DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
See claims 61, 62 which include the terms “means for”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 13-14, 16-18, 20-24, 28-29, 31-33, 35-39, 43-44, 46-48, 50-54, 58-59, 61-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cha (US 2023/0328680).
As to claim 1, Cha discloses a method of communication performed by a first network node gNB (see at least figures 6-7), comprising: receiving, from a second network node AMF, a request for location information for a user equipment (UE) (see UE in figure 6) served by the first network node gNB (see at least figure 6, paragraph [0150]); and transmitting, to the second network node AMF, a location information report for the UE, the location information report including at least an identifier of a sub-cell with which the UE is associated (see paragraphs [0150], [0163], [0173]).
As to claims 2, 17, 32, 47, Cha discloses that the identifier of the sub-cell comprises: an identifier of a cell portion within a cell associated with the UE (see paragraphs [0150], [0163], [0173]), an identifier of a transmission-reception point (TRP) serving the UE (see paragraphs [0244], [0255], [0276]), or an identifier of a repeater serving the UE.
As to claims 3, 18, 33, 48, Cha discloses that the request for location information indicates a requested sub-cell level of granularity, the requested sub-cell level of granularity comprising: a cell portion within a cell associated with the UE, a TRP serving the UE (see paragraphs [0244], [0255], [0275], [0314]), or a repeater serving the UE.
As to claims 5, 20, 35, 50, Cha discloses that the location information report further includes: a physical cell identifier (PCI) associated with the identifier of the sub-cell, a New Radio cell global identifier (NCGI) associated with the identifier of the sub-cell, an absolute radio-frequency channel number (ARFCN) associated with the identifier of the sub-cell, a positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration associated with the identifier of the sub-cell (see paragraph [0130]), synchronization signal block (SSB) information associated with the identifier of the sub-cell (see paragraph [0233]), a system frame number (SFN) initialization time associated with the identifier of the sub-cell, spatial direction information associated with the identifier of the sub-cell, geographic coordinates associated with the identifier of the sub-cell (see paragraph [0314]), or any combination thereof.
As to claims 6, 21, 36, 51, Cha discloses receiving, from the second network node AMF, one or more trigger conditions for transmitting the location information report (see paragraph [0148]).
As to claims 7, 22, 37, 52, Cha discloses that the one or more trigger conditions are associated with a set of TRPs, a set of repeaters, or a set of sub-cell identifiers (see paragraph [0148]).
As to claims 8, 23, 38, 53, Cha discloses that the one or more trigger conditions comprise whether the UE attached to or detached from a TRP in the set of TRPs or a repeater in the set of repeaters, whether the UE is served by one or none of the set of TRPs or the set of repeaters (see paragraph [0149] which discloses trigger condition comprising measuring the position of the UE for an emergency call; see paragraph [0184] which discloses the TRPs measuring the position of the UE), or any combination thereof.
As to claims 9, 24, 39, 54, Cha discloses that the one or more trigger conditions are associated with one or more areas of interest associated with one or more sub-cells associated with the first network node (see paragraphs [0087], [0122], [0173], [0282]).
As to claims 13, 28, 43, 58, Cha discloses that the first network node is a Next Generation radio access network (NG-RAN) node, and the second network node is an access and mobility management function (AMF). See paragraph [0150], figure 6.
As to claims 14, 29, 44, 59, Cha discloses that the request is a Location Reporting Control message (see paragraphs [0122], [0142]), and the location information report is a Location Report message (see paragraphs [0146], [0235], [0325]).
As to claims 16, 61-62 they are rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above.
As to claims 31, 46, they are rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. In addition, Cha further discloses a memory 230 (see at least figure 23), at least one transceiver 235; and at least one processor 210 communicatively coupled to the memory 230 and the at least one transceiver 235.
As to claims 63-64, they are rejected for similar reasons with respect to independent claim 1 as set forth above. In addition, Cha further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see paragraph [0376]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 15, 19, 30, 34, 45, 49, 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha.
As to claims 4, 19, 34, 49, Cha fails to disclose that the location information report includes time information associated with the identifier of the sub-cell. The examiner, however, takes Official Notice that including time information in a location information report is known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Cha as claimed, in order to yield predictable results such as providing more accurate location data.
As to claims 15, 30, 45, 60, Cha fails to disclose that the first network node is a base station distributed unit (DU), and the second network node is a base station central unit (CU). The examiner, however, takes Official Notice that such a base station distributed unit (DU), and a base station central unit (CU) are known in the art. Those skilled in the art would recognize that these claimed limitations do not involve any inventive concept. They merely depend on arbitrary types of the first and second network nodes. In addition, the specification of the instant application fails to disclose any unexpected results obtained from the fact that the first network node is a base station distributed unit (DU), and the second network node is a base station central unit (CU). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chas as claimed, in order to yield predictable results such as enhancing flexibility and performance.
Claims 10-12, 25-27, 40-42, 55-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha in view of Edge (US 2020/0053638).
As to claims 10, 25, 40, 55, Cha fails to disclose that the one or more trigger conditions comprise whether the UE entered or exited the one or more areas of interest. Edge discloses that one or more trigger conditions comprise whether a UE entered or exited the one or more areas of interest (see paragraph [0128]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Edge to Cha, in order to yield predictable results such as accurately routing communication signals to/from the UE.
As to claims 11, 26, 41, 56, Cha fails to disclose that the location information report is transmitted periodically. Edge discloses transmitting location information report periodically (see paragraph [0128]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Edge to Cha, in order to yield predictable results such as keeping the EU locations updated.
As to claims 12, 27, 42, 57, Cha fails to disclose receiving, from the second network node, a request for a list of sub-cells associated with the first network node. Edge discloses receiving, from a second network node AMF 154, a request for a list of sub-cells associated with a first network node gNB (see paragraph [0128] which discloses “The message may contain a UE 105 identification, a Reporting Type, an optional Location Reporting Level (e.g. indicating an area of interest”). Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Edge to Cha, in order to yield predictable results such as assisting the EU to determine its location.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cha (US 2022/0264491), Cha (US 2020/0367193), Jung (US 2009/0318151) disclose reporting location information.
/NGUYEN T VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646