DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riley et al. (US 2020/0112009A1).
Regarding claim 1, Riley discloses a venting system for a battery (see Title, Abstract, [0021]-[0022], Fig. 1-2), comprising:
a venting material disposed proximate to each cell of a plurality of electrochemical cells of the battery, the venting material configured to allow materials ejected due to a thermal event to flow through the venting material (filter 12 [0021]); and
a venting device disposed in a fixed position relative to the venting material and the plurality of cells, the venting device including a structure for each cell, the structure including a wall surrounding an area corresponding to a respective cell and extending away from the respective cell, the wall defining a venting path configured to direct ejected materials away from the respective cell (outlet(s) 14 [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 2, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses each structure extends away from the plurality of electrochemical cells to a vent area (outlet(s) 14 [0021]-[0022], Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the venting material is electrically insulating and resistant to temperatures associated with the thermal event (filter materials including alumina, flame resistant composite foams, pumice, zeolites, fiber glass, and/or any other appropriate material [0015] which include insulating, high temperature resistant materials).
Regarding claim 4, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the venting material is configured to open due to the ejected materials to provide the venting path (gas vented through outlet(s) 14 [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 5, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the venting material is permeable to the ejected materials (filter [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 6, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the venting device is configured to secure the venting material at the fixed position (a filter 12 which may also be disposed between the one or more electrochemical cells and the one or more vents [0021], Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the venting device is configured to clamp the venting material to a housing of the plurality of electrochemical cells by a clamping mechanism (a filter 12 which may also be disposed between the one or more electrochemical cells and the one or more vents [0021], Fig. 1-2 show a flange portion of the enclosure forming a clamping mechanism).
Regarding claim 8, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the venting device is an integral component defining the structure for each cell ([0021]-[0022], Fig.1-2 show outlet(s) 14 being integral with venting structure).
Regarding claim 9, Riley discloses a battery (electrochemical cell [0021]-[0023], Fig. 1-2), comprising:
a plurality of electrochemical cells disposed in a cell housing (cells 8 [0021]); and
a venting system including:
a venting material disposed proximate to each cell of a plurality of electrochemical cells of the battery, the venting material configured to allow materials ejected due to a thermal event to flow through the venting material (filter 12 [0021]); and
a venting device disposed in a fixed position relative to the venting material and the plurality of cells, the venting device including a structure for each cell, the structure including a wall surrounding an area corresponding to a respective cell and extending away from the respective cell, the wall defining a venting path configured to direct ejected materials away from the respective cell (outlet(s) 14 [0021]-[0022], Fig. 1-2 show outlet(s) 14 one-to-one correspondence with cells 8).
Regarding claim 10, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses each structure extends away from the plurality of electrochemical cells to a vent area (outlet(s) 14 [0021]-[0022], Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the venting material is electrically insulating and resistant to temperatures associated with the thermal event (filter materials including alumina, flame resistant composite foams, pumice, zeolites, fiber glass, and/or any other appropriate material [0015] which include insulating, high temperature resistant materials).
Regarding claim 12, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the venting material is configured to open due to the ejected materials to provide the venting path (gas vented through outlet(s) 14 [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 13, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the venting material is permeable to the ejected materials (filter [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 14, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the venting path and the structure allows the ejected materials to be directed away from the respective cells without damaging other cells in the plurality of electrochemical cells (filter [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 15, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the venting device is configured to clamp the venting material to the cell housing by a clamping mechanism, the clamping mechanism securing the venting material in the fixed position (a filter 12 which may also be disposed between the one or more electrochemical cells and the one or more vents [0021], Fig. 1-2 show a flange portion of the enclosure forming a clamping mechanism).
Regarding claim 16, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the venting device is an integral component defining the structure for each cell ([0021]-[0022], Fig.1-2 show outlet(s) 14 being integral with venting structure).
Regarding claim 17, Riley discloses a method comprising:
operating a battery that includes a plurality of electrochemical cells disposed in a cell housing, the battery including a venting system, the venting system including:
a venting material disposed proximate to each cell of a plurality of electrochemical cells of the battery (filter 12 [0021]); and
a venting device disposed in a fixed position relative to the venting material and the plurality of cells, the venting device including a structure for each cell, the structure including a wall surrounding an area corresponding to a respective cell and extending away from the respective cell, the wall defining a venting path configured to direct ejected materials away from the respective cell (outlet(s) 14 [0021]-[0022], Fig. 1-2 show outlet(s) 14 one-to-one correspondence with cells 8); and
based on a thermal event occurring in an affected cell, allowing materials ejected from the affected cell to flow through the venting material and directing the ejected materials away from the affected cell along the venting path by the wall associated with the affected cell (gas vented through outlet(s) 14 [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 18, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the structure directs the ejected materials to a vent area (outlet(s) 14 [0021]-[0022], Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the venting material opens due to the ejected materials to provide the venting path (gas vented through outlet(s) 14 [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding claim 20, Riley discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Riley further discloses the ejected materials are directed away from the
respective cells without damaging other cells in the plurality of electrochemical cells (gas vented through outlet(s) 14 [0021]-[0022]).
Conclusion
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 6/17/2026