DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites a pulling motion. However, it is unclear what the pulling motion is and how it differs from a hanging motion. The claim does not define what this motion is. The Specification discloses in paragraph [0361] that in step S21, a pulling motion would later be defined. However, such a definition never occurs. The Specification, on the other hand, defines a hanging motion. As such, it is unclear whether the pulling motion differs from the hanging motion, and how.
Claims 18-20 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 17.
Claim 23 recites “the hanging motion disposes a preparation period or rotating the drum at a third speed lower than the second speed for a third time period between the high-speed period and the low-speed period” (emphasis added). It is unclear what the emphasized portion means.
Claims 24-25 are also rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20130089026 A to Altinier et al. (Altinier).
In reference to independent claim 1, Altinier discloses:
A method for controlling a laundry treating apparatus (1) including a drum (3) configured to accommodate laundry therein, a driver (9) configured to rotate the drum, a circulation flow channel (see Fig, 1) providing a space where air of the drum is circulated or moisture contained in air is condensed, and a heat exchanger (15) assembly configured to heat air flowing through the circulation flow channel, the method comprising:
an air supply step (see [0052]) of supplying heated air to the drum via the heat exchanger assembly; and
a rotation step (see [0053]) of rotating the drum during the air supply,
wherein the rotation step includes a hanging motion where a high-speed period (20) where the laundry rotates in a state of being attached to an inner wall of the drum, and a low-speed period (21) where the laundry rotates while falling from the inner wall of the drum are periodically performed (see [0056]).
In reference to independent claim 21, Altinier further discloses: the high-speed period includes rotating the drum at a first speed (V1) for a first time period (20) (see Fig. 3) and the low-speed period includes rotating the drum at a second speed (V2) lower than the first speed (V1) for a second time period (21) (see Fig. 3).
In reference to dependent claim 2, Altinier further discloses: the drum (3) is provided to rotate at least once in the high-speed period (20), wherein the drum is provided to rotate at least once in the low-speed period (21).
In reference to dependent claim 3, Altinier further discloses: a duration of the high-speed period is set to be equal to or longer than a duration of the low-speed period (see Fig. 3).
In reference to dependent claim 4, Altinier further discloses: the air supply step is divided into a preheating period (implicit; this is the period when heat air is first added to the drum atht eh start of the cycle), a constant-rate drying period (20), and a falling-rate drying period (21), wherein the constant-rate drying period is entered when a temperature of a refrigerant of the heat exchanger assembly reaches a reference value in the preheating period or when the heat exchanger assembly operates for a reference time, wherein the hanging motion is performed in the constant-rate drying period.
In reference to dependent claim 5, Altinier further discloses: the hanging motion is performed when dryness of the laundry is provided to reach a reference value in the constant-rate drying period (20) (see [0055]-[0056]).
In reference to dependent claim 6, Altinier further discloses: the rotation step further includes a tumbling motion for rotating the drum such that the laundry falls from a point lower than a high point of the drum (see [0055]-[0056]),wherein the hanging motion is performed after the tumbling motion in the constant-rate drying period (drying phase, 20) (see Fig. 3).
In reference to dependent claim 7, Altinier further discloses: the hanging motion (during the drying phase, 20) is performed when the tumbling motion is performed for a reference time (see [0054]).
In reference to dependent claim 8, Altinier further discloses: the rotation step further includes a shaking motion of changing a rotation speed of the drum (see Fig. 3 and [0059]), wherein the hanging motion is performed before the shaking motion in the constant-rate drying period.
In reference to dependent claim 10, Altinier further discloses: the hanging motion is terminated when being performed for a specific time in the constant-rate drying period (clothing is detached during the "low-speed" second rotation cycles, i.e. at the end of the “high speed” first rotation cycles; see Fig. 3 and [0055]-[0056]).
In reference to dependent claim 22, Altinier further discloses: the first time period (20) is set to be equal to or longer (see Fig. 3) than the second time period (21).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 11-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-20 and 23-25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NGOC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799