DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 2/26/24.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the ferrite inductor is an equivalent circuit corresponding to the ferrite inductor". It is unclear what is meant by this limitation. The Examiner will interpret said claims as “the ferrite inductor is an equivalent circuit corresponding to an inductor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Curbow et al. (US11652473, hereinafter Curbow).
Regarding Claim 1, Curbow discloses a switching circuit (fig. 3 as annotated above, hereinafter fig. 3’) comprising: a switching device (500) configured to conduct or open a state between a drain terminal and a source terminal based on a voltage applied between a gate terminal and the source terminal (gate and source of 220); a drive circuit including a first switch element (218) having one end connected to a positive electrode side (V+) of a control power supply and an other end connected to an output end N1), and a second switch element (218b) having one end connected to the output end and an other end connected to a reference potential to which a negative electrode side of the control power supply is connected (V-), the drive circuit being configured to open and close the first switch element and the second switch element in accordance with a predetermined control signal, generate a drive voltage for driving the switching device (V @N2), and output the generated drive voltage to the gate terminal of the switching device via the output end; a clamp circuit (104) including a third switch element (302) configured to conduct between the reference potential of the drive circuit and a connection point of a path connecting the output end of the drive circuit and the gate terminal of the switching device (N2) based on a comparison result between a threshold potential generated based on the reference potential of the drive circuit and a potential at the connection point (via 214); and a ferrite inductor (Lgs) provided immediately near the output end of the drive circuit, and having one end connected to the output end (N1) and an other end connected to the connection point (N2).
Regarding Claim 2, Curbow discloses (fig. 3’) a resistance element (Rg) connected in series with the ferrite inductor between the output end of the drive circuit and the connection point (R and L are connected in series between N1 and N2).
Regarding Claim 5, Curbow discloses (fig. 3’) the ferrite inductor is an equivalent circuit corresponding to the ferrite inductor (LGS).
Regarding Claim 7, Curbow discloses (fig. 3’) A power converter comprising a switching circuit according to claim 1 in a configuration (col. 12, line 59- col. 13, line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Curbow in view of Nosaka et al. (US20210320653, hereinafter Nosaka).
Regarding Claim 3, Curbow does not disclose a diode element having an anode connected to the reference potential of the drive circuit and a cathode connected to the connection point.
Nosaka discloses (fig. 1) a diode element (15) having an anode connected to the reference potential of the drive circuit (@124) and a cathode connected to the connection point (gate of 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Curbow to include a diode to ground as disclosed in Nosaka to alleviate noise and allow for proper operation.
Regarding Claim 6, Curbow does not disclose the switching device includes a wide bandgap semiconductor including at least a SiC semiconductor or a GaN semiconductor.
Nosaka discloses the switching device includes a wide bandgap semiconductor including at least a SiC semiconductor or a GaN semiconductor (¶2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of CUrbow to include a SiC type switch as disclosed in Nosaka to meet design needs of the system.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Curbow in view of Ikeda (US20180019686).
Regarding Claim 4, Curbow discloses (fig. 3’) the resistance element (R ) connected in series with the ferrite inductor (L ).
Curbow does not disclose a capacitor element is connected in parallel to the resistance element.
Ikeda discloses (fig. 6) a capacitor element (40) is connected in parallel to a resistance element (20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Curbow to include a parallel Resistor Capacitor circuit as disclosed in Ikeda to suppress the abrupt variation of the gate voltage thus stabilizing the gate voltage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20090058499, Yamashiro; Keisuke et al. discloses a gate driving circuit and method for driving semiconductor device
US 20100283515, Kelley; Robin Lynn et al. discloses a gate driver for enhancement-mode and depletion-mode wide bandgap semiconductor JFETS.
US 20120153998, Kitamura; Tatsuya et al. discloses a gate drive circuit.
US 20120306545, Machida; Osamu et al. discloses a gate driver.
US 20160261266, Kampl; Severin et al. discloses an electronic circuit.
US 8451045, Yim; Jeongbin et al. discloses an inverter control system.
US 9300285, Pang; Sung Man discloses a gate driver circuit.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838