DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because X is not identified with an object or direction in figure 6. The Examiner believes an arrow indicating the direction perpendicular to the figure would be corrective. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the Abstract is longer than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the headlines should not be underlined.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 19 line 3, the phrase “formed by inward depressing” should read –formed by inwardly depressing--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (2021/0226353).
With regard to claim 1, Wang teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraphs 2-3 and 33: “A transfer mechanism (shown in figures 1) for power transmission, comprising a power transmission portion 1, a transfer portion 2 and a cable 3, wherein: the power transmission portion 1 comprises a plug-in end (upper end of 1 in figure 1) and a connection end (bottom end of 1 in figure 1) which are connected in sequence; the cable 3 comprises an internal conductor (taught in paragraph 33) and an insulation layer (taught in paragraph 3) wrapping the conductor; the transfer portion 2 comprises a first end (upper portion of 2 in figure 1), a bent portion (middle bent portion of 2 in figure 1) and a second end (bottom end of 2 in figure 1) which are connected in sequence; and the first end is electrically connected to the connection end, the second end is electrically connected to the conductor on one end of the cable 3, and the bent portion comprises at least one bent zone”.
With regard to claim 2, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraphs 2-3 and 33: “wherein at least part of the first end is in contact connection with at least part of the connection end”.
With regard to claim 3, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 2”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraphs 2-3 and 29-33: “wherein at least part of the first end is connected to at least part of the connection end by one or more methods selected from the group consisting of resistance welding, friction welding, ultrasonic welding, arc welding, laser welding, electron beam welding, pressure diffusion welding, magnetic induction welding (Wang teaches in paragraphs 30-31, the first end and connection end connected by welding), screwing, clamping, splicing and crimping”.
With regard to claim 4, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraphs 2-3 and 29-33: “wherein the connection end comprises a connecting surface (welding surface of the connection end described in paragraph 31), and an area of a contact zone between the connecting surface and the first end accounts for equal to or more than 5% of an area of the connecting surface (shown in figure 1)”.
With regard to claim 10, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 9”, as shown above.
Wang also teach, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraph 37: “wherein a cross-section of the connection end or the first end is circular, elliptical, rectangular or polygonal (paragraph 37 teaches the first end being tubular, having a circular cross-section)”.
With regard to claim 11, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraph 37: “wherein the second end is tubular, bowl-shaped, U-shaped, V-shaped or barrel-shaped (paragraph 37 teaches the second end being tubular)”.
With regard to claim 12, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein at least part of the conductor is in contact connection with at least part of the second end”.
With regard to claim 14, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein: the connection end comprises a connecting surface (where 1 contacts 2 in figure 1), and at least part of the first end is in contact connection with at least part of the connecting surface; and the second end comprises a wiring surface (where the second end contacts the conductor of 3 in figure 1), and an area of a contact zone between the wiring surface and the conductor accounts for equal to or more than 5% of an area of the wiring surface (figure 1 shows the area of the contact zone being at least 5% of the area of the wiring surface)”.
With regard to claim 16, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2 and taught in paragraph 37: “wherein the first end, the bent portion, and the second end each have a thickness that differs by no more than 35% (the figures show and paragraph 37 teaches the first end, bent portion, and second end of the transfer portion can be formed with a uniform thickness which would differ by less than 35%)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (2021/0226353) in view of Zhang et al. (CN210779074U).
With regard to claim 5, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 4”, as shown above.
Wang does not teach: “wherein: the connection end is sheet-shaped and comprises a first upper surface, a first lower surface and a first side surface, and the connecting surface is disposed on the first upper surface or the first lower surface; and the first end is sheet-shaped and comprises a second upper surface, a second lower surface and a second side surface, and the first upper surface or the first lower surface is overlapped and then in contact connection with the second upper surface or the second lower surface”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Zhang teaches, as shown in figures 1-5: “wherein: the connection end 22 is sheet-shaped and comprises a first upper surface (upper surface of 22 in figure 5), a first lower surface (lower surface of 22 in figure 5) and a first side surface (right surface of 22 in figure 5), and the connecting surface is disposed on the first upper surface or the first lower surface; and the first end 14 is sheet-shaped and comprises a second upper surface (upper surface of 14 in figure 5), a second lower surface (lower surface of 14 in figure 5) and a second side surface (left surface of 14 in figure 5), and the first upper surface or the first lower surface is overlapped and then in contact connection with the second upper surface or the second lower surface”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhang with the invention of Wang in order to have a simple connection structure that is easy to manufacture (Zhang, Abstract).
With regard to claim 6, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 4”, as shown above.
Wang does not teach: “wherein: the connection end 22 is column-shaped and comprises a side surface and an end surface, and the connecting surface is disposed on the end surface; and the first end is sheet-shaped and comprises a second upper surface, a second lower surface and a second side surface, and the end surface is in contact connection with the second upper surface or the second lower surface”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Zhang teaches, as shown in figure 9: “wherein: the connection end 2is column-shaped and comprises a side surface (lower-left surface of 22 in figure 9) and an end surface (bottom surface of 22 in figure 9), and the connecting surface is disposed on the end surface; and the first end 14 is sheet-shaped and comprises a second upper surface (upper surface of 14 in figure 9), a second lower surface (lower surface of 14 in figure 9) and a second side surface (rightmost surface of 14 in figure 5), and the end surface is in contact connection with the second upper surface or the second lower surface”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhang with the invention of Wang in order to have a simple connection structure that is easy to manufacture (Zhang, Abstract).
With regard to claim 7, Wang as modified by Zhang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 6”, as shown above.
Zhang also teaches, as shown in figure 9-13: “further comprising a bolt 30, wherein the second upper surface is provided with a through-hole 220 penetrating to the second lower surface, the end surface (where 30 extends through the end surface in figure 9) is provided with a threaded hole 160, and the bolt 30 is screwed with the threaded hole 160 through the through-hole”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zhang with the invention of Wang as modified by Zhang in order to have a simple connection structure that is easy to manufacture (Zhang, Abstract).
With regard to claim 8, Wang as modified by Zhang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 7”, as shown above.
Neither Wang nor Zhang teach: “wherein a torque of the screwing between the bolt and the threaded hole is in a range of 0.1 N·m to 30 N·m”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the range of torque of the screwing between the bolt and the threaded hole to be in the range of 0.1 N·m to 30 N·m in order to allow easy connection of the bolt and threaded hole while ensuring stable contact between the connection end and the first end. Also, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (2021/0226353) in view of Schmidt et al. (2013/0210292).
With regard to claim 15, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang does not teach: “wherein the transfer portion is formed by stamping, cutting, bending or machining a plate”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Schmidt teaches, as shown in figures 2 and taught in paragraph 20, a portion 10 formed by stamping. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine these features of Schmidt with the invention of Wang in order to form a connection member (Schmidt, paragraph 20).
Claims 9, 18, and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (2021/0226353).
With regard to claim 9, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 4”, as shown above.
Wang does not teach: “wherein: the connection end is barrel-shaped and comprises a first inner surface and a first outer surface, and the connecting surface is disposed on the first inner surface or the first outer surface; and the first end is barrel-shaped and comprises a second inner surface and a second outer surface, and the first inner surface or the first outer surface is overlapped and then in contact connection with the second outer surface or the second inner surface”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the connection end and the first end to be barrel shaped with the connection surface being on the inner or outer surface of the barrel that connects with the second inner or outer surface of the first end since Wang teaches the use of barrel shaped contact between an inner surface of the barrel 4 with the outer surface of barrel 3, which allows the connection to be crimped for a solid connection (Wang, paragraph 34). Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With regard to claim 18, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang also teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein a bend of the bent zone is arc-shaped”.
Wang does not specifically teach: “and an inner radius of the bend is not less than one third of a thickness of the transfer portion”. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change size of the radius of the bend to be no less than one third of the thickness of the transfer portion in order to connect to the right location at the end of the transfer portion. Also, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With regard to claim 44, Wang teaches: “…the transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 1”.
Wang does not teach: “A charging socket comprising” the transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 1. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the transfer mechanism of claim 1 for a charging socket, since the patented structure is designed for power transfer. Selecting a specific socket to use the transfer mechanism would amount to a recitation of the intended use of the patented invention, without resulting in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the structure disclosed by Wang, and therefore fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
With regard to claim 45, Wang teaches: “…the transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang does not specifically teach: “A motor vehicle comprising” the transfer mechanism of claim 1. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the transfer mechanism of claim 1 in a motor vehicle, since the patented structure is designed for power transfer. Selecting a specific powered device to use the transfer mechanism would amount to a recitation of the intended use of the patented invention, without resulting in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the structure disclosed by Wang, and therefore fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (2021/0226353) in view of ‘2188 (JPH0672188U).
With regard to claim 19, Wang teaches: “The transfer mechanism for power transmission according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Wang does not teach: “wherein at least one reinforcing rib is disposed in a tangential direction of the bent zone, and the reinforcing rib is formed by inward depressing a material outside the bent zone”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, ‘2188 teaches, as shown in figures 1-2: “wherein at least one reinforcing rib 8 is disposed in a tangential direction of the bent zone 7, and the reinforcing rib 8 is formed by inward depressing a material outside the bent zone 7”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of ‘2188 with the invention of Wang in order to prevent sag in the bend (‘2188, Abstract).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831