurality of sub-cell identifiers associated with a UE, including at least: an identifier of a transmission-reception point (TRP) serving the UE (see paragraph [0335]); and an identifier of a cell portion within a cell associated with the UE (see paragraph [0328]). See also paragraph [0317] which discloses “the reported location information includes … at least one of the following:”.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Regarding claims 4, 15, 19, 30, 34, 45, 49, 60, applicant asserts that “Cha does not disclose a location information report that includes a plurality of sub-cell identifiers, specifically both a TRP identifier and a cell portion identifier, as recited by amended independent claims 1, 16, 31, and 46. The Examiner's Official Notice regarding time information (claims 4, 19, 34, 49) and base station distributed unit/central unit configurations (claims 15, 30, 45, 60) does not cure the deficiency of Cha with respect to the amended independent claims. Accordingly, dependent claims 4, 15, 19, 30, 34, 45, 49, and 60 are allowable at least for the same reasons as the amended independent claims from which they depend.”
In response, applicant’s attention is directed to Wang (US 2024/0007991 A1). Wang discloses that the location information report includes time information (paragraphs [0333], [0336]) associated with the identifier of the sub-cell (paragraph [0328]). See also paragraph [0317].
In response, applicant’s attention is directed to Edge (US 2021/0051559 A1). Edge discloses that a first network node is a base station distributed unit (DU) (see figure 2, legends “gNB-DU”), and a second network node is a base station central unit (CU) (see figure 2, legends “gNB-CU”). See paragraph [0423].
Regarding remaining dependent claims, they are discussed for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
For the foregoing reasons, the examiner contends that the rejections to claims 1, 3-16, 18-31, 33-46, 48-64 are proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-16, 18-31, 33-46, 48-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, the instant specification fails to disclose the newly-claimed limitations “the location information report includes a plurality of sub-cell identifiers associated with the UE, including at least: an identifier of a transmission-reception point (TRP) serving the UE; and an identifier of a cell portion within a cell associated with the UE”. Emphasis added by the examiner.
Applicant asserts that the instant specification, at least paragraphs [0118]-[0119], supports the above newly-added claimed limitations. The examiner, however, disagrees.
The instant specification, paragraph [0118], states “The sub-cell identifier may be (1) a cell portion ID of a cell portion (e.g. a sub-area 730) within a cell associated with the target UE, (2) an identifier of a TRP serving the target UE, or (3) an identifier of a repeater (e.g., a repeater 720) serving the target UE”. Emphasis added by the examiner.
Therefore, the examiner contends that the instant specification, at least paragraphs [0118]-[0119], fails to support the above newly-added claimed limitations.
Regarding independent claims 16, 31, 46, 61, 62, 63, and 64, they are discussed for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
See claims 61, 62 which include the terms “means for”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 13-14, 16, 18-24, 28-29, 31, 33-39, 43-44, 46, 48-54, 58-59, 61-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (US 2023/0328680) in view of Wang (US 2024/0007991 A1).
As to claim 1, Cha discloses a method of communication performed by a first network node gNB (see at least figures 6-7), comprising: receiving, from a second network node AMF, a request for location information for a user equipment (UE) (see UE in figure 6) served by the first network node gNB (see at least figure 6, paragraph [0150]); and transmitting, to the second network node AMF, a location information report for the UE, the location information report including at least an identifier of a sub-cell with which the UE is associated (see paragraphs [0150], [0163], [0173]).
Cha fails to disclose that the location information report includes a plurality of sub-cell identifiers associated with the UE, including at least: an identifier of a transmission-reception point (TRP) serving the UE; and an identifier of a cell portion within a cell associated with the UE. Wang discloses that a location information report includes a plurality of sub-cell identifiers associated with a UE, including at least: an identifier of a transmission-reception point (TRP) serving the UE (see paragraph [0335]); and an identifier of a cell portion within a cell associated with the UE (see paragraph [0328]). See also paragraph [0317] which discloses “the reported location information includes … at least one of the following:”. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Wang to Cha, in order to yield predictable results such as reporting UE location more accurately.
As to claims 3, 18, 33, 48, Cha discloses that the request for location information indicates a requested sub-cell level of granularity, the requested sub-cell level of granularity comprising: a cell portion within a cell associated with the UE, a TRP serving the UE (see paragraphs [0244], [0255], [0275], [0314]), or a repeater serving the UE.
As to claims 4, 19, 34, 49, the combination of Cha and Wang discloses that the location information report includes time information (see Wang, paragraphs [0333], [0336]) associated with the identifier of the sub-cell (see Wang, paragraph [0328]). See also paragraph [0317].
As to claims 5, 20, 35, 50, Cha discloses that the location information report further includes: a physical cell identifier (PCI) associated with the identifier of the sub-cell, a New Radio cell global identifier (NCGI) associated with the identifier of the sub-cell, an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) associated with the identifier of the sub-cell, a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration associated with the identifier of the sub-cell (see paragraph [0130]), synchronization signal block (SSB) information associated with the identifier of the sub-cell (see paragraph [0233]), a system frame number (SFN) initialization time associated with the identifier of the sub-cell, spatial direction information associated with the identifier of the sub-cell, geographic coordinates associated with the identifier of the sub-cell (see paragraph [0314]), or any combination thereof.
As to claims 6, 21, 36, 51, Cha discloses receiving, from the second network node AMF, one or more trigger conditions for transmitting the location information report (see paragraph [0148]).
As to claims 7, 22, 37, 52, Cha discloses that the one or more trigger conditions are associated with a set of TRPs, a set of repeaters, or a set of sub-cell identifiers (see paragraph [0148]).
As to claims 8, 23, 38, 53, Cha discloses that the one or more trigger conditions comprise whether the UE attached to or detached from a TRP in the set of TRPs or a repeater in the set of repeaters, whether the UE is served by one or none of the set of TRPs or the set of repeaters (see paragraph [0149] which discloses trigger condition comprising measuring the position of the UE for an emergency call; see paragraph [0184] which discloses the TRPs measuring the position of the UE), or any combination thereof.
As to claims 9, 24, 39, 54, Cha discloses that the one or more trigger conditions are associated with one or more areas of interest associated with one or more sub-cells associated with the first network node (see paragraphs [0087], [0122], [0173], [0282]).
As to claims 13, 28, 43, 58, Cha discloses that the first network node is a Next Generation radio access network (NG-RAN) node, and the second network node is an access and mobility management function (AMF). See paragraph [0150], figure 6.
As to claims 14, 29, 44, 59, Cha discloses that the request is a Location Reporting Control message (see paragraphs [0122], [0142]), and the location information report is a Location Report message (see paragraphs [0146], [0235], [0325]).
As to claims 16, 61-62 they are rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
As to claims 31, 46, they are rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. In addition, Cha further discloses a memory 230 (see at least figure 23), at least one transceiver 235; and at least one processor 210 communicatively coupled to the memory 230 and the at least one transceiver 235.
As to claims 63-64, they are rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. In addition, Cha further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see paragraph [0376]).
Claims 15, 30, 45, 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (US 2023/0328680) in view of Wang (US 2024/0007991 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Edge (US 2021/0051559 A1).
As to claims 15, 30, 45, 60, Cha fails to disclose that the first network node is a base station distributed unit (DU), and the second network node is a base station central unit (CU). Edge discloses that a first network node is a base station distributed unit (DU) (see figure 2, legends “gNB-DU”), and a second network node is a base station central unit (CU) (see figure 2, legends “gNB-CU”). See paragraph [0423]. Moreover, those skilled in the art would recognize that these claimed limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They merely depend on arbitrary types of the first and second network nodes. In addition, the specification of the instant application fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact that the first network node is a base station distributed unit (DU), and the second network node is a base station central unit (CU). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Edge to Chas, in order to yield predictable results such as enhancing flexibility and performance.
Claims 10-12, 25-27, 40-42, 55-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha (US 2023/0328680) in view of Wang (US 2024/0007991 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Edge (US 2020/0053638 A1).
As to claims 10, 25, 40, 55, Cha fails to disclose that the one or more trigger conditions comprise whether the UE entered or exited the one or more areas of interest. Edge discloses that one or more trigger conditions comprise whether a UE entered or exited the one or more areas of interest (see paragraph [0128]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Edge to Cha, in order to yield predictable results such as accurately routing communication signals to/from the UE.
As to claims 11, 26, 41, 56, Cha fails to disclose that the location information report is transmitted periodically. Edge discloses transmitting location information report periodically (see paragraph [0128]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Edge to Cha, in order to yield predictable results such as keeping the EU locations updated.
As to claims 12, 27, 42, 57, Cha fails to disclose receiving, from the second network node, a request for a list of sub-cells associated with the first network node. Edge discloses receiving, from a second network node AMF 154, a request for a list of sub-cells associated with a first network node gNB (see paragraph [0128] which discloses “The message may contain a UE 105 identification, a Reporting Type, an optional Location Reporting Level (e.g. indicating an area of interest”). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Edge to Cha, in order to yield predictable results such as assisting the EU to determine its location.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang (US 2015/0071125 A1) discloses location information with cell ID. See paragraph [0011].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGUYEN T VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646