DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-25 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS page 9 of 15) about the objection to claim 23, the objection has been overcome by the amendment.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 9-10 of 15) about the rejections of claims 1-25 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the rejections have been overcome by the amendment, except claims 12, 24-25. However, claims 1, 13, and 18 still have indefinite issues.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 11-13 of 15) about the rejection of claim 1, Examiner disagrees because:
1) For the argument “the Office Action refers to a first electronic unit located at the top of the top cavity and configured to emit electromagnetic waves which are then emitted in the first predetermined direction” (see REMARKS page 11 of 15 lines 1-3 from bottom), “the Office Action refers to a second electronic unit located at the bottom of the bottom cavity and configured to receive the electromagnetic wave received from the second predetermined direction” (see REMARKS page 12 of 15 lines 1-3 from bottom), “Consequently, the radar system disclosed in Stephan, with two different antennas, also comprises two different electronic units, whereas the claimed radar system uses a single electronic unit to emit and/or receive electromagnetic waves from both antennas. Therefore, Stephan does not disclose an electronic unit configured to be connected to a first antenna via a first waveguide and to a second antenna with a second waveguide. Instead, Stephan teaches a first antenna comprising a first electronic unit and a second antenna comprising a second electronic unit.” (see REMARKS page 13 of 15 lines 1-7), Stephan (‘633) Fig.4 does disclose the claimed language “said first directional antenna is configured to be connected to the electronic unit via a first waveguide” and “said second directional antenna is configured to be connected to the electronic unit via a second waveguide”, which is equivalent to the argument “an electronic unit configured to be connected to a first antenna via a first waveguide and to a second antenna with a second waveguide” above, because:
a) Stephan (‘633) Fig.4 top portion shows signal transmission via waveguide. The cavity in Stephan (‘633) Fig.4 top portion forms a waveguide for signal transmission.
b) Stephan (‘633) Fig.4 bottom portion shows signal receiving via waveguide. The cavity in Stephan (‘633) Fig.4 bottom portion forms a waveguide for signal receiving.
c) Stephan (‘633) Fig.2 item 50 is a transceiver, which address the claimed language “electronic unit”. The signal transmission source on top and the signal receiver on bottom are part of the transceiver because “the transceiver 50 is in particular capable of transmitting and / or receiving electromagnetic waves at 77 GHz”, as indicated in Stephan (‘633) page 7 lines 10-12 from bottom (as a radar detection system suitable for locating objects in a space, the transceiver 50 is in particular capable of transmitting and / or receiving electromagnetic waves at 77 GHz.). Therefore, Stephan (‘633) does not teach “a first antenna comprising a first electronic unit and a second antenna comprising a second electronic unit” as argued on page 13 of 15 lines 6-7.
2) For the argument “Moreover, the Office Action refers to a radar device with antennas using a different technology (no metasurfaces) than the technology disclosed in the document Stephan (antennas with metasurfaces). As these technologies differ, it would not be obvious to a person skilled in the art to combine them. In particular, the person skilled in the art would not know how to manage the metasurfaces with a single electronic unit which is located remote from the antennas.” (see REMARKS page 13 of 15 lines 8-13), Stephan (‘633) Fig.2 item 60, Fig.4, and page 3 line 13 from bottom clearly show the claimed language “a first directional antenna comprising a first reflective cavity reflecting electromagnetic waves wherein a first metasurface is positioned” (see claim 1 lines 4-5) and “a second directional antenna comprising a second reflective cavity reflecting the electromagnetic waves wherein a second metasurface is positioned” (see claim 1 lines 11-12) because:
a) claim 1 claims that “a first reflective cavity reflecting electromagnetic waves wherein a first metasurface is positioned” and “a second reflective cavity reflecting the electromagnetic waves wherein a second metasurface is positioned”. Examiner does not understand why argument mentions “a radar device with antennas using a different technology (no metasurfaces)”.
b) Stephan (‘633) Fig.2 item 60 is an “adaptable surface”, which is a “meta-surface”, as indicated on page 3 line 13 from bottom (an adaptable surface (known as a meta-surface)).
c) As shown in Stephan (‘633) Fig.4, the cavities on top and bottom reflecting electromagnetic waves, which guide transmitted signal in the cavity on top and received signal in the cavity at bottom.
d) Fig.2 item 60 is a surface inside of the cavity shown in Fig.2 and Fig.4. The cavity difference between Fig.2 and Fig.4 is the reflecting wall separating the electromagnetic cavities 80a and 80b. Therefore Fig.2 item 60 and Fig.4 address the claimed language “a first reflective cavity reflecting electromagnetic waves wherein a first metasurface is positioned” and “a second reflective cavity reflecting the electromagnetic waves wherein a second metasurface is positioned”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18/687,123 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as set forth in the tables (differences in wording are in bold) and description below: 1) the removal of the limitations (“arranged on a first body part of the motor vehicle” and “arranged on a second body part”) made claim 1 of the application 18/686,698 a broader version of claim 1 of the copending Application No. 18/687,123 (see words in bold). Omission of an elements is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same. Rewording (e.g. “emitted” versus “transmitted”, “to be connected” versus “for connection”, “originating from” versus “transmitted by”, etc.) expresses a same functionality of a claimed element. 2) claim 2 is exactly the same. Repeating “in the second predetermined direction” repeats the functionality of the claimed element “second directional antenna”.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18/686,698
18/687,123
1. A radar system for a motor vehicle comprising:
an electronic unit configured to transmit and receive an electromagnetic wave in a predetermined frequency range,
a first directional antenna comprising a first reflective cavity reflecting electromagnetic waves wherein a first metasurface is positioned, said first directional antenna is configured to be connected to the electronic unit via a first waveguide and to transmit the electromagnetic wave, emitted by the electronic unit and propagated via the first waveguide, in a first predetermined direction and/or to propagate an electromagnetic wave received from the first predetermined direction to the electronic unit via the first waveguide; and
a second directional antenna comprising a second reflective cavity reflecting the electromagnetic waves wherein a second metasurface is positioned, said second directional antenna is configured to be connected to the electronic unit via a second waveguide and to transmit the electromagnetic wave, emitted by the electronic unit and propagated via the second waveguide, in a second predetermined direction and/or to propagate an electromagnetic wave received from the second predetermined direction to the electronic unit via the second waveguide.
1. A radar system for a motor vehicle comprising:
an electronic unit configured to transmit and receive an electromagnetic wave in a predetermined frequency range;
a first directional antenna arranged on a first body part of the motor vehicle and comprising a first reflective cavity reflecting electromagnetic waves wherein a first metasurface is positioned, wherein said first directional antenna is configured to be connected to the electronic unit via a first waveguide, and wherein the first directional antenna is configured to transmit the electromagnetic wave, transmitted by the electronic unit and propagated via the first waveguide in a first predetermined direction and/or to propagate the electromagnetic wave received from the first predetermined direction to the electronic unit via the first waveguide; and
a second directional antenna arranged on a second body part that has a second cavity reflecting the electromagnetic waves wherein a second metasurface is positioned, wherein said second directional antenna is configured for connection to the electronic unit via a second waveguide and for transmitting the electromagnetic wave transmitted by the electronic unit and propagated via the second waveguide in a second predetermined direction and/or for propagating the received electromagnetic wave from the second predetermined direction to the electronic unit via the second waveguide.
2. The radar system according to claim 1, wherein
the first directional antenna is a transmitting antenna and is configured to emit the electromagnetic wave originating from the electronic unit and propagated via the first waveguide in the first predetermined direction and
the second directional antenna is a receiving antenna and is configured to receive the electromagnetic wave emitted by the transmitting antenna and reflected by an obstacle in the second predetermined direction and to propagate the received electromagnetic wave to the electronic unit via the second waveguide.
2. The radar system according to claim 1, wherein
the first directional antenna is a transmitting antenna and is configured to transmit the electromagnetic wave transmitted by the electronic unit and propagated via the first waveguide in the first predetermined direction and
the second directional antenna is a receiving antenna and is configured to receive the electromagnetic wave transmitted by the transmitting antenna and reflected by an obstacle and to propagate the received electromagnetic wave to the electronic unit via the second waveguide.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 objected to because of the following informalities: 1) “a vehicle” in line 4. It appears that it should be “the motor vehicle”. 2) “the vehicle” in lines 8-9. It appears that it should be “the motor vehicle”. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 24-25 objected to because of the following informalities: “the vehicle” in line 2. It appears that it should be “the motor vehicle”. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations: 1) “electromagnetic waves” in line 5. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not the “electromagnetic waves” in line 5 relates to the “an electromagnetic wave” mentioned in line 2. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “the electromagnetic wave[[s]]”. 2) “an electromagnetic wave” in lines 8-9. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not the “an electromagnetic wave” in lines 8-9 is the same as the “an electromagnetic wave” mentioned in line 2 or one of the “electromagnetic waves” mentioned in line 5. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “[[an]] the electromagnetic wave”. 3) “an electromagnetic wave” in line 16. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not the “an electromagnetic wave” in line 16 is the same as the “an electromagnetic wave” mentioned in line 2, or “an electromagnetic wave” in lines 8-9, or one of the “electromagnetic waves” mentioned in line 5. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “[[an]] the electromagnetic wave”. Appropriate clarifications are required.
Claims 2-12, 19-25 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1 because each of dependent claims 2-12, 19-25 is unclear, at least, in that it depends on unclear independent claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “a vehicle” in line 5. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not the “a vehicle” in line 5 relates to the “a motor vehicle” mentioned in claim 1 line 1. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “the motor vehicle” . Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 24-25 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 12 because each of dependent claims 24-25 is unclear, at least, in that it depends on unclear independent claim 12.
Claim 13 recites the limitations: 1) “electromagnetic waves” in line 6. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not the “electromagnetic waves” in line 6 relates to the “an electromagnetic wave” mentioned in line 3. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “the electromagnetic wave[[s]]”. 2) “an electromagnetic wave” in lines 9-10. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not the “an electromagnetic wave” in lines 9-10 is the same as the “an electromagnetic wave” mentioned in line 3 or one of the “electromagnetic waves” mentioned in line 6. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “[[an]] the electromagnetic wave”. 3) “an electromagnetic wave” in line 17. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not the “an electromagnetic wave” in line 17 is the same as the “an electromagnetic wave” mentioned in line 3, or “an electromagnetic wave” in lines 9-10, or one of the “electromagnetic waves” mentioned in line 6. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “[[an]] the electromagnetic wave”. Appropriate clarifications are required.
Claims 14-17 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 13 because each of dependent claims 14-17 is unclear, at least, in that it depends on unclear independent claim 13.
Claim 18 recites the limitations: 1) “electromagnetic waves” in line 7. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not the “electromagnetic waves” in line 7 relates to the “an electromagnetic wave” mentioned in line 4. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “the electromagnetic wave[[s]]”. 2) “an electromagnetic wave” in lines 10-11. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not the “an electromagnetic wave” in lines 10-11 is the same as the “an electromagnetic wave” mentioned in line 4 or one of the “electromagnetic waves” mentioned in line 7. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “[[an]] the electromagnetic wave”. 3) “an electromagnetic wave” in line 18. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not the “an electromagnetic wave” in line 18 is the same as the “an electromagnetic wave” mentioned in line 4, or “an electromagnetic wave” in lines 10-11, or one of the “electromagnetic waves” mentioned in line 7. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “[[an]] the electromagnetic wave”. Appropriate clarifications are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 13-15, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stephan et al. (WO2020043633, hereafter Stephan).
Regarding claim 1, Stephan (‘633) discloses that A radar system for a motor vehicle {Fig.1 item 10 (body part); Fig.2 items 10 (body part), 50 (transceiver); page 1 abstract line 1 (a body part (10) for a motorized land vehicle (200)), 3 (one transceiver (50)); page 7 lines 10-12 from bottom (as a radar detection system suitable for locating objects in a space, the transceiver 50 is in particular capable of transmitting and / or receiving electromagnetic waves at 77 GHz.)} comprising:
an electronic unit configured to transmit and receive an electromagnetic wave in a predetermined frequency range { Fig.2 item 50 (transceiver); page 7 lines 10-12 from bottom (as a radar detection system suitable for locating objects in a space, the transceiver 50 is in particular capable of transmitting and / or receiving electromagnetic waves at 77 GHz.)},
a first directional antenna comprising a first reflective cavity reflecting electromagnetic waves wherein a first metasurface is positioned, said first directional antenna is configured to be connected to the electronic unit via a first waveguide and to transmit the electromagnetic wave, emitted by the electronic unit and propagated via the first waveguide, in a first predetermined direction { Fig.2 items 50 (transceiver), 60 (adaptable surface); Fig.4 100a, 80a (see mark below), 85 (reflective wall); page 3 line 13 from bottom (an adaptable surface (known as a meta-surface); page 5 lines 13-15 from bottom (the electromagnetic wave generated by the transceiver 50 is Reflected inside the electromagnetic cavity 80 and by the adaptable surface 60 several times before being emitted via the opening 100 ( direct or semi-reflecting opening) towards the outside of the wall 20.); page 6 lines 6-8 (the antenna is capable of transforming a any electromagnetic radiation from the transceiver simultaneously into radiation controllable in orientation), 12-14 (a reflective wall 85 capable of reflecting the electromagnetic waves. , cavity 80a, opening 100a); Examiner’s note: Fig.4 and Fig.2 are the same except adding item 85. “controllable in orientation” for “predetermined direction”} and/or to propagate an electromagnetic wave received from the first predetermined direction to the electronic unit via the first waveguide {Fig.2; Fig.4 100b, 80b; page 9 lines 2-4 from bottom (the cavity (80) comprises at least one opening (100), the electromagnetic wave being emitted towards the outside of the electromagnetic cavity (80) or being received from the outside of the electromagnetic cavity (80), through said opening (100).); Examiner’s note: Fig.2 and page 9 lines 2-4 for “and/or”.}; and
a second directional antenna comprising a second reflective cavity reflecting the electromagnetic waves wherein a second metasurface is positioned, said second directional antenna is configured to be connected to the electronic unit via a second waveguide and to transmit the electromagnetic wave, emitted by the electronic unit and propagated via the second waveguide, in a second predetermined direction and/or to propagate an electromagnetic wave received from the second predetermined direction to the electronic unit via the second waveguide { Fig.2 items 50 (transceiver), 60 (adaptable surface); Fig.4 100a-b, 80a-b (see mark below and above), 85 (reflective wall); page 3 line 13 from bottom (an adaptable surface (known as a meta-surface); page 5 lines 13-15 from bottom (the electromagnetic wave generated by the transceiver 50 is Reflected inside the electromagnetic cavity 80 and by the adaptable surface 60 several times before being emitted via the opening 100 ( direct or semi-reflecting opening) towards the outside of the wall 20.); page 6 lines 6-8 (the antenna is capable of transforming a any electromagnetic radiation from the transceiver simultaneously into radiation controllable in orientation), 12-14 (a reflective wall 85 capable of reflecting the electromagnetic waves. , cavity 80b, opening 100b); page 9 lines 2-4 from bottom (the cavity (80) comprises at least one opening (100), the electromagnetic wave being emitted towards the outside of the electromagnetic cavity (80) or being received from the outside of the electromagnetic cavity (80), through said opening (100).); Examiner’s note: “controllable in orientation” for “predetermined direction” . Fig.4 100a, 80a for “transmit”. Fig.4 100b, 80b for “receive”. Fig.2 and page 9 lines 2-4 for “and/or”.}.
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Stephan (‘633) discloses that in the radar system,
the first directional antenna is a transmitting antenna and is configured to emit the electromagnetic wave originating from the electronic unit and propagated via the first waveguide in the first predetermined direction { Fig.4 item 100a, 80a (see marks below)} and
the second directional antenna is a receiving antenna and is configured to receive the electromagnetic wave emitted by the transmitting antenna and reflected by an obstacle in the second predetermined direction and to propagate the received electromagnetic wave to the electronic unit via the second waveguide {Fig.4 item 100b, 80b (see marks below)}.
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claim 1, Stephan (‘633) discloses that in the radar system,
the predetermined frequency range is greater than 60 GHz { page 7 lines 10-12 from bottom (as a radar detection system suitable for locating objects in a space, the transceiver 50 is in particular capable of transmitting and / or receiving electromagnetic waves at 77 GHz.)}.
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 1, Stephan (‘633) discloses that in the radar system,
the first directional antenna and the second directional antenna are configured to be arranged on a bodywork part { Fig.1 item 10 (bumper), 20 (wall); Fig.2 item 10, 20, 100 (opening); Fig.4; page 5 lines 13-15 (the electromagnetic wave generated by the transceiver 50 is Reflected inside the electromagnetic cavity 80 and by the adaptable surface 60 several times before being emitted via the opening 100 ( direct or semi-reflecting opening) towards the outside of the wall 20.); page 6 line 16 (The wall 20 constitutes the main body of the bumper 10.); Examiner’s note: “opening” for “antenna” },
wherein the bodywork part comprises a wall made of a plastic material {page 6 line 16 (The wall 20 constitutes the main body of the bumper 10.), 20 (plastic as that of the wall 20 )}.
Regarding claim 13, Stephan (‘633) discloses that A bodywork part comprising a radar system {Fig.1 item 10 (body part); Fig.2 items 10 (body part), 50 (transceiver); page 1 abstract line 1 (a body part (10) for a motorized land vehicle (200)), 3 (one transceiver (50)); page 7 lines 10-12 from bottom (as a radar detection system suitable for locating objects in a space, the transceiver 50 is in particular capable of transmitting and / or receiving electromagnetic waves at 77 GHz.)}, wherein the radar system further comprises:
an electronic unit configured to transmit and receive an electromagnetic wave in a predetermined frequency range, a
first directional antenna comprising a first reflective cavity reflecting electromagnetic waves wherein a first metasurface is positioned, said first directional antenna is configured to be connected to the electronic unit via a first waveguide and to transmit the electromagnetic wave, emitted by the electronic unit and propagated via the first waveguide, in a first predetermined direction and/or to propagate an electromagnetic wave received from the first predetermined direction to the electronic unit via the first waveguide; and
a second directional antenna comprising a second reflective cavity reflecting the electromagnetic waves wherein a second metasurface is positioned, said second directional antenna is configured to be connected to the electronic unit via a second waveguide and to transmit the electromagnetic wave, emitted by the electronic unit and propagated via the second waveguide, in a second predetermined direction and/or to propagate an electromagnetic wave received from the second predetermined direction to the electronic unit via the second waveguide.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 1. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 1. See the rejections of claim 1}.
Regarding claim 14, which depends on claim 13, Stephan (‘633) discloses that in the bodywork part,
the first directional antenna is a transmitting antenna { Fig.4 item 100a, 80a (see marks in the rejection of claim 2)} and the second directional antenna is a receiving antenna { Fig.4 item 100b, 80b (see marks in the rejection of claim 2)},
wherein the body part further comprises:
at least one wall made of a plastic material { Fig.1 item 10 (bumper), 20 (wall); Fig.2 item 10, 20, 100 (opening); page 6 line 16 (The wall 20 constitutes the main body of the bumper 10.), 20 (plastic as that of the wall 20 )},
the transmitting antenna connected to the electronic unit via the first waveguide and configured to emit the electromagnetic wave emitted by the electronic unit in the first predetermined direction { Fig.4 item 100a, 80a (see marks in the rejection of claim 2)},
the receiving antenna connected to the electronic unit via the second waveguide, said receiving antenna being configured to receive the electromagnetic wave emitted by the transmitting antenna and reflected by an obstacle and to propagate the received reflected electromagnetic wave toward the electronic unit { Fig.4 item 100b, 80b (see marks in the rejection of claim 2)},
said transmitting antenna and the receiving antenna are arranged behind the wall made of the plastic material {Fig.1 items 10 (body part), 20(wall); Fig.2 items 10 (body part), 20 (wall), 50 (transceiver); Fig.4a-b; page 1 abstract line 1 (a body part (10)), 3 (one transceiver (50)); page 5 line 4 ([fig.2] is a cross section A-A ’of the bumper of Figure 1;)}.
Regarding claim 15, which depends on claims 13-14, Stephan (‘633) discloses that in the bodywork part,
the transmitting antenna and the receiving antenna are arranged in a uniform area of the bodywork part {Fig.1; Fig.2; Fig.4 items 100a-b; page 5 lines 23-24 (the electromagnetic wave being emitted towards, or received from, the outside of the electromagnetic cavity 80 through said opening 100.)}.
Regarding claim 18, Stephan (‘633) discloses that A land motor vehicle comprising a bodywork part {Fig.1 item 10}, wherein the bodywork part further comprises a radar system { Fig.1 item 10 (body part); Fig.2 items 10 (body part), 50 (transceiver); page 1 abstract line 1 (a body part (10) for a motorized land vehicle (200)), 3 (one transceiver (50)); page 7 lines 10-12 from bottom (as a radar detection system suitable for locating objects in a space, the transceiver 50 is in particular capable of transmitting and / or receiving electromagnetic waves at 77 GHz.) }, wherein the radar system further comprises:
an electronic unit configured to transmit and receive an electromagnetic wave in a predetermined frequency range,
a first directional antenna comprising a first reflective cavity reflecting electromagnetic waves wherein a first metasurface is positioned, said first directional antenna is configured to be connected to the electronic unit via a first waveguide and to transmit the electromagnetic wave, emitted by the electronic unit and propagated via the first waveguide, in a first predetermined direction and/or to propagate an electromagnetic wave received from the first predetermined direction to the electronic unit via the first waveguide; and
a second directional antenna comprising a second reflective cavity reflecting the electromagnetic waves wherein a second metasurface is positioned, said second directional antenna is configured to be connected to the electronic unit via a second waveguide and to transmit the electromagnetic wave, emitted by the electronic unit and propagated via the second waveguide, in a second predetermined direction and/or to propagate an electromagnetic wave received from the second predetermined direction to the electronic unit via the second waveguide.
{The claim limitations above are the same or substantially the same scope as the corresponding claim limitations in claim 1. Therefore the claim limitations above are rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as in claim 1. See the rejections of claim 1}.
Regarding claim 20, which depends on claim 1, Stephan (‘633) discloses that in the radar system,
the predetermined frequency range is between 75 and 80 GHz { page 7 lines 10-12 from bottom (as a radar detection system suitable for locating objects in a space, the transceiver 50 is in particular capable of transmitting and / or receiving electromagnetic waves at 77 GHz.)}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephan (‘633) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kurono et al. (US 9,128,174, hereafter Kurono).
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claims 1-2, Stephan (‘633) discloses that in the radar system,
the first predetermined direction corresponds to an emission cone
the second predetermined direction corresponds to a receiving cone {Fig.4 (see mark below)}.
However, Stephan (‘633) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “an emission cone around a central emitting axis” and “a receiving cone around a central receiving axis”. In the same field of endeavor, Kurono (‘174) discloses that
the first predetermined direction corresponds to an emission cone around a central emitting axis {Fig.6A (BP1, BP2); col.7 lines 62-63 (beam patterns BP1, BP2 of two electric waves that are transmitted from the transmission antennae 1A, 1B.)} and
the second predetermined direction corresponds to a receiving cone around a central receiving axis {Fig.6(B)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stephan (‘633) with the teachings of Kurono (‘174) {transmit and receive signals with a shape of beam (e.g. cone)} to transmit and receive signals with a shape of beam (e.g. cone). Doing so would determine whether a target is a correct target, based on the strengths of the reception signals of the respective antennae due to the difference of the beam patterns of the transmission electric waves so as to improve the accuracy of the radar apparatus of the electronic scan method, as recognized by Kurono (‘174) {col.3 lines 6-11 (it is possible to determine whether a target is a correct target, based on the strengths of the reception signals of the respective antennae due to the difference of the beam patterns of the transmission electric waves, so that it is possible to improve the accuracy of the radar apparatus of the electronic scan method.)}.
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claims 1-3, Stephan (‘633) does not explicitly disclose that “an azimuth deviation between the central emitting axis and the central receiving axis is less than 30°”. In the same field of endeavor, Kurono (‘174) discloses that in the radar system,
an azimuth deviation between the central emitting axis and the central receiving axis is less than 30° {Fig.9A-B; Examiner’s note: Fig.9A-B show “azimuth deviation between the central emitting axis and the central receiving axis” is zero}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stephan (‘633) with the teachings of Kurono (‘174) {transmit and receive signals with a shape of beam (e.g. cone)} to transmit and receive signals with a shape of beam (e.g. cone). Doing so would determine whether a target is a correct target, based on the strengths of the reception signals of the respective antennae due to the difference of the beam patterns of the transmission electric waves so as to improve the accuracy of the radar apparatus of the electronic scan method, as recognized by Kurono (‘174) {col.3 lines 6-11 (it is possible to determine whether a target is a correct target, based on the strengths of the reception signals of the respective antennae due to the difference of the beam patterns of the transmission electric waves, so that it is possible to improve the accuracy of the radar apparatus of the electronic scan method.)}.
Claims 5-6, 19, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephan (‘633) and Kurono (‘174) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Jeong et al. (US 2011/0285571, hereafter Jeong).
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claims 1-3, Stephan (‘633) and Kurono (‘174) do not explicitly disclose that “a first difference in elevation between the central emitting axis and a horizontal direction and a second difference in elevation between the central receiving axis and the horizontal direction are less than 5°”. In the same field of endeavor, Jeong (‘571) discloses that in the radar system,
a first difference in elevation between the central emitting axis and a horizontal direction and a second difference in elevation between the central receiving axis and the horizontal direction are less than 5° {Fig.6 (see mark below); Examiner’s note: Fig.6(a) shows that the “first difference” and the “ second difference” are zero.}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Stephan (‘633) and Kurono (‘174) with the teachings of Jeong (‘571) {use transmit and receive beams with zero offset in radar system} to use transmit and receive beams with zero offset in radar system. Doing so would provide an antenna structure of a sensor which enables the alignment of the sensor to be simply and accurately adjusted so as to accurately sense the target, as recognized by Jeong (‘571) {[0006] lines 2-3 (to accurately sense the target); [0008] lines 2-3 (provide an antenna structure of a sensor which enables the alignment of the sensor to be simply and accurately adjusted)}.
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claims 1-3, Stephan (‘633) discloses that in the radar system,
a section of the emission cone and a section of the receiving cone each has an elongated shape {Fig.4 (see mark below)}, and
However, Stephan (‘633) and Kurono (‘174) do not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “wherein the first directional antenna and the second directional antenna are arranged so that a pitch angle is less than 30°”, “wherein the pitch angle is an angular gap between a large axis of the elongated shapes and a horizontal direction for each of the first directional antenna and the second directional antenna”, and “wherein an angular deviation between a pitch angle of the first directional antenna and a pitch angle of the second directional antenna is less than 30°”. In the same field of endeavor, Jeong (‘571) discloses that
wherein the first directional antenna and the second directional antenna are arranged so that a pitch angle is less than 30° {Fig.6a-b},
wherein the pitch angle is an angular gap between a large axis of the elongated shapes and a horizontal direction for each of the first directional antenna and the second directional antenna {Fig.6a-b},
wherein an angular deviation between a pitch angle of the first directional antenna and a pitch angle of the second directional antenna is less than 30° {Fig.6a-b}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Stephan (‘633) and Kurono (‘174) with the teachings of Jeong (‘571) {use transmit and receive beams with zero offset (e.g. zero pitch angle) in radar system} to use transmit and receive beams with zero offset (e.g. zero pitch angle) in radar system. Doing so would provide an antenna structure of a sensor which enables the alignment of the sensor to be simply and accurately adjusted so as to accurately sense the target, as recognized by Jeong (‘571) {[0006] lines 2-3 (to accurately sense the target); [0008] lines 2-3 (provide an antenna structure of a sensor which enables the alignment of the sensor to be simply and accurately adjusted)}.
Regarding claim 19, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 5. Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 5, shown above.
Regarding claim 22, which depends on claims 1-3 and 6, Stephan (‘633) and Kurono (‘174) do not explicitly disclose “the first directional antenna and the second directional antenna are arranged so that the pitch angle is less than 5°”. In the same field of endeavor, Jeong (‘571) discloses that in the radar system,
the first directional antenna and the second directional antenna are arranged so that the pitch angle is less than 5° {Fig.6 a (Tx2, RECEPTION ANTENNA BEAM REGION) (see mark below); Examiner’s note: Fig.6a shows pitch angle is zero }.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Stephan (‘633) and Kurono (‘174) with the teachings of Jeong (‘571) {use transmit and receive beams with zero offset (e.g. zero pitch angle) in radar system} to use transmit and receive beams with zero offset (e.g. zero pitch angle) in radar system. Doing so would provide an antenna structure of a sensor which enables the alignment of the sensor to be simply and accurately adjusted so as to accurately sense the target, as recognized by Jeong (‘571) {[0006] lines 2-3 (to accurately sense the target); [0008] lines 2-3 (provide an antenna structure of a sensor which enables the alignment of the sensor to be simply and accurately adjusted)}.
Regarding claim 23, which depends on claims 1-3 and 6, Stephan (‘633) and Kurono (‘174) do not explicitly disclose “the angular deviation between the pitch angle of the first directional antenna and the pitch angle of the second directional antenna is less than 5°”. In the same field of endeavor, Jeong (‘571) discloses that in the radar system,
the angular deviation between the pitch angle of the first directional antenna and the pitch angle of the second directional antenna is less than 5° {Fig.6 a (Tx2, RECEPTION ANTENNA BEAM REGION); Examiner’s note: Fig.6a shows pitch angle is zero }.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Stephan (‘633) and Kurono (‘174) with the teachings of Jeong (‘571) {use transmit and receive beams with zero offset (e.g. zero pitch angle) in radar system} to use transmit and receive beams with zero offset (e.g. zero pitch angle) in radar system. Doing so would provide an antenna structure of a sensor which enables the alignment of the sensor to be simply and accurately adjusted so as to accurately sense the target, as recognized by Jeong (‘571) {[0006] lines 2-3 (to accurately sense the target); [0008] lines 2-3 (provide an antenna structure of a sensor which enables the alignment of the sensor to be simply and accurately adjusted)}.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephan (‘633) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Hammerschmidt et al. (US 10,884,118 , hereafter Hammerschmidt).
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claims 1 and 8, Stephan (‘633) does not explicitly disclose “the electronic unit is positioned remotely from the bodywork part”. In the same field of endeavor, Hammerschmidt (‘118) discloses that in the radar system,
the electronic unit is positioned remotely from the bodywork part { Fig.3 items 110-1, 110-2, 110-3 (antenna), 140 (radar system), 302 (bumper of a car) }.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stephan (‘633) with the teachings of Hammerschmidt (‘118) {separate antennas and processors in different locations} to separate antennas and processors in different locations. Doing so would install antennas at outer shell of the vehicle and communicate with a radar circuit via the dielectric waveguide so as to safe production costs and/or ease space requirements when installing the radar system in a vehicle, as recognized by Hammerschmidt (‘118) {col.1 lines 41-44 (an antenna element installable at an outer shell of the vehicle, a dielectric waveguide, and a radar circuit configured to communicate with the antenna element via the dielectric waveguide); col.6 lines 2-4 (which can safe production costs and/or ease space requirements when installing the radar system 100 in a vehicle.)}.
Claims 10-12, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephan (‘633) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shiozaki et al. (US 2019 / 0302227 , hereafter Shiozaki).
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claim 1, Stephan (‘633) discloses that in the radar system,
the first directional antenna is a transmitting antenna { Fig.4 item 100a, 80a (see mark below)} and the second directional antenna is a first receiving antenna { Fig.4 item 100b, 80b (see mark below)},
wherein the radar system further comprises:
the transmitting antenna configured to emit the electromagnetic wave emitted by the electronic unit in the first predetermined direction { Fig.4 item 100a, 80a (see mark above); page 6 lines 6-8 (the antenna is capable of transforming a any electromagnetic radiation from the transceiver simultaneously into radiation controllable in orientation); Examiner’s note: “controllable in orientation” for “predetermined direction”}, the first receiving antenna {Fig.2 item 100; Fig.4 item 100b, 80b (see mark above); page 5 lines 23-24 (the electromagnetic wave being emitted towards, or received from, the outside of the electromagnetic cavity 80 through said opening 100.)},
wherein the transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, {Fig.1 item 10 (wall); Fig.2 item 100; Fig.4 item 100a-b; page 5 line 4 ([fig.2] is a cross section A-A ’of the bumper of Figure 1)},
wherein the bodywork part comprises a wall made of a plastic material {Fig.1 item 20 (wall); Fig.2 item 20 (wall); page 6 line 16 (The wall 20 constitutes the main body of the bumper 10), 20 (plastic as that of the wall 20 ) }.
However, Stephan (‘633) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “the first receiving antenna and a second receiving antenna” and “the transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, and the second receiving antenna are arranged on a bodywork part”. In the same field of endeavor, Shiozaki (‘227) discloses that
the first receiving antenna and a second receiving antenna {Fig.19 items RX1, RX2};
the transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, and the second receiving antenna are arranged on a bodywork part {Fig.3; Fig.19 items Tx1-2, RX1, RX2; [0014] lines 1-2 (Fig.3, an onboard radar system); [0031] lines 1-2 (Fig.19, radar system)};
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stephan (‘633) with the teachings of Shiozaki (‘227) {use multiple transmit antennas and receive antennas in a radar system onboard a vehicle} to use multiple transmit antennas and receive antennas in a radar system onboard a vehicle. Doing so would cover mutually – separated areas in multiple directions so as to perform object detections and obtain highly accurately a position where the target exists using a single radar system, as recognized by Shiozaki (‘227) {[0005] lines 2-9 (single radar system, cover mutually – separated areas in multiple directions, as areas in which to perform the object detection, not only whether a target exists in the areas in which to perform the object detection , but also highly accurately a position where the target exists)}.
Regarding claim 11, which depends on claims 1 and 10, Stephan (‘633) discloses that in the radar system,
the bodywork part extends along a width of the motor vehicle {Fig.1} and
wherein the transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, {Fig.2 item 100; Fig.4; page 5 lines 4 ([fig.2] is a cross section A-A ’of the bumper of Figure 1), 23-24 (the electromagnetic wave being emitted towards, or received from, the outside of the electromagnetic cavity 80 through said opening 100.)},
However, Stephan (‘633) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) that “wherein the transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, and the second receiving antenna are arranged in different areas of the bodywork part”, “wherein the different areas are offset from one another along the width of the vehicle” and “wherein the transmitting antenna is arranged in a central area relative to areas associated with the first receiving antenna and the second receiving antenna”. In the same field of endeavor, Shiozaki (‘227) discloses that
wherein the transmitting antenna, the first receiving antenna, and the second receiving antenna are arranged in different areas of the bodywork part { Fig.3; Fig.19 items Tx1-2, RX1, RX2};
wherein the different areas are offset from one another along the width of the vehicle {Fig.3; Fig.19 items Tx1-2, RX1, RX2; [0014] lines 1-2 (Fig.3, an onboard radar system)};
wherein the transmitting antenna is arranged in a central area relative to areas associated with the first receiving antenna and the second receiving antenna { Fig.19 items Tx1-2, RX1, RX2}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stephan (‘633) with the teachings of Shiozaki (‘227) {use multiple transmit antennas and receive antennas in a radar system onboard a vehicle} to use multiple transmit antennas and receive antennas in a radar system onboard a vehicle. Doing so would cover mutually – separated areas in multiple directions so as to perform object detections and obtain highly accurately a position where the target exists using a single radar system, as recognized by Shiozaki (‘227) {[0005] lines 2-9 (single radar system, cover mutually – separated areas in multiple directions, as areas in which to perform the object detection, not only whether a target exists in the areas in which to perform the object detection , but also highly accurately a position where the target exists)}.
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claims 1 and 10, Stephan (‘633) does not explicitly disclose that “the first receiving antenna defines a first receiving cone around a first central receiving axis forming a first azimuth angle of less than 5° relative to a direction of a forward movement of a vehicle, wherein the second receiving antenna defines a second receiving cone around a second central receiving axis forming a second azimuth angle greater than 20° relative to the direction of the forward movement of the motor vehicle, and the transmitting antenna defines an emission cone around a central emitting axis forming a third azimuth angle between 0° and 10° with respect to the direction of the forward movement of the vehicle”. In the same field of endeavor, Shiozaki (‘227) discloses that in the radar system {Fig.3; [0014] line 2 (an onboard radar system)},
the first receiving antenna defines a first receiving cone around a first central receiving axis forming a first azimuth angle of less than 5° relative to a direction of a forward movement of a vehicle { Fig.4; Fig.19 (Rx1, 2R); [0038] lines 12-15 (the radar system is arranged , for example , in four corners of a vehicle body , and is used for multi - directional monitoring , such as front monitoring , front side monitoring); Examiner’s note: Rx1 azimuth =0 based on Fig.4},
wherein the second receiving antenna defines a second receiving cone around a second central receiving axis forming a second azimuth angle greater than 20° relative to the direction of the forward movement of the motor vehicle { Fig.19 (RX2, 3R); [0038] lines 12-15 (the radar system is arranged , for example , in four corners of a vehicle body , and is used for multi - directional monitoring , such as front monitoring , front side monitoring); Examiner’s note: azimuth is 90° }, and
the transmitting antenna defines an emission cone around a central emitting axis forming a third azimuth angle between 0° and 10° with respect to the direction of the forward movement of the vehicle {Fig.19 (see Tx1 direction); [0038] lines 12-15 (the radar system is arranged , for example , in four corners of a vehicle body , and is used for multi - directional monitoring , such as front monitoring , front side monitoring); Examiner’s note: azimuth of TX1 is 0°. }.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stephan (‘633) with the teachings of Shiozaki (‘227) {use multiple transmit antennas and receive antennas in a radar system onboard a vehicle} to use multiple transmit antennas and receive antennas in a radar system onboard a vehicle. Doing so would cover mutually – separated areas in multiple directions so as to perform object detections and obtain highly accurately a position where the target exists using a single radar system, as recognized by Shiozaki (‘227) {[0005] lines 2-9 (single radar system, cover mutually – separated areas in multiple directions, as areas in which to perform the object detection, not only whether a target exists in the areas in which to perform the object detection , but also highly accurately a position where the target exists); [0038] lines 12-15 (the radar system is arranged , for example , in four corners of a vehicle body , and is used for multi - directional monitoring , such as front monitoring , front side monitoring)}.
Regarding claim 24, which depends on claims 1, 10, and 12, Stephan (‘633) does not explicitly disclose that “the first azimuth angle is 0° relative to the direction of the forward movement of the vehicle”. In the same field of endeavor, Shiozaki (‘227) discloses that in the radar system,
the first azimuth angle is 0° relative to the direction of the forward movement of the vehicle {Fig.4; Fig.19 (RX1); [0038] lines 12-15 (the radar system is arranged , for example , in four corners of a vehicle body , and is used for multi - directional monitoring , such as front monitoring , front side monitoring); Examiner’s note: Rx1 azimuth =0 based on Fig.4}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stephan (‘633) with the teachings of Shiozaki (‘227) {use multiple transmit antennas and receive antennas in a radar system onboard a vehicle} to use multiple transmit antennas and receive antennas in a radar system onboard a vehicle. Doing so would cover mutually – separated areas in multiple directions so as to perform object detections and obtain highly accurately a position where the target exists using a single radar system, as recognized by Shiozaki (‘227) {[0005] lines 2-9 (single radar system, cover mutually – separated areas in multiple directions, as areas in which to perform the object detection, not only whether a target exists in the areas in which to perform the object detection , but also highly accurately a position where the target exists); [0038] lines 12-15 (the radar system is arranged , for example , in four corners of a vehicle body , and is used for multi - directional monitoring , such as front monitoring , front side monitoring)}.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephan (‘633) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of and Hammerschmidt (‘118) and Shiozaki (‘227)
Regarding claim 16, which depends on claims 13-14, Stephan (‘633) discloses that in the bodywork part,
the bodywork part is a front bumper of a vehicle {Fig.1 item 10; page 5 line 10 (bodywork part 10 is a front bumper)},
wherein the receiving antenna is a first receiving antenna {Fig.4 items 100b},
However, Stephan (‘633) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underlines) “wherein the bodywork part further comprises: the first receiving antenna arranged in a central area of the bumper, wherein a central axis of a receiving cone of the first receiving antenna is oriented in a direction of a forward movement of the vehicle, a second receiving antenna arranged in a lateral area of the bumper, wherein a central axis of a receiving cone of the second receiving antenna is oriented at a first azimuth angle greater than 30* relative to the direction of the forward movement of the vehicle, and the transmitting antenna is arranged in an intermediate area located between the central area and the lateral area, wherein a central axis of an emission cone of the transmitting antenna forms a second azimuth angle between 0 and 30° relative to the direction of the forward movement of the vehicle”. In the same field of endeavor, Hammerschmidt (‘118) discloses that
wherein the bodywork part further comprises:
the first receiving antenna arranged in a central area of the bumper { Fig.3 item 110-2} ,
a second receiving antenna arranged in a lateral area of the bumper { Fig.3 item 110-3},
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stephan (‘633) with the teachings of Hammerschmidt (‘118) {separate antennas and processors in different locations} to separate antennas and processors in different locations. Doing so would install antennas at outer shell of the vehicle and communicate with a radar circuit via the dielectric waveguide so as to which can safe production costs and/or ease space requirements when installing the radar system in a vehicle, as recognized by Hammerschmidt (‘118) {col.1 lines 41-44 (an antenna element installable at an outer shell of the vehicle, a dielectric waveguide, and a radar circuit configured to communicate with the antenna element via the dielectric waveguide); col.6 lines 2-4 (which can safe production costs and/or ease space requirements when installing the radar system 100 in a vehicle.)}.
However, Hammerschmidt (‘118) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underlines) “wherein a central axis of a receiving cone of the first receiving antenna is oriented in a direction of a forward movement of the vehicle”, “wherein a central axis of a receiving cone of the second receiving antenna is oriented at a first azimuth angle greater than 30° relative to the direction of the forward movement of the vehicle”, and “the transmitting antenna is arranged in an intermediate area located between the central area and the lateral area, wherein a central axis of an emission cone of the transmitting antenna forms a second azimuth angle between 0 and 30° relative to the direction of the forward movement of the vehicle”. . In the same field of endeavor, Shiozaki (‘227) discloses that
wherein a central axis of a receiving cone of the first receiving antenna is oriented in a direction of a forward movement of the vehicle {Fig.19 RX1},
wherein a central axis of a receiving cone of the second receiving antenna is oriented at a first azimuth angle greater than 30° relative to the direction of the forward movement of the vehicle { Fig.19 RX2; Examiner’s note: Rx1 vs. RX2 is 90°}, and
the transmitting antenna is arranged in an intermediate area located between the central area and the lateral area { Fig.19 Tx between Rx1 and RX2}, wherein a central axis of an emission cone of the transmitting antenna forms a second azimuth angle between 0 and 30° relative to the direction of the forward movement of the vehicle { Fig.19 (see mark below)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Stephan (‘633) and Hammerschmidt (‘118) with the teachings of Shiozaki (‘227) {use multiple transmit antennas and receive antennas in a radar system onboard a vehicle} to use multiple transmit antennas and receive antennas in a radar system onboard a vehicle. Doing so would cover mutually – separated areas in multiple directions so as to perform object detections and obtain highly accurately a position where the target exists using a single radar system, as recognized by Shiozaki (‘227) {[0005] lines 2-9 (single radar system, cover mutually – separated areas in multiple directions, as areas in which to perform the object detection, not only whether a target exists in the areas in which to perform the object detection , but also highly accurately a position where the target exists)}.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephan (‘633) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Takano et al. (US 7,570,197, hereafter Takano).
Regarding claim 17, which depends on claim 13, Stephan (‘633) discloses that in the bodywork part,
the first directional antenna and the second directional antenna each has an elongated shape { Fig.2 item 100; Fig.4 item 100a-b; page 5 line 26 (the size of the opening 100 is adjustable)} and
.
However, Stephan (‘633) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “lengths of the first directional antenna and the second directional antenna are different from one antenna to another”. In the same field of endeavor, Takano (‘197) discloses that
lengths of the first directional antenna and the second directional antenna are different from one antenna to another {Fig.12 items 513 (), 521; col.3 line 60 (transmitting antenna 513); col.5 lines 8-9 (two receiving antennas 521a, 521a)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Stephan (‘633) with the teachings of Takano (‘197) {use antenna with different sizes} to use antenna with different sizes. Doing so would expand field-of-view with short total length of antennas so as to obtain a compact radar system, as recognized by Takano (‘197) {col.5 lines 40-44 (the field-of-view θ of the mmWave Bo from the transmitting antenna 513 is expanded, the total length W of the arrangement of the three antennas 513, 521a, 52.1a becomes short, and the overall size of the radar device can be made compact.)}.
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephan (‘633), Kurono (‘174), and Jeong (‘571) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Boontje (EP 0704714 A1, hereafter Boontje).
Regarding claim 21, which depends on claims 1-3 and 6, Stephan (‘633), Kurono (‘174), and Jeong (‘571) do not explicitly disclose “the section of the emission cone and the section of the receiving cone each has an oblong shape”. In the same field of endeavor, Boontje (‘714) discloses that in the radar system,
the section of the emission cone and the section of the receiving cone each has an oblong shape {col.3 lines 52-55 ( Detection will take place only within the rectangular cone with the transmitting antenna or, as the case may be, the receiving antenna) }.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Stephan (‘633), Kurono (‘174), and Jeong (‘571) with the teachings of Boontje (‘714) {use antennas with rectangular cone for detection} to use antennas with rectangular cone for detection. Doing so would provide transmitting and receiving antenna with a higher signal yield and little perturbing radiation so that a clear indication of the passing of an object through the measurement beam is provided, as recognized by Boontje (‘714) {abstract lines 12-18 (Thanks to this cross-polarization system the receiving antenna has a higher signal yield and there is little perturbing radiation. When a passing object interrupts the path (8, 9) of the beam, then the signal of the receiving antenna is significantly reduced, so that a clear indication of the passing of an object through the measurement beam is provided)}.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claims 1, 10, and 12 but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) of claims 1 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The closest prior art of record is represented by Stephan (‘633), Shiozaki (‘227), Hammerschmidt (‘118), Kurono (‘174), and Kitamori et al. (US 6,933,900, hereafter Kitamori).
Regarding claim 25, which depends on claims 1, 10, and 12, Stephan (‘633), Shiozaki (‘227), Hammerschmidt (‘118), Kurono (‘174), and Kitamori (‘900), either alone or in combination, do not disclose (see words with underline)
the second azimuth angle is 40° relative to the direction of the forward movement of the vehicle.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONGHONG LI/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648