DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application, filed on 26 February, 2024, is a 371 of PCT/JP2021/031769, filed on 30 August 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 December, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Status of Application, Amendments, and/or Claims
The response filed on 01 April, 2025 has been entered in full. These are the amended claims of the original claim set received on 26 February, 2024. In the amendment, claims 3-6 are previously amended and claims 7-13 are previously presented. Therefore, claims 1-13 are pending and are the subject of this Office Action.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings. More, specifically, in the drawings figures 5-17 lack SEQ ID NO identifiers associated with the sequences set forth in the figures. Further in specification Table 1 (pg.19), and the sequences in paragraph [0043] on page 20 lack SEQ ID NO identifiers.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. In the specification there are hyperlinks listed within the Non-Patent Literature section spanning pages 5-9, and in paragraph [0042] on page 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 1, the claim recites the limitation "or the amino-acid modified HSP". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as this is an independent claim and no amino acid modified HSP has been introduced prior.
In regards to claim 2, the claim recites “a plurality of types of units including different base which renders the claim indefinite. The statements are not defined by the claim, the specification further does not provide a definition of the terms, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the definition of the phrases. Thus, it is unclear what types of units and further what different base sequences mean and what are required for the function of the claimed invention. For the purpose of further examination, and in light of the specification which states “a peptide sequence to which about five amino acids before and after the epitope candidate in Fig. 10 and Fig. 11 were imparted was designed using common and similar sequence region” (specification, pg.21, lines 4-6), the claims will be interpreted to need before and after sequences from a common virus sequence to surround the specific epitope of interest.
In regards to claims 3 and 7 recite the limitation "after the HSP or the amino-acid modified HSP is taken up by M cells." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Neither these claims or the claim from which they depend recite the limitation of the HSP or amino acid-modified HSP being taken up M cells, and further these claims are towards an immunostimulatory preparation (product) and not towards it use (method/process), thus there is no basis for the step recited and further it is unclear if the claim is to a product or method.
In regards to claims 4, 8, and 9, the claims recites “a unit including different base sequences before and after the peptide epitope, an epitope on a surface of a virus common to or similar to various strains of coronavirus that is likely to be mutated and a sequence before and after the epitope, the sequence being.” It is unclear if the “unit including different base sequences before and after the peptide epitope” and “a sequence before and after the epitope” are the same or different limitations of the immunostimulatory preparation. “different base sequences” is also indefinite due to the lack of definition as outline above. Further, it is unclear is the sequences SEQ ID NOs: 28-30 are the sequence before and after the epitope or if they are the sequence for the whole immunostimulatory preparation. For the purpose of further examination, and in light of the specification which states “a peptide sequence to which about five amino acids before and after the epitope candidate in Fig. 10 and Fig. 11 were imparted was designed using common and similar sequence region” (specification, pg.21, lines 4-6), the claims will be interpreted to need before and after sequences from a common virus sequence to surround the specific epitope of interest. Further SEQ ID NOs: 28-30 will be interpreted to be distinct peptide epitopes.
In regards to claims 5, 6, 10, and 12, the claims recite the limitation “the immunostimulatory preparation according to claim 1, wherein the microorganism which is likely to be mutated.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Neither claim 1 nor any of the listed claims introduce a “microorganism which is likely to be mutated”, however claim 3 does, therefore for the purpose of further examination claims 5, 6, 10, and 12 will be interpreted to be dependent on claim 3.
Claims 11, and 13 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farahmand et al. (2019) Chimeric protein consisting of 3M2e and HSP as a universal influenza vaccine candidate: from in silico analysis to preliminary evaluation Virus Genes 55: 22-32 as evidenced by Mamipour et al. (2017) An overview of molecular chaperons enhancing solubility of expressed recombinant proteins with correct folding International Journal of Biological Macromolecules 102: 367-375.
In regards to claim 1, Farahmand anticipates a vaccine (immunostimulatory) containing the influenza peptide epitope M2e, which is highly conserved among human influenza virus variants, which makes it an attractive target for developing a universal vaccine (Abstract). The M2e peptide is linked to the Leishmania Major heat shock protein (HSP) 70 with a flexible marker (pg.23, col 1, line 37 – pg.23, col 2, line 32 / Figure 1). It is known in the art that attachment of HSP70 to peptides prevents their aggregation (increases solubility) and (Mamipour Table), in E. coli based expression systems, makes peptides which are usually generated as insoluble inclusion bodies soluble as evidenced by Mamipour (Mamipour pg.368, col 1, lines 1-43). Therefore, Farahmand anticipates a more soluble peptide and further highlights solubility of the proteins is the most important factor and outstanding index for protein functionality (pg.25, col 2, lines 16-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6-9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farahmand et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moise et al. (2013) Universal H1N1 influenza vaccine development Human Vaccines and Immunotherapeutics 9 (7) 1598-1607, Wang et al. (2014) Roles of M cells in infection and mucosal vaccines Human Vaccines and Immunotherapeutics 10 (12) 3544-3551, and Mirkin et al. (US Pat No. 12,691,166, Priority Date: 03/12/2021).
In regards to claim 3 Farahmand teaches that the influenza A viruses undergo point mutations which when they accumulate on the surface antigenic proteins can lead to annual epidemics, and further genetic reassortment between human and animal influenza can lead to pandemics (pg. 22, col 2, lines 11-17) (a microorganism which is likely to be mutated). Further Farahmand teaches conventional vaccines are not effective enough to prevent influenza infection and research is being done to determine universal vaccine which utilize conserved protein across species of the virus (pg.23, col 1, lines 5-11).
In regards to claims 6, 12, and 13 Farahmand teaches using the vaccine against Influenza (Abstract).
Farahmand fails to teach the base sequences before and after the peptide epitope of claim 2, the uptake by M-cells to present the antigen for cross immunity of claims 3 and 7, the peptide epitope being an epitope of alphacoronavirus or betacoronavirus with a sequence containing at least of any one of SEQ ID NOs 28-30 of claims 4, 8, and 9, and the influenza virus peptide epitope having any one of SEQ ID NOs: 38-40 of claims 6, 12, and 13.
Moise, however, in regards to claim 2 teaches flanking sequences at the beginning and end of the core peptide which act as the N terminus and C terminus (Table 1) and were chosen to help distinguish peptides which retain high HLA binding potential while removing redundancy of repeat core peptides and maintaining high conservation among the common sequences (pg.1600, col 1, lines 20-27).
In regards to claims 6, 12, and 13 Moise teaches peptide sequences 19 and 8 which contain the sequences of instant application SEQ ID NOs 38 and 40, respectively, within the core peptide and further demonstrates they have good % coverage of the flu viruses tested and further good EpiBars scores (good immunogenicity) (Table 1).
Moise fails to teach the uptake by M-cells to present the antigen for cross immunity of claims 3 and 7, and the peptide epitope being an epitope of alphacoronavirus or betacoronavirus with a sequence containing at least of any one of SEQ ID NOs 28-30 of claims 4, 8, and 9.
Wang, however, teaches that M cells are functional units constituting inductive sites of intestinal mucosal immune system in the human gastrointestinal tract (pg.3544, col 2, lines 6-9). Further M cells play a crucial role in the intestinal immune system by sampling and uptake of antigens and transporting them to the gut lumen to the underlying immune system, which are can be captured by the dendritic cells leading to the production of antigen specific IgAs by B cells (antigen is presented and cross immunity against the antigen is produced) (pg.3544, col 2, lines 13-20). Wang also teaches M cells are among the most important epithelial cell types involved in the adhesion, uptake, and sampling of antigens at mucosal surfaces (pg.3544, col 2, lines 20-24) which researchers have been exploiting for drug and vaccine delivery to the mucosal immune system for years using M-cell- targeted molecules as peptide chaperones (pg.3546, col 2, lines 16-19). One of these molecules include heat shock protein 60 which binds to the cellular prion protein of the M-Cell (Table 2), which is well placed to enhance transcytosis (pg.3547, col 1, lines 35-38).
Wang fails to teach the peptide epitope being an epitope of alphacoronavirus or betacoronavirus with a sequence containing at least of any one of SEQ ID NOs 28-30 of claims 4, 8, and 9.
Mirkin, however, in regards to claims 4, 8, and 9 teaches peptide (SEQ ID NO: 6 of Mirkin) derived from the S2 domain of SARS-CoV-2, which is a potential minimally shielded COVID-19 epitope (col 18, lines 50-55). This peptide is identical to the peptide of instant application SEQ ID NO:28.
Thus, Farahmand discloses a vaccine comprising a peptide epitope for influenza bound to a heat shock protein 70, Moise teaches the specific epitope sequences claimed in the instant application and further teaches that flanking sequences before and after the core epitope can be used to remove redundancy in epitope cores which maintaining optimal sequence homology, Wang teaches targeting M cells is a good method to induce mucosal immunity which can be used to develop antigen specific responses, and further teaches HSP60 is a known well studies peptide chaperone for delivering a vaccine to the mucosal membrane, and Mirkin teaches the specific sequence of a coronavirus epitope which minimally shielded. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Farahmand with the teaching of Moise which teaches the specific influenza epitope and further how to determine flanking sequences, and simply substituting in the HSP70 with HSP60 as taught in Wang to target M cells and induce mucosal immunity and/or the peptide with the peptide of Mirkin to target specifically coronavirus with a minimally shielded epitope with a reasonable expectation of success to develop a immunostimulatory preparation which has increased solubility and can vaccinate against influenza or coronavirus with enhanced efficacy at triggering mucosal immunity.
Prior Art of Record
There is no prior art of record over claims 5, 10, and 11. The claims discuss subject matter which recites claim to the microorganism which is likely to me mutated by being a pentivirus which has an epitope which includes at least one of any SEQ ID NOs 31-37. The prior art does not disclose an epitope containing any of these sequences completely, and further only discloses the sequences as part of the virus sequence which one of ordinary skill would not reasonably be able to use to discern specific epitopes across virus species, as evidenced by Liao et al. (2013) Identification of Cytotoxic T Lymphocyte Epitopes on Swine Viruses: Multi-Epitope Design for Universal T Cell Vaccine PLoS ONE 8(12): e84443 teaches that systemic approaches based on synthesis and evaluation of large sets of overlapping peptides is labor intensive and time consuming (pg.1, col 2, 9-13). Further Liao uses a computation platform to identify pestivirus epitopes but still does not identify one which is claimed in the instant application (pg.2, col 1, line 29- pg.2, col 2, line 8/ Table 2).
The closest prior art with a sequence similar to one of the SEQ ID NOs: 31-37 of instant application, shares sequence similarity to instant application SEQ ID No: 32 is found in Ogawa (WO 2022/259904, priority date 06/07/2021). SEQ ID No:80 of Ogawa contains the sequence of instant application SEQ ID No:32 but is 9 amino acids longer than the claimed 11 amino acid epitope and is further taught to be a classic swine virus protease cleavage site, not a viral epitope.
Conclusion
/D.A.A/Examiner, Art Unit 1647 /JOANNE HAMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1647