Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (Gerlings et al., US Pub. 2015-0047399).
For claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figures 1-10, a key comprising:
a key body (includes 16, 18); and
key information (44) shown on a surface of the key body, wherein the key information being a two-dimensional code readable by a reader device (Two-dimensional key information 44 is machine readable. Para. [0023].)
For claim 2, D1 discloses the key of claim 1, wherein the two-dimensional code (44) is shown on a plane of the key body (Figure 2A.)
For claim 3, D1 discloses the key of claim 1, wherein the key body has a leading end (18) insertable into a lock, and a base end (16) located opposite to the leading end, and the two-dimensional code (44) is shown on a base end (16) surface that is flat and located on a side where the base end resides, and that extends in a direction intersecting with a direction connecting the leading end and the base end (Figure 2A.)
For claim 4, D1 discloses the key of claim 3, wherein the key body has, on the side where the base end resides, a grip portion (24) which is able to be gripped when the key is in use, and the base end surface is located at a position recessed with respect to a peripheral portion in the grip portion and surrounding the base end surface (Figure 2A.)
For claim 6, D1 discloses the key of claim 2, wherein the key body (16, 18) has a leading end (18) insertable into a lock, and a base end (16) located opposite to the leading end, and the two-dimensional code (44) is shown on a base end (16) surface that is flat and located on a side where the base end resides, and that extends in a direction intersecting with a direction connecting the leading end and the base end (Figure 2A.)
For claim 7, D1 discloses the key of claim 6, wherein the key body (16, 18) has, on the side where the base end resides, a grip portion (24) which is able to be gripped when the key is in use, and the base end surface is located at a position recessed with respect to a peripheral portion in the grip portion and surrounding the base end surface (Figure 2A.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Gerlings et al., US Pub. 2015-0047399) in view of D2 (JP 2019200368).
For claim 5, D1 discloses the key of claim 1, but dos not disclose wherein the two-dimensional code is inscribed by laser marking.
D2 teaches locking pin with laser printed identification number (P.2, para. [6]) for accurate and clear printing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the two-dimensional code is inscribed by laser marking, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an accurate and clear printing.
For claim 8, D1 discloses the key of claim 2, but does not disclose wherein the two-dimensional code is inscribed by laser marking.
D2 teaches locking pin with laser printed identification number (P.2, para. [6]) for accurate and clear printing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the two-dimensional code is inscribed by laser marking, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an accurate and clear printing.
For claim 9, D1 discloses the key of claim 3, but does not disclose wherein the two-dimensional code is inscribed by laser marking.
D2 teaches locking pin with laser printed identification number (P.2, para. [6]) for accurate and clear printing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the two-dimensional code is inscribed by laser marking, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an accurate and clear printing.
For claim 10, D1 discloses the key of claim 6, but does not disclose wherein the two-dimensional code is inscribed by laser marking.
D2 teaches locking pin with laser printed identification number (P.2, para. [6]) for accurate and clear printing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the two-dimensional code is inscribed by laser marking, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an accurate and clear printing.
For claim 11, D1 discloses the key of claim 4, but does not disclose wherein the two-dimensional code is inscribed by laser marking.
D2 teaches locking pin with laser printed identification number (P.2, para. [6]) for accurate and clear printing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the two-dimensional code is inscribed by laser marking, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an accurate and clear printing.
For claim 12, D1 discloses the key of claim 7, but does not disclose wherein the two-dimensional code is inscribed by laser marking.
D2 teaches locking pin with laser printed identification number (P.2, para. [6]) for accurate and clear printing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such that the two-dimensional code is inscribed by laser marking, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having an accurate and clear printing.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Gerlings et al., US Pub. 2015-0047399) in view of D3 (Prsons, US 6,109,073).
For claim 13, D1 discloses the key of claim 3, but does not disclose wherein the key body has a substantially cylindrical insertion portion.
D3 teaches a key with body (48, 46) and shank 12 having a substantially cylindrical insertion portion (Figure 7) for ease of insertion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 to have a key such that the key body has a substantially cylindrical insertion portion, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a shape for ease of insertion.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides example of invention. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Bolton (US 6,308,542); Janssen (US 6,427,504); and Steeley (US 6,089,060).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675